Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at theCome back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at the bottom of the ocean, built almost entirely from scratch in the BioShock Infinite engine. Gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, Tears, Sky-Lines, and Big Daddies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    It’s an affectionately crafted homage to the first game, retroactively building on the grim story and Ayn Rand-ian themes, galvanising them with a fresh perspective whilst simultaneously tying Rapture more wholly into the Columbian narrative. It’s intelligent, indulgent and nostalgic in equal measure, left dangling on a transfixing narrative hook. It’s everything we love about BioShock, condensed.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    After completing the first episode of this Bioshock Infinite: Burial at Sea, it clearly appears that mixing Bioshock and Bioshock Infinite universes was a very good idea indeed, and maybe the best reason for a solo DLC. Going through Rapture is a true joy, and the meeting with Elizabeth as a pin-up is great. The gameplay, the art direction and the scenario are still very interesting. The only drawback are the two hours of play sold for 15€. You should go for the Season Pack!
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    77
    While Forza Motorsport 5 delivers the best-looking experience in the franchise’s history, it’s impossible to recommend at a full-price purchase. The revamped in-game economy makes getting cars seem like a chore, which in turn makes the idea of races seem like one – and that’s a very bad thing for a racing game since you’ll be doing a lot of that.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Part One of Burial at Sea is predicated on so many constants and variables that it will undoubtedly prove divisive. It feels all too brief, even as half of a two-part whole, but it delivers a rich storyline that builds to a suitably stunning climax.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    You might have been to the city before, but in Burial at Sea, it remains as alluring a creation as it ever was.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Practically oozing fan service from every pore, Burial at Sea is both as glorious and as imperfect as Rapture itself.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    Burial at Sea seems a prime example of the tail wagging the dog, and the result is an adventure with fantastic sights and sounds that don't come together in a meaningful way.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 87
  2. Negative: 11 out of 87
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a quality A+, polished game, than a long and unfinished one.

    This is definitely worth the purchuse
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    First of all, I would love to say thanks to team of Irrational Games for bringing me back to Rapture. I cant describe how wonderful to go backFirst of all, I would love to say thanks to team of Irrational Games for bringing me back to Rapture. I cant describe how wonderful to go back to one of my favorite places in videogames world. All i can say game design and atmosphere are incredible, I made about 200 screenshots! Well done!
    I love the story. Its good to meet Booker and Elizabeth again.
    DLC is quiet harder than the game itself, you are suffering from a lack of ammo and large amount of damage from splicers. And its a good thing!
    So I will give this DLC 10/10, because I got everything I was expecting from this DLC. And I`m looking forward to Episode 2! The end of the Episode 1 left me so hungry for more.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    I first want to address the most popular topic of conversation; the length relative to the price.

    I think the shortness of the game is a
    I first want to address the most popular topic of conversation; the length relative to the price.

    I think the shortness of the game is a bit overblown. I suppose it depends what difficulty setting I played it in 1999 Mode my first run through (so accounting for being rusty) and was quite thorough making sure I got all the gear/plasmids/etc. That being said, I clocked in at just about 5 hours.

    I view the price as $10 since anyone who is a big Bioshock fan is generally planning on getting both story DLC's. In light of that price, I thought the amount of game was good a bit light, but when I compare it to many other games that are $60 and have ~$12 of campaign play and are vastly inferior story-wise and gameplay-wise I don't find this pricing particularly offensive.

    Putting that issue aside, the game feels very much a continuation of Bioshock Infinite and certainly has more in common with it than Bioshock 1 or 2. This is very much Infinite in Rapture, as opposed to Bioshock 1 with some Infinite mechanics. I personally actually liked Infinite more than the predecessors, thus I'm thrilled with that being the case, but I could see how some people hoping for something else might be disappointed.

    As for story, it's typical Bioshock quality, thoughtful and not without a surprise or two despite us as the audience being conditioned to expect these surprises throughout. It serves as a worthy continuation of what took place in the main game, though simply by the nature of the issues risen in the original the plot requires you to take Irrational at their word that the universe makes sense (spend too much time overthinking it and it is sure to show some holes).

    In summation, the game is not perfect, but it's every bit as good as Infinite if not for the relative brevity. As noted, it's not as bad as some would have you believe if you're playing at a high difficulty and being thorough, but you could certainly speed through it in an hour and a half if you so desired. Then again, I've seen people play a game like Dark Souls in 5 hours whereas it took me almost 50 on my first play through, so it really is a matter of how you wish to play the game and how thorough you are. For these really well crafted games I take my time and enjoy the sights and sounds and would suggest you do too.
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Despite what a lot of reviews say this DLC isn't bad. It has the same look and feel that Infinite had yet set obviously in the world ofDespite what a lot of reviews say this DLC isn't bad. It has the same look and feel that Infinite had yet set obviously in the world of Rapture. I did notice that the developers went for a more combat focused game. The story is bland and shoved under the rug most of the time. The few bits you do get to explore Rapture are great yet short lived. The combat is much harder to compensate for the lack of story. Medium is pretty challenging and the diversity of combat that the splicers bring is sporadic and chaotic. Definitely worth the money but too hyped up for its own good. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Really liked the game-play, really liked the graphics, but it only took me an 1.5 hours to finish it, and personally i did not like the endingReally liked the game-play, really liked the graphics, but it only took me an 1.5 hours to finish it, and personally i did not like the ending at all. I would say get it, but not right now while it is 15 bucks, get it when it is on sale. (i bought the season pack so i saved a little) Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    An entertaining addition to the game and all of the environments are very well done like in the original. the combat us more of the same withAn entertaining addition to the game and all of the environments are very well done like in the original. the combat us more of the same with fast paced running gunning, jumping from rails and blasting enemies with super powers. the story could have used a little more depth and for the 15.00 dollar price tag though its just far to short. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    0
    Overpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before inOverpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before in Star Trek, Sliders, Quantum Leap and Fox's Fringe. So don't listen to the durps that try to convince you it's original and hasn't been done before.

    As for the DLC, 15 bucks for one hour of gameplay? Don't encourage this greed, just say no to this overpriced filth.
    Expand

See all 87 User Reviews