Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1008 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set approximately 10 years after the events of the original BioShock, the halls of Rapture once again echo with sins of the past. Along the Atlantic coastline, a monster has been snatching little girls and bringing them back to the undersea city of Rapture. You are the very first Big DaddySet approximately 10 years after the events of the original BioShock, the halls of Rapture once again echo with sins of the past. Along the Atlantic coastline, a monster has been snatching little girls and bringing them back to the undersea city of Rapture. You are the very first Big Daddy as you travel through the decrepit and beautiful fallen city, chasing an unseen foe in search of answers and your own survival. Multiplayer in BioShock 2 provides a rich prequel experience that expands the BioShock gameplay. Set during the fall of Rapture, players assume the role of Plasmid test subject in the underwater city that was first explored in the original BioShock. Players will need to use all the elements of the game's toolset to survive as the full depth of the BioShock experience is refined and transformed into a unique multiplayer experience that can only be found in Rapture. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The weapons are better. The plasmids are better. The enemies are better. At some points, even the storytelling is better. What’s most amazing and surprising about BioShock 2, however, is that by diving deeper into Rapture’s tortured history and exploring more of Rapture’s haunted world, it actually manages to make the original BioShock better, too.
  2. To my mind, this is a better, tighter and more emotionally engaging game. [Apr 2010, p.78]
  3. Maybe Bioshock 2 is not as emotionally engaging as its first iteration, but at same time retains the main virtues of its predecessor. A game that shows the maturity that the First Person Shooter has achieved in this generation.
  4. While it doesn't quite have the same penetrating, vivid experience as the original, BioShock 2 spins a thrilling tale of Sofia Lamb, "The Family," and their maniacal ideals of Utopian society. Multiplayer does have its' high points, but pales in comparison to the finely crafted single player.
  5. BioShock 2 is still worth the price of admission to Rapture. Although it feels far more action-packed and is more of a linear submarine ride into the deep blue than the original title, what it does exceptionally well is bringing even more of Rapture's storied existence to the surface for some closure.
  6. On the one hand it’s like the first game, on the other hand it isn’t. The philosophical background and the shocking moments are gone. But the new game still offers lots of weapons, interesting fights and great environments.
  7. Return to Rapture is not that monumental as it was its first revelation three years ago. Forget the philosophy and welcome the fluent action and multiplayer. [Issue#189]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 162
  1. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    While it was similar to its predecessor Bioshock 2 still came through with a new and interesting experience. While gameplay was more or lessWhile it was similar to its predecessor Bioshock 2 still came through with a new and interesting experience. While gameplay was more or less the same, the story that they came up with was as interesting as it was engaging. I felt very satisfied with the amount of gameplay (about 8-10 hours), where I was content with the story ending when it did but also at a point where I was not sick of the game and just wanted it to end. I actually feel like playing through the game (taking different actions this time too). Now while the graphics where more like the first Bioshock that didnt bug me. I liked the look of rapture and this gave me more of the same. I didnt feel like I was playing a different game, I in fact liked the idea of being able to play Bioshock then start playing Bioshock 2 right away and feel like Im still in the same decaying city of Rapture. I dont see why a game series always has to up the graphics in each game to the point where there is a significant difference. Now I see it as a good thing if theres a significant difference between games but we see games from other companies (IE valve) where continiuing with the same graphics really give you sense of the environment. Now I also see it as a good idea to update when you change that environment such as with Bioshock Infinite. There was a few story elements that I didnt like but not to the point that it bothered me. But I really liked how you learn more about Rapture and they even tied in the main character from Bioshock. I went in expecting a game similar yet different from Bioshock, and I got that and more. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    this game is a masterpiece. everything about this game is great. the combat is unique and fun. the dual wielding of powers and weapons reallythis game is a masterpiece. everything about this game is great. the combat is unique and fun. the dual wielding of powers and weapons really make it good. the story is fantastic as well, its one of the best videogame stories ever!!!! the game also has much more player choice which affects the ending.
    rapture is still super awesome and provides one of the greatest videogame locations ever!!!
    i dont have any complaints about the game. this game is just perfect!!!!!!!!!!! this is a must buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    bioshock 2 is one of the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Super game, even though it took me two weeks to get it to run. Finally, I got it to work when running as an Administrator. Bioshock 2 hasSuper game, even though it took me two weeks to get it to run. Finally, I got it to work when running as an Administrator. Bioshock 2 has great graphic as does Bioshock 1, and the story line is equally compelling. I would recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Magnificent graphics they did a great job in it Sound: Not as great as the previous
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Magnificent graphics they did a great job in it
    Sound:
    Not as great as the previous bioshock but still its very good
    Game play:
    Quite the same as bioshock only faster
    Story:
    Impressive story line with multiple endings
    Overall Bioshock 2 is a great game but not as great as the first one was.
    Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2011
    8
    Gameplay - 8.5 , Graphics - 8.0 , Story - 8.5 , Playing time - 10 hours (not include MP). While Bioshock 2 is better than it's predecessor inGameplay - 8.5 , Graphics - 8.0 , Story - 8.5 , Playing time - 10 hours (not include MP). While Bioshock 2 is better than it's predecessor in every way, it's still outdated consider it's release date 2010. Especially the graphics, it has no improvement to Bioshock 1 at all. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Even though it's a complete rehash of the first game, and suffers from an extremely malignant case of consolitis (with low-quality texturesEven though it's a complete rehash of the first game, and suffers from an extremely malignant case of consolitis (with low-quality textures and 360 button graphics all over the place) I prefer this one. Taking on the role of a Big Daddy and interacting with the little sisters plays a large part in this, but endlessly shooting up splicers eventually gets too boring after a while. As ever, an average FPS with above average narrative. Expand
  7. sf
    Feb 9, 2010
    0
    0 for treating us like idiots.. AGAIN! ---- YOu thought they would have learned but it appears not. I have seen reports around the net 0 for treating us like idiots.. AGAIN! ---- YOu thought they would have learned but it appears not. I have seen reports around the net already that PC widescreen users are once again SOL. 2K are you a bunch of monkeys? This game repeats all the same technical problems the first game had, that the 'community' helped you fix. And you throw it all away at the first hurdle with ridiculously cheap/outmoded 'vert+' 4:3. haha Don't play multiplayer with anyone on a 4:3 they will have massive advantage as they can see more in the Z Axis (up down) which is a proven advantage. Widescreen done correctly barely provides and advantage as X axis to the sides is not as big a show stopper. Simply can't believe they did this, even worse they lied again in the pre release blurb, saying that all aspect ratios were catered for! I've not seen the game myself yet but head over to wsg forum or google it if you are concerned about this silly developer not even remembering the s-storm their first game created. IT DOES NOT WORK ON A PC MONITOR 2 FEET IN FRONT OF YOUR FACE. Forced low FOV like this is ergonomically wrong and for many, a down right enjoyment killer. A total bunch of muppets working at 2k. First game was bad, almost excusable as these monkeys weren't tipped off yet to what other companies like Crytek and Valve already knew and were doing correctly, but to repeat the same mistakes all over again? Clowns, liars, lazy people god I hope this game bombs. see the 2 links to compare 4:3 with widescreen. If you just don't 'get' what all the fuss is about you really should go read up and start demanding proper respect. Does anyone even use 4:3 now that matters? http://img5.imageshack.us/i/98963547.png/ 4:3 Note the shots. the 4:3 is 'as envisaged' by the devs, it shows a nice scene, plenty of immersion due to feeling 'in the game' because you have visual room to breathe. http://img22.imageshack.us/i/65311755.png/ WS 16/10 16/9 Then look at the widescreen shot. What real devs do is correct the projection matrix to take this into account.. the WS screen should show EXACTLY the same top and bottom as the 4:3 screen, with a little extra on the sides to take into account the shape of the monitor. However what it does instead is use the same 'width' of the 4:3 and simply CROPS the picture and top and bottom, thus losing immersion, ergonomics and environmental depth. You feel like you are 'stuck on' the screen rather than surrounded by a game. It runs much deeper than this but as I said I can't believe 2k of ALL devs are repeating this basic school boy error again. They really are cheap hacks. Worse is that they didn't take WS users seriously. Those WS users who say 'so what, I don't care' well done you are part of the problem. Lets hope you never want to play on a triple surround screen set up because i'd love to see you squinting at games that fake widescreen like this. Anyone who is playing in widescreen, be aware you POV is no aprox 1 foot in front of your body, zoomed in, sickening to some but for me personally I don't like what it does to immersion. And don't believe anything the devs say about 'artistic vision' because it's clear their 4:3 is so different and actually looks 'better' because it has z-axis breathing space. I really think someone at 2k should use all the massive profits from the first game to invest in some MODERN monitors over at the dev offices, they wouldn't need us players to keep doing their job for them then. Expand

See all 162 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. BioShock 2: Inside the Reviews

    BioShock 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: February 9, 2010
    How does the highly anticipated new shooter BioShock 2 compare to the original BioShock, one of the highest-rated games of all time? We go deeper inside the reviews to find out.