Battleground Europe: World War II Online Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Report for duty to this first-person, online action game where players choose to fight alongside and against thousands of other players on the battlefields of western europe. Grab a rifle and experience heart-stopping infantry action or choose to advance your skills in one of dozens ofReport for duty to this first-person, online action game where players choose to fight alongside and against thousands of other players on the battlefields of western europe. Grab a rifle and experience heart-stopping infantry action or choose to advance your skills in one of dozens of accurately modeled combat vehicles, naval vessels or aircraft. Succeed and help the cause of the Allied or Axis forces. Fail and watch your side get pushed back and struggle for a foothold. Volume one in The Virtual Battlefield Series, Battleground Europe features the armies, vehicles, weapons and equipment found on the battlefields of Western Europe 1939-1942. [GMX Media] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. If the game weren’t huge enough already with so many different options that it almost seems like three different games put together, they plan on only going farther and making it bigger and more enjoyable. This game will truly stand the test of time, and over time it will only get better and better.
  2. Fighting through the streets with two hundred Allied or Axis troops on your side is what makes this an amazing game to play and one that is completely unique.
  3. Every death is a frustration, every kill a hard-won victory and for every firefight that has you sweating with tension, there'll be another that will have you wanting to stick pencils into your eyes just to relieve the boredom of guarding a backwater choke point. War is like that, apparently, and Battleground Europe is as real as it gets. [PC Zone]
  4. Compulsive is what Battleground Europe has the potential to be, if you give it a chance. But also if you fall in with the right players, in the right place, at the right time.
  5. 60
    Such complexity ultimately helps to make the game what it is for those who take the time to figure it out, but many gamers will find the lack of help and guidance here a real hindrance.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Donner
    May 25, 2006
    10
    My god this game is addictive.
  2. JesseE.
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    Greatest game ever. If you don't like the game it is probably because you either didn't give it enough time or it is just to hard Greatest game ever. If you don't like the game it is probably because you either didn't give it enough time or it is just to hard for you, which is probably the case for a lot of counterstrike noobs. Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    Good Game, steep learning curve, once there though, nothing else like it, most addictive game ever,
    Play, Tanks, Bombers, Fighters, Assorted
    Good Game, steep learning curve, once there though, nothing else like it, most addictive game ever,
    Play, Tanks, Bombers, Fighters, Assorted infantry, Captain a Destroyer, Patrol Boat. AA Gun, Anti Tank Gun, Mortars etc, Played many games, but this is what i always go back to.
    Expand
  4. Erev
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    BE is currently one of the best games out there in my opinion. Here are a few things to note about the game that could clear some things up BE is currently one of the best games out there in my opinion. Here are a few things to note about the game that could clear some things up and perhaps improve people's outlook on it. The graphics aren't top of the line but you have to remember, unlike FPS games that cover a small area and even then usually have some sort of fog to hem things in and make it more comp friendly, in this game to can literally see for miles. It is quite possible to search for and find someone a kilometer or two away and kill them if you are in a tank with good enough optics. That is a huge load even with things being not so pretty. Also the equipment is accurately modelled as has been mentioned. This means that even if you shoot a tank it might not die since your round may not have enough force to penetrate the armor. An early allied anti-tank gun will not be able to kill a high end panzer from the front for instance... but it may manage to kill it from the side if you lay in ambush. My only trouble with the game is that as infantry there are times when the other player can be shot and shoot you back before he dies fully. Even this, however, is getting looked at. All in all BE is quite a good game and is definately worth a look. Just make sure you have patience and know how to work in a team. "Rambo" style players have a horrible tendancy to end up dead very very quickly no matter what eqiupment they use. Oh yeah, and find a squad. That is perhaps the easiest way to learn and is definately the best way to play. -Erev Anzacs Expand
  5. Garand
    May 25, 2006
    8
    Give the game a try. Been playing since November 2002 when the Mac OS version came out. Sign up for the free trial (14-days). I gave the game Give the game a try. Been playing since November 2002 when the Mac OS version came out. Sign up for the free trial (14-days). I gave the game a full month and been playing ever since. Not for everyone but you will find something with this game to hang on to once you get started. Perhaps its the tank sim, plane sim, a squad, the ability to para jump on town, commmand of a squad or unit, etc. Something will make you come back. Expand
  6. JK
    Jan 31, 2006
    5
    This game has a lot of cool stuff about it. It also has many draw backs. It's biggest draw back is the time it consumes if you want to This game has a lot of cool stuff about it. It also has many draw backs. It's biggest draw back is the time it consumes if you want to be part of a command attack. Everything is so orginized that is takes too long to get things going. You can't really make your own action cause you can only spawn where there is a command mission posted. I played with a trail account, and after finding a truck icon, I clicked on that mission and spawned out in the middle of field. After I ran into town there were a lot of people standing around doing nothing. I thought all the enemy were dead. Next thing you know I am read screen, then black screen, Dead. After I died it said you can't spawn there again. I never found the group again. I played for 2.5 hours and never saw an enemy. Everyone in the chat were saying ei, et, ea was here or there but I never saw them. The next time I played I was able to find action quickly. I saw and was killed and even made a kill. So I give a 50% rateing cause 1/2 my time was good, the other half was spent wondering around. Expand
  7. Exww2olplayer
    Oct 15, 2005
    0
    I joined CRS in 2000 before the game was launched. It sucked from day one and I just ended my last subscription. I hate the fact that I spent I joined CRS in 2000 before the game was launched. It sucked from day one and I just ended my last subscription. I hate the fact that I spent so much for nothing. The rats have really screwed things up with poor graphics, LAGGGGGGGGGGGGG, very SLOOOW fps etc. Too bad as I had such high hopes. SeeYa rats. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews