Beat Hazard Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience your music collection like never before with this intense music driven arcade shooter. Each of your songs will have its own unique ebb and flow based on the music. Power up your spaceship and watch as the music boosts your firepower. Unleash hell on the enemy ships when you max out with weapon pickups! Beat Hazard seamlessly mixes the love of gaming and music. Together they become greater than the sum of their parts. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. With some new social features, online play, or even some adjustments that more closely tie in the arrangement of enemies with the pace of the music, Beat Hazard's value could ascend well beyond the $10 asking price.
  2. A slog that's worthwhile for arcade and music lovers alike. [July 2010, p.76]
  3. 76
    Beat Hazard is a short and sweet ten-dollar investment that is given solid longevity as long as you like the tunes in your music library.
  4. This dual-stick shooter gives you a fun new way to listen to your favorite bands.
  5. There's not enough reason to come back after the initial wow factor from the visuals wears off. [July 2010, p.90]
  6. The best thing Beat Hazard has going for it is the price. At $9.99 it's easy to recommend the title to anyone with the means to play it, as it provides a new way to experience music.
  7. 60
    Beat Hazard has a brilliant premise, which is sadly let down by uninspired gameplay and lacklustre presentation. Still, if you're a fan of twin-stick shooters and love music, then this game is for you.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is a great little game. I love to listen to music and have a lot of great stuff on my PC. I don't listen to it as much as I would like as I am usually doing other things, frequently more than one thing at a time. When playing Beat Hazard I get to listen to my favorites songs while playing a truly fun top-down space shooter that reacts to the music itself. Wonderful experience. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    I just got the game a few days ago and I'm already having such a super fun time! It is very challenging, but I still enjoy that I can play my music. The lights are not a problem for me. I just can't really bare with the lights on a full 200%... Hahaha. You guys should try the demo out before you buy because I don't think this game is for everyone. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. It is similar to asteroids but the gun fires at the beat of the music making it very challenging. The lights are trippy at night and the overall gameplay is great. Collapse
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    With roots reaching back to Asteroids and Geometry wars, Beat Hazard, the first release from Cold Beam Games, introduces a next-gen twist to on it's predecessors...Music drives the gameplay, and you pick the tunes! Beat Hazard provides a unique gameplay experience with every new track since various musical elements change the way the game reacts; tempo controls your rate of fire, the number of foes, and the way enemies attack. Slow songs don't have as many baddies, but you can't shoot as many projectiles from your ship. Meanwhile, up-tempo/club-mix tracks will have you on the edge of your seat as the screen explodes with enemies, but lends you a dazzling array of attacks to deal with the horde. If you want to play this on PC, Highly recommend using/getting an XB360 gamepad, it is a shooter, and the keyboard/mouse doesn't do it justice. Beat Hazard is available for both XBox 360 and PC. Go to the XB Live Marketplace to get it for 400pts, or head to Steam; ~$10. This game is a must-have for anyone who loves Audiosurf (another music driven game), craves a unique/addictive game experience, or needs yet another reason to pump up the volume. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2012
    7
    Beat Hazard it's a game for a 15 minute break. Don't get me wrong, that's actually an upside! Such productions are not made to engage player for long hours of gameplay - it's not even possible with this one, because of it's overloaded visuals. I would compare it with Audiosurf - that's logical, but those games have very less in common. Of course, your mp3's create levels in both games, but Beat Hazard is a classical space-shooter, like Asteroids. It's rapid, flashy and punishes you for every mistake... and yes, visuals are very intense. That's why it's perfect for 15 minutes break - your eyes won't get tired. Unfortunately, developers could really spice up some features.. and they did not. Your music has very questionable influence on your game - sometimes it kinda catch up, other times it fails totally. When you use more advanced perks (you unlock them when clearing songs) and turn the difficulty up, it seems to match the music in a better way... but still, it's not so precise as Audiosurf. In conclusion - pretty nice game, for all arcade shooter fans. Grab it when there's a discount and be sure to buy the "ultra" edition, with many more perks to unlock and new enemies. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Beat Hazard is a procedurally generated game based on your music. It does a good job with it, with big flashy explosions, gunfire, enemies and more during high points of the music, contrasted by slow enemies (after the balance patch) and weak gunfire during the lulls. Featuring generic space-based enemies, Beat Hazard does leave a lot to be desired graphically and atmospherically. The overly flashy effects (literally FLASHY) is an annoyance to some gamers, but I enjoyed it and thought it added tension; there is order to the chaos on the screen - it just takes some experience to recognize it.
    The gameplay is a straight-forward bullet-hell shoot-em-up, featuring a single level-clearing powerup and smaller cumulative weapon strength powerups. Beat Hazard is by no means easy, but eases the difficulty with a simple level-up system, which takes dozens of hours to max out. The enemies are easy to understand, from path-following suicide ships, to crumbling asteroids, to player-seeking armed ships and to the behemoth dividable boss ships. If there's one thing Beat Hazard lacks in gameplay, it's not the fast paced adrenaline-filled action, but the lack of diversity in weaponry, enemies and powerups.
    Overall, Beat Hazard is a great attempt at an action-music game, with a huge advantage in being able to use your own music library. Highly recommended to fans of indie games or anyone who craves a throwback to arcade games of the 80's.
    Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2011
    4
    Beat Hazard is a neat idea that hasn't quite pulled it off. I like this kind of 2d-space-shooter thing and I love music, so I thought I would like this a lot more. But it ends up feeling like AudioSurf's rambunctious little brother.

    The biggest problem is that it's too damn bright and flashy. As in, it actually hurts my eyes to play this thing for more than a few minutes. Everything seems to have bright white sparkles and bursts. It's ridiculous. Even with the brightness settings turned all the way down, it's annoying. I shouldn't need sunglasses to play a video game.

    Once you get past that, it's just not that great at mapping the gameplay to the music. Audiosurf does a good job of making fast songs fast and crowded while slow songs are more leisurely. Beat Hazard just doesn't seem to differentiate the songs as much. Maybe it depends on what sort of music you put into it, but it wasn't working for me.

    On a positive note, the "earn points to unlock things" is kind of neat and one way to make players want to come back for more.

    Long story short, if you can get past the obnoxious flashing of the screen and really, really want to shoot some spaceships and asteroids while listening to your music, it might be worth the $5 or so it costs when it's on sale. I personally don't recommend it, though.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews