Beat Hazard Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience your music collection like never before with this intense music driven arcade shooter. Each of your songs will have its own unique ebb and flow based on the music. Power up your spaceship and watch as the music boosts your firepower. Unleash hell on the enemy ships when you max out with weapon pickups! Beat Hazard seamlessly mixes the love of gaming and music. Together they become greater than the sum of their parts. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. With some new social features, online play, or even some adjustments that more closely tie in the arrangement of enemies with the pace of the music, Beat Hazard's value could ascend well beyond the $10 asking price.
  2. A slog that's worthwhile for arcade and music lovers alike. [July 2010, p.76]
  3. 76
    Beat Hazard is a short and sweet ten-dollar investment that is given solid longevity as long as you like the tunes in your music library.
  4. This dual-stick shooter gives you a fun new way to listen to your favorite bands.
  5. There's not enough reason to come back after the initial wow factor from the visuals wears off. [July 2010, p.90]
  6. The best thing Beat Hazard has going for it is the price. At $9.99 it's easy to recommend the title to anyone with the means to play it, as it provides a new way to experience music.
  7. 60
    Beat Hazard has a brilliant premise, which is sadly let down by uninspired gameplay and lacklustre presentation. Still, if you're a fan of twin-stick shooters and love music, then this game is for you.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    This is a great little game. I love to listen to music and have a lot of great stuff on my PC. I don't listen to it as much as I would like as I am usually doing other things, frequently more than one thing at a time. When playing Beat Hazard I get to listen to my favorites songs while playing a truly fun top-down space shooter that reacts to the music itself. Wonderful experience. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    I just got the game a few days ago and I'm already having such a super fun time! It is very challenging, but I still enjoy that I can play my music. The lights are not a problem for me. I just can't really bare with the lights on a full 200%... Hahaha. You guys should try the demo out before you buy because I don't think this game is for everyone. Collapse
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. It is similar to asteroids but the gun fires at the beat of the music making it very challenging. The lights are trippy at night and the overall gameplay is great. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    Yes this game is really awesome .A perfectly game the multiplayer have small bugs but this is nothing . AudioSurf vs Beat Hazard = Beat hazard win :D
  5. Dec 13, 2010
    7
    While they whole notion of "PLAY WITH YOUR MUSIC" seems quite interesting to look at, that's pretty much where it's job ends. It does little to affect gameplay, apart from the fact that your bullets are stronger in more intense sections of the song. Plus, given the deliberate seizure inducing visuals (which are somewhat pretty) and the fact that you must pay an extra dollar to get iTunes m4a support, It doesn't seem much like a worthy game, more like just some Asteroids clone with music. Your music. Probably only good for short bursts, before you collapse to the floor in a fit. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    THE REASON, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. UNIQUE CUSTOMIZABLE MUSIC SELECTION, ENEMY AI IS EFFECTED BY THE MUSIC CHOICE AND Addictive. At first glance the game doesn't give much potential, boy was i wrong. The intensity, of some of my own song choices, were utterly insane and challenging. A song you wouldn't think to be hard was and vice versa. Buy now and be impressed with enjoyment of your own music. CDO Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2011
    4
    Beat Hazard is a neat idea that hasn't quite pulled it off. I like this kind of 2d-space-shooter thing and I love music, so I thought I would like this a lot more. But it ends up feeling like AudioSurf's rambunctious little brother.

    The biggest problem is that it's too damn bright and flashy. As in, it actually hurts my eyes to play this thing for more than a few minutes. Everything seems to have bright white sparkles and bursts. It's ridiculous. Even with the brightness settings turned all the way down, it's annoying. I shouldn't need sunglasses to play a video game.

    Once you get past that, it's just not that great at mapping the gameplay to the music. Audiosurf does a good job of making fast songs fast and crowded while slow songs are more leisurely. Beat Hazard just doesn't seem to differentiate the songs as much. Maybe it depends on what sort of music you put into it, but it wasn't working for me.

    On a positive note, the "earn points to unlock things" is kind of neat and one way to make players want to come back for more.

    Long story short, if you can get past the obnoxious flashing of the screen and really, really want to shoot some spaceships and asteroids while listening to your music, it might be worth the $5 or so it costs when it's on sale. I personally don't recommend it, though.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews