Battlefield Vietnam PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 134
  2. Negative: 18 out of 134
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BennyBoy
    Mar 28, 2004
    5
    Got a not too bad spec machine P4 2.53 processor, Radeon 9600XT 128MB Graphics Card and 512 of RAM - but playing the game is very slow it takes ages to load up on each level and has shut down a couple of times. If I weren't getting these problems it would be ok, if any suggestions what may be the problem please feel free to e-mail - benbird@f2s.com. Thanks
  2. JoeS.
    Mar 29, 2004
    6
    It's really not that great, I recomend UT2k4 WAY over this. Just look at the reviews.
  3. JasonE.
    Apr 14, 2004
    6
    It's a decent game. It's basically the exact same game as BF1942, just with a hair updated graphics, new vehicles, and weaponry. But the gameplay and everything else is exactly the same. Playing online is fun except that the load times and the lag is painfully annoying. Why does my guy die when I run down stairs?
  4. Marc
    Mar 21, 2004
    7
    Not bad...just not mind-blowing. But then again...no FPS since Half-Life and Quake have wowed me.
  5. JeremyC.
    Apr 9, 2004
    6
    For the follow up to Battlefield I expected much more. It still suffers from many of the same bugs in BF1942. Planes are even more worthless then ever, soldiers are again running around with horribly unbalenced weaponry, poor traps system, the levels for the most part suck. I spend most time running back and forth between the same spawn points trying to recapture them. At least in BF1942 For the follow up to Battlefield I expected much more. It still suffers from many of the same bugs in BF1942. Planes are even more worthless then ever, soldiers are again running around with horribly unbalenced weaponry, poor traps system, the levels for the most part suck. I spend most time running back and forth between the same spawn points trying to recapture them. At least in BF1942 you get the feeling of frontline, force on force combat. Expand
  6. Blaez
    May 10, 2004
    7
    Whilst my system easily ran this game easily. I found myself shutting it down and going back to 1942. The density of the graphics combined being more or less limited to muddy, easily sniped, pathways was just too frustrating to contend with. Technically it is a step above 1942, but you dont get a chance to enjoy any of it. You will spend 80% your time looking for an enemy, only to be Whilst my system easily ran this game easily. I found myself shutting it down and going back to 1942. The density of the graphics combined being more or less limited to muddy, easily sniped, pathways was just too frustrating to contend with. Technically it is a step above 1942, but you dont get a chance to enjoy any of it. You will spend 80% your time looking for an enemy, only to be killed by someone you never saw crawling around in the shrubs. Realistic perhaps, but then, theres a level of realism that just isnt fun - which is what a -game- is about. The whole asphyxiating atmosphere the maps give is not conducive to fast paced strategic battle but slower, attrition based battle. Aircraft again, are un-usable, you have more fun just flying around than actually attempting any combat with them. If your after the definitive shooter with vehicles, UT2K4. Expand
  7. ChrisP.
    Apr 22, 2007
    7
    Its a good game all together, but there are a few problems. For one, when playing on some maps, the AI will only aim at you. This includes all the tanks, which gets extremely annoying when trying to play. Another problem is the freezing up. Sometimes when playing, it will just freeze and when it comes back you will be dead. Other than that, I pretty much enjoyed the game. A neat thing is Its a good game all together, but there are a few problems. For one, when playing on some maps, the AI will only aim at you. This includes all the tanks, which gets extremely annoying when trying to play. Another problem is the freezing up. Sometimes when playing, it will just freeze and when it comes back you will be dead. Other than that, I pretty much enjoyed the game. A neat thing is the "radio" you have when in a vehicle that allows you to play some of the music from the Vietnam era. The helicopters are also pretty cool to be able to use. Expand
  8. PeterB.
    Jul 17, 2007
    5
    A mediocre follow-up to one of the best FPS games ever made.
  9. Mar 29, 2015
    5
    I'm a little disappointed with this game. It has the same charm as 1942. The game has a few errors. The game is weak, very weak. Unfortunately the gameplay is pretty dry.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. It really does a fantastic job at letting you in on the Vietnam era, and I’m sure that after a few patches it will be even better.
  2. I think it needs a little more oomph on more scenarios and the detail in the graphics. Also, conquering control points over and over gets too repetitive after long play.
  3. Game Informer
    80
    An incredibly good time if you can find an amicable crew of fellow soldiers. [May 2004, p.106]