BioShock 2 PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1208 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Play as a big daddy from the first game? Interesting idea, but did it work? Was the protagonist too far removed from you to really care? For me the game worked, not in the same ballpark as the first but it did indeed work. Just not as well as the original, not by a long chalk.
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    There is no other game that I felt compassion and protective love against a character eventhough I am not a father myself. I'm not gonna talk about the gameplay its obvious and its not the winning side of this game. Its the FEEELINGS that this game made me taste that is worthwhile. (Maybe the walking dead came close to the same feelings)
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    8
    With the first Bioshock being a ground-breaking piece of art, Bioshock 2 falls short of it's predecessor. This time around, you play as Delta, the first successful Big Daddy. You want to find your original "Little Sister", but she has been put into custody of a corrupt politician who plans to create a woman made of all the great minds of Rapture.
    The game's single player campaign is
    With the first Bioshock being a ground-breaking piece of art, Bioshock 2 falls short of it's predecessor. This time around, you play as Delta, the first successful Big Daddy. You want to find your original "Little Sister", but she has been put into custody of a corrupt politician who plans to create a woman made of all the great minds of Rapture.
    The game's single player campaign is slightly lacking. It has enough substance, such as new weapons, powers, and enemies to keep the player somewhat interested during the majority of it, but it was not varied enough from the original game's formula.
    One of the redeeming factors of the game as a whole is the multi-player. It takes place before the events of the original game, and retains the weapons and powers from the first. It gives the player something to come back to after the single player game.
    Overall, the game had some problems, but the game was still descent enough to keep the same charm of the original game.
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2012
    9
    I really love how they created a big city under the sea. It's like an whole new culture was created in the game. This game has very good voice acting, like the first Bioshock. The plasmids, weapons and hacking are better than the first game. The story is not that good, comparing to the first game, but still very enjoyable. Some people complained that the game is a little too short (AndI really love how they created a big city under the sea. It's like an whole new culture was created in the game. This game has very good voice acting, like the first Bioshock. The plasmids, weapons and hacking are better than the first game. The story is not that good, comparing to the first game, but still very enjoyable. Some people complained that the game is a little too short (And yes, it is in fact shorter than the first game), but I think it is the perfect length a game can have. You can finish the game before you got bored of it. BioShock Infinite is coming, and because of the fun brought to me by BioShock and BioShock 2, I am really looking forward to BioShock Infinite. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Despite a completely new storyline, new enemies and weapons, and updated graphics, this game felt a lot like more of the same. There really weren't many parts of this game that made me feel like I was playing a different game than Bioshock, not that I'm complaining.
  6. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    This is the second part of an amazing game but i think is not in the same high level of the first Bioshock. The graphics is a little worst, the gameplay the same but it has one more time a very nice story and an amazing cinematic ending.
  7. yoshi
    Feb 25, 2010
    9
    Firstly can people plz not give it a zero for things like "its glitchy" as it is probably your computers fault. becausethere are some reviews were people HAVE NOT PLAYED THE GAME. I mean how can you rate the game if you havnt played it... Awesome game though the combat is very fun and enjoyable with a excellent single player and multiplayer experience. Do not vote if you havnt played the game.
  8. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Bioshock 2 is more of the same, or perhaps less of the same. However since the original bioshock's world was so staggeringly inviting and original, more of the same in this context is not bad. I guess what I am saying is that it takes more than two games set in the same world for genre fatigue to set in. This game also makes some mild improvements to the gameplay and mechanics, it's storyBioshock 2 is more of the same, or perhaps less of the same. However since the original bioshock's world was so staggeringly inviting and original, more of the same in this context is not bad. I guess what I am saying is that it takes more than two games set in the same world for genre fatigue to set in. This game also makes some mild improvements to the gameplay and mechanics, it's story is solid - although not as masterful as the originals - and the game still maintains a sense of emotional weight. It's major downfall for me is it's length, and a more enclosed world that feels a little more like a rails-first-person-shooter than bioshock has any right to feel. I enjoyed the heck out of this game - although it's absolutely a step in the wrong direction. Expand
  9. TedS
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    Not as bad as all these reviews made it out to be, VERY nice having 2 weapons, doesn't get as boring as the first 1, still playing it. Always out of ammo, but this is ok since i like a good challenge, makes u scavenge A LOT! but this time around Everywhere i look i find treasure or a new modification spell. It feels like what the first 1 shoulda been, which is nice. Rating prob right Not as bad as all these reviews made it out to be, VERY nice having 2 weapons, doesn't get as boring as the first 1, still playing it. Always out of ammo, but this is ok since i like a good challenge, makes u scavenge A LOT! but this time around Everywhere i look i find treasure or a new modification spell. It feels like what the first 1 shoulda been, which is nice. Rating prob right at a 9. Not a whole lot of attractive people, but hey its bioshock. Expand
  10. N.D
    Feb 10, 2010
    8
    Some of the graphics and game mechanics are better, but the storytelling of the first game is still more memorable and clever. Also, it took me a while to get used to using both Plasmids and weapons at the same time, and the game seems much harder than its predecessor. Overall, the singleplayer is pretty great and no BioShock fan should pass this game up. The multiplayer on the other Some of the graphics and game mechanics are better, but the storytelling of the first game is still more memorable and clever. Also, it took me a while to get used to using both Plasmids and weapons at the same time, and the game seems much harder than its predecessor. Overall, the singleplayer is pretty great and no BioShock fan should pass this game up. The multiplayer on the other hand, is a horrible joke, and a sick waste of time. Expand
  11. JonathanL
    Feb 11, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. It is just as amazing as the first one with a few faults. The story is pretty darn good but still a little weaker than the first. There is a lot of predictable story turns thanks to playing through the first one, and you see a lot of reused personalities, but without beating the game yet I still don't see a new fontaine in sight. Overall, definitely a buy no This game is awesome. It is just as amazing as the first one with a few faults. The story is pretty darn good but still a little weaker than the first. There is a lot of predictable story turns thanks to playing through the first one, and you see a lot of reused personalities, but without beating the game yet I still don't see a new fontaine in sight. Overall, definitely a buy no matter what people are saying about the securerom problems, I have had none whatsoever. Expand
  12. MandyC
    Feb 11, 2010
    8
    To be honest I feel the game is way too short to receive a higher score. Its a revisit, with few surprises. The game play is immersive, the story well told as with #1, but , I cant stress enough, at 4-6 hours playtime its really not worthy of being a classic. Sure the multiplayer is fun, but it adds nothing new to the overcrowded multiplayer FPS genre. When you look at the likes of To be honest I feel the game is way too short to receive a higher score. Its a revisit, with few surprises. The game play is immersive, the story well told as with #1, but , I cant stress enough, at 4-6 hours playtime its really not worthy of being a classic. Sure the multiplayer is fun, but it adds nothing new to the overcrowded multiplayer FPS genre. When you look at the likes of Fallout 3 , DAorigins, Mass Effect etc with 80+ hours gameplay, this great looking game falls short. Expand
  13. JasonR
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Man this game is epic. I liked how they fixed all the stuff I didn't like from the first (not much i didn't like though). The hacking is much better, the weapons, all the plasmids can be useful, and the controls aren't as clunky for the PC. Just finished it, can't wait to start multiplayer. Job well done 2K
  14. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    It isn't often that a sequel surpasses the original, and BioShock 2 does just that. It carries over the extremely high production values. The sound, the voice acting, the ambience and forboding are all there in spades. The gameplay is just as compelling as before, with added layers and possibilities that broaden your options without saddling them. This was to be expected, as the originalIt isn't often that a sequel surpasses the original, and BioShock 2 does just that. It carries over the extremely high production values. The sound, the voice acting, the ambience and forboding are all there in spades. The gameplay is just as compelling as before, with added layers and possibilities that broaden your options without saddling them. This was to be expected, as the original recipe was ripe for exploitation. What I didn't expect was a truly immersive, heartwarming story that took my breath away at the end. Maybe being a parent helped with that, but I don't see how anyone with an ounce of compassion could not be moved by what unfolds.

    BioShock 2 is a masterpiece in every sense of the word.

    Maybe its because I played a patched version, but I encountered none of the technical issues many other reviewers alluded to. I ran the game at 1050x1680 widescreen with no trouble. Loading times were under 10 seconds, often just a couple of seconds. How people can say Bio 2 looks worse that Bio 1 is beyond me, it may not be better, but it most certainly is not worse. And looking the same as the first game was probably intentional, it is after all the same place is it not? It does take place ten years later, which is why Rapture now appears to be falling apart, so in that way it is different. It is also a measure of just how well thought out the game, as a sequel, is and I believe it was executed extemely well. The only real complaint I have is that it can be a hassle to manage all those weapons and plasmids in the midst of combat, and that ammo to be found is a bit too plentiful. Other than that the game absorbed me from the beginning and kept me engrossed for several days. Those of you finishing the game in 8 hours simply are not "experiencing the game", you are merely playing it at a superficial level, probably so you can brag about how fast you completed it and get to writing a cursory review that imparts nothing of substance.

    I really wish people would put more thought into thier reviews, if you say "it's buggy" then tell us how its buggy....if it's "a great game" tell us why its a great game. And this notion of "the game has no innovation" claim is crap. When you think about it honestly...what was the last FPS game that was truly innovative? Remember, you are doing a service by posting a review, make it worthwhile.
    Expand
  15. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Technically sound (though Games for Windows Live was a burden to make happy), I didn't experience any glitches or crashes during game-play. Story wise I was a bit leery of a sequel to the impressive work of the original Bioshock. For my thoughts on it, in many ways I enjoyed the story of the second one better. Don't get me wrong, the first one had impressive characters and some uniqueTechnically sound (though Games for Windows Live was a burden to make happy), I didn't experience any glitches or crashes during game-play. Story wise I was a bit leery of a sequel to the impressive work of the original Bioshock. For my thoughts on it, in many ways I enjoyed the story of the second one better. Don't get me wrong, the first one had impressive characters and some unique twists and turns. However the first one always seemed to keep the heart of the story at arm's length, never full investing the player in the plight of the protagonist. At the end it came together nicely. Bioshock 2 kept me going, eagerly devouring levels to complete the next step on the journey. As someone else posted, perhaps it's the difference of theme of what it is to be a parent. Playing as a dad, perhaps I could identify more with Delta and the drive that keeps him going. If you truly enjoyed Rapture from the original Bioshock, you would be remiss to skip playing the second. Take the critical reviews with a grain of sea salt and jump back into the depths with both feet. Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    best voice acting I've ever seen but the combat system did get boring eventually for me
    the sounds do always fit the environment very well and make it interesting
  17. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed it. Not as much as the first, but nonetheless a good game. The default controls were WAY easier as well. The atmosphere is just as creepy but in a different way than the first.
  18. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    As always - Bioshock kick arse! Perhaps not as pleasant as the original (but common - let's face it - it was awesome because it was so new, and unique) the second part still is a fun shooter-walker! :) enjoyed it a lot. Can't wait to play Dead Space 2!
  19. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, the GOTY 2010! The ending was the best I've ever seen in my life, and everything has been improved in the sequel, only bad in multiplayer with some problems.
  20. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    Playing the first game is not essential at all to playing this game, it is very similar to the first game though in that the gameplay is basically the same and so is the setting. Gameplay has been improved, you can use both plasmids and weapons at the same time, there are mini turrets now and different types of big daddies and enemies. The story is not very much like predecessor, more ofPlaying the first game is not essential at all to playing this game, it is very similar to the first game though in that the gameplay is basically the same and so is the setting. Gameplay has been improved, you can use both plasmids and weapons at the same time, there are mini turrets now and different types of big daddies and enemies. The story is not very much like predecessor, more of an emotional tale of a father, still very good though. I didn't play the multiplayer much but it didn't seem very noteworthy. The diaries found around rapture are still as interesting. Expand
  21. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent game, the story is its strongest point. With touches of role on the management of items / powers / enhancements, this first-person game one of the most engaging, although it is recommended to play the first one to understand and enjoy 2. The game very well optimized, has excellent graphics and an incredible atmosphere, addictive gameplay and duration of the campaign is quite longExcellent game, the story is its strongest point. With touches of role on the management of items / powers / enhancements, this first-person game one of the most engaging, although it is recommended to play the first one to understand and enjoy 2. The game very well optimized, has excellent graphics and an incredible atmosphere, addictive gameplay and duration of the campaign is quite long (about 20 hours and a bit more). The changes between the previous (That was one of the best games of 2007) are not very noticeable, and this does not mean it is bad, and that remains the highlight of the first delivery. The only criticism is the multiplayer, not because it is bad (although I miss a bit to at least be "addictive"), but that all servers are empty. But the singleplayer and is a gem, so it should not be a problem this. Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    simply copy of Bioshock however still perfect to play, good story.... minus a point because of technical issues with GFW - solved after 2 hours findings on internet
  23. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Being the Encore to one of my favorite games of 2007 I had high expectations for this game, this is inevitably the downfall of ND 3RD Et Cetera of games. This expectation of a better game than the first brings down many games or at least for me it does. But Bio shock 2 managed to pull it off. The story telling was much more in depth and holes where few and far between almost unnoticeableBeing the Encore to one of my favorite games of 2007 I had high expectations for this game, this is inevitably the downfall of ND 3RD Et Cetera of games. This expectation of a better game than the first brings down many games or at least for me it does. But Bio shock 2 managed to pull it off. The story telling was much more in depth and holes where few and far between almost unnoticeable in some areas. It excels in this area that Bio shock struggled to get around. But the gameplay is not as good, the first game put story aside to bring you into this mysterious and powerful place where pretty much everything can kill you with ease if you don't use tactics. This changed in the second one where practically the only thing more powerful than you and you might struggle with is the big sister but any any gamer with OK hand eye co-ordination will not struggle at all. The plasmids are brought to mind whilst playing Bio shock being just one of the many defining features, in the first they had this method of one at a time where you would have to change from plasmid to weapon, this brought a new level of tactics to the game as you must think before you act, Bio shock 2 turned this feature into a button mash as you through as much at your enemy as possible with the knowledge that they will die.The weapons themselves however have been smartly updated and changed to fit a big lumbering monster. This brings me to the final point I wish to make the little sisters, they turned the most annoying part of Bio shock 1 into a common place event. But now for the rating 9/10 because even through all its flaws I still play it over and over because of it amazing scenery, epic story line and gameplay that just makes you feel like your the boss and everyone else has to work up to your level. Would i recommend it definitely. Should you think of going for infinite yes and if you have not played Bio shock 1 yet I think you should give it a go, but don't go in expecting to rampage through everything like your a tank it doesn't work on the original. Expand
  24. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    While it was similar to its predecessor Bioshock 2 still came through with a new and interesting experience. While gameplay was more or less the same, the story that they came up with was as interesting as it was engaging. I felt very satisfied with the amount of gameplay (about 8-10 hours), where I was content with the story ending when it did but also at a point where I was not sick ofWhile it was similar to its predecessor Bioshock 2 still came through with a new and interesting experience. While gameplay was more or less the same, the story that they came up with was as interesting as it was engaging. I felt very satisfied with the amount of gameplay (about 8-10 hours), where I was content with the story ending when it did but also at a point where I was not sick of the game and just wanted it to end. I actually feel like playing through the game (taking different actions this time too). Now while the graphics where more like the first Bioshock that didnt bug me. I liked the look of rapture and this gave me more of the same. I didnt feel like I was playing a different game, I in fact liked the idea of being able to play Bioshock then start playing Bioshock 2 right away and feel like Im still in the same decaying city of Rapture. I dont see why a game series always has to up the graphics in each game to the point where there is a significant difference. Now I see it as a good thing if theres a significant difference between games but we see games from other companies (IE valve) where continiuing with the same graphics really give you sense of the environment. Now I also see it as a good idea to update when you change that environment such as with Bioshock Infinite. There was a few story elements that I didnt like but not to the point that it bothered me. But I really liked how you learn more about Rapture and they even tied in the main character from Bioshock. I went in expecting a game similar yet different from Bioshock, and I got that and more. Expand
  25. Jeremy
    Feb 12, 2010
    9
    Single Player experience was a much more thrilling one than the first overall, but the story though good doesn't match the original at all. The Mult-iplayer seems to be riding upon CoD's best parts but overall it's original elements keep it solid. This is probably the first game that I've had a great single player and multi-player experience with.
  26. John
    Feb 13, 2010
    9
    Most reviews compare BioShock 2 to the original BioShock, and say there is nothing new. After finishing both, I can say they are correct - and I see this as a good thing. This allows the game to follow on seamlessly from the original, and even the graphics and system requirements are pretty much the same. Maybe this was a conscious decision to allow players of the original BioShock to Most reviews compare BioShock 2 to the original BioShock, and say there is nothing new. After finishing both, I can say they are correct - and I see this as a good thing. This allows the game to follow on seamlessly from the original, and even the graphics and system requirements are pretty much the same. Maybe this was a conscious decision to allow players of the original BioShock to also play this game, but I think it is nice to step back into Rapture and feel right at home. To say Expand
  27. BradE
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    Single player is fun, weapons are a little more varied, tonic system has been improved, hacking is now in real-time (a plus) and is now not a tedious chore, story is good as ever. Multiplayer. Since multiplayer was pretty much a "add-on" feature i wasn't expecting revolutionary gameplay, which it definately isnt. The multiplayer is...generic for lack of a better word, you shoots the Single player is fun, weapons are a little more varied, tonic system has been improved, hacking is now in real-time (a plus) and is now not a tedious chore, story is good as ever. Multiplayer. Since multiplayer was pretty much a "add-on" feature i wasn't expecting revolutionary gameplay, which it definately isnt. The multiplayer is...generic for lack of a better word, you shoots the enemies and they falls down. Gamemodes are all simply rehashes of other already existing modes. Plasmids are as fun as always and add their "spark" to the playing field, making it a unique experience. Voice acting is surprisingly just as good as the single player and overall I enjoy playing the multiplayer, which is pretty much all you want. I would rate this game a 10 if not for the matchmaking problems in multiplayer (e.g. if the host leaves while midgame, everyone is disconnected, ranks are not matched to similar ranks and matchmaking sometimes moves you AWAY from a near full game). Expand
  28. ChrisN
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    The story is not great, but it satisfies, the action is beautiful, I have not played multiplayer yet, but I will tomorrow. The game is surprisingly tons harder than the original, even on easy difficulty the fights with big sisters are tough.
  29. AndrewR
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    With high expectations, I believed that I would be disappointed. Luckily I was wrong. Yes the game looks and feels very similar to the first one, but there is so much new, lengthy content in this game that makes your visit back to Rapture captivating and memorable. The story is not QUITE as epic as Bioshock 1, but is still intense and keeps you interested until the very end. The combat With high expectations, I believed that I would be disappointed. Luckily I was wrong. Yes the game looks and feels very similar to the first one, but there is so much new, lengthy content in this game that makes your visit back to Rapture captivating and memorable. The story is not QUITE as epic as Bioshock 1, but is still intense and keeps you interested until the very end. The combat has changed just enough to feel very new with just slightly modified elements (eg. the "dual wielding" plasmids + guns). The weapons are fresh, and I love what they did with the hack system. Bioshock 2 stands as an amazing single player experience, but they also added a very fun multiplayer made by a different company. The multiplayer isn't earth shattering, but has enough content and excitement to stand enough on its own. In other words, don't buy this game just for the multiplayer. My only complaints about Bioshock 2: multiplayer is laggy, and a little sketchy. It needs one HUGE update/patch to make it smoother and more internet friendly. Oh, no dedicated server list. Secondly, the with so many things going on like switching out plasmids and guns, and having a hack tool in the middle of your weapons is just a little difficult to manage in the middle of a battle with splicers trying to eat your little sisters. Expand
  30. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    First off, I'm giving this game a 10 because it is a single player game that not only pulls it off wonderfully, but manages to throw in a decent multiplayer component at the same time. Multiplayer could seriously use some dedicated servers though, I've played games where 1 person would literally be almost impossible to hit because their connection was so bad that they warped when theyFirst off, I'm giving this game a 10 because it is a single player game that not only pulls it off wonderfully, but manages to throw in a decent multiplayer component at the same time. Multiplayer could seriously use some dedicated servers though, I've played games where 1 person would literally be almost impossible to hit because their connection was so bad that they warped when they tried to strafe around me. But overall it's fun and rewarding to play multiplayer. Single player, there really isn't much to say, it's just fantastic, a lot of people who were fans of Bioshock 1 may not like this one, simply because there's not really a whole lot that is new, you've been to Rapture before, you've seen the citizens before, you know about all the denizens of rapture already, why this new single player is so good is because of the story. A lot of people criticize bioshock 2's story as being worse than the first, I respectfully disagree, I think this one is so much better. Back when I was following the bioshock 2 forums I remember someone trying to argue about the characters and moral decisions to be more intense in bioshock 1, I really did not think this was true, BIOSHOCK 1 SPOILER AHEAD when Sander Cohen appeared in person in the first game, I always killed him, why? It wasn't because I thought he was crazy, it wasn't because I had extra ammo and just didn't care, it was because I thought I had to. He looked like a splicer, he sounded insane and I simply assumed I couldn't progress unless I killed him, to me it was just another kill in the walk through rapture, SPOILER END. Bioshock 2 keeps me emotionally invested in the characters, so the moral choices are actually there, and I don't instantly kill someone because I thought I had to, there's no confusion. Bioshock 2 may have had a shaky launch (lots of crashing/graphics issues) but it's a solid game, it doesn't FEEL like a terrible console port, best of all, and it is for someone who wants more of Rapture, not just some new gimmick. It's another story in the Rapture world, not necessarily a sequel. Just a great game. Expand
  31. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    The first and second BioShock games are good in their own ways. BioShock 1 is good for it's clever writing and atmosphere, while the second is good for the action factor. It's a bit disappointing for me to see that the score is not at least a 90, but an 88. I find the BioShock series to be the best series ever. Did a BioShock 2 have to be made? No, but I'm damn glad that it is. It doesThe first and second BioShock games are good in their own ways. BioShock 1 is good for it's clever writing and atmosphere, while the second is good for the action factor. It's a bit disappointing for me to see that the score is not at least a 90, but an 88. I find the BioShock series to be the best series ever. Did a BioShock 2 have to be made? No, but I'm damn glad that it is. It does lack some atmosphere and originality that the first game had, which is a hard game to top anyway. BioShock 2 makes up for these lacking factors with the improved combat, quicker hacking, more flexible plasmids and increasingly interesting story as you reach the end, unlike the first game which sort of got stale and repetitive toward the end in some parts. The concept of the multilayer is very well done, the actual playing of it is not, as it seems to be the laggiest thing I've ever played. It's also painfully unbalanced. Overall, BioShock 2 may not be groundbreaking, but it's still an enjoyable game that no gamer should pass up. Expand
  32. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Love. It was everything amazing about the first Bioshock, atmosphere, battle system, ect. So yeah, it was very similar, they basically took the first one and decided to make it far manlier by replacing your wrench with a drill and replacing your tommy gun with a Gatling gun. Not much more has to be said about how satisfied I was with that... I hated that wrench. Anyways although it wasLove. It was everything amazing about the first Bioshock, atmosphere, battle system, ect. So yeah, it was very similar, they basically took the first one and decided to make it far manlier by replacing your wrench with a drill and replacing your tommy gun with a Gatling gun. Not much more has to be said about how satisfied I was with that... I hated that wrench. Anyways although it was similar, it was still a fantastic game that was completely worth the play and is surely in my top favorites. I'm looking forward to Bioshock: Infinite, that should mix it up while still keeping the great things about Bioshock. Expand
  33. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Similar, but more brutal than the previous game, and continually asking the question of humanity. The story is again, dark, splendid, and often intriguing. The combat system has been slightly changed, but only enhances the experience into a different and better way, although in the last 1/3 of the story you will feel invincible even in hard difficulty thanks to your new role as a BigSimilar, but more brutal than the previous game, and continually asking the question of humanity. The story is again, dark, splendid, and often intriguing. The combat system has been slightly changed, but only enhances the experience into a different and better way, although in the last 1/3 of the story you will feel invincible even in hard difficulty thanks to your new role as a Big Daddy. The graphic is slightly enhanced, more detailed. I actually do think this is a very different game from the previous one, again, Game of the Year!! Collapse
  34. ChrisW
    Feb 22, 2010
    10
    Just about as perfect a sequel as you'll find! The only downside is that it doesn't generate quite the same sense of wonder that the original did. Looks gorgeous. New weapons, new locations, new enemies - the big daddies are easier to take down, but the big sister is twice as difficult as anything you'd find in the original. About 15 hours in (1/2 way through I think). Same Just about as perfect a sequel as you'll find! The only downside is that it doesn't generate quite the same sense of wonder that the original did. Looks gorgeous. New weapons, new locations, new enemies - the big daddies are easier to take down, but the big sister is twice as difficult as anything you'd find in the original. About 15 hours in (1/2 way through I think). Same sense of humor...all in all, a great effort by 2KWherever! Expand
  35. JustinS
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    This game, was absolutely astounding. Re-immersing yourself into the depths of Rapture once again, proved to be an exceptionally outstanding sequel to the original Bioshock. Taking the flaws from the original Bioshock, 2K Games learned from their mistakes with the old hacking system and transformed it to where the game doesn't pause until you hit ESC. Non-stop Big Daddy pwnage the This game, was absolutely astounding. Re-immersing yourself into the depths of Rapture once again, proved to be an exceptionally outstanding sequel to the original Bioshock. Taking the flaws from the original Bioshock, 2K Games learned from their mistakes with the old hacking system and transformed it to where the game doesn't pause until you hit ESC. Non-stop Big Daddy pwnage the whole game. Excellent work! Expand
  36. Raxous
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    A fantastic game from start to end. I had no technical bugs at all and enjoyed every second. If anything I would have loved a longer challenge, but it's expansive, exciting and engaging. A game EVERY gamer should play!
  37. PatrickS.
    Feb 10, 2010
    9
    Bioshock 2 didn't live up to its predecessor, but it came damn close. There's less sense of wonder, but they ramped up the pace, so it's not as noticeable as I had feared. The gun play, plasmids, and voice acting are all solid, and make for a very immersive game. There is no noticeable graphical improvement over the first game, which is somewhat disappointing. Bioshock 1 Bioshock 2 didn't live up to its predecessor, but it came damn close. There's less sense of wonder, but they ramped up the pace, so it's not as noticeable as I had feared. The gun play, plasmids, and voice acting are all solid, and make for a very immersive game. There is no noticeable graphical improvement over the first game, which is somewhat disappointing. Bioshock 1 was such a beautiful game 2 years ago that this isn't really a problem. Now onto the problems. The default controls were horrid, and don't make much sense. It feels like they just shout out random keys at times. Normally this wouldn't be something you can complain about on the PC, but there are some big problems with remapping them in Bioshock 2. Certain actions will only work when mapped to their original keys, and the onscreen notifications show the originals. The horribly limited mouse settings are unusable with high DPI mice. This required about 30 minutes of .ini file hacking to get to a level where I could actually play the game. Once again the DRM in this game is just mind boggling. They apparently didn't learn their lesson the first time, and are back in full force. All users (who want to save their game anyway...) have to install Games for Windows Live, which is quite simply a joke. All in all Bioshock 2 is an amazing game, that suffers from the same problems as many other PC games right now. Poor keyboard and mouse support, - which honestly makes me sad - and horrible DRM. It's still worth buying, but only if you can put up with the DRM. Expand
  38. JoshuaB
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    I'm loving this game, Yes its not the same as the first but it's still got one great story I'm on the 6th level, I'm truely enjoying the story.. it's agian not like the last one but in its own right I think this game was worth every cent, The bad side is it has issue's with crashing and lock up's but That is not gonna ruin the feeling of the game play.. I'm loving this game, Yes its not the same as the first but it's still got one great story I'm on the 6th level, I'm truely enjoying the story.. it's agian not like the last one but in its own right I think this game was worth every cent, The bad side is it has issue's with crashing and lock up's but That is not gonna ruin the feeling of the game play.. They just better get to work on a patch now! Expand
  39. Philip
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Simply put, BioShock 2 is a masterpiece! Gameplay, story, atmosphere, art-style and sound design all merge to form the best game I've played since the 1st BioShock! Granted, the story doesn't have the "F*ck me!" moment the 1st did, but it's intriguing, fresh and very well told and paced! This game is pure quality! And as for re-visiting Rapture again, it's sheer Simply put, BioShock 2 is a masterpiece! Gameplay, story, atmosphere, art-style and sound design all merge to form the best game I've played since the 1st BioShock! Granted, the story doesn't have the "F*ck me!" moment the 1st did, but it's intriguing, fresh and very well told and paced! This game is pure quality! And as for re-visiting Rapture again, it's sheer ecstasy! MORE PLEASE! Expand
  40. SebatigerW
    Feb 11, 2010
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a great game, great story is probably its biggest improvment. You get to find out how Rapture was made *in a way*. But after a while you start getting the feeling that its always the same fighting moves and everything, just a different map and mabye a new weapon or two. The game could also become more shocking with twists and scares. Bioshock was great because when you walk Bioshock 2 is a great game, great story is probably its biggest improvment. You get to find out how Rapture was made *in a way*. But after a while you start getting the feeling that its always the same fighting moves and everything, just a different map and mabye a new weapon or two. The game could also become more shocking with twists and scares. Bioshock was great because when you walk into a room you get the feeling that someone is going to jump out at you from another room, but in bioshock 2 all the splicers are in view most of the time and there are no surprises. If we could have more twists the game would be perfect. Hopefully 2k makes major improvements on Bioshock 3. Expand
  41. ZackF.
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    The story is mediocre to the first Bioshock, but if you were just to look at Bioshock 2 just for its game play, it's just as perfect as the first. On the graphic level, it is on the same level as the first, but I am one that loves detail with a mix of great game play, never just one or the other. I did not like multiplayer too much because it was too plain and unfair. If someone got The story is mediocre to the first Bioshock, but if you were just to look at Bioshock 2 just for its game play, it's just as perfect as the first. On the graphic level, it is on the same level as the first, but I am one that loves detail with a mix of great game play, never just one or the other. I did not like multiplayer too much because it was too plain and unfair. If someone got into the big daddy suit, all I can say is expect them to be in it for a while. Also, the fact that there are no dedicated servers usually means that there will be lag infested online games just like Modern Warfare 2 on the PC. Expand
  42. Gabriel
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    I thought that Bioshock 2 Had all of the elements of a good game, including all of the ones from the first one. The improvements were good and the only thing that felt a little weak was the slightly boring and repetitive storyline. Here, look at this poor defenseless person: should I kill them? I think that compared to many other games that were good Bioshock 2 definatly comes out on top. I thought that Bioshock 2 Had all of the elements of a good game, including all of the ones from the first one. The improvements were good and the only thing that felt a little weak was the slightly boring and repetitive storyline. Here, look at this poor defenseless person: should I kill them? I think that compared to many other games that were good Bioshock 2 definatly comes out on top. It was an imersive and enjoyable game, and I haven't quite finished it yet or even played multiplayer! The one thing I really didn't like was the integration of Games For Windows on the PC. I bought the game on steam and I thought it was a little unnecessary that I HAD to sign up for GFW. I wish they had taken that out. Other then that, I loved the game, and saw none of the storytelling issues that everyone is complaining about. Expand
  43. chris
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    The weapons and plasmids are better than the original, gameplay is more refined. And story was better (IMO). There are more difficult choices that the player needs to make, and will shape the outcome of the game. Adoption of the little sisters was an excellent adidtion, and no more repetitive pipe hacking game. I feel the sequal is better than the first game and can't for the life of The weapons and plasmids are better than the original, gameplay is more refined. And story was better (IMO). There are more difficult choices that the player needs to make, and will shape the outcome of the game. Adoption of the little sisters was an excellent adidtion, and no more repetitive pipe hacking game. I feel the sequal is better than the first game and can't for the life of me figure out how the ratings are not right up there with Bioshock 1. This is a must have for any gamer. Buy it, you won't regret it. Expand
  44. Yossarian
    Feb 15, 2010
    9
    While the gameplay and shooting is significantly improved, the sheer amount of buttons to deal with without the handy shift button menu in the first game makes it difficult at times. Still, the story is quite good, the ending definitely improved over the last game, and much of the same creepiness and moral questions pervade this sequel. I was only left wishing for the little ghost stories While the gameplay and shooting is significantly improved, the sheer amount of buttons to deal with without the handy shift button menu in the first game makes it difficult at times. Still, the story is quite good, the ending definitely improved over the last game, and much of the same creepiness and moral questions pervade this sequel. I was only left wishing for the little ghost stories that popped up occasionally in the first game, and for some slightly more memorable characters, such as the creepy actor guy from the first. Expand
  45. JohnW
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I Think this game is Just as Perfect as the first. sure theres not so many twists in the story but its along similar sort of lines and by the end of it i have to say i was almost chocked up! story was very exciting and emotional. The Game itself is a little more fast pased than the first what with the ability of plasmids and wepons being used together. hacking no longer takes 30 seconds I Think this game is Just as Perfect as the first. sure theres not so many twists in the story but its along similar sort of lines and by the end of it i have to say i was almost chocked up! story was very exciting and emotional. The Game itself is a little more fast pased than the first what with the ability of plasmids and wepons being used together. hacking no longer takes 30 seconds to 1 minute with no cut sceens. altogether its a bit more fun to play than the first even if the story is'nt quite as exciting as the first i believe its still brilliantfor different reasons. for a sequal it is remarkable. :) Expand
  46. MatthewQ
    Feb 15, 2010
    8
    It doesn't quite live up to the first game, though it adds a few interesting new gameplay elements. The controls are a little awkward, especially in multiplayer where the controls are totally different from the singleplayer game. The multiplayer is unnecessary and unpolished. LIke similar online systems, the p2p multiplayer can be ridiculously laggy at times and isn't as It doesn't quite live up to the first game, though it adds a few interesting new gameplay elements. The controls are a little awkward, especially in multiplayer where the controls are totally different from the singleplayer game. The multiplayer is unnecessary and unpolished. LIke similar online systems, the p2p multiplayer can be ridiculously laggy at times and isn't as responsive as it could be. The single player experience is more of the same from the original however rapture doesn't have the same feel to it the second time around. Expand
  47. AmosD
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    If you enjoyed the first bioshock then this game is a must have, with its beautiful graphics and stunningly simple gameplay, as well as the great story we've come to expect from the first one, Bioshock 2 is without a doubt the sequel we've been waiting for. The only problem is that it no longer supports a gamepad like the first one did.
  48. platybuS
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    I don't find that many games end stronger than they started, but BioShock 2 certainly does. In some ways (dare I say it?) it's almost better than the original (but the original gets a 10). I love the ambush sections, which actually made trap-setting a part of the game. I find the tonics system improved, as well as upgrading both plasmids and weapons. And Rapture is still one of I don't find that many games end stronger than they started, but BioShock 2 certainly does. In some ways (dare I say it?) it's almost better than the original (but the original gets a 10). I love the ambush sections, which actually made trap-setting a part of the game. I find the tonics system improved, as well as upgrading both plasmids and weapons. And Rapture is still one of the very few FPS settings I feel like just hanging out in. A must-play! (Now I'm off to try the multiplayer!) Expand
  49. JulioD
    Feb 23, 2010
    9
    When I played Bioshock I soon found myself inmersed in the game and losing track of time. The same happened with Bioshock 2. Unfortunately when it comes to the PC release I have noticed they released the game with a handfull of bugs and issues and have had to handle a few. To sum it up it is a worthy sequel that competes with what the original game achieved but can't give it a 10 When I played Bioshock I soon found myself inmersed in the game and losing track of time. The same happened with Bioshock 2. Unfortunately when it comes to the PC release I have noticed they released the game with a handfull of bugs and issues and have had to handle a few. To sum it up it is a worthy sequel that competes with what the original game achieved but can't give it a 10 because the game experience is affected by these certain issues. Expand
  50. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This is the best sequel I have ever played, because it's everything a great sequel should be. It stays true to the original game, yet enhances every part of it, while doing it in an original way, that makes it feel like it is its own game, not just a quick way to cash in on the first game.

    This is a game that has a message, that makes you think on the way you live your life, and does it
    This is the best sequel I have ever played, because it's everything a great sequel should be. It stays true to the original game, yet enhances every part of it, while doing it in an original way, that makes it feel like it is its own game, not just a quick way to cash in on the first game.

    This is a game that has a message, that makes you think on the way you live your life, and does it in a way that supplement and builds on the first game

    It tells an incredible story an every part of the game help telling it, even the great level design. The ending gave me goose bumps, and the best part of it is that it all depends on the choices you make through the game, without sticking the actual choices in your face. It does it in a subtle way, and the result of your choices result in consequences you wont have anticipated.

    It's true that you are a lot more powerful than in the first game, but it just makes the actual gameplay that much more entertaining,because the balance an pace is great. As you get more powerful, the game gives you more challenges that makes using your powers that much more enjoyable and fun. And you do get very powerful.

    One of the greatest moments in the game is when you actually get to experience what a scary and horrible place Rapture really is. It made me drop my jaw on the floor, and this is something you don't want to miss out on.
    Expand
  51. May 18, 2011
    9
    I am going to compare this to BioShock 1 instead of other games, because both of these games stand leagues above almost every other game released in recent times in terms of storytelling and character. Gameplay-wise, BioShock 2 is great, surpassing BioShock 1. The gameplay is much more refined, and being able to wield a weapon and plasmid at the same time makes the game feel less clunkyI am going to compare this to BioShock 1 instead of other games, because both of these games stand leagues above almost every other game released in recent times in terms of storytelling and character. Gameplay-wise, BioShock 2 is great, surpassing BioShock 1. The gameplay is much more refined, and being able to wield a weapon and plasmid at the same time makes the game feel less clunky compared to its predecessor. However, some parts get repetitive, such as protecting the little sisters as they harvest the ADAM from "angels" (you can skip this almost entirely, but will not be able to get as many plasmids or gene tonics). Besides that, expect similar gameplay to BioShock 1. Story-wise, both games are about equal. BioShock 2's story is more emotional and personal, and has better pacing and stronger endings (almost every single person I've talked to, including ones who prefer BS1's story, agree), while BioShock 1's story is more intriguing and mysterious, and has the character of Andrew Ryan, which by itself is a huge plus. Both games have side-stories (and one in particular in BioShock 2 which I found very depressing) that you can uncover through listening to audio diaries. BioShock 1's story collapsed on itself in the last act, whereas BioShock 2's story has a build up of tension to the very end, and the resulting end levels and sequences are some of the most memorable moments I've experienced in a video game. I've spent much more time thinking about BioShock 2 after finishing it than I did with BioShock 1, and very few games remain in the back of my head after finishing them (BS2 is one of them), so I must say it impacted me much more than the first. I made a thread on the official forums discussing the story of the two games that has gotten many well-thought and detailed responses (includes spoilers, however): http://forums.2kgames.com/showthread.php?106933-Story-wise-which-game-do-you-prefer. The atmosphere of the second game will not be as memorable as that of the first game if you've played both, since you'll likely have seen everything before. There are bugs. The mouse control, like all Unreal Engine games, is not perfect, and needs to be tweaked in the configuration files to feel right. I also had a persistent bug where graphics options (or just the vsync option - I'm not certain) would not save. Also, widescreen FoV is improper in the multiplayer... but hopefully you aren't buying a BioShock game for the multiplayer. I personally enjoyed BioShock 2 much more than the first, and would give it a perfect score if the bugs were ironed out. Expand
  52. May 20, 2011
    10
    this game is **** still cant force myself to play it, feels nothing like original bioshock and you know it. Not buying from this studio ever again. Cant wait for Bioshock Infinite. Go Irrational Games!
  53. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    So good, never a dull moment in this one. Sadly, one bummer was that I blew up the "F" on my keyboard from collecting SO many items but w/e I needed a new one anywise. Blew out every 2011 game that I have played this year. Thanks 2K for giving us a very enjoyable sequel.
  54. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Super game, even though it took me two weeks to get it to run. Finally, I got it to work when running as an Administrator. Bioshock 2 has great graphic as does Bioshock 1, and the story line is equally compelling. I would recommend this game to anyone.
  55. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Great game. I dont why people are bashng it for being like Bioshock 1. I mean hellooo...thats why its called Bioshock 2. you want a different game, buy a different game. i got what i wanted. and i had a blast. the only quirk was the too much time spent collecting stuff...and the PC version was tougher since you didnt get that pause&select weapon/plasmid menu that you get on the consoleGreat game. I dont why people are bashng it for being like Bioshock 1. I mean hellooo...thats why its called Bioshock 2. you want a different game, buy a different game. i got what i wanted. and i had a blast. the only quirk was the too much time spent collecting stuff...and the PC version was tougher since you didnt get that pause&select weapon/plasmid menu that you get on the console version. it was all real time switching during fights and man that was Fun. Great game. great fun. period. Waiting for Bioshock Infinity. Expand
  56. May 4, 2013
    8
    Bioshock 1 had a good story line and great atmosphere, but the polish in game mechanics/play was lacking. Bioshock infinite had very smooth gameplay, a great story and dreadful gameplay/mechanics so much was missing and it was uncontrollably linear (run and gun don't think) I thought as to why they even called it Bioshock as it would have been better under a different name.

    Bioshock 2
    Bioshock 1 had a good story line and great atmosphere, but the polish in game mechanics/play was lacking. Bioshock infinite had very smooth gameplay, a great story and dreadful gameplay/mechanics so much was missing and it was uncontrollably linear (run and gun don't think) I thought as to why they even called it Bioshock as it would have been better under a different name.

    Bioshock 2 on the other hand had a weaker story compared to the other two, but it really wasn't so bad. The atmosphere was just as good if not better than the first and was way better than infinite. Now what sets apart Bioshock 2 from the rest of the pack is that the game play mechanics were superb, the atmosphere amazing and not too linear while there were the best guns, plasmids and upgrades. Bioshock 2, in my opinion, was by far the best game out of the trilogy. I loved it.
    Expand
  57. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    While the game IS lacking something that Bioshock 1 had (probably that feeling when you discover an excellent new fictional world) it's still visually stunning, thematically wonderful, tremendously presented and has extremely high production values. The ideals it presents and journey you take are unmatched in any game this generation, except the original Bioshock.

    DO NOT play this without
    While the game IS lacking something that Bioshock 1 had (probably that feeling when you discover an excellent new fictional world) it's still visually stunning, thematically wonderful, tremendously presented and has extremely high production values. The ideals it presents and journey you take are unmatched in any game this generation, except the original Bioshock.

    DO NOT play this without playing Bioshock 1 first, but please do pick it up.
    Expand
  58. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Although the story didn't quite live up to Bioshock 1, it was made up for be the amazing graphics. I also loved how you could wield both a weapon and a plasmid at once. It made the whole combat system a bit more interesting as you could fire away with your rivet gun at the same time you scorched and shocked your enemies.
  59. Jan 30, 2011
    10
    To all the people that can't understand the masterpiece behind this game just can not call your self's true gamers, and would be lie-ing if you did. Now i understand its similar to the original bioshock, but the story line brings you too an entirely different side of the game. The sounds bring you back make you feel like you know the area but at the same time you feel like it has somethingTo all the people that can't understand the masterpiece behind this game just can not call your self's true gamers, and would be lie-ing if you did. Now i understand its similar to the original bioshock, but the story line brings you too an entirely different side of the game. The sounds bring you back make you feel like you know the area but at the same time you feel like it has something more to it. I applaud the designer behind the remarkable game and you deserve every dollar you received. keep up the amazing work. Expand
  60. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games ever made. For me better than Starcraft I, II, better than Warcraft I, II, III, for me this is the game of the decade. Bioshock 1, 2 have got such a plot, such a great story. And the endings are also fantastic. I couldn't believe my eyes when I first started to play it's predecessor. Bioshock is so thrilling so intense so "deep", with faith, moral, everything. TheOne of the greatest games ever made. For me better than Starcraft I, II, better than Warcraft I, II, III, for me this is the game of the decade. Bioshock 1, 2 have got such a plot, such a great story. And the endings are also fantastic. I couldn't believe my eyes when I first started to play it's predecessor. Bioshock is so thrilling so intense so "deep", with faith, moral, everything. The only bad thing with today's games it's their longevity. You can finish the game at Hard in about 7 hours. I hate when a game is short especially when it's about this game. I hoped that such a great game would last longer. But what can you do?? The conclusion is this: Short lasting Perfect Masterpiece of a game. Expand
  61. Mar 25, 2011
    8
    Gameplay - 8.5 , Graphics - 8.0 , Story - 8.5 , Playing time - 10 hours (not include MP). While Bioshock 2 is better than it's predecessor in every way, it's still outdated consider it's release date 2010. Especially the graphics, it has no improvement to Bioshock 1 at all.
  62. Dalek
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, I loved the first one but this one is really good too. But one thing, there is something about it thats missing or not making it perfect.. I think it's the atmosphere, it wasnt as strong as the first one. It took me 8 hours to complete it in a day, but still you should get this game.
  63. Adam
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Bioshock 1 was just AMAZING! And this game is fucking AMAZING!! I LOVE IT!!! Much of the things in the game are taken from the first, but it doesnt make it less good! If u have the money, then go buy it!!!!
  64. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    Fantastically good game. I can tell you right now: Go buy it.
    Although it haven't completely succeeded in pushing the game forward from its predecessor, for instance the graphical engine is still the same. However I didn't feel that it was much of a problem, but it will be a let down for some people.
    The same can be said about the environments, it's pretty much the same as it used to be,
    Fantastically good game. I can tell you right now: Go buy it.
    Although it haven't completely succeeded in pushing the game forward from its predecessor, for instance the graphical engine is still the same. However I didn't feel that it was much of a problem, but it will be a let down for some people.
    The same can be said about the environments, it's pretty much the same as it used to be, except for a few things. More work could have been put into it.

    But I find the objections that some people launch at this game to be greatly exaggerated. In my opinion the graphics or even the environment isn't what makes a good game good, it's the storyline.
    And the storyline in this game is very good, and pulled off in an excellent manner. It might even be better than the first BioShock. The interface has gotten a lot of improvement from the first game, making it very smooth to play, there's never a moment where you panic because you can't find the right power or weapon. However, just like the first game, there are weapons that are much better than others, removing the incentive of upgrading other weapons.

    And last but not least, the ending, it's perfect, very emotional and absolutely worthy.
    Expand
  65. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Bioshock 2 is similar to the original in many respects, but perhaps not as good, admittedly. That said, I don't agree with a lot of the relatively negative reviews of this game, and would argue it is a decent addition to the series. Honestly, I think people just had unrealistically high expectations for this game due to their experiences with the essentially perfect original Bioshock. IBioshock 2 is similar to the original in many respects, but perhaps not as good, admittedly. That said, I don't agree with a lot of the relatively negative reviews of this game, and would argue it is a decent addition to the series. Honestly, I think people just had unrealistically high expectations for this game due to their experiences with the essentially perfect original Bioshock. I would suggest that if you liked the original Bioshock, you should definitely give Bioshock 2 a try - just don't expect it to be as unique and interesting (obviously) as the original was. Just think of it as a very well made FPS/RPG, and don't expect it to be so amazing like the original was, and I don't think you'll be disappointed. Expand
  66. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    The gameplay and depth are both improvements over the original installment. However, the story, lore, atmosphere, and length are not as good. In addition, they added a lame multiplayer mode to an obviously singleplayer only game. Overall not as good as the original.
  67. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Outstanding game. Great story. Great script. Great voice acting. Great graphics. Great replay value. I mean we all have different tastes but this is a Great first person shooter with RPG elements that I highly recommend.
  68. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    Without knowing, I wrote a review for the PC version of Bioshock 2, which is the one you're reading now. I haven't played Biosock 2 for PC, so I wrote my actual review on the system I played it on (Xbox 360). I couldn't find a way to delete this one, so instead, I just wrote a message letting you know about this accident.

    Game's decent. 8/10
  69. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    Its a different game than the first one. First game introduced an amazing world and amazing set of characters. This one has the feel of "been there", but it innovates enough with the concept of you being a Big Daddy, introducing Big Sisters and giving little improvements, such as balancing of plasmids that make as enjoyable of an experience as the first one.
  70. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Bioshock 2 is a worth successor to Bioshock 1. It improves upon a number of the issues with Bioshock 1 (e.g. you can use weapons and plasmids, you can use more tonics, and they changed the hacking game). The story line is not as strong for this game, but it is still the driver in this game. I can't say anything bad about the game, except that it is not as groundbreaking as its predecessor.Bioshock 2 is a worth successor to Bioshock 1. It improves upon a number of the issues with Bioshock 1 (e.g. you can use weapons and plasmids, you can use more tonics, and they changed the hacking game). The story line is not as strong for this game, but it is still the driver in this game. I can't say anything bad about the game, except that it is not as groundbreaking as its predecessor. Highly recommended. Expand
  71. Aug 23, 2014
    8
    "You had me under a gun... and yet you just walk away? No monster alive turns the other cheek. No monster does that. A thinking man does that." - Grace Holloway

    Set 8 years after the events of the first initial game , BioShock 2 follows Subject Delta, a prototype Big Daddy brought back to life and sent on a quest to recover the Little Sister he was bonded to prior to his death,
    "You had me under a gun... and yet you just walk away? No monster alive turns the other cheek. No monster does that. A thinking man does that." - Grace Holloway

    Set 8 years after the events of the first initial game , BioShock 2 follows Subject Delta, a prototype Big Daddy brought back to life and sent on a quest to recover the Little Sister he was bonded to prior to his death, Eleanor, from the clutches of the new leader of Rapture, Sofia Lamb. Welcome to the Rapture!. another success!
    Expand
  72. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    BioShock 2 spoiler-free review.
    BioShock 2 is a sequel that proudly carries the name, with enough tweaks and changes to make it worthwhile.
    Let's start with the world. It's more of the same from the original but with upgraded graphics and effects, making it a lot more enjoyable. In BioShock 2 you controll a Big Daddy, and it's gratifying. That's the problem as well. While in the first
    BioShock 2 spoiler-free review.
    BioShock 2 is a sequel that proudly carries the name, with enough tweaks and changes to make it worthwhile.
    Let's start with the world. It's more of the same from the original but with upgraded graphics and effects, making it a lot more enjoyable. In BioShock 2 you controll a Big Daddy, and it's gratifying. That's the problem as well. While in the first BioShock you were killed with ease, here, the enemy A.I offers from little, to no challenge. They introduced Big Sisters, which come after you harvest or save the 3 little sisters in an area (and you will, because Big Daddies are not a challenge anymore). They are the toughest enemies in the game, but I think they must have killed once or twice throughout the whole game. The sound and music are just as good, delivering an overall better experience (mostly the music, it's brilliant). The hacking element is much better, and I never got tired of it. Harvesting or saving Little Sisters do the same in BioShock 2 than in BioShock 1, they change a few plot points, but not much else. The difference with Little sisters is that each Little Sister can take ADAM from especific bodies before harvesting or saving them. This addition is genius, as it consists in keeping the Little Sister safe while she takes the ADAM. This requires planning and strategy which is a really nice change for the game. The story. Now, many won't agree, but I considered it better and also much more relatable story than the previous. It was more focused and more engaging, and I enjoyed every bit. There's also the mutiplayer, which is fun, but I don't really see myself playing it long-term.
    After all, BioShock 2 keep itself fresh and innovative enough to make a more enjoyable and focused game than the first.
    Average Score: 9.1
    Expand
  73. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    Amazing sequel and the best atmosphere of all time!
    Positives:
    - Excellent Atmosphere
    - Excellent Story
    - Excellent Gun Play
    - Excellent Voice Acting
    Negatives:
    - Too Short
  74. sft
    Jul 4, 2014
    10
    Big Sister knows best

    Bioshock was a wonderful game (5/5) and BIOSHOCK 2 is no less an achievement. 2K have taken all the elements that made the original so great and have tweaked them in all the right ways to make the second game even better than the first. The inventive story behind Rapture is further developed and the weapons, combat, hacking, and upgrade progression have all been
    Big Sister knows best

    Bioshock was a wonderful game (5/5) and BIOSHOCK 2 is no less an achievement. 2K have taken all the elements that made the original so great and have tweaked them in all the right ways to make the second game even better than the first. The inventive story behind Rapture is further developed and the weapons, combat, hacking, and upgrade progression have all been improved. The various classes of hysterical splicers still wander around chattering hilariously to themselves and several new enemies have been introduced to add range to the combat. The plasmids and weapons have been improved and you can now wield both at the same time (although you can’t use them simultaneously -- that would make things too easy). The voice acting remains excellent as does the writing, and the story of Rapture is wrapped up nicely in an unusually poignant ending. A true AAA game -- highly recommended.
    Expand
  75. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    The good: Not going to lie.... Best game I've ever played. When playing the first Bioshock, I felt the controls were very "clunky". It was just annoying to switch between weapons. Bioshock 2 added dual wield. The plasmids were fun and all. But my favorite part by far was the weapons! The drill was amazing. The characters were amazing, and seeing through the eyes of a little sister addedThe good: Not going to lie.... Best game I've ever played. When playing the first Bioshock, I felt the controls were very "clunky". It was just annoying to switch between weapons. Bioshock 2 added dual wield. The plasmids were fun and all. But my favorite part by far was the weapons! The drill was amazing. The characters were amazing, and seeing through the eyes of a little sister added to my total infatuation with Rapture. The thing that made this game that almost made me cry was how sweet the little sisters are. The say the cutest and sweetest things to you. The graphics are amazing too. My FAVORITE thing about this game is that there are different endings. That's my favorite thing ever in any videogame. And apparently there are 6! This may be why I didn't like Infinite as much. The bad: The problems I have with this game are things that take out immersion. Drill fuel. The drill fuel was annoying because apparently you're the only Big Daddy that needs drill fuel. The rest can drill away while in the beginning you can only hold a drill spin for 5 seconds. While the Little Sisters were adorable and all, there was just something that really bothered me. After you kill her Big Daddy, she starts crying. But if you walk close to her she acts like nothing happened and smiles at you. When you step away she immediately starts crying again. It's not too important but it still took me out of the game a bit. All in all this game was amazing. Even with the few things wrong with it I still had the most fun I've ever had in a videogame. Even Infinite wasn't as good as this. Expand
  76. May 31, 2014
    10
    How good is this game? Well, even with 745 positive reviews, I still feel like it deserves more praise! I personally like BioShock 2 more than its predecessor. It's longer, with less jump scares and a more elaborate story than #1. This allows you to really soak in Rapture's atmosphere, get to know characters more intimately and being a Big Daddy gives you more freedom to explore rapture atHow good is this game? Well, even with 745 positive reviews, I still feel like it deserves more praise! I personally like BioShock 2 more than its predecessor. It's longer, with less jump scares and a more elaborate story than #1. This allows you to really soak in Rapture's atmosphere, get to know characters more intimately and being a Big Daddy gives you more freedom to explore rapture at a slower pace.

    Gameplay has improved since the last game, too. Not only does it allow for plasmids and guns to be used simultaneously, but the developer has also added means to play a more tactical game with traps and devices, thus adding more variety to how one approaches a situation.

    Dialogues and monologues are solid, levels present more variety and are designed to be more open instead of only having small rooms connected by tight passages. Sound effects are also top notch, leaving nothing to be desired.

    Overall, after playing a ton of games over the past 20+ years including all games of the BioShock series and DLCs, BioShock 2 still remains my favorite game of all time and I would very much recommend it to any fan of fiction and FPS.
    Expand
  77. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    This game is quite solid but is not as good as the first one. This is the one to skip in the series. However, it stands as a beautiful game which can be quite enjoyable if you are a fan of the series.
  78. May 20, 2014
    8
    Not a bad story but inferior to the original, the plot isn't new, the world of Rapture isn't new to us anymore, but the gameplay is improved, so unless you hated the gameplay in the original game for some reason, and the original had good gameplay, or you only come to experience the plot and story, its a recommendation.
  79. May 29, 2014
    9
    Awesome game but delta is just the worst and weakest big daddy ever but I do like him it's that his armor is like a pillow and I have played hundreds of shooters and I was good at it but when I got out of mission 2 that's when it all went to hell my ass was being kicked by the splicers and I meant the weakest they are how can a pipe attack take a quarter of my health it's a good game butAwesome game but delta is just the worst and weakest big daddy ever but I do like him it's that his armor is like a pillow and I have played hundreds of shooters and I was good at it but when I got out of mission 2 that's when it all went to hell my ass was being kicked by the splicers and I meant the weakest they are how can a pipe attack take a quarter of my health it's a good game but be ready to visit the chamber or what ever it's called a lot. Expand
  80. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    This is the successor of the highly praised BioShock where you play as Big Daddy in Rapture roughly 10 years after the events of the original. It shares many similarities of the first edition but also some notably differences. Good is that you may visit Rapture again and that ammo is not as scarce; the bad thing is that the controls (i.e. weapon / plasma) work differently compared toThis is the successor of the highly praised BioShock where you play as Big Daddy in Rapture roughly 10 years after the events of the original. It shares many similarities of the first edition but also some notably differences. Good is that you may visit Rapture again and that ammo is not as scarce; the bad thing is that the controls (i.e. weapon / plasma) work differently compared to BioShock 1. This is quite unhandy if you play them after each other. The biggest drawback is that it was originally bound to GFWL, but that is removed these days (although I had to re-buy it for my Steam account). All in all a good successor to the original. Not sure why this got so many negative reactions. Expand
  81. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    Big dady........
    ........... . .
  82. Jan 3, 2016
    8
    Excellent story, Amazing Atmosphere with varied and challenging combat. But a bit too familiar.

    Graphics: 7
    Game play : 9
    Combat: 8
    World Design: 9
    Content: 7
    Immersion: 9
    Story: 9
  83. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    There are very few differences between Bioshock 1 & 2. They both share the same graphics engine. However, PC gamers cannot properly enjoy the new particle effects featured by the DirectX10 support without encountering major stability issues. Therefore, the graphical improvements made from Bioshock 1 are rather incremental. Both games both share the same audio problems and issues withThere are very few differences between Bioshock 1 & 2. They both share the same graphics engine. However, PC gamers cannot properly enjoy the new particle effects featured by the DirectX10 support without encountering major stability issues. Therefore, the graphical improvements made from Bioshock 1 are rather incremental. Both games both share the same audio problems and issues with the mouse sensitivity and controls. However, as long as you know what files to open and which values to change, the crazy mouse sensitivity and skipping sound should plague you no more than it did in Bioshock 1. This sequel did not take the franchise in a new direction the way Mass Effect 2 or System Shock 2 did. However, much like God of War 2, Bioshock 2 had a nearly perfect prequel. As a result, they took an already winning recipe of extraordinary level design and phenomenal combat, and cleverly refined and modified this formula into another incredible experience in Rapture. Bioshock 2 delivers a less memorable experience, but certainly not an all-around worse experience. This sequel takes place 10 years after the events of Bioshock 1 and places the player in the glorified fish tank of Rapture. Evolution has taken its toll on this underwater utopia, and has become a darker and creeper place with incredibly impressive aesthetics. Bioshock 2 handles moral choice and its consequences incredibly better than the first game. It focuses more on personal confrontations and less on the philosophy behind Rapture. The ending is much more meaningful and emotionally overwhelming as the repercussions of your choices unfold into an incredibly satisfying conclusion. The secondary goals of finding and defending Adam stuffed corpses offers incredibly rewarding challenges. In addition, Bioshock 2 features new and overwhelmingly powerful enemies that keep the gameplay fresh. Exploring the underwater skyscrapers in Rapture has never been this much fun. Expand
  84. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    Although the magic from the first Bioshock is lost, it manages to be a very enjoyable title with some interesting new weapons and a solid story. It lacks the powerful atmosphere of its predecessor but still has original ideas left that delves into the world of Rapture. And the ending is certainly more satisfying than the one in the first Bioshock.
  85. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    BioShock 2 improves what was already a good game by adding a better story and more interesting gameplay. The Big Sisters are also a great addition as they help make the game a bit scary, an aspect that the first game lost after a few hours of gameplay, as soon as you got used to it. But the Big Sisters will give you creeps every time with their crazy screams.
    The only thing that this game
    BioShock 2 improves what was already a good game by adding a better story and more interesting gameplay. The Big Sisters are also a great addition as they help make the game a bit scary, an aspect that the first game lost after a few hours of gameplay, as soon as you got used to it. But the Big Sisters will give you creeps every time with their crazy screams.
    The only thing that this game didn't live up to was the great ending that the first one had. Though the game did have a decent ending, it simply couldn't compare to the one in the first game. Not gonna go into detail though as that would be too much of a spoiler.
    Overall I would give this game 8,5/10 if I could, but since I can't i'll just leave it at an 8.
    Expand
  86. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    Bioshock 2 is a thoroughly enjoyable game which improves on many aspects of the first game, but suffers a bit from lack of originality. In this game the 'morality system' matters a little bit more than in its predecessor, but in the end it mostly just determines whether you see the 'good' or 'bad' ending cinematic. There is also a improved array of plasmids and upgrades, a quicker andBioshock 2 is a thoroughly enjoyable game which improves on many aspects of the first game, but suffers a bit from lack of originality. In this game the 'morality system' matters a little bit more than in its predecessor, but in the end it mostly just determines whether you see the 'good' or 'bad' ending cinematic. There is also a improved array of plasmids and upgrades, a quicker and simpler hacking minigame, and a greatly improved research system. However, the basic gameplay remains the same and the storytelling is very similar. The story itself is not bad, but I found it less interesting and engaging than Bioshock, especially since you (presumably) already know all about Rapture--and thus there is far less mystery and shock value. Still well worth playing tho, especially if you enjoyed the first game. Expand
  87. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    Great story, great graphics, great atmosphere/environment, great weapons, great exploration. To be honest I find it difficult to find any flaws with this game, aside from the fact that multiplayer is completely dead.

    I really enjoyed guarding the little sister while she harvests, and the ability to simultaneously use plasmids and weapons was a very welcome change from the first
    Great story, great graphics, great atmosphere/environment, great weapons, great exploration. To be honest I find it difficult to find any flaws with this game, aside from the fact that multiplayer is completely dead.

    I really enjoyed guarding the little sister while she harvests, and the ability to simultaneously use plasmids and weapons was a very welcome change from the first Bioshock. Big Sister was also a great addition.

    Much of the core game of Bioshock is still here, but I think that is what makes the game so good.

    Took me 22 hours, loved every second of it. Definitely recommend.
    Expand
  88. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    I had played and enjoyed the original Bioshock a number of years ago- though I
  89. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Bioshsock 2 is the sequel to its first game. However story is not connected, you take the role this time as a citizen of rapture A big daddy, 10 years after the happenings in the first game. Once you entered the game you know what to expect from being a big daddy. Story is good but its not as engaging as the first one was but still its quiet interesting This time you can protect littleBioshsock 2 is the sequel to its first game. However story is not connected, you take the role this time as a citizen of rapture A big daddy, 10 years after the happenings in the first game. Once you entered the game you know what to expect from being a big daddy. Story is good but its not as engaging as the first one was but still its quiet interesting This time you can protect little sisters as your a big daddy. The guns are different and you have a wide variety if choices among the weapons. Plasmids are still the main feature of the game and they work as awesome as they did in Bioshosck one. Story still takes place in the Rapture but you will be going to new places that we did not visit in Boshsock one. SOme of this places have familiar sens due to the nature of Rapture but it never feels the same. Every area as a large amount of loot and places to discover. New enemies have been added to game such as the big sisters and new splicers. General the gameplay follows the same mechanism as the first game along with some new features. Eventhough the new features may not that be much but having a new and sequel to what we had in Bioshsock one is still amazing, The gameplay is still awesome. Graphics are much better than the first game, textures are not much more detailed thanks to new techs. The environments are sometimes bigger but still they have much as nice details in themselves. Finally you dont wnat to miss this game Expand
  90. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The game might have been pretty much "recycled" from the first release, Bioshock 1, but a formula that works perfectly shouldn't be altered too much. All our favourite plasmids are still there, like electro shock, incinerate and so on, but with vast upgrades, as well as completely new and fun plasmids, like the cyclon trap. The game's approach to fast paced shooting sequences is stillThe game might have been pretty much "recycled" from the first release, Bioshock 1, but a formula that works perfectly shouldn't be altered too much. All our favourite plasmids are still there, like electro shock, incinerate and so on, but with vast upgrades, as well as completely new and fun plasmids, like the cyclon trap. The game's approach to fast paced shooting sequences is still there, with your character packing some serious heat, but also being extremely vulnerable to shotgun shell right in the face, which makes you feel like a glass cannon; in my opinion the perfect feel.
    What I liked the most, though, is the freedom given to you in this game. Within boundaries, of course. You are entitled to different approaches to problems. You can set up traps, sneak around dealing devastating sneak attacks or just come bargin in, kicking down the door wielding plasmids in one hand and a rocket launcher in your other hand and mashing in faces with drill attacks. Playing this game really took me back; I really felt like a kid unwrapping his first pc game and being totally immersed playing it.
    The story is also pretty grand, with consequence system resulting in a superb twist and with an ending that really nails the spot and makes you smile :) Not gonna spoil anything, so go try the game out ;)
    Although the game play and immersion might seem flawless, there are matters that deserve some criticism. The rpg elements are superb in this game, giving people the freedom of altering the character just the way they like it, but after some upgrades your character feels quite overpowered for the content. The only thing that saves it is the fact that you still take loads of damage from enemies, creating fast paced action with little time to react, with emphasis on the proactive game play. Early releases of the game also included some nasty bugs, but as of today, these seem to be ironed out and the game should run flawlessly.
    A big thumbs up from me; just finished the game and I want more!
    Expand
  91. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Continued on from the original with a great setting and unique combat system while telling a great story amongst all this.

    Tacked on Multi-Player which was average but worth it for the single player.
  92. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    When I first bought bioshock 2 I was very disappointed with the lack of controller support, but they recently added it! The game is much more enjoyable now
  93. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Rapture, the second time around, loses a little bit of the awe factor since the environments look familiar already instead of something new and yet-to-be-explored. The story is kinda iffy, in my opinion, but there are a good amount of new things to use and to do. I do really love the combat gameplay since I find it fun to play and it is much improved over the first game. I still found itRapture, the second time around, loses a little bit of the awe factor since the environments look familiar already instead of something new and yet-to-be-explored. The story is kinda iffy, in my opinion, but there are a good amount of new things to use and to do. I do really love the combat gameplay since I find it fun to play and it is much improved over the first game. I still found it rather enjoyable and the relationship between the character (Delta) and Eleanor was actually well done in my opinion, so while it isn't as excellent as the first game it is still a good one. Expand
  94. Jan 19, 2015
    9
    A very good succesor of the first Bioshock game.

    It gives you the possibility to play as a new character and shows you and alternate story of the Rapture world. For me it was even better than the first part.
  95. Feb 28, 2013
    8
    Extreamly good game without many featuresin relation to the first game.
  96. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    the game is like the previous release. but with new enemies and some new powers. i guess, if let you play as another person might be better. it is still a great game regardless. nothing really memorable to me, although the choice to save or eat the little sisters were interesting. some levels were fun but some were an annoying go around experience. not as unpredictable and scary as thethe game is like the previous release. but with new enemies and some new powers. i guess, if let you play as another person might be better. it is still a great game regardless. nothing really memorable to me, although the choice to save or eat the little sisters were interesting. some levels were fun but some were an annoying go around experience. not as unpredictable and scary as the first but it has more action though. Expand
  97. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    BIoshock 2 is amazing. It has a smarter story than the first one, with some real amazing moments and a better ending. All that and the game has a much slicker interface. You can wield the better plasma options alongside your weapons against the more imaginative enemies. The bosses are more interesting (well, Sander Cohen withstanding). Big Sister beats Big Daddy any day. The upgradeBIoshock 2 is amazing. It has a smarter story than the first one, with some real amazing moments and a better ending. All that and the game has a much slicker interface. You can wield the better plasma options alongside your weapons against the more imaginative enemies. The bosses are more interesting (well, Sander Cohen withstanding). Big Sister beats Big Daddy any day. The upgrade system is also more enjoyable and deeper. I loved the first game. But I saw the twists coming. I think it's because I played System Shock 2. Bioshock was excellent. Bioshock 2 is a masterpiece. Expand
  98. May 9, 2013
    9
    another great shooter and more of bioshock which was an amazing game the story is good but not as great as the previous one but the gameplay is much better and you get to play as a big daddy how great is that simply a great successor to the first game
  99. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    The continuation of one my favourite games. It lacks a lot from the original game, but it also a great game, especially for Bioshock fans. It expands the world of Rapture and now some of the unanswered questions are cleared, and the ending is perfect again.
  100. May 25, 2013
    8
    It's like expansion of original Bioshock, just more of it. There are lot of new super interesting plasmids, that allows us variety of combat tactics, story is nothing great, but ok, enemies more interesting than in original. But overall Bioshock 2 is not an improvement, it's more like on the same level.
  101. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Similar, but more brutal than the previous game, and continually asking the question of humanity. The story is again, dark, splendid, and often intriguing. The combat system has been slightly changed, but only enhances the experience into a different and better way, although in the last 1/3 of the story you will feel invincible even in hard difficulty thanks to your new role as a BigSimilar, but more brutal than the previous game, and continually asking the question of humanity. The story is again, dark, splendid, and often intriguing. The combat system has been slightly changed, but only enhances the experience into a different and better way, although in the last 1/3 of the story you will feel invincible even in hard difficulty thanks to your new role as a Big Daddy. The graphic is slightly enhanced, more detailed. I actually do think this is a very different game from the previous one, again, Game of the Year!! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. PC Gamer
    90
    Similar and slightly improved mechanics make this a worthy sequel, despite a sadly less-memorable story. [Mar 2010, p.70]
  2. A conservative return to Rapture, but full of quality.
  3. If 2K had managed to tell a story that equalled or bettered that found in the original, we'd have been left with an unquestionably better experience, rather than just a more exciting, smarter shooter.