BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea - Episode Two Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 500 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this DLC pack, you become Elizabeth as she seeks to bring closure to her story, and to BioShock Infinite's. Like Episode 1, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before and gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges theIn this DLC pack, you become Elizabeth as she seeks to bring closure to her story, and to BioShock Infinite's. Like Episode 1, this DLC features Rapture as you've never seen it before and gameplay has been modified to give the player an original BioShock combat experience that merges the best parts of BioShock and BioShock Infinite. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock Infinite: The First Five Minutes
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. May 14, 2014
    99
    A gorgeous, utterly immersive and hugely satisfying conclusion to one of the greatest video game narratives of all time.
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    90
    In terms of narrative it’s as dizzying, exhilarating, and divisive as the series has always been, arguably providing some of its most memorable sequences yet, and for fans it’s something that not only has to be experienced, but savoured.
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    88
    Feels very much like a send-off for the Rapture and Columbia eras of BioShock – a carefully crafted, appropriately mind-bending sendoff.
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    Burial at Sea episode 2 is a brilliant conclusion to the story that started a few months ago. This great stealth-oriented experience with Elizabeth will make you feel fear, loneliness, hope and sadness like not so many modern games can do.
  5. Apr 1, 2014
    80
    BioShock Infinite Burial at Sea Episode 2, for the most part, is a fitting end to the entire series.
  6. Mar 31, 2014
    72
    The lengths to which Burial at Sea: Episode 2 goes to distance its gameplay from BioShock Infinite's blueprint is outmatched by the indulgent spectacle of its writhing narrative - a risk not fully conscious of its consequences. Through success, failure, and to simply admire the sunset of a generation, the conclusion of Burial at Sea remains a worthwhile experience.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 16, 2014
    40
    What it gains on atmospherics, it lacks in gameplay and the story is uneven, saved only by a few brilliant scenes. [Issue#241]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A year ago, I played Bioshock Infinite and was overwhelmed by its ending, amazed by its graphics and its storyline, I loved everything about Infinite. One year later, I'm overwhelmed again by its storyline, the ending, the quantum mechanics, multi-universe stuff... Everything. Except, this time I'm crying. I'll be honest here, I have never cried over a video game ever in my life, and let me assure you it's not easy at all to make me cry.

    At the beginning of Episode Two (in Paris), I was shedding tears because of how beautiful and happy everything was. The music, the atmosphere, graphics, animation... The amount of detail everything had. Not only that, I realised that it was going to be the end of Bioshock as a whole as Irrational had closed down and I didn't want the story to end at all. So thats why it made me cry even more.

    But anyway, the gameplay is more stealth based on Episode 2 as you play as Elizabeth. I like how they've added stealth to this episode as well. It makes the episode a lot longer and challenging. You have to be creative and to think on how you're going to clear out your enemies, who you'll take out first, whether to wait or not etc.

    The lockpicking is good as well, I like that it requires patience. Just like the stealth.

    I like the crossbow weapon, its actually the main gun I used along with the Revolver. Surprisingly I didn't use any of the other weapons. I guess it's because I wanted to be stealth.

    Everything about Episode 2 is just terrific, from voice acting, to atmosphere to combat, everything. I don't know what else to say.

    The ending again was beyond amazing, I cried again at the last part where you see Booker leading you to the Ace in the hole and also shedded many tears at the ending. I have never enjoyed a video game storyline so much in my entire life that has given me so many feelings. Sadness, happiness, overwhelm (in a good way of course haha), confusion, and shock...

    Thank you thank you thank you to the brilliant voice actors and everyone who worked on the games and DLCs.

    Thank you thank you thank you again for everything, and to everyone.

    You will be missed Irrational. (Thank you Ken Levine!)
    Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    Absolute masterpiece, one of the best DLC's ever made! If you loved the original Infinite you have to get this. For those who wereAbsolute masterpiece, one of the best DLC's ever made! If you loved the original Infinite you have to get this. For those who were disappointed with the gameplay of the original, because it was too much shoot 'em up, this one is a lot different. You have to think through rooms because you can't run in and start blasting. Ammo and money are limited, the weapons are much more gimp, some of the rooms are packed, and Liz doesn't take damage as well as Booker did.

    Also I absolutely loved the enemy characters, I would stand there for like 5 minutes just listening to them ramble off random catch phrases, I almost didn't want to kill them because they were so entertaining.

    Story is excellent and atmosphere surreal as usual. Can't wait for the next Bioshock installment. Great job.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    My goodness. Just when you think the game can't get any better, it does. If you enjoyed Bioshock 1, this DLC completely wraps everything up.My goodness. Just when you think the game can't get any better, it does. If you enjoyed Bioshock 1, this DLC completely wraps everything up. It explains all of the things you think you didn't quite understand with Infinite, and lots of things from Bioshock 1. They even explain the Vita-chambers.

    Seriously though, this is the kind of DLC that's justifiable. Bioshock Infinite with the added DLC is nothing short of a masterpiece. It takes the cake as my favorite of the Bioshock games.

    Pros: The story
    The atmosphere
    The cinematic gameplay (the directing and perspective work on this is amazing)
    Completely new type of game play. (Combat isn't necessary, you have to find other solutions to situations besides just hack and slash)
    The characters

    Cons:
    It's the end of Bioshock.

    Overall, the DLC provides a good 6 hours of extra game time, if you take the time to explore most of the areas to do some side questing. I think I missed some voxophone recordings, still. Also, if you plan on playing through an even harder mode, they have 1999 mode and an extra 1998 mode.

    I don't give many (if any) games this kind of score, but to me, it's definitely a 10/10.
    Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2018
    9
    Soundtrack: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 10/10 Gameplay: 8/10 The soundtrack was beautiful at times, reinforcing the setting of the DLC,
    Soundtrack: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 10/10
    Gameplay: 8/10

    The soundtrack was beautiful at times, reinforcing the setting of the DLC, Rapture. The graphics had a interesting balance between being realistic and cartoon-like. The story develops the characters even further, mainly Elizabeth. The DLC ends in a nice twist that wrapped the BioShock games into one clear story. The stealth focused gameplay was never too hard or too easy and was a refreshing break from the normal FPS style combat. Overall, I had absolutely no problems with this. I do want to mention that as of all of BioShock Infinite and its DLC the story does get quite confusing. I had no problem with this, because you can easily look up explanations or play it more than one time. If you don't want to have to do either of those things, this may not be the game for you.

    Overall: 9.5/10
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    8
    way better then the first burial at the sea. this game is by me the best looking bio shock game to date. even better looking then infinite.way better then the first burial at the sea. this game is by me the best looking bio shock game to date. even better looking then infinite. of course graphics arent all. it all so has great controls, amazing stealth and somewhat great story. its a little pushed back by some glitches and it doesnt add very much consistency to tie up with the first game but other than that pretty damn good. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2017
    7
    strange DLC
    story becomes extremely convoluted at this point, so much it is crazy
    gameplay is more like a stealth game Has decent duration
    strange DLC
    story becomes extremely convoluted at this point, so much it is crazy
    gameplay is more like a stealth game
    Has decent duration and some excellent scenes, but leaves me with even more doubts Episode 1 had
    Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2014
    0
    I er vrot, garbage Pawson not play Ilyukha perdak poraval, I will not play this garbage! I er vrot, garbage Pawson not play Ilyukha perdakI er vrot, garbage Pawson not play Ilyukha perdak poraval, I will not play this garbage! I er vrot, garbage Pawson not play Ilyukha perdak poraval, I will not play this garbage! I er vrot, garbage Pawson not play Ilyukha perdak poraval, I will not play this garbage! Expand

See all 64 User Reviews