User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6282 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Irrational Games have once again created a masterpiece of storytelling in the sky. Its gorgeous visuals, absolutely incredible AI, beautiful sound design and unique setting accompany this, creating Bioshock Infinite; one of the greatest games I have ever played. It's revolutionary AI creates one of the most interactive, realistic and helpful accompanying characters ever, Elizabeth. SheIrrational Games have once again created a masterpiece of storytelling in the sky. Its gorgeous visuals, absolutely incredible AI, beautiful sound design and unique setting accompany this, creating Bioshock Infinite; one of the greatest games I have ever played. It's revolutionary AI creates one of the most interactive, realistic and helpful accompanying characters ever, Elizabeth. She creates an emotional connection with the player, making them feel as if she were real. Irrational Games have gone above and beyond, creating a memorable shooter; surpassing my expectations by far. I rate this 10/10 Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    You already know what to do. Don't think. Buy. A world to live in, combat system to indulge in, and a sequence of events without wasted space. A masterpiece of synthesis. Join myself and the elite few who have bested 1999 mode and be at peace.
  3. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This GAME... wow, the use of graphics (textures), voice/audio, animation... Well, everything that makes a game a game is beyond ridiculously super uber amazing in BioShock Infinite. The art style (the way people look; faces, etc) is nothing short of genius. It is a little repetitive, such as the random people you see looking the same (As far as I have seen, I think there is only one femaleThis GAME... wow, the use of graphics (textures), voice/audio, animation... Well, everything that makes a game a game is beyond ridiculously super uber amazing in BioShock Infinite. The art style (the way people look; faces, etc) is nothing short of genius. It is a little repetitive, such as the random people you see looking the same (As far as I have seen, I think there is only one female head mesh apart from Elizabeth's) but beyond the first ten minutes of the game, you won't notice it at all. The audio department is also top notch. There is a resemblance to the prior BioShock's, with a wondrous and distinctive difference that fit's Columbia very well. The way the game play's, as with the first BioShock, is barely linear at all, allowing for 101 different routes to deal with the game's deviously clever obstacles. The use and design of the sky-rail highlights this, allowing you to find new places, weapons and ways to beat enemies with a twist. The slow but steady introduction of different guns and vigors also allows for a large differentiation in the way that you do things through the game, compared to what you may have done at the start. Upgrading health and tools is now far easier and less frustrating, as there are far more than 5 different opportunities to do so (Yeah, I'm looking at you, #1). The AI (The way the friends and enemies move about the level, where they take cover etc) is a groundbreaking advance in this area. Elizabeth's interaction with the environment is incredibly accurate, making observation's, taking cover and throwing you (literally) ammo just when you need it. She is simply delightful to have around. But the thing that I must stress is how astounding the story is. It is an example of simply awesome storytelling, equal to great's such as the Uncharted series. Columbia and your time there is a triumph of inspiring, imaginative minds. There are plot twists which are genuinely surprising, keeping the game lively as you play. It has been the only story line which I have been interested in in a very long time. BioShock Infinite is a refreshingly new, inspiring addition to the premium world of your game pile (Or steam list). I don't care what else comes out this year, it's my game of the year (And I'm literally oogling GTA 5). Just... get it. Now. Go on, now. Yes, now. JUST GET IT :D Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    til recently I had been quite deceived by recent games sequel, from crysis 2 to diablo 3 and even bioshock 2, I had big expectation and games development has gone the wrong way since a while now. When I first heard about bioshock infinite, I told myself to that it was just another money making plan ``a la EA``. I was dead wrong; after seeing so many good review I decided to buy it and itstil recently I had been quite deceived by recent games sequel, from crysis 2 to diablo 3 and even bioshock 2, I had big expectation and games development has gone the wrong way since a while now. When I first heard about bioshock infinite, I told myself to that it was just another money making plan ``a la EA``. I was dead wrong; after seeing so many good review I decided to buy it and its been one of the best gaming experience I've got so far since dark souls. Bioshock franchise alway had a different atmosphere graphically, its maybe not a benchmark game but in its way has a majestic world. I don't get why so many people complain its not a crysis caliber graphics, it's not meant to be that kind of game. All this game beauty is contained in its truly jaw dropping scenario. You will be quite lost at first, trust me, but this is by far one of the most MIND BLOWING story I've ever come to play. As a fan QM theory I'm quite stocked they have come with a concept that complex and still nailled it pretty well. The Ai and control aren't revolutionnary but hey name a game that really delivered those thing?

    well I note that game a big 10 because; although the actual gameplay is not actually revolutionnary but still really enjoyable, the scenario of this game is so solid, I wish more game dev actually understood the importance of immersion into a story that profound is the real experience to gamers. two word: MIND BLOWING!
    Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best games I've ever played in my life. It deserves nothing less than a 10, and any user that has given this game below a 9 is a troll and you can tell because they have 1 review. Back to the game, this game is amazing, the beautiful graphics, the fluent and intense combat that combines many elements other than shooting, and the story... this game has one of theThis is easily one of the best games I've ever played in my life. It deserves nothing less than a 10, and any user that has given this game below a 9 is a troll and you can tell because they have 1 review. Back to the game, this game is amazing, the beautiful graphics, the fluent and intense combat that combines many elements other than shooting, and the story... this game has one of the best stories ive ever experienced not just in a game but in any form. 10/10 easily Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Everything about this game deserves such high praise. The gameplay is invigorating and exciting, with no issues besides an annoying final boss and the occasional lag. The plot is absolutely phenomenal and makes you think days to come-making you want to play it all over again to notice every detail reflected by the resolution. The aesthetics are beautiful and will make you take noticeEverything about this game deserves such high praise. The gameplay is invigorating and exciting, with no issues besides an annoying final boss and the occasional lag. The plot is absolutely phenomenal and makes you think days to come-making you want to play it all over again to notice every detail reflected by the resolution. The aesthetics are beautiful and will make you take notice while playing. Even the music interacts with every movement and plot development in the story, until the end..
    For anyone who has not played it yet, there is a post credit scene which is important.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Although the graphics are great I'd play this as a text-based game just to play the story. This story is amazing, competing with Mass Effect on a higher level then one can imagine. The lore is great, the science is accurate (relatively) and the characters are incredible. There are not enough words in the English language to describe how good this game is so I'll stop right here!
    Just
    Although the graphics are great I'd play this as a text-based game just to play the story. This story is amazing, competing with Mass Effect on a higher level then one can imagine. The lore is great, the science is accurate (relatively) and the characters are incredible. There are not enough words in the English language to describe how good this game is so I'll stop right here!
    Just because I have to write something negative about the game; the combat is, as with any single-player story-based game, not so good. It's better than most games in it's league but not great. Satisfactory but not the reason to play this game.
    Expand
  8. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    Over 10 of gaming, this is one of my best games with an amazing and thrilling story. Most people would say this is overrated or some kind, it doesn't mean this game sucks, it's just that those who rated below 5/10 just either sucker at this game or a pure idiot.
  9. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    After you Play it, you need one to talk about the Story. It will blow you brain and you think more than one day and night about it. Ok, it is a shooter, but the Story is better as a movie or a book can ever tell.
  10. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    As you have probably heard, the graphics in this game are pretty OK. Running on High produced a smooth game for me, and bumping up the quality to Ultra left me stunned in the wake of a game that left me as stunned as the first playthrough of Uncharted 2 on PS3. The storyline, though some criticize for being linear and cliche, was tremendous in my opinion. Easily the most likely recipientAs you have probably heard, the graphics in this game are pretty OK. Running on High produced a smooth game for me, and bumping up the quality to Ultra left me stunned in the wake of a game that left me as stunned as the first playthrough of Uncharted 2 on PS3. The storyline, though some criticize for being linear and cliche, was tremendous in my opinion. Easily the most likely recipient of Game of the Year. The vigors are exciting and oftentimes entertaining (nothing like pushing an enemy off a zeppelin with a gush of water). For those complaining about the ease of the game, up the difficulty or, I know it's gonna be hard for some, don't just stick to the same two weapons and same vigor; mix it up a bit. The only complaint I have for this wonderful game is the lack of a normal save system. Instead, the game relies on series of checkpoints, which can get frustrating if you need to leave before you can reach the next one. A well-deserved 10/10. Beautiful graphics, beautiful soundtrack, beautiful story; BioShock Infinite has it all. Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite keeps you guessing till the end, and still a little after. It is creative, innovative, fast paced, and lets you really connect and fall in love with the characters. Every turn in the interactions and storyline are riveting, and colorful with emotion. the game as a whole all through till the end is larger than life and it really is beyond anything I could have hoped for.Bioshock Infinite keeps you guessing till the end, and still a little after. It is creative, innovative, fast paced, and lets you really connect and fall in love with the characters. Every turn in the interactions and storyline are riveting, and colorful with emotion. the game as a whole all through till the end is larger than life and it really is beyond anything I could have hoped for. The graphics and scenery are some of th most beautiful works of art Ive ever seen, and the little details that are the posters, the inanimate objects and room setups are just really quite remarkable. The characters are by far some of the most beautifully created characters Ive ever interacted with in a game. The Lutece twins, Elizabeth, Booker, Comstock, Daisy,; they are all extremely well thought out and are very inn depth. Last but not least, the skylines! Something I dont think Ive seen done before and was easy to use and was extremely fun! Expand
  12. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This game is CRAZY. It throws you into a new world with tons of things to learn and explore. When you are starting to get confortable things goes crazy and its the feeling of being lost and having very little idea of whats going on and always trying to find out that makes this game so special. This game deserves nothing less than 10, This being even better than the original bioshock.
  13. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This Bioshock is really awesome not in the same environment but the atmosphere of Bioshock is still here .
    The graphics on PC are really nice don't know about the other versions.
    If you liked Bioshock 1 and 2 you will love this one if you prefer Call of Duty-like FPS you'll hate it don't even bother buying it simple as that. The game is meant to be played by people who really
    This Bioshock is really awesome not in the same environment but the atmosphere of Bioshock is still here .
    The graphics on PC are really nice don't know about the other versions.
    If you liked Bioshock 1 and 2 you will love this one if you prefer Call of Duty-like FPS you'll hate it don't even bother buying it simple as that.

    The game is meant to be played by people who really like steampunk atmospheres or who are open minded to new experiences.
    Awesome soundtrack Gary did a really good work .
    Not going to spoil the story will just say that the end is going to blow your mind

    Buy it definitely one of the best game ever released Thanks Irrational Games
    Expand
  14. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Very rarely, a game as innovative and well refined as "Bioshock: Infinite" comes along. The slow introduction to the world and characters is quickly compensated for as a few sudden twists set off an unforgettable, emotional thrill ride. While small plot details are hidden about for the explorer and code-cracking types, the game seems to always retain its focus on the big picture. TheVery rarely, a game as innovative and well refined as "Bioshock: Infinite" comes along. The slow introduction to the world and characters is quickly compensated for as a few sudden twists set off an unforgettable, emotional thrill ride. While small plot details are hidden about for the explorer and code-cracking types, the game seems to always retain its focus on the big picture. The plot is exciting, well realized, and although confusing at moments, perfectly presented. The engine is deigned to convincingly portray an expansive environment and while led along a general path, the player will constantly feel like they're part of something much bigger. Use of the skylines is fluid, intuitive, and expertly woven into gameplay and combat. Although the game can be finished in a matter of hours, it's well worth multiple playthroughs. Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I've just finished the game and it just blew my mind. The athmosphere, characters, graphics, gameplay just everything is perfect. You truly get fond of the girl and forget that it is only a game.
    A masterpiece, and for me, game of the decade!
  16. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    An exceptionally well made game with a few problems here and there, but overall amazing. Columbia is just as good as Rapture and Elizabeth might be the greatest AI companion we've ever seen. The game play is pretty similar to the OG Bioshock, but less RPG elements. The endings is stronger than the original as well. Worth every penny.
  17. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best FPS I've ever played, the game story makes up for the aged graphics on consoles. The world and the twists are excellent, there were a bit of odd parts that didn't seem right when playing but once you finished the game you understand what everything means and how well planned the story is since the beginning.
  18. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Some people may not realize this but this is probably the best written literary pieces in digital entertainment ever. Just like Portal 2, Bastion and a few other titles. People who demand graphics lack understanding of stylized media, it's not intended to look realistic. That noted it was amazingly optimized for the user experience. I'm ashamed of anyone who rated it two points or lessSome people may not realize this but this is probably the best written literary pieces in digital entertainment ever. Just like Portal 2, Bastion and a few other titles. People who demand graphics lack understanding of stylized media, it's not intended to look realistic. That noted it was amazingly optimized for the user experience. I'm ashamed of anyone who rated it two points or less lower than my own given score. Expand
  19. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    There seems to be a lot of blind hate on here, but I think most of it is unfounded. The setting, the story and the characters are absolutely fantastically done. This game is absolutely brilliant. Many people seem to have problems with the ending. Most of the time this is from people that don't understand it. I suggest these people watch the film Primer if you want to see something you canThere seems to be a lot of blind hate on here, but I think most of it is unfounded. The setting, the story and the characters are absolutely fantastically done. This game is absolutely brilliant. Many people seem to have problems with the ending. Most of the time this is from people that don't understand it. I suggest these people watch the film Primer if you want to see something you can understand. Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    If you haven't played Bioshock Infinite, then your life isn't complete. One of the best games I have ever played. The gorgeous art design and superb attention to detail make this game a visual feast. Not only is it beautiful but the game play is brutal, fast and most of all fun. I haven't enjoyed a game this much in a long time and I highly recommend it to everyone. If you have the rig toIf you haven't played Bioshock Infinite, then your life isn't complete. One of the best games I have ever played. The gorgeous art design and superb attention to detail make this game a visual feast. Not only is it beautiful but the game play is brutal, fast and most of all fun. I haven't enjoyed a game this much in a long time and I highly recommend it to everyone. If you have the rig to run it, get the PC version as it's visuals are far superior and make this gorgeous game one of the best looking available. I praise Ken Levine for being such a visionary and giving us such a sublime game. Thank you Irrational, I am dying to see what you'll bestow upon us next! Expand
  21. kcv
    Apr 2, 2013
    10
    The game is awesome, as far as people who are talking about graphics glitches should upgrade the pc to latest graphics card and see how it works out...the game is for PC.....not for xbox or PS3.....As far as the story goes it is some thing too much experimental......but the game definitely deserves around 95-97...but as many are giving pathetic ratings of below 8 and shockingly (0).....IThe game is awesome, as far as people who are talking about graphics glitches should upgrade the pc to latest graphics card and see how it works out...the game is for PC.....not for xbox or PS3.....As far as the story goes it is some thing too much experimental......but the game definitely deserves around 95-97...but as many are giving pathetic ratings of below 8 and shockingly (0).....I give it 10/10......I think ken is James Cameron of gaming industry...giving masterpieces one after another....and someone who isn't afraid to experiment..... Expand
  22. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    A work of art. compelling from start to finish and without any spoilers, the best game and story i have seen in years. Bioshock one and two had incredible atmosphere, this game polishes that with incredible combat, a deep immersible story, beautiful scenery and an ending that made me take my hand off my keyboard and send chills up my spine. The first time Elizabeth threw me a coin and saidA work of art. compelling from start to finish and without any spoilers, the best game and story i have seen in years. Bioshock one and two had incredible atmosphere, this game polishes that with incredible combat, a deep immersible story, beautiful scenery and an ending that made me take my hand off my keyboard and send chills up my spine. The first time Elizabeth threw me a coin and said "found some money, want it?," as Booker went to grab it my hand came off my mouse and i gave Elizabeth a thumbs up, as if she was really there. This game is truly phenomenal, everything i was hoping for and more. My personal game of the year. BUY THIS GAME Expand
  23. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Bioshock infinite draws you into another worlds or should i say many worlds! The game is a unique story telling experience and the ending is just great. The combat mechanics are interesting leaving lots of room for improvisation on the battlefield and the strategic use of Elizabeths tear ability makes for very fun encounters. I played that game on 1999 mode first time through and whileBioshock infinite draws you into another worlds or should i say many worlds! The game is a unique story telling experience and the ending is just great. The combat mechanics are interesting leaving lots of room for improvisation on the battlefield and the strategic use of Elizabeths tear ability makes for very fun encounters. I played that game on 1999 mode first time through and while frustrating at parts i was always able to make progress. If you are up for a challenge as well as an mesmerizing story you would be wise to set 1999 mode on using the konami code. All and all a well polished game with a artistic direction with gelled really well with what I and others are looking for in modern FPS titles. Expand
  24. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    After an hour or two of gameplay this has already become my GOTY but kinda on par with Tomb Raider. A masterpiece. I hope more of such high quality games in the future.
  25. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is a fantastic game. Not only does it have a great story, but also great game play which the first BioShock lacked in some forms. From start to finish you'll find yourself engulfed by the story and colorful characters, especially the relationship between Booker and Elizabeth. The only complaint I have with the game is how Irrational finished the game. For my first playBioShock Infinite is a fantastic game. Not only does it have a great story, but also great game play which the first BioShock lacked in some forms. From start to finish you'll find yourself engulfed by the story and colorful characters, especially the relationship between Booker and Elizabeth. The only complaint I have with the game is how Irrational finished the game. For my first play through, so much information was being shoved into my head in the last 20 minutes that I was confused, but playing through a second time erased all the confusion. Expand
  26. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    The game truly is a work of art, deep character and fun dialogue, the actors did a fantastic job of bringing the game to life, with dynamic visual and stunning graphic, with emotional moment where the game truly touches my heart. Not to forget to mention the fun combat and Elizabeth, the star of the game. Its a game that no one should miss out.
  27. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played i highly recommend this one. The story is amazing,graphics are great and the characters you just fall in love with.
  28. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    исскусства.

    сверх составляющая
    рекомендую
  29. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    BioShock Infinite spoiler-free review.
    BioShock: Infinite is an amazing game that's incredibly well thought and enjoyable from start to finish.
    Like I started the review for the original BioShock, I'll talk about the world. Irrational Games manages to keep the tradition of making the world a character and make it tell it's own story. Although the world tells it's own story, it has a lot
    BioShock Infinite spoiler-free review.
    BioShock: Infinite is an amazing game that's incredibly well thought and enjoyable from start to finish.
    Like I started the review for the original BioShock, I'll talk about the world. Irrational Games manages to keep the tradition of making the world a character and make it tell it's own story. Although the world tells it's own story, it has a lot more diminished impact, considering that now you are a speaking character (Booker Dewitt) accompanied by a talking character as well (Elizabeth) which distract you from admiring the world and just staring at it at times. The story. This game's shorter than the first BioShock, but much more focused, with better witing (and BioShock's writing wasn't bad at all), much more interesting and relatable. It was filled with emotions that few games achieved last year (The Last of Us, Gone Home). The Graphics aren't as realistic in 2013 as BioShock's were in 2007, but that's because Irrational takes a much more artistic approach and one that pays off. The music in this game is extraordinary, and really make emotional moments 10 times much more meaningful. The sounds are very good as well, no complaints there. The gameplay. Now, everyone thinks that this is a weak part in the game, but it really isn't. Although plasmids (now called vigors) don't make much of a difference in combat, and it doesn't change the first person shooter genre (like BioShock did), it's a satisfying gameplay and it's a lot of fun (although you might want to play it in hard like I did, because normal and easy difficulty don't bring any challenge). AI is great and Elizabeth really changes combat, by helping you with supplies.
    After all BioShock: Infinite is an incredible ride with an ending that will make you want to replay the game from a whole new pespective.
    Average score: 9.7/10
    Expand
  30. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    A Great game, a worthy successor to the original, and better than Bioshock 2. I love the detail and love that went in to this. You can even look up a lot of the names of things and see that they picked them because of real life historical influences and there are many parallels to real history here. There are supposedly alternate endings but I have only seen one.
  31. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    I played the whole saga of bioshock, and I really liked it except the second chapter. Released Bioshock infinite I played there for a long tempo.La graphic was not as sophisticated but does not count the graphics but the game that the game account. I am now speaking of history, the beginning has been copied to a little 'Beginning of the first chapter, however, the result of the game II played the whole saga of bioshock, and I really liked it except the second chapter. Released Bioshock infinite I played there for a long tempo.La graphic was not as sophisticated but does not count the graphics but the game that the game account. I am now speaking of history, the beginning has been copied to a little 'Beginning of the first chapter, however, the result of the game I loved it. The finale was difficult to understand. My vote is 9 out of 10 Expand
  32. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    This game is great and deserves all the acclaim that it is currently receiving. It creates a story that is so intriguing I could understand why it took three release delays for the game to finally be available to the public. The only thing I would love to have in this game would be co-op but that is such a small and insignificant thing to cry about. This game is a MUST-OWN and deserves aThis game is great and deserves all the acclaim that it is currently receiving. It creates a story that is so intriguing I could understand why it took three release delays for the game to finally be available to the public. The only thing I would love to have in this game would be co-op but that is such a small and insignificant thing to cry about. This game is a MUST-OWN and deserves a playthrough from every gamer. Expand
  33. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This game is a once in a life time experience. The story and the setting of the game are incredibly unique. Columbia is a perfect city in the sky, an utopia, ridden by some darker, ulterior motives. The game is just plain beautiful and it's accompanied by an amazing soundtrack. The characters are perfectly done. Elizabeth feels like a real, living and breathing human being with her ownThis game is a once in a life time experience. The story and the setting of the game are incredibly unique. Columbia is a perfect city in the sky, an utopia, ridden by some darker, ulterior motives. The game is just plain beautiful and it's accompanied by an amazing soundtrack. The characters are perfectly done. Elizabeth feels like a real, living and breathing human being with her own emotions and thoughts. The way she interacts with the main character and the world around her is something I have never seen anything in a video game. From she dances with people of Columbia as she feels freedom for the first time in her life to when she runs scared away from Booker when she first sees him kill people, her character feels so real, so human. She will accompany you throughout the majority of the game but when she doesn't you will feel lonely and nervous without her. She is never a burden, and she can be a life saver in combat as she tosses you health and salts (which are basically this game's mana system). She will also occasionaly toss you coins, or open locked doors for you, provided you found enough lockpicks for it. The gameplay is fast and fun. You will be frantically shooting down people from the skylines and then you jump down and start throwing explosive fire grenades all while Elizabeth is running around the battlefield to provide you for supplies. All of this culminates in a mindblowing, spectacular ending, which may leave you hanging with some questions if you have not been following the story closely, but if you have, it will provide a satisfying, sensible conculsion to what is probably the best story ever told in gaming. Buy this game, play it and love it. Expand
  34. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    The best overall experience I've had since Mass Effect 2. Holds many of the good thing about the original Bioshock, while improving on others. Sounds and graphics are just as good as the other Shock games and the combat is very fun.
  35. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    Great game start to finish. It has amazing hit boxes, well done animations, large amount of weapons and abilities, beautiful story and the best companion AI to date for me. Hope you enjoy
  36. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Whoever rated this game a 5 or below is on crack. I rarely rate on here but when I saw that many negatives (~10%) I had to put this up. Hell, 1 negative vote is too much for this great game. I just finished after about 10 hours of gameplay (I do all of the optional missions explore as much as possible). What it all comes down to is the game is fun. The combat, trying out differentWhoever rated this game a 5 or below is on crack. I rarely rate on here but when I saw that many negatives (~10%) I had to put this up. Hell, 1 negative vote is too much for this great game. I just finished after about 10 hours of gameplay (I do all of the optional missions explore as much as possible). What it all comes down to is the game is fun. The combat, trying out different vigors, using powers to activate turrets, or flying around on the rails while guys are chasing you... it's just damn fun!

    If I wanted to nitpick, I'd say there are some slow spots in the game, and I was a little annoyed when some of the later levels were a bit recycled. But other than that, the game was great. I can see myself playing through again some time in the future.

    This is a beautiful game in an artistic way (1440p on ultra helps!). But the compelling storyline, the atmosphere, sounds, music... all come together to make a wonderful game.

    I honestly think if you rated this game below a 6 there is something wrong with you or you expect WAY too much from a game. It's obvious from playing the game through that the development team put a LOT of work into this game and it shows. I really don't know how much more you could expect from a game. To call this game mediocre is just plain criminal.
    Expand
  37. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    For me this game is like Twin Peaks. Maybe game-play isn't exactly the best, but plot and climate is worth every second with it. Music and Elisabeth character is an add on plus.
  38. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a god game with a fantastic ending. My jaw was literally on the floor after i completed this game. The game mechanics were great for console and even more for PC. Elizabeth's AI was one of the best i have ever played with. Not once was she ever in my way. Great job to Ken Levine and his team i Definitely am thinking game of the year for this contender!
  39. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    I have to say I loved this game. The story immersed me in a way that no game has done before and when that kind of thing happens, such an ending will really make an impact. I don't play usually play just campaign games but this was didn't feel like some annoying task when completing the missions. I actually liked the combat because when using the vigors and guns at the same time, it makesI have to say I loved this game. The story immersed me in a way that no game has done before and when that kind of thing happens, such an ending will really make an impact. I don't play usually play just campaign games but this was didn't feel like some annoying task when completing the missions. I actually liked the combat because when using the vigors and guns at the same time, it makes for some crazy I cant complain about the graphics partly because my computer is pretty terrible and also they were pretty damn good for running on the lowest setting. Also good graphics aren't what make a good, it is the story and game play mechanics which I loved. But remember, IT IS ALL JUST AN OPINION Expand
  40. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Infinite is the best experience i have ever had since the first BioShock. The enviroment is BRILLIANT, the history amazing, moreover Infinite is a lot of fun to play, and the gunplay is better than the others. A masterpiece. Thanks Irrational Games, thanks Ken Levine.
  41. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Perfect games are nearly impossible to make, yet there are close ones. BioShock Infinite is an example. You rush campaign worthy of 14 hours of gameplay and at the end you will be thinking 'wow' and you will probably be left with still a lot of questions unanswerd. But this makes BioShock such a good game: it let's you think about all sorts of things, like racism and religion. BioShockPerfect games are nearly impossible to make, yet there are close ones. BioShock Infinite is an example. You rush campaign worthy of 14 hours of gameplay and at the end you will be thinking 'wow' and you will probably be left with still a lot of questions unanswerd. But this makes BioShock such a good game: it let's you think about all sorts of things, like racism and religion. BioShock Infinite provides the best setting and storytelling that has ever been told in a First-Person Shooter. First of all: the graphics. The Unreal Engine is holding its reputation as one of the best gaming engines and because of this the graphics of BioShock Infinite are so great. Columbia (with the help of this fantastic engine) is living. The flying city looks so great, that it even blows the undersea world of Rapture away. As I told you before about the setting and story from BioShock, you may want to know that the storytelling and setting are the strongest parts of this game, oh yeah and also Elizabeth. Elizabeth is the girl Booker DeWitt needs to save from Columbia. As you would think at first, it might be an escort mission, you're wrong. Elizabeth is such a great AI, that it almost lives like every other person. She is almost perfect. Because of her active role in BioShock Infinite, the game gets a lot better. She's not just the tip of the cake, she is the cake (and not a lie). BioShock is well known for its orginality. As from BioShock, and BioShock 2, you can also use magic powers in battle to overcome your enemy. Yet instead of plasmids (like in the original games) you now have Vigors, which is also really fun to use. My favourite has got to be the crows of death, where you send a group of deathly crows to your enemy and they eat them alive. Another great point about BioShock is the tool you use for travelling. I'm talking about the grapple hook. With this you can clinch on to rails and skydive your way trough Columbia. With this taking in mind, the grapple hook and the skydiving also give enough action to make the fire fights in the game a lot better. You're not the only one who can clinch on to those rails: your enemy are also good at that. With all the positives said, there has got to be something wrong about this game. Yet there is very few to mention. The only thing I may say are the fire fights. Sure they are fun as hell, but they changed. It's not like the first Bioshock or Bioshock 2. You mostly will use guns, instead of vigors. The Vigors feel less powerful then the Plasmids in the original BioShock. Yet this doesn't effect the overall BioShock experience. With this taken in mind, you shouldn't read my review. You're wasting your time. Because you could have taken your time to go to the nearest game shop and bought BioShock Infinite. This game is a must own! Expand
  42. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    It couldn't be any better.
    The plot still sounds very hard to be understood, but we are in front of one of the greatest titles ever.
    We are not talking about a game: this is a form of art.
    Looking forward to the DLCs
  43. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I was anticipating this game ever since it was officially announced back in 2010. I had thought it would not be the successor to the original. I was wrong, the game had became a true sequel to the original. The game play is very solid and the story is quite something that is not like any other story to experience. It changes the ways how games are told and experienced for developers toI was anticipating this game ever since it was officially announced back in 2010. I had thought it would not be the successor to the original. I was wrong, the game had became a true sequel to the original. The game play is very solid and the story is quite something that is not like any other story to experience. It changes the ways how games are told and experienced for developers to take notes for future games to have the bar this high. The characters and writing are quite spectacular to where it feels very emotional, it takes you to another world to explore and feel very involved. It starts with a simple concept of a man has to save a girl from a tower to take his debt away. It starts to evolve from there to tell a extraordinary story where the twists and turns feel very exciting. The game play feels very open and unique with weapons and the newly named plasmids to vigors. The art direction was craft-fully created to make the world feel alive and like it's there. It was a perfect way to end the current console generation with the swan song of the generation, I highly recommend it to gamers who want to see have a great story. Expand
  44. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    This blew me away, Its quite unlike any other game ive ever played, and its awesome! In terms of combat, i cant complain, fluid, fast moving and just great fun! The story is one of the best ive ever seen a game, although it requires a bit of thinking and luck {Several plot points require you to find game collect-ables to be explained}. The graphics are also actually quite a breath of freshThis blew me away, Its quite unlike any other game ive ever played, and its awesome! In terms of combat, i cant complain, fluid, fast moving and just great fun! The story is one of the best ive ever seen a game, although it requires a bit of thinking and luck {Several plot points require you to find game collect-ables to be explained}. The graphics are also actually quite a breath of fresh air, environments are colourful and richly animated giving an amazing back-drop. Definietly a new all-time fav for me and a real classic in the making. Expand
  45. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    At the beginning of this console cycle, Irrational's first venture reinvigorated a stale shooter genre and gave us a game that stands right up there with the likes Half-Life 2 and Doom in terms of its influence, scale, and lasting appeal. Bioshock (one) was a masterpiece that would be extremely hard to follow, let alone top. Well, not only does Bioshock: Infinite out do it's predecessor,At the beginning of this console cycle, Irrational's first venture reinvigorated a stale shooter genre and gave us a game that stands right up there with the likes Half-Life 2 and Doom in terms of its influence, scale, and lasting appeal. Bioshock (one) was a masterpiece that would be extremely hard to follow, let alone top. Well, not only does Bioshock: Infinite out do it's predecessor, but it is just as worthy on it's own merit of standing up there with the greats. Never have I been so invested in a game's story, characters, and environment than I was while journeying through Infinite. It is a testament to the power of games as a storytelling medium the tale Irrational weaves throughout the experience is one that can only be told with in an interactive way; there has to be agency for it to work. The astonishing reason behind this triumph lies with the fact that gameplay and story work together it's not just violence for the sake of violence and shooting for the sake of shooting, the environment and story contextualize all of it. Each enemy you distinguish has a weight on your conscience as Elizabeth questions your actions....and you question your own, since you are persecuted as an "Anti-Christ" like figure upon reaching Columbia. I found I was asking myself "am I really the bad guy here...I am bringing about a lot of wanton death destruction." But yet all the while I justified my actions because I cared about Elizabeth and wanted to protect her and she represents not only an amazing achievement in technical design but character design as well. There is so much thought and care put into every facet of this games design that it is flabbergasting. I would need a lot more than 5000 characters to relate it all with text.

    Here is all you really need to know:

    The ending will have your jaw on the floor, the ride getting there will leave you giddy for more, walking through Columbia will leave you awe inspired. Bioshock: Infinite not only reinvigorates a stale genre but a stale industry in many regards. This a boon given to gamers...don't miss out on it.
    Expand
  46. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    this game is pretty imppresive, i really love how the storyline goes and columbia level design

    It's too overrated?? yes actually, but in the other sides, this game is really good Graphic is colorful, i my pants looking at how beautiful graphic was designed in this game Gameplay is good but if you play the first 2 bioshock games, you'll be dissapointed with this one. 2 weapons
    this game is pretty imppresive, i really love how the storyline goes and columbia level design

    It's too overrated?? yes actually, but in the other sides, this game is really good

    Graphic is colorful, i my pants looking at how beautiful graphic was designed in this game
    Gameplay is good but if you play the first 2 bioshock games, you'll be dissapointed with this one. 2 weapons limitation and some elements of old bioshock games have been removed
    Stoyline is the best thing of this game, well i got confused sometimes but when i see the ending, it explained EVERYTHING of this game. it's very satisfying ending and beautiful one

    Replaybility level is really low in this game, but the storyline maybe will stuck on your mind for some years

    i want to give this game 9,5 10
    Expand
  47. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest games I've ever played. It combines a beautiful setting with fantastic characters in a world with memorable themes. Absolutely perfect.
  48. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Very fun and amazingly written game. While keeping the charm of the first game Infinite builds itself to a new level, literally. With stunning graphics and wonderful music the game is just an experience on its own, but the real hook is the story. The characters involved are engaging and develop well through out the game and the ending will leave your head spinning.

    It is a game were the
    Very fun and amazingly written game. While keeping the charm of the first game Infinite builds itself to a new level, literally. With stunning graphics and wonderful music the game is just an experience on its own, but the real hook is the story. The characters involved are engaging and develop well through out the game and the ending will leave your head spinning.

    It is a game were the side buildings and rooms are must explore areas.

    Now my major gripe about this game that is keeping me from giving it a 10 is that it felt very short to me, a 9 10 hour game at best. But it isn't much of a complaint because every minute of it was filled with fun and just bliss.
    Expand
  49. Apr 17, 2013
    9
    2k out did themselves with the first bioshock, and the second one had a great addition to multiplayer, but this changed Raptures legacy, this changed the whole game franchise. I have followed the bioshock franchise ever since it began, and have collected anything related to it.
    Cons: 2 Weapon only system, possible multiplayer?, lack of interaction with ciztizens
    Pros (im gonna list
    2k out did themselves with the first bioshock, and the second one had a great addition to multiplayer, but this changed Raptures legacy, this changed the whole game franchise. I have followed the bioshock franchise ever since it began, and have collected anything related to it.
    Cons: 2 Weapon only system, possible multiplayer?, lack of interaction with ciztizens

    Pros (im gonna list them by the dozen)
    * Story (so amazing)
    * Graphics
    * Map and world Design
    * Weapons
    * New Plasmids (now caled Vigors)
    * Your not a mindless man in a city now, your an actuial talking character
    * AI is pretty smart, especially elizabeth
    * A fluent and beutiful open world to explore
    * Possible DLC
    * Combat
    * SKY LINES
    * The carnival at the beginning as a substitute for a tutorial
    * AND MORE
    Just buy it.... Just buy it.
    Expand
  50. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best games i have played in a very long time!
    Game play is very enjoyable and doesn't get boring. The story is so good it had me sitting at the credits gobsmacked! Definitely a 10/10 for me.
  51. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    This is a perfect game. The graphic engine is very good, awesome graphics. Sounds are very impressive too It's useless to tell you that the story is fresh and insanely well wrote. You'll never forget this game.
  52. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    JUST FANTASTIC... I am so critic about pc games that I don't even write on any websites, but I wanted to say this. This game is AWESOME!!! So impressive!!! XD
  53. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    wow whats really left to say.... ive been a gamer all my life and i have to say this is the best game ive played so far i give this a solid 10! sure the game was not that long but we have to consider games are art! and this one is a masterpiece the story is great the gameplay is really superv! the graphcics are amazing (if you played it on pc) so t here you go i dont have anything leftwow whats really left to say.... ive been a gamer all my life and i have to say this is the best game ive played so far i give this a solid 10! sure the game was not that long but we have to consider games are art! and this one is a masterpiece the story is great the gameplay is really superv! the graphcics are amazing (if you played it on pc) so t here you go i dont have anything left to say!! buy the game and enjoy it like i did!! Expand
  54. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Bioshock infinite is one of the best video games ever, at least top 10 of all time. The visuals are stunning as u go through the city in the sky Columbia. The world looks beautiful, but the real world underneath is dark. You play as booker dewitt and have to rescue a girl named Elizabeth the repay a debt. Elizabeth is very beautiful and isn't a burden like other companions in games andBioshock infinite is one of the best video games ever, at least top 10 of all time. The visuals are stunning as u go through the city in the sky Columbia. The world looks beautiful, but the real world underneath is dark. You play as booker dewitt and have to rescue a girl named Elizabeth the repay a debt. Elizabeth is very beautiful and isn't a burden like other companions in games and will toss you supplies like health, ammo, and salts, but also open tears and bring things into the world to help. Elizabeth is a character that you will really care for as her reactions are realistic and she's so sweet, beautiful, kind, and smart that you .have to care for her/ Salts are ammo for vigors which are special powers like throwing balls of fire which add to the gameplay and make it different but a lot better by being able to run and gun if you want to. The realism in how a city based on America but grew apart from it in the late 1800s in displayed greatly, as the city is realistically very racist, but u also can kill them including kkk members, which is awesome that u can kill kkk members. The story is amazing and without any spoilers, the ending really gets you thinking about the whole game and really has a special impact most games don't have. Play this game or you'll miss out on a great experience! Expand
  55. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This is a game that shows the world what gaming is capable of. People scorn games as being childish and trivial, and then a game like this comes along. A game that makes graphics more like cinematography. A game that builds beautiful and endearing characters. A game that hints subtly throughout at the conclusion it is leading to without ever spelling it out. Hollywood has not created aThis is a game that shows the world what gaming is capable of. People scorn games as being childish and trivial, and then a game like this comes along. A game that makes graphics more like cinematography. A game that builds beautiful and endearing characters. A game that hints subtly throughout at the conclusion it is leading to without ever spelling it out. Hollywood has not created a movie this thought-provoking or involved in years. Play this game and be thoroughly satisfied. Expand
  56. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Simply put everything i wanted out of the sequel after the slight stumble of the the second game. Game play is as good as it gets, music is engaging and relevant, looks outstanding brilliant artistic direction and the plot does just enough to keep you guessing then utterly pulls the rug out from under your feet to remind you that your a mere mortal after all. Would you kindly play this game.
  57. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Honestly this game will satisfy you with amazing graphics great story and great characters. You won't be sorry for buying this great game. The gameplay is much more smoother then the other two bioshock games also the atmosphere of this game is the complete opposite of the other two I love this idea so far so good with this game but the only thing that is a flaw with my opinion is that theHonestly this game will satisfy you with amazing graphics great story and great characters. You won't be sorry for buying this great game. The gameplay is much more smoother then the other two bioshock games also the atmosphere of this game is the complete opposite of the other two I love this idea so far so good with this game but the only thing that is a flaw with my opinion is that the game can be consistent sometimes but over all the game is great you should honestly pick up a copy or rent because this game is great :D Expand
  58. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    I believe that this game fails to be a 10 out of 10 due to two reasons.
    1. Your gear and weapons:
    - Only two weapons can be carried at any one time. - Most of the gear you find is never used due to the limitation of when its effects are really placed in effect and well... vigors can seem really underpowered sometimes. This last observation probably to make placing vigor traps more
    I believe that this game fails to be a 10 out of 10 due to two reasons.
    1. Your gear and weapons:
    - Only two weapons can be carried at any one time.
    - Most of the gear you find is never used due to the limitation of when its effects are really placed in effect and well... vigors can seem really underpowered sometimes. This last observation probably to make placing vigor traps more attractive.
    2. The game is COMPLETELY linear!:
    That you're taken out the option to explore and see the various consequences of what has been going on takes out so much of the game. It is basically a storyline game as some have put it. I don't find this as important though as what I mention on point 1.

    Overall this game deserves the scores it is getting. A 10... no. But definitely between it and 9.
    Bioshock's infinite story and characters are very well made. Its graphics are incredible with an ambience that can have you looking at every little detail of the floating city.

    It is a daring proposal from its makers when you realize they bet most of the game's attraction on Elizabeth. And well... daring proposals is what we need... not the same things layed out differently.

    This is where the game really stands out and has done it beatifully. Elizabeth can just capture you without notice.

    So basically if you want to experience something different. BUY THIS GAME!
    Unless you're enclosed to what the gaming market wants you to be enclosed in then you will definitely enjoy this game.
    Is it a linear first person shooter? Yes... but a damned good one.
    Expand
  59. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Graphics were absolutely beautiful, no doubt. And the ending (I heard people's endings were different??) was such a plot twist. I would like if someone made a movie, or even a book based on this game if there hasn't already
  60. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Starting in the doom and gloom was suddenly contrasted when I entered the beautiful world of Columbia. I have never been so engaged in a game in my entire life. Could not put this game down until I finished it. Worth a replay. A prime example of a storyline done right.
  61. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    All around great game! if you did not buy it go ahead and buy it you will be happy.if you decide to get the game play it on hard mode or just unlock 1999 mode and take your time enjoying the game.
  62. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely brilliant, whilst i do agree that the combat may have been 'lacking' considering this as an FPS. It is also a story, a movie, an RPG. The pacing of the story was excellent, allowing one enough time to figure out what is happening without having too much of a break between to dilute the experience. The character development is phenomenal, i've never experienced such a strong feeling of loss when Elizabeth was captured. The realization of how useful Elizabeth has been in throwing you supplies during combat and the fact that she in a way, sacrificed her freedom in exchange for your life.
    It is only truly at the end of the game do you realise that everything you have encountered was masterfully crafted, one complete story. Every voxophone you played, the opening scene, even the phrase 'Bring us the girl, and wipe away the debt'. It turned out not a monetary debt, but rather one that of morality and duty. The story and presentation of the game ITSELF (I don't give a damn if this wasn't even a shooter), coupled with excellent visuals itself, has me decidedly giving this game a 10/10.
    Crush on Elizabeth anyone? Lol
    Expand
  63. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game play runs smoothly nothing too different from the 1st game except a very limited shield which takes a couple of hits and a 2 gun limit which makes it a little more challenging. Liz's AI is very well done. The character development, the scripting and interaction works perfectly. The story is great as well, and worth a replay to catch the subtleties which are weaved through out the games. A very well imagined world which ropes you in, and levels which are linear in a fashion but also allow a lot of free will. Also graphicly beautiful even running on Low, not realistic graphics beautiful, but that wouldn't work for this game style. Well optimized. Over all I thought a brilliant game which left me in awe at the end. Expand
  64. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All that i can say its that Bioshock Infinite is a huge success. And its even good for a change in a flying city instead of a underwater city. The graphics are so beautiful and the world in Bioshock Infinite is so alive that it will keep you watching its wonderful things it has to offer. I have spent hours enjoying myself at the start of the game when you enter the flying city of Columbia. Even the carnival is so attractive that you will be forced to do the amazing games in it. But seriously why can you only carry 2 weapons? It should be allowed to carry an UNLIMITED weapon limit! If you are clever you will also stick to the 2 best weapons through the entire game. That still doesn't bother me, this game is amazing and if you still don't have it, spend your freaking money on it its worth it. I give this game a glorious 10 out of 10! Its so good that you just must get it! There are already a few DLC'S planned for the game and i believe that they will make this game a even bigger success! This is the best game of 2013 hands down everyone, hands down! Expand
  65. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    this game is one of best and maybe best video game that I have played already. graphics, sounds and story is perfect... and at the and is "game of the year".
  66. May 2, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. It's not superior than other top games in a particular way. The game as a whole is just astonishing, and it's artistically so great that you'll probably overlook its technical flaws. And that's actually good, since a game is just entertainment. Games that are technically perfect but fail to deliver an unique experience (like Bioshock series) areOne of the best games I've ever played. It's not superior than other top games in a particular way. The game as a whole is just astonishing, and it's artistically so great that you'll probably overlook its technical flaws. And that's actually good, since a game is just entertainment. Games that are technically perfect but fail to deliver an unique experience (like Bioshock series) are actually kinda boring, there's no purpose to finishing the game. Expand
  67. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Certainly has one of the best told stories in video game history and the world is incredible (imagine a Pixar world that has gone horrible wrong). I'd say the game is near perfect, but the combat, while vastly improved upon compared to the original BioShock, is still shy of fantastic. It feels splashing, chaotic, and arcade-ish. As many options as you have, the game never feels tactical.Certainly has one of the best told stories in video game history and the world is incredible (imagine a Pixar world that has gone horrible wrong). I'd say the game is near perfect, but the combat, while vastly improved upon compared to the original BioShock, is still shy of fantastic. It feels splashing, chaotic, and arcade-ish. As many options as you have, the game never feels tactical. This is likely because there is literally no stealth element at all. Not that every game needs stealth, but being able to engage enemies and then evade and flank, etc. is part of the best shooters (Crysis 1, the Halo series, Far Cry 3). It is still excellent, but it is the story and setting that will stick with me for a very long time, not the gameplay. Expand
  68. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I remeber buying a game several years ago called "Bioshock". It seemingly popped up out if nowhere and was very well recieved at the time. I enjoyed the experience, since it was a creepy, dark, atmospheric game, which many fans consider to be a modern masterpiece.

    "Bioshock Infinite" isn't your average Bioshock gams. No wrenches, Big Daddys or Little Sisters. You're sent to the floating
    I remeber buying a game several years ago called "Bioshock". It seemingly popped up out if nowhere and was very well recieved at the time. I enjoyed the experience, since it was a creepy, dark, atmospheric game, which many fans consider to be a modern masterpiece.

    "Bioshock Infinite" isn't your average Bioshock gams. No wrenches, Big Daddys or Little Sisters. You're sent to the floating city of Columbia to find a girl, Elizabeth. That's all I'll say, to avoid the spoiler police.
    Completing the game was an immersive and fun experience. The city was absolutley beautiful, the action was intense, and the plot was simply addictive. The developers at Irrational have reinvented Bioshock from the ground up. And what came out was one of the best experiences playing games in a long time.

    9/10
    Expand
  69. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    We would definitely recommend this game as a must play for any gamer. The story keeps you sucked in and entertained. The graphics will make you marvel at it's sight and the gameplay will keep you entertained all the way until the end. Replayability is pretty good as well. Definitely check this game out.
  70. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Great game, beautiful graphics, best storyline this year so far. Elizabeth is the best AI character in video games. Sadly this game's combat isn't as fun as previous "Bioshock" games, but still gets the job done.
  71. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Good story, good characters excellent ending to the so called savior of the Bioshock series, the best A.I. companion in a game and the amazing and smooth controlling of the sky-lines.
    But there was no combat improvement from Bioshock 2 to Bioshock Infinite just a like tweaks on the controls and not that many guns to use.
  72. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    I greatly enjoyed Bioshock and Bioshock 2 so I was looking forward to Bioshock Infinite and I am very pleased to say that it has lived up to and totally seceded my expatiation. The graphics where great, but maybe not all together mind blowing. The game play was great, but also not all together mind blowing. The story on the other hand, the story was not only great, it was all together mindI greatly enjoyed Bioshock and Bioshock 2 so I was looking forward to Bioshock Infinite and I am very pleased to say that it has lived up to and totally seceded my expatiation. The graphics where great, but maybe not all together mind blowing. The game play was great, but also not all together mind blowing. The story on the other hand, the story was not only great, it was all together mind blowing. I don't have words to describe how great the story of this game was but let me tell you, I only understand half of it!
    Games nowadays are mostly simple in story and design in order to reach a broader range of consumers. In these times it is absolutely wonderful to play one of the rare games that can fascinate you, keep you deeply emerge and then blow your mind to bits.
    The ones that wrote the script of this game are either insane or brilliant, regardless this game is well worth the price if only for the story in it.
    I did however also find it to be very entertaining in it's game play. Jumping around Skylines, hook-device in one hand and my gun in the other, dropping down on my enemies and unleashing hails of bullets, murderous crows or shocks blots was in it self very entertaining. Though the game is linear and some what repetitive in game play and story it succeed in never making me feel like it was. I never wanted to stop playing and only did so when reality needed my attention.
    (Damn reality... always messing my game up)
    I recommend this game to everyone whose got at least half a wit to think with and desire to challenge it. I dare you to make sense of what happens/happened/is happening/will happen/"happenth"? to you in Bioshock Infinite.
    (You'll 'get' that last reference if you complete the game)
    Expand
  73. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Loved the story and the characters (Booker and Elizabeth, the other characters aren't very interesting),the ending, the atmosphere (artistic design and music), the gameplay was not as good as the other elements I've mentioned but it was fun. It's definitively worth playing at least one time, I played it twice to get the story better
  74. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Pros: 1) Outstanding story, with satisfying ending! 2) Beautiful city of Columbia (visuals)! 3) Skyline adds dynamics to the game! 4) Elizabeth as NPC probably done the best in history of gaming! 5) Plasmids (vigors) & guns still fun!
    Cons: 1) less plasmids than in original! 2) Boring upgrades! 3) Unnecessary violence, unclear motivation of antagonist!
    Conclusion: Strong contender for
    Pros: 1) Outstanding story, with satisfying ending! 2) Beautiful city of Columbia (visuals)! 3) Skyline adds dynamics to the game! 4) Elizabeth as NPC probably done the best in history of gaming! 5) Plasmids (vigors) & guns still fun!
    Cons: 1) less plasmids than in original! 2) Boring upgrades! 3) Unnecessary violence, unclear motivation of antagonist!
    Conclusion: Strong contender for Game Of The Year!
    Expand
  75. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    While I find the plot line and visuals ABSOLUTELY stunning. The big reveal at the end jaw-dropping and leaving me awestruck and staring at the screen for several minutes after the game ends. the Game play is only a little above average with skyline fights, Vigors and Elizabeth finding stuff for you being some of the highlights of the game play besides your typical shooter. When I firstWhile I find the plot line and visuals ABSOLUTELY stunning. The big reveal at the end jaw-dropping and leaving me awestruck and staring at the screen for several minutes after the game ends. the Game play is only a little above average with skyline fights, Vigors and Elizabeth finding stuff for you being some of the highlights of the game play besides your typical shooter. When I first heard about this game I thought it would be another dreaded escort mission game but I found out I was completely wrong on that aspect. One of my biggest appeals of the game was Elizabeth. she was definitely a far cry from your typical dead faced NPC you find in almost all games and made me actually feel for her during game play rather than in a cut-scene like you find in most game and when she was in danger rather than take my time and look around to find hidden objects like in L.O.Z. I would run after to rescue her. while I do see the points that some critics like The Spoony One make. I find this game so good that I can see past most of them. With game play being a little above average for me. So for my personal score I give is Plot/Story a 10/10 the Game-Play a 7.5/10 making Bioshock Infinite a 9.5/10 and a must-own Game. Expand
  76. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    It has been one hell of a long time since a current generation game actually made me think about the ending is there really much more to be said.......
  77. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Why are there so many low ratings for this game? The critics gave this game a combined 9.5 but it deserves a lot more than this, as they have not noticed some things. Firstly, the bad: the guns are unbalanced, so too are the vigor's. The final battle was annoying, it was too difficult, I died many times before realizing what needed to be done. The handymen are overpowered, in Bioshock 1Why are there so many low ratings for this game? The critics gave this game a combined 9.5 but it deserves a lot more than this, as they have not noticed some things. Firstly, the bad: the guns are unbalanced, so too are the vigor's. The final battle was annoying, it was too difficult, I died many times before realizing what needed to be done. The handymen are overpowered, in Bioshock 1 and 2, the Big Daddy's where underpowered. So they decided to raise the difficulty on the Handymen because they are references are to Big Daddy but the problem is the Handymen are too overpowered. Usually causing death several times per Handyman. Now these may be issued but they don't hold the game back for some other reasons. This game has amazing design, combat, storytelling. and most of all it's presentation. These would easily make up for the downers in this game and this would easily make this game unique and a perfect game. It's designed from the Bioshock continuation and it had so much detail to it. So many tiny details that make it a great improvement. It had an extremely good ending and very realistic and life like characters. The amazing graphics, the beautiful scenery, and most of all a unique thing that no game has done before: the sky-lining sections and the good variety of enemies. The ending could have been better, with more than one ending, but it's still amazing. 10/10. If anyone says it deserves less than they're lying to your face because they don't notice the heights this game achieves. So be reasonable. Expand
  78. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Best game I 've play in 2013. Many touching moments and packed with excellent shooting design. It has the most beautiful theme I have ever seen in a shooting game that make you relax and love to watch more than anything.

    But beware this game is not a cakewalk if you don't tread carefully. On Hard difficulty, the enemies are brutal and keen shoot. I nearly destroy my gamepad because of
    Best game I 've play in 2013. Many touching moments and packed with excellent shooting design. It has the most beautiful theme I have ever seen in a shooting game that make you relax and love to watch more than anything.

    But beware this game is not a cakewalk if you don't tread carefully. On Hard difficulty, the enemies are brutal and keen shoot. I nearly destroy my gamepad because of some scene (yup! Not a hardcore gamer :P).

    Strongly recommended and play it with fire. 9 for the game and plus 1 points for both Eliz and Booker.

    Any "reviewer" has this score under 8.5 is clearly don't know how to play a true game or they are just trolls.
    Expand
  79. c3p
    Apr 27, 2013
    9
    The Story, Graphics ect. is extremly strong.
    The Core gameplay is a bit,...average. I can't really lay my finger on it, but it felt in huge parts a bit like a railway shooter. (That is an exaggerration, but at the end i just rushed through the combats to enhance the story)
    Also there are really nice ideas (Shield and AI partner,that throws ammunition to you, to get a better flow were
    The Story, Graphics ect. is extremly strong.
    The Core gameplay is a bit,...average. I can't really lay my finger on it, but it felt in huge parts a bit like a railway shooter. (That is an exaggerration, but at the end i just rushed through the combats to enhance the story)
    Also there are really nice ideas (Shield and AI partner,that throws ammunition to you, to get a better flow were great ideas, it wasn't really my style)
    In Conclusion 9/10, best FPS since >1 year.
    Expand
  80. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    amazing game, amazing characters, amazing story, amazing gameplay, AMAZING EVERYTHING (although compared to the original bioshock it does have a great emphasis on gunplay)
  81. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made! The game play, the graphics and especially the story adds up to one of, maybe BEST game experiences ever! 11 out of 10
  82. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Bioshock infinite entered 2013 as one of the most hyped-up games of the year. After spending 17 hours on this game, I am proud to say it is lived up to the hype 100%. The atmosphere is provides is excellent, and will drag players in with a great story that will leave you staring at the screen as the credits role. Elizabeth and Booker feel like real characters, and even the villains of theBioshock infinite entered 2013 as one of the most hyped-up games of the year. After spending 17 hours on this game, I am proud to say it is lived up to the hype 100%. The atmosphere is provides is excellent, and will drag players in with a great story that will leave you staring at the screen as the credits role. Elizabeth and Booker feel like real characters, and even the villains of the game are fleshed out. The game also touches on many themes. In addition to the story told up front, there are 80 or-so "voxophones" that provide additional back story and insight to the characters and history of the floating city of Columbia. And speaking about Columbia, it is a brilliant creation. Created in a very different art style than the original bioshock's rapture, Columbia is no less visually appealing and carefully created than the former. Graphically, besides the wonderful art direction, Infinite's graphics are only average, even on highest settings on the PC. Gameplay wise Infinite is only above-average. Many of the guns are near-useless because of the ability to only carry 2 weapons. The vigors are very enjoyable to use, and I enjoyed experimenting with them until i found a combination that I liked. Hard mode is definitely the way to play, as it makes Infinite seem much more fast paced. Gameplay is also varied slightly with the addition of an AI "follower", Elizabeth, one of Infinite's main characters, who will provide you with health, ammo, and vigors. I never found that Elizabeth was annoying or infringing on gameplay. One more thing that annoyed me was the fact that the FOV was pretty low, mouse sensitivity was too high, and the game relied on a checkpoint system. All considered, Bioshock Infinite's scores are:
    Gameplay: 9
    Graphics: 8.5
    Story: 10
    Other (UI, options): 9
    This is a great game that deserves to be bought and played by all.
    Expand
  83. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    This game is a must play. If you love games and haven't played this you are missing out on an amazing game. The graphical details of this game will blow you away.

    The game play is fluid and the fights are challenging (depeding on your skill and setting
  84. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    It is a excelent, ambitious, wonderfully designed, almost bug-free, stunning looking game, and the voice acting is also superb. The only downside in my opinion, is the lack of different consequences, to your actions in game, and the story is a lot confusing, if you really got interested in the world of Bioshock Infinite, you will have to probably replay the game, very carefully, listen toIt is a excelent, ambitious, wonderfully designed, almost bug-free, stunning looking game, and the voice acting is also superb. The only downside in my opinion, is the lack of different consequences, to your actions in game, and the story is a lot confusing, if you really got interested in the world of Bioshock Infinite, you will have to probably replay the game, very carefully, listen to all voxophones, pay attention to as many dialogues as possible, an the list goes on. I agree, it is a bit overrated however. I also didn't found the story to be long enough. Expand
  85. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    This is a game that I not only enjoyed for game play, featuring a companion I could not only tolerate but grew to even care about but was also great in terms of narrative. If you take the time to explore the areas, to listen to what there is to hear, to consider what certain elements mean, you will enjoy this game.

    If however you are used to games that spoon feed you, games that are
    This is a game that I not only enjoyed for game play, featuring a companion I could not only tolerate but grew to even care about but was also great in terms of narrative. If you take the time to explore the areas, to listen to what there is to hear, to consider what certain elements mean, you will enjoy this game.

    If however you are used to games that spoon feed you, games that are simply COD clones, then please don't play this game, you will be disappointed.
    Expand
  86. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Everything in the game in the game is perfect, the story, the gameplay, the mood, and the music. The replay value is so good, the game feels different the second time through, and it stays with you for weeks. if you're a gamer of any genre, Do not miss this, this is the game of our generation. This is the first game i want to play over and over again.
  87. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Bioshock is an amazing game, and beautiful to look at. I couldn't look away because it was so beautiful. It was like "I WANT TO BE THERE!" and they DEFITNELY did a good job at it. Irration games took a huge risk in Bioshock Infinite to take the setting from, the deep seas of Rapture to the floating sky of Columbia, almost the complete opposite. But they completely stunned me, and I wasBioshock is an amazing game, and beautiful to look at. I couldn't look away because it was so beautiful. It was like "I WANT TO BE THERE!" and they DEFITNELY did a good job at it. Irration games took a huge risk in Bioshock Infinite to take the setting from, the deep seas of Rapture to the floating sky of Columbia, almost the complete opposite. But they completely stunned me, and I was happy with the new setting. The AI has also improved tremendously, but I sometimes I felt like they weren't really playing tactical, and they were just rushing my position. Another thing to think about is how Elizabeth interacts with you, and how they set it up. Elizabeth's AI is AMAZING, she is NEVER annoying and never really gets in your way; its also never one of those escort missions were you have to keep her alive and I hate those. The gameplay as improved, but is almost the same as Bioshock 1 and 2, without much change. The ending sort of has you thinking about the whole story line, and is a bit trippy. The game is sort of easy, even on hard difficulty. Another thing to take not on is the skylines. The skylines, in my opinion, are the BEST thing the developers, have EVER thought of. Soaring through the sky like you're on the rollercoaster! It got me into the game much more, and I felt as if I was THERE. The bad things, which are in very litter number, are that the game no longer has multiplayer, which I can understand, would of delayed the game a bit more. But it gave you something to do after you finished the game. This game defitnely deserves the metacritic score it has, and if you have the money GO BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  88. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    very good game, i even made my friend to buy it even he is not a gamer he told me that he finished it in 2 days because he couldn't stop playing. BUY IT
  89. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    It is an awesome game. i like it very much. The graphics are a little bit old-fashioned compared to tomb raider and other games. It sucks that you can only carry 2 weapons at a time. I have 3 favourite guns and i can only carry 2 of them. That's the only thing I have to say.
  90. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Very good Graphics are nice, a New world above the clouds with new weapons and Story's I would suggest this game To all my heart its amazing! Oh forgot Your Partner witch is a AI actually Doesn't annoy you I would buy a game just for that! The Story is also very Well written well to me.
  91. May 2, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start with this Bioshock Infinite was a great game, there is no doubting that. From the minute I landed in Columbia I was hooked. Now I may be a little bias, this being the only bioshock game i've played, but after playing this one I defiantly want to go back and play the first two games.
    From the first line to the last note played I was amazed. I had never felt so much for a game. I found myself sitting down and planing to play for an hour but then realized that when I had finally turned off my Xbox it had been four hours. I just wanted more and more. Knowing that there was a great twist ahead all I wanted to do was to see it unfold. I also wanted to see if the game could deliver a twist. Now I did call 2/3 of the ending. I had guessed that Elizabeth was his daughter and that he was Comstock, but when the ending came around I found my self awestruck and dumbfounded.
    Now some one thing that I found wrong with the game was minor thing. I think that the fact that I was on my xbox held the game back from looking as good as it could have been if I had to play on PC, and thats really the only thing I found wrong with it. I know that the middle part has you going back and forth, but I didn't find a problem with that.
    Now I think that somethings that were looked over in the game where choses. My friends say that they wish they could change the outcome of the game. When in fact you have. This game deals with time travel as well as parallel universal travel. Which means by picking the bird or the cage you have altered the universe you are in to be the one where he picks the bird.
    I thought that the game had great flow with no stupid loading screen every time I died and trust me I died a lot. A problem I had with that was that sometimes I would be brought back in room where there was no bad guys and found my self confused as to where they went, but with a push of a button I could figure out where to go. I thought that it was better than any map they could have given. I don't really enjoy maps as I find my self checking them every three seconds. enemies were hard to kill at some points and defiantly were smart as the would follow me where ever I go. Now I found enemies hard but something that balanced them out was that I had vigors and they didn't which gave me a little bit of the upper hand.
    Elizabeth a.k.a Anna dewitt was amazing. she didn't get in my way and I never had to worry about her safety, because the game is set up that they want to kill booker and not her, and I love that she would give things such as ammo, salts, and health. but even better not all the time as she had to look for them. Which made a game about a floating city in the sky very realistic.
    I would be happy with this being the last game of the series, and it defiantly felt like it was. This game doesn't need another sequel. This game did its job. It showed up when people were doubting it and provided a great story and an even greater twist, and it revitalized the series.
    Thats why I give this game a 9/10 (for consoles). This is a must own must have game.
    Expand
  92. May 2, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite in many ways puts me in mind of Half Life 2. When I first played Valve's magnum opus back in 2005, I realized that a new benchmark had been set for first person shooters. Valve's attempt to craft a narrative-based fps was truly unique at the time. City 17 felt like a real place, and the characters had a level of depth which you rarely see in any genre, let alone firstBioshock Infinite in many ways puts me in mind of Half Life 2. When I first played Valve's magnum opus back in 2005, I realized that a new benchmark had been set for first person shooters. Valve's attempt to craft a narrative-based fps was truly unique at the time. City 17 felt like a real place, and the characters had a level of depth which you rarely see in any genre, let alone first person shooters. The inclusion of Alyx Vance as the deuteragonist was a giant leap forward. Female characters rarely find a place in video games, and when they do, they are often shallow and underdeveloped.

    Irrational Games has built upon Valve's success, creating their own immersive, fully realized world with captivating characters and an unbelievable story. Elizabeth is the heart of the game. She and the player character forge a close connection, and you genuinely begin to care for her. Courtnee Draper's performance is remarkable. At times I found myself forgetting that Elizabeth is actually an npc. Once I had finished Infinite, I went back and replayed Half Life 2 to see how the two games stack up. Alyx's character seems lifeless in comparison with Elizabeth. Irrational Games should be commended for what they have accomplished. Bioshock Infinite isn't just a game. It is a work of art that explores a myriad of complex themes including (inter alia) the evils of Christian absolutism, racism, love, loss, and the human desire for redemption.
    Expand
  93. Edd
    May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolutely a fantastic game well It's not like the other two Bioshocks but Its good part is that it's very different comparing the other two I mean It happens in the sky graphics are good,storyline OK characters well good Its not 100 epic but its a well done masterpiece and I enjoyed it a lot The sad part in the game was that you can only had to carry to weapons instead of a numberAbsolutely a fantastic game well It's not like the other two Bioshocks but Its good part is that it's very different comparing the other two I mean It happens in the sky graphics are good,storyline OK characters well good Its not 100 epic but its a well done masterpiece and I enjoyed it a lot The sad part in the game was that you can only had to carry to weapons instead of a number of them like the other two bioshock series But in rest the game is fantastic Another part that I wanted to expect is the enemies there weren't that many and were easy to beat even on normal And what I seen like with no words to describe the part was the ending In conclusion I like to say that I enjoyed Bioshock 1 and 2 and Infinite Still its nice it's a nice masterpiece based on the graphics and weapons and music and on the characters but the storyline is kinda complicated to understand Expand
  94. May 4, 2013
    9
    I'm a totally fan of first Bioshock. And I had the same feeling when we played it for the first time: a new world very well crafted and convincing. I love Elizabeth, a great character. The combat is a bit chaotic, though.
  95. May 4, 2013
    10
    Ahem....
    Are we getting another lighthouse soon? :D
  96. May 7, 2013
    10
    Buy this game right now. The gameplay, graphics, story, characters,and setting are all amazing! Kept me entertained the entire time! Most of the time and I played for several hours without stopping and never wanted to.
  97. May 8, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite. It had good graphic, good AI programming, good Campaign, just what could be wrong? NOTHING, this game is epic, Elizabeth's programming is also perfect, she's useful unlike a girl on the other games. Epic, Just epic, this is the GOTY of 2013.
  98. May 13, 2013
    9
    This game is absolutely astounding. Gorgeous graphics, and one of the best stories. The only real problem is the Game play is fairly mediocre. It is nothing special, the game play alone is a 6 alone, but other then that this game is tremendous. The world is absolutely breathtaking. My advice if you are not to into the game play of a game and want a good story, and gorgeous visuals, this isThis game is absolutely astounding. Gorgeous graphics, and one of the best stories. The only real problem is the Game play is fairly mediocre. It is nothing special, the game play alone is a 6 alone, but other then that this game is tremendous. The world is absolutely breathtaking. My advice if you are not to into the game play of a game and want a good story, and gorgeous visuals, this is your game. Expand
  99. May 13, 2013
    9
    This game is a very intriguing game, however, the actual gameplay isn't all that great. An FPS has to be mostly rated on the action experience. Nevertheless, a great storyline, good experience, and barely overrated is overrated at all.
  100. Wim
    Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Wow just finished it and I am speechless. Absolutely fantastic game. The story has great pace, unpredictable, did not expect the end. The action is fantastic as well. Some slower bits with some action packed scenes as well. Had to remember to start breathing again after some parts. If you're tired of all the 'assembly line' FPS shooters this one is definitely for you.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 92
    Play BSI slowly, relish the moments and don’t rush to the end. It’s certain that you will have lived one of the richest gaming experiences that, as far as narration, lyricism and story are concerned, will take a lot of time to forget! [May 2013]
  2. May 7, 2013
    85
    A very solid, but not revolutionary shooter in an amazing setting, with a story that struggles to convey its authors’ ambitions and is only seemingly complex. The vision is less focused than in previous Bioshocks and it does a worse job on binding the plot with gameplay. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.46]
  3. May 1, 2013
    80
    Problematic plotting and excessive amounts of poorly balanced combat apply friction to what is otherwise one hell of a rollercoaster. [May 2013, p.80]