Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Binary Domain puts players in the middle of a fast-paced and intense battle for humanity in robot-invaded 2080 Tokyo. Fighting through the derelict lower levels of the city, players control an international peace-keeping squad that soon starts to question their surroundings and the choicesBinary Domain puts players in the middle of a fast-paced and intense battle for humanity in robot-invaded 2080 Tokyo. Fighting through the derelict lower levels of the city, players control an international peace-keeping squad that soon starts to question their surroundings and the choices they are making. Are the robots becoming more human, or are humans becoming more like machines? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 80
    If you can get over the weak beginning the game will catch you – Binary Domain is a breathtaking shooter set in a Hollywood style. A must-have for all fans of "robots-went-angry" situation. [June 2012]
  2. May 2, 2012
    80
    Binary Domain is a nice surprise. Shooting mechanics are really well-devised, with an astounding mecha design and boss fight. Unfortunately the light rpg squad aspect of the game doesn't work properly.
  3. May 28, 2012
    78
    An interesting and honest action/shooter, it should have worked more on the features that strive to set it apart from other games of the genre. But even in its current version, Binary Domain is fun and worth investing time into, especially if you are a fan of sci-fi and frenzied shooters. [June 2012]
  4. May 7, 2012
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 2, 2012
    72
    Whenever the authors finally get the chance to tell their story it evolves further than "Gears of Blade Runner". Nonetheless Binary Domain gets stuck in the middle between the eastern excellence of bossfights and the western school of modern shooter action. Unfortunately the PC version suffers from sluggish and not fully customizable controls.
  6. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    Less Hot Shots and more Hot Fuzz. [July 2012, p.66]
  7. May 4, 2012
    40
    Binary Domain looks and plays the third-person, cover-based shooter part, but it's really just a soulless imitation. And I'd love nothing more than to bash its robot brains in.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 70
  2. Negative: 16 out of 70
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    I'm not sure if I played the same game everyone else has.This game is totally one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played.AwesomeI'm not sure if I played the same game everyone else has.This game is totally one of the best Third Person Shooters I have ever played.Awesome graphics,great music,engaging and interesting story and solid gameplay.What else can I expect?

    Of course there were some flaws in the PC port,but those can be fixed as easily as running the configuration tool and doing small options tweaks,like showing keyboard buttons for example,something people have complained about.They patched the game for those options to be default now anyways,so there's no problem anymore.

    Seriously,this is a must-play for anyone with a slight interest in shooters and/or cyberpunk-themed stuff.
    Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    great game amazing story good gameplay mechanics and love the trust system great cover system the minor g=complaint that I can say is thegreat game amazing story good gameplay mechanics and love the trust system great cover system the minor g=complaint that I can say is the epicness it felt a little dull but overall a great game Expand
  3. May 8, 2012
    9
    A super game, challenging (at least for me) and entertaining. I agree that the story line was somewhat simplistic, but it still held myA super game, challenging (at least for me) and entertaining. I agree that the story line was somewhat simplistic, but it still held my attention. The "boss fights" were frequent and great and the characters were people that you could relate to. My only real problem was the number and length of the cut scenes. I realize that the game contained a story, but there must be a less annoying way of getting the plot across. Also, I agree with the others, instructions are needed on how to convert the game to PC controls. Expand
  4. May 18, 2013
    8
    I loved this game so much, in all it its aspects from live full of surprises personalities and funny positions also you need to have an ideaI loved this game so much, in all it its aspects from live full of surprises personalities and funny positions also you need to have an idea for progress in the game the story that despite its simplicity, but it remains acceptable and I think the only problem that I encountered in the game is the camera where there is difficulty in guiding it horizontally  I hope that there is a second part after this part Expand
  5. May 6, 2012
    7
    A sound 7. Consolish graphics. Good design. Interesting story. Nice characters. Could have been more deep gameplay wise and have betterA sound 7. Consolish graphics. Good design. Interesting story. Nice characters. Could have been more deep gameplay wise and have better graphics on PC (using 40% of a GTX570 at 60fps (capped) and only 450MB of video memory) so overall it is a 7. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    Hollow Children is not new idea in science fiction, but it can show a lot more interesting than it's done in this game. The idea fell apartHollow Children is not new idea in science fiction, but it can show a lot more interesting than it's done in this game. The idea fell apart into small pieces, just as destructible throughout the game thousands of identical dummy. From such a miserable fate were rescued just bosses, but most of the time passed in the horrific corridors, closed streets and small venues. Heroes, control by a player, no different from the robotic enemies, to breathe life by the spanned jokes didn't happen. Together with the monotonous gray shades, everything that happens leads to a terrible depression. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    0
    Totally messed up controls. I am surprised mouse is supported at all. Game is introducing you to these messed up commands by messages whichTotally messed up controls. I am surprised mouse is supported at all. Game is introducing you to these messed up commands by messages which contain pictures of gamepad buttons and NO actual keyboard input. Its amazing that anyone can get such a complex project to this stage and forget to update few VERY important introductory messages. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews