Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 70
    Control issues aside, Battlestations: Midway is a fun game if you're into strategy titles. Just throwing mad amounts of units at each new problem really doesn't work here, since you have finite resources and no unit is really impervious to attack from any other unit.
  2. RTS fans might find it a little simple, but might find the emphasis on action a pleasing surprise. Action fans might find the strategy a little dull, but with the simplicity of the commands they'll find themselves in the thick of the action as often as they like.
  3. Impressive because of the combination of these genres, making it recommendable to RTS fans (offering more than just a closer look to units in the form of total control) and simulation fans alike.
  4. The many multiplayer possibilities should buy you a lot of time with the title, but the single-player campaign is just entirely too short (while the tutorial is mind-numbingly long).
  5. The only thing keeping this game from having a top score is its lack of single player content (at least by PC standards) and some buggy issues with multiplayer. But otherwise this is a really solid game that combines both first-person and strategic gameplay flawlessly.
  6. It’s a mix of exciting and overwhelming as you try to maintain what feels like 50 pots boiling over at different times. [Mar 2007, p.104]
  7. When heading online you’ll find some much needed variety that wasn’t present in the single player game.
  8. It mostly fails to deliver standout action sequences, but fans of the real-time strategy genre should find their place in this game.
  9. Very fun game that is marred by technical problems. The lack of replay is what really hurts.
  10. Battlestations: Midway strikes just the right balance between action and strategy to create a game that's as unique as it is enjoyable.
  11. Battlestations: Midway is more than “just another WWII game;” it meets other wanna-be WWII simulators 'Midway,' and then takes another step forward.
  12. 85
    While the online options are thin, this game offers a great one-on-one option for RTS fans as well as a great co-op experience for those that have paid their dues on the training modes. For those tired of the same old thing, check out this unique new title from Eidos -- Battlestations Midway is anything but just another World War II game.
  13. The mix of real-time strategy and first-person war action works very well in places, but it's a touch lacking in drama. [Apr 2007, p.60]
  14. Forget the high-def TV and wireless Xbox 360 controller; Battlestations Midway plays better with a mouse and a joystick. [Apr 2007, p.58]
  15. Battlestations: Midway lacks this depth. There's masses of stuff to do, there's just not enough places to actually do it in, which is something of a shame.
  16. It's not terrible by any means, but it's just not very exciting either. [Apr 2007, p.76]
  17. A surprisingly good combination of action and strategy - influenced by the old Carrier Command. The single player mode would have been a lot better if the AI was not so heavily scripted, but the fun multiplayer mode more than makes up for it. [Mar 2007]
  18. Battlestations: Midway has the potential to blossom as a multiplayer game, primarily online. With everyone free to jump between units, it can become chaotic, but that's half the fun.
  19. Hell in the Pacific for the trigger-happy. V-J Day for the wannabe Nimitz.
  20. Although engaging, the single-player campaign is just too short and will provide very little replay value.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Great idea for a game marred by a horrible control system, flying planes is like stirring porridge. I guess the setting isn't to my taste either but that's just personal opinion. Maybe others (judging by the ratings) fought past the control system to find a great game. I just didn't have the patience to do that. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    The most polite way to put it is that I don't dislike this game. The graphics are decent, the cut-scenes are well done, and the first couple of missions really pulled me in and captured my excitement. But as the game story progressed, the excitement quickly wore off leaving me uncommitted to continue. Each battle became frustratingly harder, even with the difficulty setting on easy. There was no ability to save the game mid-mission which left me with a lingering bitterness every time I had to restart (which was quite often). A worthy attempt, but the developers just couldn't close the deal for me making it a tolerable air/sea shooter at best. Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    4
    A cheap budget game made to elevated the relation of the two homo nations - U.S and Japan (romance of war-Olympic). Should pay only half price for a game like this, because I think half of the game you need to play the Japanese role, if you don't want to do that, then why pay the full prices since there is no fake-time skins so you can change the skins and flags of the Japonukass? So arcade that a plane can fly past those mast and cables of a battleship. Choose Xbox controller as the preset controller when I'm only using a Gravis (8-button) Gamepad PRO and it made the gameplay very easy. The max mouse sensitivity is too slow to fly a plane (as with most of the other games), so I wonder if those game makers has a brain or not, so slow that it's only suitable for Flight Simulation games (where you only need to fly a 747). To fly a WWII fighter, you need very high mouse sensitivity, but if that sensitivity is set too high, then it makes the aiming more difficult, that's why you need a gamepad or joystick. Full Review »