Bet on Soldier: Blood Sport PC

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 31
  2. Negative: 12 out of 31
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewR.
    Jan 2, 2006
    3
    This is the worst game I have ever purchased. I'm not sure if they rushed it or what but for a final release version it sucks!! you can't play for more than a few minutes before it crashes even at the latest patch version 1.2. I thought they had a good thing going a different twist on teh FPS genre... but they missed the mark entirely with this release it should have been in This is the worst game I have ever purchased. I'm not sure if they rushed it or what but for a final release version it sucks!! you can't play for more than a few minutes before it crashes even at the latest patch version 1.2. I thought they had a good thing going a different twist on teh FPS genre... but they missed the mark entirely with this release it should have been in beta for at least 6 - 12 months longer to work out compatability issues and then maybe they may have had a decent game.... nice try but no thanks. Expand
  2. Doc
    Jan 4, 2006
    1
    What little of the game I could get through looked nice and seemed as fun as any other FPS that has you running down prescibed corridors but soon it becomes unplayable. My PC can handle Doom 3 , Quake 4 , Far Cry , etc but the game is far too buggy. Even after downloading the patch, it doesnt run right. If other industries turned out unuseable merchandise the way game companies do, they What little of the game I could get through looked nice and seemed as fun as any other FPS that has you running down prescibed corridors but soon it becomes unplayable. My PC can handle Doom 3 , Quake 4 , Far Cry , etc but the game is far too buggy. Even after downloading the patch, it doesnt run right. If other industries turned out unuseable merchandise the way game companies do, they would very shortly be out of business or replaced by someone that could get the job done right ( or pretty close to it) the first time. I really don't see how this game can be recommendable in its current state. Expand
  3. DanielLaursen
    Sep 22, 2005
    3
    I´ve only played the SP Demo and while some of the ideas were good, it was a buggy experience with horrible AI. Some models and designs were creative and different, but the overall quality varied to a great extent and there were too many visual flaws. It just didnt feel polished. It felt like i was playing an alpha. Also, despite decent anglosaxan voice acting, some of the writtenI´ve only played the SP Demo and while some of the ideas were good, it was a buggy experience with horrible AI. Some models and designs were creative and different, but the overall quality varied to a great extent and there were too many visual flaws. It just didnt feel polished. It felt like i was playing an alpha. Also, despite decent anglosaxan voice acting, some of the written english flawed. Expand
  4. kimjomgill
    Sep 26, 2005
    3
    Hopeless game that tries to mesh the ideas of several games into 1 , doesnt work its crap!
  5. SiCkWiThIT
    Sep 27, 2005
    3
    The whole basis of the game is silly. Its hard enough in a good FPS to figure out which weapons work best with which foe, those foe's strength and weaknesses, and the enemy AI. That's the challange. Seems that all Bet on Soldier has done to make it "stand out" is provide a mind-numbing array of weapons you have to buy? And then bet on how you do? Get real! Even the title The whole basis of the game is silly. Its hard enough in a good FPS to figure out which weapons work best with which foe, those foe's strength and weaknesses, and the enemy AI. That's the challange. Seems that all Bet on Soldier has done to make it "stand out" is provide a mind-numbing array of weapons you have to buy? And then bet on how you do? Get real! Even the title doesn't make sense. Expand
  6. LindaN.
    Mar 27, 2006
    0
    Sorry but you guys who gave this more than 3 must have really cr@p sound setups. This game refuses to run with any Audigy card at all, get to the first fight the MG goes off and so does the game, get a bit further up the tunnel same again. I took it back to game for refund straight after the 1.2 update did not solve the Issues. Sorry but in it's present state not even worth a 1.
  7. MattN.
    Aug 12, 2006
    1
    After i played the kinda 3 first levels i was far from impressed! The sight of the icon on my desktop was enough to make me puke.
  8. NelsonL.
    Feb 26, 2006
    0
    Did Uwe Boll design and direct this game? Thank God this was a given to me as a gift. If I had to purchase this piece of crap I would have used each cd for coasters and the jewel box for stuffing it with dog poo and sending it back to the developers, which places in danger my friendship with my friend. This is definitely the best example of what not to do. I own an Amd 64 and Nvidia Did Uwe Boll design and direct this game? Thank God this was a given to me as a gift. If I had to purchase this piece of crap I would have used each cd for coasters and the jewel box for stuffing it with dog poo and sending it back to the developers, which places in danger my friendship with my friend. This is definitely the best example of what not to do. I own an Amd 64 and Nvidia graphics card and it just plain crashes. Even with the patch. Not to mention what everybody else said... slower than a caravan of two legged turtles. It is a sad, sad, game. Your partners get in your way, they die studpidly and the voices... please. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Bet on Soldier would have been a great game had it not been for the poor computer AI, lack of variety in the models and the abysmal loading times/lag. Great levels, a smart presentation and immersing sound coupled with the betting aspect makes the game stand out in the crowd.
  2. The progressive nature of the game will test the skilled player and you soon find out that the support soldiers you choose, the way you equip yourself, is very very important. Bet on Soldier is hard but then again presenting a challenge worth fighting through makes it even more appealing.
  3. Edge Magazine
    30
    Bet On Soldier’s non-linearity of progression, its riot-shield combat and internationally ranging scenarios suggest a game that might well have looked exciting on the drawing board. The final production, however, will leave anyone better off putting their money on the dogs. [Nov 2005, p.112]