Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. If you decide to pick up the latest artistic experiment from Tale of Tales keep in mind that the game’s subject matter with a little bit of background can start to make a lot of sense. It just requires you to think outside of the video game medium.
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    72
    It's never easy to recommend nontraditional gaming experiences as Bientôt l'été. If you love original experiences and good aesthetics, this is a very experimental and unique proposal.
  3. Feb 28, 2013
    70
    It’s a game about picking dialogue options that are metaphorically represented as potential moves on the board, but it’s that which goes unsaid that makes its semi-improvised conversations so intriguing.
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    70
    It's an eclectic mixture of imagination, interpretation, and (purposefully constrained) interaction that really doesn't work as often as it should, but – on the rare occasions when all the pieces fit together – it creates some heart-fluttering highs.
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    70
    Bientôt l'été can technically be considered a video game by utilizing the medium, but relating the experience more to a conceptual piece of art or installation work would be more appropriate. However, those individuals seeking a video game experience outside of the norm shouldn't hesitate to visit the bold and unique world of Bientôt l'été.
  6. May 15, 2013
    60
    It's not a video game as such, but rather an essay on loneliness expressed through virtual means. We're glad to have experiences like this one, because it means the industry is growing up.
  7. Mar 4, 2013
    60
    Poetics and esthetics of the French New Wave melted into the melancholic virtual reality, in which you may, or may not experience exceptional encounters.
  8. Feb 18, 2013
    60
    While Bientôt l’été may lack the potency of Tale of Tales’ best work – the subversive, disturbing The Path is this writer’s personal highlight - there’s something to be said for a game that so boldly goes against the grain.
  9. Mar 30, 2013
    57
    For all its awkwardness and self-regard, we need more games like this, that try to broaden the medium and aspire to better it. Eventually, we'll get one that succeeds. [Apr 2013, p.109]
  10. Feb 20, 2013
    43
    It’s a shame that Bientôt l’été is a game that is almost certain to be forgotten as the broken mess that it is. I really thought this game had some great concepts, but the unworkable controls and awful matchmaking destroy any chance it had. If you can find it on sale cheap—we’re talking under 5 bucks—and you really like the French New Wave, you might be interested. Otherwise, I’d definitely pass.
  11. May 13, 2013
    40
    How long can you stare at birds and globes traveling across the sky? [CD-Action 06/2013, p.79]
  12. Feb 20, 2013
    30
    In Journey I bonded more with my playing partner than any virtual café ever could facilitate. Bientôt l'été feels like a few steps backward trying to mask its emptiness with pretty pictures and French language. It screams for attention, eager to appear stranger than the rest, just foundering in the process.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    The main problem is how buggy and clunky this game is. The multiplayer doesn't seem to work at all, whether private or public, and the developers don't seem to care. On the forums they give helpful advice such as "it worked when *we* tested it". I understand from the simulations what's trying to be accomplished here, but this sort of game is entirely about the experience, and there's simply nothing to do. Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    0
    This game is an unfinished scam. My description of it? It is really just a hodgepodge of randomness with hollow artsy fartsiness. This serves as failed attempt to conceal the fact that there is no game, just you, a player who might desperately seek justification for the money they wasted by pressing his or her face too closely to the screen or by giving this game a score higher than 0 on metacritic. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    Far by the worst game ever. I only gave this game a 1 because it is in French and I love French, or else it would've been a 0. Multiplayer doesn't work and the game promised that you can play it in multiplayer. A high end graphics card is needed when the game doesn't look like it needs that much vram and etc. This whole "game" is a rip off, I exchanged my Sleeping Dogs hoping that this would be better, but nope. Do not EVER buy this game, it's a scam like WarZ! Yes I officially made a metacritic just so I can tell everyone how horrible it is. Full Review »