Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 379 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Come back to Rapture in a story that finds Booker and Elizabeth on the eve of the underwater city's fall from grace. Developed by Irrational Games, the developer of the original BioShock and BioShock Infinite, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before-a shining jewel at the bottom of the ocean, built almost entirely from scratch in the BioShock Infinite engine. Gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite: new weapons, new Plasmids/Vigors, Tears, Sky-Lines, and Big Daddies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    It’s an affectionately crafted homage to the first game, retroactively building on the grim story and Ayn Rand-ian themes, galvanising them with a fresh perspective whilst simultaneously tying Rapture more wholly into the Columbian narrative. It’s intelligent, indulgent and nostalgic in equal measure, left dangling on a transfixing narrative hook. It’s everything we love about BioShock, condensed.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    After completing the first episode of this Bioshock Infinite: Burial at Sea, it clearly appears that mixing Bioshock and Bioshock Infinite universes was a very good idea indeed, and maybe the best reason for a solo DLC. Going through Rapture is a true joy, and the meeting with Elizabeth as a pin-up is great. The gameplay, the art direction and the scenario are still very interesting. The only drawback are the two hours of play sold for 15€. You should go for the Season Pack!
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    77
    While Forza Motorsport 5 delivers the best-looking experience in the franchise’s history, it’s impossible to recommend at a full-price purchase. The revamped in-game economy makes getting cars seem like a chore, which in turn makes the idea of races seem like one – and that’s a very bad thing for a racing game since you’ll be doing a lot of that.
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Part One of Burial at Sea is predicated on so many constants and variables that it will undoubtedly prove divisive. It feels all too brief, even as half of a two-part whole, but it delivers a rich storyline that builds to a suitably stunning climax.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    70
    You might have been to the city before, but in Burial at Sea, it remains as alluring a creation as it ever was.
  6. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    Practically oozing fan service from every pore, Burial at Sea is both as glorious and as imperfect as Rapture itself.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    Burial at Sea seems a prime example of the tail wagging the dog, and the result is an adventure with fantastic sights and sounds that don't come together in a meaningful way.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 82
  2. Negative: 10 out of 82
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Short for a $15 game, but then again, it's Bioshock. It's not about the length of the game, it's about the quality.

    I would rather have a
    quality A+, polished game, than a long and unfinished one.

    This is definitely worth the purchuse
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    First of all, I would love to say thanks to team of Irrational Games for bringing me back to Rapture. I cant describe how wonderful to go back to one of my favorite places in videogames world. All i can say game design and atmosphere are incredible, I made about 200 screenshots! Well done!
    I love the story. Its good to meet Booker and Elizabeth again.
    DLC is quiet harder than the game itself, you are suffering from a lack of ammo and large amount of damage from splicers. And its a good thing!
    So I will give this DLC 10/10, because I got everything I was expecting from this DLC. And I`m looking forward to Episode 2! The end of the Episode 1 left me so hungry for more.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    The entire DLC actually feels quite different from any Bioshock the pre-fall rapture has a much more modern feel, while the department store has a lot more of a horror element than seen anywhere in Infinite.. A lot of the plot doesn't quite go along quite well, but the minor references to Infinite and the amazing ending made this a nice little escape. Don't expect too much it took me 3 hours, and I didn't find much replay value. Also, consider buying the season pass instead, as the $15 price is a little bit hefty. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    Absolutely amazing in every single way it plays. So why is this an 8 and not a 10?

    It's short. Really short.

    The game itself plays like
    Bioshock 1 and Infinite combined, with indeed variable combat options, plus the return of the weapon wheel, as well as not having way too much ammo at once. The story is fantastic, expanding upon the story of both Infinite and the first Bioshock, and the environments are incredibly enticing. I loved this DLC and was definitely worth the purchase. The high amount of quality put into this makes it an excellent piece to add to your collection.

    But the length will take you about 3 hours max (this is assuming you do and explore EVERYTHING) despite all that, making it a questionable use of 15 dollars when you look at DLC campaigns for some games, say Borderlands 2 that last for quite a long time for just the main quests.

    In the end, give it a try, but consider getting the season pass so you can save some money when you inevitably buy both episodes, and you can get Clash in the Clouds, which I thought was relatively fun, and the season pass will only net you $20.

    Note about the season pass, however: Get it after beating the main story of Infinite, as they give you 5 upgrades and 4 armor pieces soon into the game that you can't skip (as far as I know) and I feel that ruins the challenge a bit.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    a great piece of dlc for fans of infinite and the original bioshock. the dlc is very short clocking in at around 2 hours but you could probably finish it in 90 minutes if you were rushing. Rapture looks incredible and really well polished. the way the world is, is completely engaging and fascinating. The story is really well written and of course booker and elizabeth are excellently portrayed again. the combat is very bioshocky but with the feel of the first game (limited ammo, crafty and scary enemies and an emphasis on combat. The dlc is very well worth checking out and promises to be an excellent 2 part series. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    An entertaining addition to the game and all of the environments are very well done like in the original. the combat us more of the same with fast paced running gunning, jumping from rails and blasting enemies with super powers. the story could have used a little more depth and for the 15.00 dollar price tag though its just far to short. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2014
    0
    Overpriced DLC to the one of the most overrated video games of all time. All the plot elements in Bioshock Infinite have been done before in Star Trek, Sliders, Quantum Leap and Fox's Fringe. So don't listen to the durps that try to convince you it's original and hasn't been done before.

    As for the DLC, 15 bucks for one hour of gameplay? Don't encourage this greed, just say no to this overpriced filth.
    Expand

See all 82 User Reviews