BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea - Episode One Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 496 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at theCome back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at the bottom of the ocean, built almost entirely from scratch in the BioShock Infinite engine. Gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, Tears, Sky-Lines, and Big Daddies. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    It’s an affectionately crafted homage to the first game, retroactively building on the grim story and Ayn Rand-ian themes, galvanising them with a fresh perspective whilst simultaneously tying Rapture more wholly into the Columbian narrative. It’s intelligent, indulgent and nostalgic in equal measure, left dangling on a transfixing narrative hook. It’s everything we love about BioShock, condensed.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    After completing the first episode of this Bioshock Infinite: Burial at Sea, it clearly appears that mixing Bioshock and Bioshock Infinite universes was a very good idea indeed, and maybe the best reason for a solo DLC. Going through Rapture is a true joy, and the meeting with Elizabeth as a pin-up is great. The gameplay, the art direction and the scenario are still very interesting. The only drawback are the two hours of play sold for 15€. You should go for the Season Pack!
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    Burial at Sea is potentially the best DLC of the year. Rapture has been beautifully brought to life, which has you reaching for you PrintScreen button multiple times throughout playing. The story is also brilliantly told, but the content has been split in two. This makes it a relatively short experience, and players will have to deal with that until they can get their hands on part 2.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Burial At Sea tells an interesting tale with plenty of twists, but it doesn't have enough substance on the gameplay side of things to back it up.
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    70
    While the combination of frustratingly underdeveloped combat and a short length weigh the experience down, there’s definitely enough worth seeing here, at least from a visual and narrative standpoint.
  6. Nov 13, 2013
    68
    BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea Episode 1 is an excellent expansion in its fundamentals. It offers a new location, a completely new story and new things to discover. Especially returning to Rapture is e pleasant experience. But then, after ninety minutes, your presented with an ending.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    Burial at Sea seems a prime example of the tail wagging the dog, and the result is an adventure with fantastic sights and sounds that don't come together in a meaningful way.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 94
  2. Negative: 13 out of 94
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a quality A+, polished game, than a long and unfinished one.

    This is definitely worth the purchuse
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    The first story based DLC for Bioshock: Infinite is a fantastic return to rapture. Piecing together the connections between worlds isThe first story based DLC for Bioshock: Infinite is a fantastic return to rapture. Piecing together the connections between worlds is incredibly entertaining and i cant wait for part 2. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying I did not have an issue with the length of this DLC as so many others have. I played on 1999 difficulty, and theLet me start by saying I did not have an issue with the length of this DLC as so many others have. I played on 1999 difficulty, and the scarcity of supplies caused this episode to play out in a very deliberate, considered way, more of a survival horror than the original Bioshock. It took me nearly 4 hours to complete, but I did scavenge every nook and cranny, collecting all the audio logs and savoring every detail. And there are details aplenty. Rapture redone in the Infinite engine, especially in its pre-fall splendor, is sumptuous, a stylish, smoke-filled environment that's full of character. The NPCs here are more interesting instead of everyone having one attitude "all hail the Prophet!" the denizens of Ryan's world, by philosophy, are more diverse, more intellectually keen.

    Aside from scarcity and difficulty, the combat doesn't turn over any new stones. The new Old Man Winter vigor is a rehash of the freezing plasmid in the original Bioshock, and the weapons play as slight modifications to their Infinite counterparts. While introducing sky rails to Rapture seems a little forced, they do add Infinite's important dimension and thrilling immediacy to the gameplay.

    I've heard the twist ending is ineffective because you know a twist is coming I'd disagree on that front as well. The content of that twist is still very surprising, even if you've braced yourself for it. It's a well thought out narrative with a few gaps that need bridging, but there's no reason not to believe they'll be covered in Episode 2, which I eagerly await.
    Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    I must confess, maybe I expected more from this DLC.

    They promise us a return into Rapture and to the original Bioshock. I really liked
    I must confess, maybe I expected more from this DLC.

    They promise us a return into Rapture and to the original Bioshock.
    I really liked the first Bioshock for the atmosphere and the story, but I feel like that game had some problems with the gameplay: enter into a room, you need 3 items to go on, one of these 3 items needs 3 items etc.. it wasn't good.
    Anyway, let's get Back to BaS: the intro is great. Full of references to the first game, really bring you back. Except the "new power" of the Big Daddy seen in the biginnin, the "drill trick", I don't see the point of adding that for no reason since it wasn't never show before.
    The story is very nice and easy to follow, sadly some trama plot are pretty trivial and you can totally see them coming. Except the final, that was damn surprising.
    The gameplay was reinvented as they promised: you can bring more then 2 weapons, they also added a "new" plasmid from the first game and a new weapon really nice, but that you won't use that for longer.
    The music, as usually, is great. Really fits for every situation.
    Sadly is very short, I've finished it with 160 minutes, exploring a lot, but rushing a bit in the end. Still, is all worth it.

    In the end, is a dlc that I suggest you to get with the Season Pass, so you will be sure to get the Episode 2 immedialy after the release.
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    So, when playing really throroughly and checking out every nook and cranny Burial at Sea took me 3.5h. Kinda nice, but it was really verySo, when playing really throroughly and checking out every nook and cranny Burial at Sea took me 3.5h. Kinda nice, but it was really very lazed out.
    As I love Bioshock Infinite and Elizabeth and co, it wasn't that what I thought it might be. I actually didn't feel much plot along the way. Hadn't really had any urge to find that Sally. Nothing much like Infinite. Not very much emotions.
    And unfortunately game is very buggy. I had to reload checkpoints twice as I encountered never-ending spinning doors. And sometimes Elizabeth was disappearing and only unlocking doors and safes was bringing her magically back.
    But like in every Bioshock game this I must say there's a killer ending. But if you will like it or not is up to you. It was a bomb, but I'm not sure I like it like I liked Infinite's one.
    But it's surely one of the highest points of this DLC. 7 from me because in Poland we had Season Pass for free if you bought the game at premiere. But I wouldn't pay for it 15$ that's for sure. It's still too short and buggy considering the time they were producing it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    This game does not scratch the rapture itch. I don't understand why there are skyhooks and why plasmids are named after vigors. But in theThis game does not scratch the rapture itch. I don't understand why there are skyhooks and why plasmids are named after vigors. But in the end, it's a good way to kill 2 hours, but not for $15. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    0
    Overpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before inOverpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before in Star Trek, Sliders, Quantum Leap and Fox's Fringe. So don't listen to the durps that try to convince you it's original and hasn't been done before.

    As for the DLC, 15 bucks for one hour of gameplay? Don't encourage this greed, just say no to this overpriced filth.
    Expand

See all 94 User Reviews