Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 80
    If you can get over the weak beginning the game will catch you – Binary Domain is a breathtaking shooter set in a Hollywood style. A must-have for all fans of "robots-went-angry" situation. [June 2012]
  2. May 2, 2012
    80
    Binary Domain is a nice surprise. Shooting mechanics are really well-devised, with an astounding mecha design and boss fight. Unfortunately the light rpg squad aspect of the game doesn't work properly.
  3. May 28, 2012
    78
    An interesting and honest action/shooter, it should have worked more on the features that strive to set it apart from other games of the genre. But even in its current version, Binary Domain is fun and worth investing time into, especially if you are a fan of sci-fi and frenzied shooters. [June 2012]
  4. May 24, 2012
    77
    Binary Domain has its share of weird concepts and one-dimensional characters, but they're better than "let's kill some terrorists who stole nuclear warheads".
  5. May 3, 2012
    77
    Binary Domain is a solid shooter. Looks nice, features an action-packed campaign and offers an interesting history.
  6. May 7, 2012
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 2, 2012
    72
    Whenever the authors finally get the chance to tell their story it evolves further than "Gears of Blade Runner". Nonetheless Binary Domain gets stuck in the middle between the eastern excellence of bossfights and the western school of modern shooter action. Unfortunately the PC version suffers from sluggish and not fully customizable controls.
  8. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    Less Hot Shots and more Hot Fuzz. [July 2012, p.66]
  9. 60
    Binary Domain took inspiration from many places, but didn't manage to gather those ideas into a shell that goes beyond a decent coherence; the story is ridiculously clichéd, the dialogues are passable at best and the Trust and voice systems aren't exploited enough to really matter. Just the boss fights are somewhat fun, but ultimately it depends if you have enough patience to face the tons of (s)crap just for the thrill of taking down such huge metallic monsters.
  10. Jun 19, 2012
    54
    The robots blow up good, otherwise this ho-hum shooter fumbles its few ideas and is a shonky port to boot. [Aug 2012, p.58]
  11. May 4, 2012
    40
    Binary Domain looks and plays the third-person, cover-based shooter part, but it's really just a soulless imitation. And I'd love nothing more than to bash its robot brains in.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 70
  2. Negative: 16 out of 70
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    I'm not sure if I played the same game everyone else has.This game is totally one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played.AwesomeI'm not sure if I played the same game everyone else has.This game is totally one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played.Awesome graphics,great music,engaging and interesting story and solid gameplay.What else can I expect?

    Of course there were some flaws in the PC port,but those can be fixed as easily as running the configuration tool and doing small options tweaks,like showing keyboard buttons for example,something people have complained about.They patched the game for those options to be default now anyways,so there's no problem anymore.

    Seriously,this is a must-play for anyone with a slight interest in shooters and/or cyberpunk-themed stuff.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 30, 2012
    8
    This game is good!!!! nice to play....however not too different from other shooters....atmosphere of the game is good..accompanied by decentThis game is good!!!! nice to play....however not too different from other shooters....atmosphere of the game is good..accompanied by decent engaging music.....the voice command system may not be appreciated by all players....ai shooter teammates are dull.....gameplay is similar to gears of war.... Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2012
    8
    All right, after I'd watched several console gameplay videos of BD, I decided to give this game a try when it was finally released for PC. AsAll right, after I'd watched several console gameplay videos of BD, I decided to give this game a try when it was finally released for PC. As a huge fan of dark, apocalyptic and rather pessimistic visions of the future of mankind (don't get me wrong, I still believe in humanity, I'd even briefly considered Sarif's point of view before I dismissed that claim and inclined to Taggart's opinion in DE: HR, but anyway!) I was quite looking forward to playing this SEGA's (Nihon-tachi, uh, Japanese, right?) take on a classical western TPS. Moreover, I've always been fascinated by the advanced virtual intelligence research (Isaac Asimov, Matrix, Edi...and Geth...oh wait! The Red Explosion Ending...meh, never mind then) and so I was awaiting with much anticipation what SEGA could come up with. And deliver, they did!
    At the very beginning, we're presented with a fact that around 2080 there are two world corporations producing robots, one in the US (surprisingly!) and another one in Japan, the latter going later rogue and producing robots indistinguishable from humans and so the US with the help of several other nations establishes a covert-op group called The Rust Crew (Rusty Galloway, anyone, no? eh...) and dispatches it to secretly investigate experiments conducted by this (evil!) Japanese corp. The overall story is suprisingly gripping, with several major twists and also the fact that all friendly humans might not be REAL flesh and blood under their skin nor are they even aware of it! (goosebumps!). During this approximately 10-13 hours long ride you can slightly alternate the story with several choices, so yes, some basics of non-linearity can be found there. Throughout the game, you expand your Rust Crew and always run around with two (later even 3!) squadmates, giving them orders, building their trust in you by responding to their various, sometimes even a little bit dumb, questions, nevertheless!, BD still manages to keep you interested in what's going on, jokes and teasing in cutscenes and even in gameplay are served on daily basis. And by the end, I really cared about the characters, they were incredibly well-written (even if a little bit stereotypical - British, Chinese, French, only Russian is missing, ha!). Of course, Mass Effect is still in the Premier League regarding the squadmates, but BD is a decent opponent! Another thing is that you can upgrade all weapons (those of your squadmates as well) via special shops scattered throughout all chapters and also, through this little micro-management thing, your skills long for improvement too!
    Anyway, long story short - It's a very good game worth buying and trying. Even though the soundtrack is far beyond memorable, graphics have seen better days and the main motifs of some characters flirt with being double, even triple-agents, the engaging story, light RPG elements and the idea of a well-coordinated team (+killing hundreds of robots IS extremely satisfying, definitely! And then there are BOSS FIGHTS! Real, Japanese boss fights!!! Fascinating!) can more than make up for the aforementioned cons.
    As for me (and by the time you read this, you've probably guessed it), I had a great time playing Binary Domain and therefore, I would gladly recommend it to anyone, who isn't afraid of a little challenge (and who likes robots, "scrap-heads!" and BOSS FIGHTS!) and doesn't mind certain light-heartiness of this surprisingly well working Nihon-West hybrid. (and BTW, the problems with controls can be solved quite easily via the Config option after clicking on Play, just making sure!) Tanoshimu, minna!
    Full Review »