Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    The moment you step through the doorway and into Columbia, something magical happens. You’re introduced to what is easily the most "alive" city found in a game so far.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    Like it's ancestor, Bioshock Infinite should be in the hall of fame of videogames. Not for technical reasons, as the game is not quite top notch on that front, but it is magnificent for artistic reasons. Columbia is absolutely spectacular, as the universe does not limit itself to scripted areas, and the storyline has a real point beyond entertainment. In sharp contrast to the mass of videogames that are forgotten ten minutes after the gamers are done playing with them, Bioshock Infinite will forever impact the memories of those who have the chance to experience it. FPS fans will like the different elements of the game such as fails, airtrains and Elizabeth that allow an increase in the fight's rhythm, a vast improvement over the first Bioshock. Whether you're an intellectual or a trigger happy maniac, you will definitely find a reason to enjoy this fabulous game. Long live Bioshock Infinite.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    A masterpiece in audiovisual design, a fantastic action game and another testimony to the craft, the imagination and the ambition of Irrational. However, the campaign is a bit shorter than what was expected and it´s obvious the studio has not reached the full range of their objectives.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    95
    For me BioShock: Infinite is one of the most important games in recent history. It is the first game that bravely takes on social and religious problems and doesn't avoid the opportunity to criticize extreme views. It's a great shooter, with a glorious world, fantastic co-star (Elizabeth!), unique opponents and lots of memorable characters and events. Another masterpiece from Ken Levine.
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    94
    BioShock Infinite is both art-house and grindhouse, managing to offer something for everyone. There’s drama, philosophy, and shocking violence, then there’s combat, abilities, and gear -- there’s even numerically quantified damage for the stat-obsessed. It’s enhanced by thoughtful plotting and great characters and wrapped up in a beautiful world and calamitous physics. Heady and bloody, it’s a tesseract worth tackling, and even if you can see its seams from time to time, its ambition cannot be denied.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    94
    Ken Levine's last is a truly masterpiece. Bioshock Infinite is a great action videogame with an incredible story.
  8. Mar 25, 2013
    94
    A must-have, one of the games of the year, that gives meaning to this world of entertainment. We would have loved to see the same audiovisual ambition applied to the gameplay, or at least, some kind of attempt of bringing something new to it. Still, this is one of the masterpieces of the genre that you cannot miss.
  9. Apr 8, 2013
    93
    BioShock Infinite is simply gorgeous. When we made our first steps into the world of Columbia we were completely overwhelmed. It's a game which is only slightly let down by its very low difficulty level. The absorbing and twisting story puts BioShock Infinite on the throne of shooter gaming.
  10. 92
    Play BSI slowly, relish the moments and don’t rush to the end. It’s certain that you will have lived one of the richest gaming experiences that, as far as narration, lyricism and story are concerned, will take a lot of time to forget! [May 2013]
  11. Mar 25, 2013
    92
    Ken Levine manages to combine difficult topics like guilt, atonement and racism while creating truly remarkable characters, best of all the equally charming and dangerous Elizabeth. Add to this the breathtaking visuals and tactical action (at least on the more difficult levels) and you get an extraordinary action experience.
  12. Apr 9, 2013
    91
    Columbia is one of the most inventive and intriguing game settings of this generation, and it houses a shooter that compares with the very best. It's gaming heaven. Or the closest we'll get to it, anyway. [May 2013, p.59]
  13. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  14. Mar 25, 2013
    91
    Infinite is incredible from a plot and artistic point of view but has several problems in terms of gameplay features. It is an excellent shooter but sadly not the best title in the franchise.
  15. Mar 25, 2013
    91
    Slightly muddled, but it’s a muddle of beautiful scenes and spectacular combat set in a breathtaking place.
  16. Apr 14, 2013
    90
    I don’t dislike BioShock Infinite (as my score attests) but Rapture was a more thoughtful, engrossing, and better assembled experience.
  17. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    But the wonderful storyline and the memorable characters help to make the unbelievable believable. Despite the change in scenery, Columbia still exhibits the BioShock feel that was evident in Rapture.
  18. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    It feels smashing to play it, but it’s almost even more fun to watch someone else play it.
  19. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    Bioshock is an experience that every gamer in the World should have. Irrational Games did a great job, making not the "perfect game" but one that could leave a mark on video games history.
  20. Mar 29, 2013
    90
    Elizabeth is not the revolutionary AI partner you might have hoped for, but the animation work, art design, world, and narrative create a genuine connection between the player and the girl, whether or not you wipe away the debt.
  21. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  22. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    This is the sort experience you don't get every day: an easy-to-like spectacle for the masses with enormous production values, but a story right out of the art-house cinema. Granted, the gameplay side doesn't do as much for this experiment as the story and world design do. But this is a balancing act the fewest of teams could pull off. And even if you have the chops, in this risk-averse day and age you still have to have a healthy dose of irrationality to go through with a game as clever as this one. No wonder Levine's team had exactly what it takes.
  23. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    A gigantic game with a layered plot full of surprises and a breathtaking setting: the city of Columbia.
  24. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    BioShock Infinite not only reclaims the importance of the story in videogames, but also the medium's huge possibilities to create fictional worlds.
  25. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    My conclusion after eleven hours: Bioshock Infinite is one of the best games I've ever been able to experience. My conclusion after twelve hours: What the hell? Whoever calls the finale "unusual" could denote the Atlantic Ocean as a "wet". Infinite makes me simultaneously gobsmacked, amazed and very pleased - and even after two weeks, I cannot tell you exactly which emotion prevails.
  26. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    BioShock Infinite isn't afraid to magnify the way religious and racial extremism inform our culture and change lives. It isn't afraid to depict a less-than-holy trinity diseased by power, deception, and manipulation. As the story circles back on itself, you're left wondering whether redemption cleanses us of our atrocities, or simply invites us to commit greater ones. Once the finale comes, you will want to play again, watching each event and image through the lens of information you can never un-know. BioShock Infinite is more than just a quality game: it's an important one.
  27. Mar 25, 2013
    90
    That Infinite can handle the collision between its philosophical concerns and its dead-end thrills without seeming hopelessly crass or overly portentous testifies to its often touching script, excellent pacing and the kind of unparalleled world building that shows you all of this coexisting cohesively in a golden city in the sky. But it also demonstrates something else: BioShock’s mechanical evolution as a firstperson shooter.
  28. Mar 25, 2013
    89
    Infinite’s biggest issue is that the stiff nonplayer characters really dampen the impact of the social themes. Irrational worked so hard building this world filled with terrible racial imagery, but it’s difficult to feel the effects of that when I can’t relate to the mechanical mannequins that populate Columbia...It’s actually a minor complaint, but it’s very noticeable in a product that is otherwise so exquisitely put together.
  29. May 7, 2013
    85
    A very solid, but not revolutionary shooter in an amazing setting, with a story that struggles to convey its authors’ ambitions and is only seemingly complex. The vision is less focused than in previous Bioshocks and it does a worse job on binding the plot with gameplay. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.46]
  30. Apr 17, 2013
    85
    It’s a cool setting filled with all sorts of small touches that show due care and attention paid to the fiction Irritional created and the closing 20-minutes are powerful, even if the player does little except get an extended “explanation” but I'd dispute the notion that this is somehow the pinnacle of video games because there's enough that's simply average, like the actual layout of the levels (aside from sky-lines), that those making this claim are simply seeing something that isn't present in this dimension.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6494 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    7
    Bioshoke Infinite is a good game. It is also overated, over-hyped and someone less than the coming-of-the-Messiah it pretends to be. InfiniteBioshoke Infinite is a good game. It is also overated, over-hyped and someone less than the coming-of-the-Messiah it pretends to be. Infinite has wonderful ambience and atmosphere. The city of Columbia was built with passion and care. The art STYLING is brilliant. Likewise the main characters are sublime. Certain set-pieces are BRILLIANT. Yet finally this game does not stand up as a product that is worth $60. It is far too short and the shooting/exploring elements are far too limited, a kind of theatrical filler between the numerous set-pieces of this scenic railroad. Good though it is, this is a game to wait for. Wait till the hype blows over and get it when it hits its true value of around $20. The combat is fun but not challenging. Enemy AI is weak. The game is also far too linear and NARROW in terms of both player progress and narrative. The game finally exposes its true weaknesses, after many great moments when the plot falls to pieces at the end with one of the most head-scratching (in a negative sense) and RIDICULOUS conclusions you will ever see in a game. The ending is not deep. It is not a philosphical marvel. It's an incoherent mess that will have you wondering what the team at Irrational Games have been smoking for the last FIVE YEARS. While the anti-American Exceptionism is fairly amusing is is also over-played. Doesn't Ken Levine understand the word subtlety? Bioware Infinite is definitely a game to be enjoyed when the price comes down. I understand the desire of users to praose any game to the heavens. It happened also with Skyrim, which simply was also not very good. Keep waiting boys and girls, a true 10/10 game will get made eventually. Enough dudes are working at it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    I really don't understand why are people so overwhelmed by this game. Lets see first thing is graphics, well this is such a clever ruse, allI really don't understand why are people so overwhelmed by this game. Lets see first thing is graphics, well this is such a clever ruse, all that bloom, fog and light shafts are well placed to cover poor models and textures in general(and I am not a person who praise graphics but this simply couldn't be overlooked). Next thing is horrible collision zones, at first it was not a big deal but it became more and more annoying. Also difficulty is pretty low i cannot even imagine how easier the game could get on lower difficulties. Story and characters are mix up of several clichés with several ups and downs and for once finally useful sidekick on the contrary enemy AI is quite poor and you will see big number of enemies stucked in some obstacle. There is also that unpleasant fact that this game embrace only checkpoint saves. So not being a fanboy nor hater i have to say Bioshock Infinite is pretty average game with tremendous hype, I'm glad i got my copy free because otherwise i would be really really angry at myself for wasting money. P.S. for all the people that say Bioshock is best rated FPS in history just check Half Life 2 and see for yourself Full Review »