User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5637 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Would you kindly play this game? This by far is one of my favorite games of the past 5 years of gaming. When I walked out of that capsule and those lit candles with the soothing music behind it I knew this game was going somewhere. This is art this is what this generations needed for a ending of this generation consoles. I can now say this is added to the list of great games made by a genius company. Great job irrational games. Every bit was worth playing this game. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is a reinforcement of drugs such as degenerating into the world of gaming. What a wonderful world of storytelling rest on coercion scripts.Striking narrative or cinematic QTE scenes to make the story does not need an elaborate construction.This game is a masterpiece, a masterpiece
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutly outstanding game, this is a new benchmark for game developers to strive for... have no hesitation if you are considering wether or not to buy this game... this is pure art expressed masterfully
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    While this game is short, I feel that if it was longer it would have detracted from the experience. If you do not play this game, then at least watch a friend play it. This is an amazing game beyond what I expected from any game in 2013. The only problem I see is that games now have to live up to this standard.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Best game for last 5 years. Good Music, good and beauty graphics, perfect gameplay and amazing story with best ending i've seen ever! 10/10. And i think, I found my love. Elizabeth
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutley stellar. The graphics are fantastic(they are not photorealistic, they are highly stylized). The gameplay is spot on. You are always finding new abilities and new ways of doing things. Lots of action. If you like bioshock, heck if you love video games get this! The only thing I would say that is apparant in some negative reviews is that if you are a HARDCORE shooter fan that only enjoys photorealistic graphics and games that are similar to call of duty then this may not be for you. It isnt the most serious shooter in the world. But if you play things other than call of duty then get this! you wont be dissapointed. Looks amazing on a good gaming pc! Easily one of the best games of 2013! Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The BioShock franchise and the team in Boston redefine gaming once again with BioShock Infinite. The original game was a masterpiece upon release, it still aged very gracefully.. I know this more appropriately now because I just slammed my way through both BS1 and BS2 before tonight's midnight launch. And no, I have not finished Bioshock Infinite. However, I am going to review this game based on my 5 hours of gameplay... why? you may ask? Because the first 2 HOURS of gameplay were more enjoyable than the entire BioShock series. It sucks you in, immediately, and never let's go. If you bought this game on launch for $60 give yourself a pat on the back. You truly made a strong purchasing decision that just helped the gaming industry as a whole. This game just paved the way for what we expect in our next gen titles! Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Cool graphic design and perfect soundtrack. Love it very much. Action is very dynamic and the story is interesting so far. A graphics itself feels kinda old, but light effects are awesome, so i don't have any complaints. It's a little bit laggy on ultra 1080p on my GTX 560, but i hope they'll fix it later.
  10. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Simply AMAZING. I can't get enough of this game. It's perfection. Or near perfection at least. It's so beautiful, clever and fun. Stunning job from the guys over at Irrational. Good job!
  11. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Every once in a while a game comes out that blows your socks off. This game goes above in beyond in all areas. Superior story telling, combat, atmosphere, music. You feel immersed in the world and unable to quit playing. The details in the areas show the care given by the development team. This game was not rushed and will serve as proof to what games can accomplish. This game accomplishes what Half-Life did for its time period. I think Ken Levine said it best when referred to games as a better medium than movies and books because you pilot them. You get to participate and experience them. This is nothing short of a masterpiece and should be purchased by everyone. Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    An absolutely beautiful game. The graphics are stunning, and the overall mood of the game is fantastic. Also the music changes dynamicly if your in battle, and it makes the battles very intense. The levels are full of secrets, locked doors and collectibles. The world is very beautiful. I often find myself just exploring the world outside of where I'm supposed to go, because it's so beautiful. It also helps that I always find secrets when exploring. Fantastic game! Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is more than just a great game, it is a great work of art. The game is executed in a way that only can be done through video games. If this were a movie it wouldn't work. This is the game that may bring respect to videogames as an art form.
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I had doubts before preordering the game, but I gave it a shot, since I loved the bioshock games from the past, and I always liked the atmosphere which is unique to this game, no game has this kind of graphics, and sounds, and environment.
    The gameplay, as always, fun to play, and not to easy, but possible, (not like those games that you die a thousand times to move on).
    In addition to
    that, you have a unique companion, that aids you in many ways, Elizabeth will through you a coin she found, or a shotgun when you are out of ammo, also, her character is something I never saw, she moves along with you, not after you, she interacts with the world, like it was real, she would tell you her opinion or just go around and look.

    If you love singleplayer games, and are looking for something fresh that no other game can offer, give this a shot, you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. You have to love a game that is built not to please everyone, or to appeal to the biggest demographic of the lowest common denominator. Bioware Infinite is about a development team trying to realise their creative vision. This is a very fun shooter, but by no means is it the kind of shooter that is going to inspire thousands of hours of shooting.
  16. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I liked the original Bioshock games but wasn't a huge huge fan of them like some people. I wasn't super hyped for this game (no unrealistic explanations of "OMG GUYS, this is going to be the best game ever!!") but I was definitely excited. Just finished this morning after staying up all night and wow. Wow, was it worth it.

    Very unique gameplay. Incredible sound design (there is
    something that just draws you in about the sound: all of it is very realistic and well done), great setting, great characters, great story. One of the first games that I've felt was actually worth its initial box price in a long, long time. Expand
  17. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game sets a new bar for the fps genre, it reuses the unique formula of the previous bioshock games and implemented it well. And I'm glad Irrational games and the crew took the time to polish the game. This game is a great experiences and it is possibly one of the stronger contestants for Game of the year.
  18. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Normally I would never give a game 10/10, but Bioshock Infinite ticks all the boxes. Just like the first game did. Infinite has exciting gameplay, with various ways to approach encounters. You have Elizabeth there to help. She gives you ammo, salt and health when you need it. She can also open rips in the world to give you the edge in combat. The graphics are amazing, mixed with excellent use of lighting and sound. the world is truly amazing. I love the way that it is specifically a different experience to the previous games. There you are stuck in Rapture, a claustrophobic, dark and broken city. Here we have a huge open beaming world, with light. It's still terribly evil though All that aside this game is absolutely amazing and If a game is better than this in the next 2 years I will be very surprised. GOTY for sure. Expand
  19. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. It deliveres everything that other shooters do not. 1. An amazing Story which i will not spoil. 2. Amazing graphics that fit the atmosphere perfectly. 3. NO BUGS SO FAR!!! Never thought the day would come when i would play a game on release without any bugs. 4. Superb gameplay: amazing levels, weapons, means of transportation so on and so on. I could go on but i desperately want to continue playing. And 2k was nice enough to give me Bioshock 1 and xcom: enemy unknown for FREE!!!!! Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I am going to keep this short. OMFG. Bioshock 1 was my favorite game of all time and this is surpassed it and I am only half way done. Enough said. Go buy and support this amazing game. These is the kind of games that keeps me playing. I am 28 years old and I have not felt this strong about a game since the first Bioshock. Go buy this now. If you do not you will do yourself the biggest disservice to your gaming. This is why I game. And this is why I am a gamer. MASTERPIECE. Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic. The awe never stops, from the moment you launch the game, til the moment you complete it. This is by far the best FPS ever made. I don't see how anyone could hate this game or dislike it. I don't believe it to be possible. I didn't buy into any hype, but even with all the hype around the game, it will still blow you away. Words cannot express this game. It has to be played. Of course on PC it has way better visuals, but I wouldn't let that deter console players. It would be an injustice to yourself not to experience this game. Expand
  22. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    I have been a gamer for 20 years. This is my first review. Nothing is perfect. If everything was a 10 there would be no need for new games at all... I’m giving this a 10 because there are some reviewers giving it less than 9.5 and I need to make up for that. Likely they’re blinded by their own genre and gameplay tastes, which Bioshock Infinite may not perfectly align with. Look past that and see a work of stunning beauty.

    It is a compelling, wildly creative story that draws you in from its first moments. Anyone who says they saw the end coming is lying to themselves. They might have wondered but they didn’t KNOW.

    Play the game and enjoy everything that games can be
    Collapse
  23. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I almost never play games twice. However, upon finishing Bioshock Infinite, I rebooted and started again straight away. The characters, setting and plot are fantastic. The combat is interesting and tight, though I agree with others who suggest there might have been a bit too much of it. The sound track is outstanding I want to buy it.

    I know I'm gushing, but I think this is my
    favourite game ever. It's plot and characters are as good as, or better, than any film or book I've seen or read. To an extent, I feel like this is a new level of story-telling in gaming. Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    "The lord judges, I act."
    This is a spoiler free review. I won't touch the story-line it's epic and I'll end it at that.
    I'm loving Infinite so far. But as a long time BioShock fan I must say the graphics are mildly disappointing. Especially if you lurk around in every corner of the game. The flowers, the fruits, walls etc. just look like they were rushed up during development. That's
    the only part which is bad about the game.
    The guns, they are so well balanced. For every different heavy hitter you WILLL need a different technique. I found out that the hard way, haha! The Vigor combos and Vigor Gun damage combos are epic. The Vigor themselves don't feel OP so you'll constantly have to use different ones at different times.
    I played the Industrial revolution, and well I personally feel that the rewards, specially the early 500$ you get from completing IR will give you an edge early on as you can quickly buy health kits, salt and ammo. But that's ok.
    Music is just mind blowing. Literally mind blowing.
    Elizabeth and here gossips are epic. Don't consider here a fancy-dandy superwomen without brains, she's bloody smart, and helps a lot.
    Still think they could have done the game graphically a bit much better.
    Anyhow that probably shouldn't keep me from giving BS: Infinite a 10/10.
    Also, any idiot voting 0s or 1s is probably trolling around without having actually played the game.
    Expand
  25. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Occasionally, a game comes along that truly takes my breath away. Like my first runs through Half-Life 2, BioShock, and Fallout 3, I was at a loss for words from start to end with BioShock Infinite. Let me start this review with the only negative I can possibly attempt to give it- the middle is slightly blurry with a couple of quick transitions that only make sense after you have completed the game. However, the combat during that time completely makes up for it. I really want to keep this review short, so I'll get straight to the point. 1. Buy this game. 2. The atmosphere, combat, story, visuals, characters, and much more, combine together to make one of the most enjoyable fictional (beyond just video games) experiences I have ever encountered. Expand
  26. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    the most awesome shooter i've played since Half-Life 2. I enjoyed every minute of this game...
    Great story, great art design, great characters, great ending.

    Game of the year 2013
  27. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Now, I've played all the Bioshocks and beaten them. This is the best one. With more freedom than previous titles, I cant find anything wrong with this game. Aside from all the obvious ones, graphics are awesome, gameplay is phenominal, the music and environments are 2nd to none. The game is very immersive. I catch myself getting tense sometimes and I'm like "Wow, its been a while for that!"
  28. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    This is great stuff. Imaginative. Creative. Textures tend to be muddled, but the art direction is inspired and beautiful. Ditto for the sound design; the Beach Boy's "God Only Knows" is turned into a haunting, Sinatra-esque mantra. Absolutely fun. Absolutely worth the simoleons, imo. Ken Levine is a blessed genius. This game does not exploit multiplayer, which is a minus in my book. A game this great should have comparably singular multiplayer. Still, worthy, and quite the experience. Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    A true work of art, Kev Levine's background in drama shines through and takes you on an incredible journey. I did not think they could top the atmosphere and story of the first game but they've succeeded and in many ways surpassed. Anyone who gives this game a negative review likely hails from the "CoD era" of shooters, unable to appreciate this game for what it is. No it does not have the polished combat of some games but it does not need it. This is not something to be rushed through in as short as you can, you must be willing to sit back and explore, listen to the diaries, learn the history and indulge into the story. Only then will you see how perfect this game is. Expand
  30. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite, when announced, left me sadly skeptical about how well it could live up to the prior game's, more specifically of course the first Bioshock. upon starting this game for this first time I was astounded by the visuals, everything is absolutely beautiful. beyond the fact that they have removed hacking from the game, which left me quite sad. The vigors are unusual and even when theyre similar to those found in Bioshock 1 and 2 they differ in key ways. everything about this game is enjoyable and original Bioshock customers should love this as much as the first. Expand
  31. May 3, 2013
    10
    In my 29 years of gaming I have never felt more engaged by a story and a setting. This game has changed my expectations permanently. I have never been so immersed in a gaming experience.
  32. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    If it was possible to give a game an 11/10 then this would be it. Unlike Bioshock 2 this game is extremely original. It's also made by the same team who made the original Bioshock (aka highest rated FPS of all time). The game is polished, emotional, engaging and just breath taking. Just walking around the environments feels nice. Not only is this game of the year material, but it's also literally the best video game I've played in the past 5 years. Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I wasn't a massive fan of the first Bioshock (its still a good game), but when I first saw the gameplay for Infinite a few years back I fell in love with it almost strait the way. And now I get to play one of the best games of this generation. When you first step into Columbia it feels like the first time at a theme park, the atmosphere is something no hardcore or casual gamer should miss out on. The combat has improved since the first game, using the Skyline is a great addition to the combat and of course getting around. Elizabeth is a character you want around you, and never gets in your way or does annoying things to hinder combat (take note Capcom). I haven't finished the game yet, but to me its a game you don't want to ever end, the experience is that good! I understand certain people won't like this game, every game in existence has players that won't like it, but come on, people who give 0's to a game like this is just trolling! @ciuchina82 How is multiplayer a joke? There is no multiplayer! and to allow your son of 4 years old to play this then I review your parenting a 0/10. Expand
  34. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Gunplay is fun, controls are responsive, the art direction is engrossing, the enemies are original, the characters are intricate, the story is deep and the powers are fun, it's pretty much everything you could want in a run and gun shooter/adventure game. Pretty close to perfect, very reminiscent of Half-life 2 in how well realized the world and the characters are. Game of the year so far.
  35. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely perfect game. Single-handedly the most beautiful game ever made in terms of graphics. Tons of side-things you can do to keep yourself occupied and you can really tell that a lot of time was put into making this game. 10/10.
  36. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Einfach nur genial dieses Spiel. Es ist beeindruckend in Punkto Grafik, Gameplay, Story, Storytelling, Musikalischer Begleitung, KI, Leveldesign und Abwechslung. Selten hat mich ein Spiel so gepackt und nicht mehr losgelassen. Hinzu kommt, dass Bioshock Infinite nach 5 Stunden Spielzeit KEINE Bugs gezeigt hat und ich als Vorbesteller auch noch den 1sten Teil und xcom: enemy unknown GRATIS bekommen habe. Noch nie war ich glücklicher darüver 50 Euro ausgegeben zu haben. Expand
  37. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    An extremely captivating gaming experience. The gameplay is good, the story is wonderfully told and the world is worth the purchase alone. In a market saturated by "HOORA AMERICA"shooters (Battlefield, Call of Duty, Homefront, Medal of Honor), it's refreshing to see a game tear American Exceptionalism apart. While the gameplay is pretty solid, the real stars are the story and the world. The developers took a lot of big risks in this game, with a lot of decisions that could have easily backfired and ruined the whole experience. The fact that everything works so well together is remarkable in its own right. I think calling it "The greatest game of all time" like some other reviewers are is kind of a stretch, but certainly I don't think anything else coming out this year will even approach the quality of Bioshock Infinite. If you liked the first Bioshock, you probably already have this game, but if you don't you owe it to yourself to get this. If you felt that the gameplay was dull in the original Bioshock or that that lack of subtlety in dealing with broader philosophical and political concepts was problematic, you're going to find the same issues here. However, I absolutely loved the experience. Expand
  38. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Take THAT Half Life 2! Seriously, that game doesn't deserve it's score or praise, but this game does, finally, nice to see some justice in the world. Bioshock has always been a series for absurd creativity, and this entry is no different.
  39. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is a crowning achievement for this cycle of games which is defined by life cycles of consoles. As gaming and other software begins to explore the use of cloud technology and rapid solid state memory, more intense graphics will become the standard along with perfected sound. This game, however, already has those. As a preface, to truly appreciate this game I think you have to enjoy story telling. This game is HEAVILY story driven with fantastic writing. I spent at least an hour in the chapel after landing in Columbia. Needless to say I have not finished the game yet but I am savoring it. I am playing on hard as suggested by PC Gamer because most story centric games have little replay value but this game's story is deep and rich enough to deserve at least another replay. I know I will replay it with the 1999 option after hard so that I can see how I might end without a winnable ending. This is a game about the journey. To rush through it is to completely miss the substance of the game. This is not an ADD friendly game. While the combat is exhilarating and amazingly fun (much like but improved over the original Bioshock) you do have to use tactics and planning to survive. I also appreciate that on the non-1999 version you are not overly punished for screwing up and experimenting. The voice acting, the graphics, the atmosphere, the sheer creative genius of this world inspired me to buy a season pass as I would love more of this game. Ken Levine and the entire Irrational Games team should be given a well deserved standing ovation. I hope that Irrational will take their time, but not as much time, developing their next game. A return to a cyberpunk world would be wonderful, perhaps as a System Shock 3? Take a well deserved break Mr. Levine come back refreshed and let that genius flow again into yet another wonderful experience. Expand
  40. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    If you hated everything about the original BioShock, don't bother with this game, it's very similar in many ways. However, once you get that out of the way, it's a much better version of it than the previous two. For example, while combat is still the same setup (replace plasmid with vigor) and enemies still can feel a little bullet-spongy (I recommend turning off health meters in the options menu, as well as most other HUD notifications), most encounters take place in these big open areas that are also densely packed with cool tactical options. The result is some thrilling and crazy combat moments that in most games would be heavily scripted. No more "electrocute-wrench" through the whole game. Graphically, you can sometimes see some flat textures up close reminding you that this is a game that has been worked on for 6 years, but on the whole it is quite gorgeous. Nice to play an FPS that doesn't look like a brown and grey modern military shooter or a future space war that might as well be a military shooter for how it looks.

    On that note, this game has the best storytelling since Half-Life 2. No sitting through pre-rendered cutscenes full of people spewing exposition at you. Just exploring the environment explains what's going on in the world and hints at some weird stuff behind the surface. This game also deals with racism and religious fundamentalism in a far less heavy handed manner than you would expect. Nice to play a game that doesn't treat you like a moron who can't follow a simple story.

    So in summary: Yes, if you go into this game expecting it to be the industry-changing miracle some people are making it out to be, you will be let down. But if you go in expecting an FPS that is far more immersive, original and entertaining than 95% of what you've played in the last few years, you'll get it. Hell, it's basically a 10-hour escort mission with a character you still care about by the end and never get annoyed with. That alone deserves some kudos.
    Expand
  41. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Long and short of this: This is my game of the year already. The game is a ton of fun and extremely beautiful with such rich and detailed areas. The voice-acting is just top-notch and the story itself, well, it takes you in little by little and lets you experiences the story as a outsider and really draws you in. My gun-play with the new power system is old enough to be nostalgic but just fresh enough to be a fun experiences. If you are new to Bioshock and enjoy story and shooters, A MUST PICK UP.

    If you are familiar with Bioshock, YOU WILL ENJOY THIS.

    The middle is a bit padded but this game is easily one of the best games I have every played. It is up with my favorites and thats a hard bar to reach. GOTY already and its only March folks Do yourself the favor and pick up this absolute gem of a game.
    Expand
  42. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Bioshock infinite is very beautiful. The gameplay is smooth and fun, the atmosphere is so detailed, and the theme is mature. Alot of effort has been put into this game and it shows. Easily deserves its critical acclaim.
  43. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely unebelievable. The graphics/pacing/story/voice acting... its like you're in your own little world. I've never felt such wonder and awe before when it comes to a video game. And like several of the reviews said.. .there is no way a movie could have given you this feeling.
  44. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    The game itself is good but the ending ruins the story.
  45. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I rank this game up with half life standarts, from beginning to end it is phenomenal, elizabeth is not only a extremely loveable character but also the best sidekick that ive had in a long time, AI is amazing! I dont want to spoil anything or give any hints, just get the game, believe me. There is nothing left but a ten...
  46. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. You can tell that there was an enormous amount of thought put into every detail, down to the very last corner. Bioshock Infinite is my favorite game to date, no question about it.

    To start, the art direction is very good. Everything is arranged to be very appealing, and the colors are very balanced. I loved just walking around the city and soaking it all
    up. There are 1912 style shops to go into, and they are all populated. In one area, there is even a good, three-minute quartet that you can just sit and listen to. I was very impressed with the magnitude of everything. Seldom are you placed in a small, dark room or hallway. Most of the game is set in colorful areas with large statues and airy buildings.

    I liked that it didn't actually put you in the dark, but gave a dark feeling when it was appropriate. As per the Bioshock games, some of the events are quite dark-- and I liked the uneasy feeling without the dark corridors of Rapture.

    Combat is a step up from other games in the genre. The introduction of "skylines" allows you to jump quickly from place to place, making everything very fast paced. I didn't quite like the inventory management as much as in the original Bioshock, however. I found it much harder to deal with my Vigors, mainly because you couldn't just scroll through them like in the other game. Still, you get used to it-- that's a fairly minor gripe.

    I can't really say much about the story. If I told you what was so great about it, I'd spoil it for you. I can say that it puzzled me, and it was a few hours after finishing the game that I worked everything out. I felt like some of the points were repeated too much though. I get that they try to help everyone understand it well, but I'd rather just have it all thrown at me-- that way it's more fun to work out on my own.

    Overall, Irrational Games has gone above and beyond what anyone expected. The only way you'd find this game worse than the original is if you're somewhat nostalgic. Even if you didn't like the first or second game, I really suggest that you still give Bioshock Infinite a try. As a side note, there are a few things that you won't quite understand if you skip the first game. They are little details, but in a game like Bioshock Infinite, it's those little details that really count.

    This game is worth every cent. If you can't afford it, you can get it off the grey market for an earbud or so (about $35).
    Expand
  47. May 16, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite takes everything we know about linear gameplay and does it all right. With an unrivalled plot, the likes of which overwhelm all but the 'A-est' of the A-list Hollywood movies, The most compelling efforts of the writers is to convey the underlying themes that don't become apparent until late on in the story and with a beautifully devious twist of an ending, it certainly leaves the player wanting to get on the wiki site ti learn more. Bioshock Infinite is certainly one to be remembered, and with the nourishing level of detail, forgetting the beauty (and ensuing chaos) of Columbia will prove difficult for any gamer. With the physics engines and graphics cards of 2013, Infinite leaves us thinking "Damn, if only Rapture had looked this good."

    If anything could be said against the game, it would be Irrational's lack of effort towards creating a fully function AI society. Whilst the player is indeed submerged in a city with non-aggressive AI to bolster the feeling that you are in a real human settlement and not just a war zone, Irrational struggles to do this improvement over the game's predecessors any real justice with the lack of interaction between the AI and the player itself. One finds themself questioning the difference between taking stuff from a chest of drawers and taking stuff from a chest of drawers with the word 'steal' at the bottom of the screen, demonstrating the scripted incidents carried out by the competely robotic artificial intelligence.
    Expand
  48. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I don't know how else to put it. But this is probably one of the best games I have ever played. I didn't really know what to expect, with how games that come out now are unfinished to the point where it isn't even playable (See: SimCity). But man I was blown away by this. The story is incredible, and the atmosphere is so immersive. I can't explain it better than the other reviewers already have. Every positive review about this game is true. Expand
  49. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Just finished the game and I'm speechless. I don't know what to say. A Masterpiece? The fire Prometheus gave to Man? Just truly amazing. If you have any interest in any quality story-telling and amazing art direction, you are obligated to experience this game for yourself. If you want a more elaborate review, look up Adam Sessler's from Rev3Games on YouTube. He says it all perfectly. This game easily gets an 11/10 Expand
  50. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    I have a new Favorite Game. Bioshock Infinte is better than i have think. Great Story and Gameplay. Tons of Weapons and Ways. It's the Best Game ever. Like first time playing Half Life or like first time see The Matrix. Bioshock Fans and FPS Player Buy It. Bioshock Infinte show you a World that you never have seen before. The Reviews saying it "Unforgettable" and "it'll blow you away" This Game will Reborn you. Welcome to the Sky. halleluja* 10/10 GOTY 2013 Expand
  51. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely stunning piece of artwork, it shows that single player games are in fact alive and well. Irrational has yet to make a bad game in my opinion.
  52. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played and a fantastic continuation of the shock series, which has yet to really disappoint. It is a return to form after Bioshock 2, and with the lack of multiplayer and a more intricate singleplayer experience that is quite evident.
  53. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I got this, along with Bioshock (previously owned, never completed), Bioshock 2 and apparently a code for xcom enemy unknow aswell, for 45$, needless to say I have gotten more than full value for the money here. Having been sucked into Infinite's universe (having been mesmerized for up to 7 hours), I can say that I will finally finish 1 and start playing number 2 aswell, as soon as I have played infinite, once or twice, or thrice. This game is so good it beggars belief, just get it. The only thing I can point fingers at is the texture work, it could use a loving hand to be honest. Other than that, the atmosphere, the sound score, the gun play, the vigor play, the connection gameplay wise with Elizabeth, the story, the aesthetics and graphics (other than texture work) are all top of the line.

    Until now I thought Tomb Raider would run with the game of the year title, it is a contender, but I have a slight feeling that this will run with it. It is definitely the better game in my book, although it is most definitely worth it to own both! And you should, own both.
    Expand
  54. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    All I gotta say is its breathtaking with a rich imagination.
    Not to mention Irrational take risks that few other companies take.
    It's nice to see a company recognize history accurately.
  55. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a perfection in just about every department. The story inspires a variety of emotions, it is complex and controversial but avoids many mistakes that others before have done in this genre. The graphics and artwork create an amazing atmosphere to make you feel like a part of the world and the changes in the story are perfectly reflected in the environment. The gameplay is nothing special, but it is functional and very balanced. All powers and weapons have their strengths and weaknesses, making you actually have to plan what to use rather than zerg everything. All around this is one of the best games of all time and will probably remain at the top for a long time. Expand
  56. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Must say I was losing hope with all the crap being bought out recently. BioShock Infinite is a great game. Very few titles are bought out at this standard. It is a must buy, not matter what these trolls rate it. For all the dimwits giving a 0-3, you have no idea. For the guy crying about graphics. Maybe you should go into option and learn how to set it up. Not only that maybe get a upgrade for that lawnmower you call a computer. Expand
  57. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    There should really be a rule about people not being allowed to write a review for something if they HAVEN'T PLAYED THE DAMN GAME. Seriously, some of the stuff in these comments is ridiculous. The setting is "unimaginative"? What? How can you complain about a steampunk, floating city being "unimaginative" when there are games like Call of Duty and Battlefield getting farted out that use a brown, dust filled desert-industrial environment which seems to be a sort of basic formula for games nowadays. Anyway, the setting IS imaginative, and the story IS good, anybody who is saying the story "made no sense" probably just didn't understand it because they have the IQ of a coconut. The story made sense perfectly fine to me, and to 98% of the other people who played the game, as well. That said, if you don't like exploring, and just prefer to shoot people, don't buy this game and then complain that it was too well paced and you didn't spend 100% of your time killing other humans, because there is a big emphasis on exploration in this game, gear, money, and voxophones, which flesh out the story really nicely are all found by exploration. Also you get to see more of the city and experience the graphics design, because it is spectacular. Basically, it has everything good that the first Bioshock had, fast paced and exciting combat, amazing, albeit very different, atmosphere, an emphasis on exploration and a great story, without the redundant binary moral choice system. Also Elizabeth is a really nice addition to the game, one of the best support characters since Alyx.

    Basically, if you haven't played it, and are here to write a bad review because you watched TotalBiscuit's WTF is? video, then go away. If you DID play it, and didn't enjoy it, fair enough, but don't criticise something simply because of its genre. Yes, it didn't have any puzzles or stealth. Do you know why? Because it's an FPS, you moron. Anyway, if you enjoyed the original, you'll love this, it's definitely a Bioshock game, I'd say it was even better than the 1st. The worst thing about it was the soundtrack, and that's just because I can't remember anything about it, and I finished the game yesterday. Great combat, great story, great atmosphere, great pacing, great graphics, it did everything well. I'm giving it a 9 because of a few things I didn't like. The vigors are a bit unoriginal, except for the Bucking Bronco and Murder of Crows, and even that is basically just a repackaged Insect Swarm from B1. I preferred the gun upgrade system in B1, and the upgrades for that were much more original than the ones in this, which pretty much consist of "damage increase", "clip size increase", "recoil decrease", and "accuracy increase". It's a fantastic game, but there ARE a few things that stop it from being a 10. I would give it 9.5 if I could, but there is no 9.5, so it gets a 9. I loved it, and will definitely buy the DLC planned.
    Expand
  58. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Everything beautiful, needs no words even. Just wanted to make 10/10, really titan work made. Its the game of year and century and even more. Best of the best.
  59. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    You are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be a troll. Do you realize how many years ago this game started to be advertised, and yet here you are having bought it, IF you don't like these kinds of games why do you buy them in the first place. Take for example, I don't like Guild Wars 2, I don't play it, but most people say it's an excellent game...why am I going to go troll about it and give the game a bad rating since I already know beforehand I am not going to like it? Moreover, if you want a game that's tailored to your every need and desire, why don't you go make your own game? exactly! You don't have to sit here and be a troll and ruin it for others who would have probably liked the game. They weren't making the game only for you, like your very own personalized version or something like that. You do not gain anything by trolling, if a person want to buy the game they will do it regardless of what you post here, because it is their choice that they can make, and no matter what some troll on the internet says is going to stop them ok. By have a nice day. Expand
  60. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    We now have a metacritic title that is tied for first place of all time; I hoped for this prior to the release assuming in this day and age more people would flock to purchase the masterpeice, I nearly cried when Ken Levine of Irrational stated he went to frat houses and asked who knew or had played bioshock and nobody raised their hand.
    After 6 hours with the game; I can give the game a
    confident 10/10. I do not know where to start but on Ultra with max FoV and the alternate DX11 Ambient Occlusion the game is stunning graphically with art design that shows each artist literally put his or her soul into every area of each set piece. The Plasmid's feel great and are much more unique; I dig throwing people up in the air with the bucking bronco then using murder of crows while using my carbine to pick them off with ironsights. Another thing that feels A+ especially compared to the original, Gunplay; Ironsights are perfect are is the crosshair option.
    I suggest binding right mouse to Iron Sight if you are familiar with FPS gaming, and if you have a thumb button that is where I have my "Use Plasmid" bound.

    Health and Vigor restored by food/health packs and cigs/potion/salts can no longer be stored up in the inventory and at first I was looking for how to chug a potion while getting beat up a bit on Hard mode; once I adapted to not being able to use this option in combat I was able to dominate the "New" Bioshock feel.

    As for the two greatest highlights aside from Graphics as we can all see it is astonishing (especially buttermilk smooth on SLI 680's) and that the story is incredible (I've fallen in love with Elizabeth already) is the revolutionary AI behind Elizabeth. She becomes a living breathing character that you are able to actually MORE than enjoy the company of. She becomes a friend, a love interest and her innocence makes her that more fragile while her ability to rip tears in time (Spoiler: the first time you see her do it its in the future to a paris premier of RETURN OF THE JEDI). Her AI is absolutely incredible with no problems.

    The Skyhook system is flawless and fun; it is like a controllable rollercoaster and it is jaw dropping to Leap off a rail and decapitate a guard down below; it makes you feel powerful but not overly powerful as you'll still get your ass handed to you during portions on HARD mode making you react like FPS gamers should rather than have your perfect plasmid/gun combination always work your way; you'll miss sometimes and Liz will help out as much as she can.

    I just wanted to state that I spent 2 hours before any combat came in the game searching around and in awe at the city and the art put into every area. To my surprise I've found my favorite "Minor" moment in a game ever.
    A barber shop Quartet is singing "Music from the Future. Now" due remember this is 1912; and the Quartet is singing a gorgeous rendition of 'The Beach Boys' astonishing song "God Only Knows" off of their revolutionary 'Pet Sounds' album. Being a music geek and a gaming geek perhaps that is a small sign of exactly what Bioshock Infinite is. To music what petsound was at release; Bioshock Infinite is to gaming present day.
    -- If you'd like to check out the quartet singing this GORGEOUS RENDITION please click here.
    http://www.ign.com/videos/2013/03/12/bioshock-infinite-god-only-knows-barbershop-quartet
    Expand
  61. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    10/10

    Just amazing! The world feels so alive, the gameplay is fun and the exploration and story telling is unforgettable! I was drawn right in from the beginning listening to the unimportant AI to the amazing story telling audio logs. I can't really say much more than this game was amazing! Good job Irrational! Hope to see another in the series just as good or even better!
  62. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Nothing bad to say about it! Lots of fun and great storytelling. Only annoyance is Elizabeth flipping a coin to you every 30 seconds while in the middle of combat, but she is quite helpful anyway. Graphics are really nice, and the game is full of detail. 9.5
  63. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    i dont like first-person shooters. For me Bioshock Infinite was like giving a second chance to a genre that i usually dont touch with a stick. It promised stuff like nice story and appealing, unique graphics and it looked less violent and morbid than your usual shooters. i gave it a try and wasnt disappointed. Like in a great mystery book, nothing in story made sense for most part of the game, but in the end... lets just say i became permanently stupid. my brain is now damaged by the shocking ending. i've read lots of shocking books with crazy twists, but experiencing this in a first person shooter game? wow. damn. Expand
  64. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I have been highly anticipating this games release and it is finally here! Sat down last night and all I can say is WOW! Hats off to the developers on this one as it is just a masterpiece! The hype was worth it. If you love Bioshock you are going to love this game even if you haven't played Bioshock before you should get this game. The gameplay and visuals are astounding I cannot fault this game as I said all I can say is WOW! Expand
  65. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is hands down the greatest campaign I have ever played. Beautiful graphics, the best combat I have ever experienced in an FPS, and characters that you really really care about.
  66. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. You have to love a game that is built not to please everyone, or to appeal to the biggest demographic of the lowest common denominator. Bioware Infinite is about a development team trying to realise their creative vision. This is a very fun shooter, but by no means is it the kind of shooter that is going to inspire thousands of hours of shooting.
  67. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I think, after playing this game on Ultra settings, I can die happy now. I may update this after I beat it. Currently 4 hours in and I am amazed at the vibrant, creative, magical world, tight game-play mechanics, and story. Wouldn't be the least bit surprised if this snags GOTYE 2013. Possible contender #2: Watch_Dogs
  68. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    An absolutely beautiful game.
    The graphics are stunning, and the overall mood of the game is fantastic.
    Also the music changes dynamicly if your in battle, and it makes the battles very intense.
    The levels are full of secrets, locked doors and collectibles.
    The world is very beautiful. I often find myself just exploring the world outside of where I'm supposed to go, because it's so
    beautiful. It also helps that I always find secrets when exploring.
    Fantastic game!
    Expand
  69. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I very rarely give anything a perfect score, especially to a game that's incredibly hyped. BioShock Infinite, however, deserves the hype machine artillery burst that preceded it, and all the praise it's garnering. It's not the best game I've ever played, but it's AMONG the best, and it's incredibly original and well-written. Technically, I'm stunned by how well it runs on a modest machine, and also how glorious it looks given that it's running on an aging engine. tl;dr Wow, just wow. Expand
  70. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    While this game does have big shoes to fill, I honestly think it fills them perfectly well. The graphics are absolutely amazing, the story is beautifully acted, and the plot is extremely intriguing. If you liked Bioshock 1 and/or 2 I extremely recommend buying this game!
  71. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely unebelievable. The graphics/pacing/story/voice acting... its like you're in your own little world. I've never felt such wonder and awe before when it comes to a video game. And like several of the reviews said.. .there is no way a movie could have given you this feeling.
  72. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is amazing and a pure breath of fresh air. It's still the same Bioshock we know and love but with a new fresh feeling. The graphics and characters are amazing! This is how a game with a NPC helper should feel like. Remember how games in which you had to save someone you had to keep them out of trouble? Elizabeth is nothing like those NPCs, she is actually quite helpful and you don't have to worry about her getting killed. During combat she gives you ammo, salts (similar to EVE or MANA) and is generally as a character quite interesting. You feel like she's a real life character. She reacts to what you're doing and to your choices. Sadly the choices is where this game falls a bit short. In the previous installations you could choose to be bad or good and that had consequences in the ending but not here. The game offers you a few choices but none of them actually have any meaning. There is only one ending and it's a pretty good one. The game is simply amazing and I feel this is how most story driven games should be like. Elizabeth and Booker are one of the most memorable group of characters I've ever met in a game! A definite must-own! Expand
  73. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is a wonderful game. I won't say it's on the same level as the original Bioshock was, as that was one of the greatest games of all time. But, this will easily be the game of the year for alot of people and I have a difficult time seeing something else even coming close to its level. There are so many things this game does right and so very few things it does wrong. The gameplay is wonderful. The skyline attacks can feel a bit tacked on but once you get the hang of it, then there should be no problems at all going forward. The atmosphere of the game is unlike anything seen since the original Bioshock. The first time you enter Columbia really sets the stage for later on in the game. The characters are great and Elizabeth has some of the best A.I. for a companion character ever seen in video games. The story is superb. Very little I can say without spoiling something here but it's beyond wonderful. If there's anything wrong with this game it's that the story kinda drags on toward the beginning of the game. In between getting to the city and finding the girl, there's alot of nothing going on here. It's only for a very short time but it does kinda stink. Plus, the powers in this game are not as good as the first games, IMO. I'm sure other people like them, but I found myself using one or two exclusively after I collected them all. However, neither of those things are enough for me to lower this score from a 10. I loved this game and I personally think it's of the best games to come out in a long time. I do not think it's as good as the original Bioshock, for alot of reasons, but this is a game everyone should play. I'd recommend playing the first Bioshock before this to kinda understand the gameplay elements but it's not a super big concern in the long run. Buy this game and beat it as fast as you can, but take the time to stop and enjoy the sights on your way through. You won't regret it. Expand
  74. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I should probably start out by saying that I am not a fan of the first two Bioshock games, I'm don't dislike them but I wouldn't consider myself a fan, however I decided to buy Bioshock Infinite on a whim, and am so glad that I did. The game is absolutely beautiful, yes it may lack the graphical power of games such as Crysis 3 but the world of Columbia looks absolutely amazing from an artistic point of view, the gameplay is solid but so far seems slightly too easy on medium difficulty I will be trying out 1999 mode on my 2nd playthrough.)

    The story in the game is one of the best I've seen in a while and I've barley scratched the surface of it, so far despite not much happening I am completely captivated by it. I also found the relationship between Booker and Elizabeth to be believable thanks to the amazing voice acting supplied by Troy Baker and Courtnee Draper.

    Speaking of Elizabeth, never before have I cared for a gaming character, but thanks to the amazing talent behind her (AI, Motion Capture, Voice, Model, Script etc...) I think I might actually care for the character. I don't know why but when I (Potential Spoilers) first killed a group of men in front of her and I saw that she was scared of me because of that I kind of felt bad because she'd gone from being really happy and ecstatic to scared and cold. (Spoilers End)

    I could keep writing about this game for a while, but I kind of want to get back to playing it, if you are unsure on whether to buy this game or not, I strongly recommend buying this full price, it's utterly amazing and almost (In my eyes at least) faultless.

    It's good to see that this console generation is ending on a high note with games such as this and Tomb Raider and hopefully more to come.
    Expand
  75. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This game is worthy of a perfect review. It has so much attention to detail as well as great gameplay. Easily the best game of the year, possibly the decade.
  76. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    This game might not revolutionize gaming, but still setting a very high standard for other developers. While I do not really llove the setting of Columbia, I have to admit it has an outstanding design. The graphics, the gameplay, the story, the voice acting is great. Recommended.
  77. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is not a game, it is an interactive piece of art that gently tickles your senses before providing a gigantic emotional punch with mind-blowing ending. I fear for other game developers, the bar has never been set so high before.
  78. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a monument to story-telling in video games. The greatest video game experience you will undertake this year. A must-play-before you die. This game even has the potential to be greater than its predecessor, if not just as good. The ending was the most fantastic ending I have seen in a long time, the gameplay was fun and rewarding, the graphics were top notch and everything else was superb.

    You must buy this game. Right now.
    Expand
  79. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing, there is nothing to complain about in this game. The story is fantastic, the combat is great and fun, and the atmosphere hits all the right notes.
  80. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Keeps up with the bioshock title really well. It's as good as Bioshock 1. Storytelling, guns, vigors (plasmid subs), characters were awesome. I hope they keep making more of this series.
  81. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    "The greatest adventure of this generation, we have in front of us the new half life, and the new "Alyx Vance" stuning,awesome, a Ken Levine Game Sir!
  82. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Why are people hating on this game? Bioshock Infinite is amazing, ignore the trolls who just want to put this game down; they have no clue what they are on about. The storyline, the game play, the graphics, and the world of Columbia just make this game unique and memorable than any other game I have played. If you think the original Bioshock was good, then your gonna absolutely love this one. You play the way you want to; use whatever vigors (basically plasmids) you want to use whenever you like, use any weapon (better variety this time over the other bioshocks). Its a fresh start for the bioshock series again and my god have they pulled it off. Going on those skylines makes you feel your actually on a roller coaster and the fact that the devs have put that much effort into the game to make you feel as if you are Booker is absolutely amazing. The amount of effort the art team went to is astonishing as they have put so much detail even in the smallest places. Just like the other two bioshocks before the voice acting is superb, the animations are so fluid and again astonishingly good. The AI i must say are pretty good as they can give you a good challenge since they find ways to get to you even if you are trying to get cover. Combat on the skylines is refreshing and exhilarating, its just so new and fun to just play around with. I could go on and on about how good this game is, but you just need to pick this game up and see what everybody is talking about. This game is truly a masterpiece. Its a sort of experience you rarely ever get in any kind of game, characters like Elizabeth have been made with such care that you connect to them on an emotional level, you just keep learning more and more about Columbia and all the characters and this is what keeps you engaged throughout this epic story. Its much more open, because of this you are able to explore many more areas within the game, and the additional side quests have been cleverly integrated within the game so it inst annoying because of how nothing is forced, you just go along with it. If only this kind of effort was put into every game. This kind of effort is what pleases gamers on any platform. Buy this game, it will be the best investment of 2013. Expand
  83. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite should get Game of the Year! It has been a long time since a game like this has come out for the PC so highly polished. The game is graphically beautiful (no soupy textures), the controls are easily changeable and responsive, the story and atmosphere is totally immersive, it runs perfectly on the computer (no freeing & crashing and has stable frame rates on release day with SLI), there is not an always online or DRM crap, and your savegame is located on your computer. Great job 2K Design Team, you did a fantastic job. Expand
  84. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is hands down the game of the year, it outshines anything i've seen in the past 5 years with not only splendid graphics, but with a intricate story that makes you so engaged in the game you won't want to get off until you are done. And then, once you have finished, you will want to replay it at least one more time. This is, in many ways, a benchmark for games, something people have to strive for, and hope they can achieve, a true masterpiece. Expand
  85. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is simply magnificent. I had very high expectations for this game, and not only were they fulfilled, but I was completely blown away. The story is one of the best of ANY video game ever, which could possibly compete with the first game. The graphics are INSANE. (People giving low ratings, PLEASE don't complain about poor graphics because most likely your not running at ultra) I ran this games at medium and at high at times and still I was overwhelmed. Combat is the most fun I think I've had in any game, the sky rail things are so much fun, and although I would have liked to see more vigorous, they are all really nice abilities to have. I was never short for money, like in the first bioshock, but I wasn't floating in it either, the balance is perfect with this game. The game is a good length, never getting boring of repetitive. ELIZABETH is what makes this game a 10/10 for me, the most sophisticated AI I have EVER seen, along with one of the most interesting and intriguing characters ever seen in a video game. I only have 1 minor compliant. The game has no manual save feature, This not only means that I have to wait for an autosave point (Which are reasonably frequent) when I want to save the game.. It also means that I cant replay levels to see how they would turn out if I picked a different choice. Overall, the game is stunning, emotional, intuitive and revolutionary 10/10 MUST BUY. Expand
  86. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I've been playing for a good few hours now and must say that I'm although enjoying myself. This is the first game in the Bioshock series that I've played but the game seems to allow for that without issue. Here are some good points I've discovered:

    - Wonderful graphics, running well on my GTX 460 until I get my new graphics card back again with high FPS on 'high' setting
    - Interesting
    characters you can sympathise with
    - Great combat animations
    - Fun skyhooking!

    Negative:

    - None so far!

    This game seems to have generated a lot of positive critic and user reviews, it has however received very few 'mixed' reviews which I take to mean that people either love it, or are placing 'counter reviews' on it because they dislike some aspects of it but want to see it's overall score lowered.
    Expand
  87. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Um excelente jogo adoro este maravilhoso jogo. joguei o um e o dois varias vezes, estou muito encioso para começar a jogar o terceiro, pelo que já vi e pesquisei tenho certeza que esta noto 10000
  88. May 16, 2013
    10
    This was absolutely one of the best games I have ever played. The graphic style is not too cartoony but also not realistic. The gameplay was addicting and always intense. This game is a must own.
  89. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    A near flawless game with only the most minor of gripes, not even worth mentioning. If you enjoy quasi-linear tightly focused game play with engaging as well as challenging story and concepts, then this is a must buy. Fantastic Graphics and visuals, esp. on PC. THE single player experience of this generation of games.
  90. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    BioShock Infinite is the latest in the acclaimed BioShock series, and it doesn’t disappoint. This game is more than a simple shooter. Set in the flying city of Columbia the payer is tasked with rescuing the mysterious girl Elizabeth and bringing her safely to a mysterious group in exchange for wiping away the character’s past debts. It is a story driven experience with a great story, plot and characters. The shooting itself is fun and an exhilarating brake from the generic shooters of the last few years. When in combat it is hectic and fast paced as you attempt to fend off or fight through a variety of enemies, each with their own challenges. The powers provided to the player through vigors as well as the platforming elements provided by the player’s sky-hook offer an even greater diversity in gameplay. Unlike most modern games the player’s health doesn’t magically regenerate offering an ever greater challenge. However, many of the weapons and powers provided by vigors do feel too similar to each other.
    The world of Columbia is a fresh, beautiful and lively place that the player could spend hours exploring. The plot itself is also highly engaging and it is something that anyone who is interested in a good story should come back too. Fighting in the game is, at times gory with enemies becoming blood-soaked or screaming with pain as they are incinerated. Gore, torture and other dark themes are also present throughout the game.
    Elizabeth is one of the best characters and companions I have ever encountered in a game. She is well animated, voiced and programmed; she can a times seem like a real person. Her help in combat can also be indispensible as she rushes to provide you with extra ammo and health kits and she has saved me from death many times.
    The game plays well on the PC with great graphics and performance. It also has a full options menu with a wide range of settings that can be adjusted as well as fully rebindable controls. The lack of user controlled saving however is a disadvantage and it at times feels like it is punishing players who have to leave the game. Fortunately this isn’t a problem when dying in combat.
    Overall BioShock Infinite is one of the best games this year. It will be a great adventure from start to end with great characters, story and combat for all those interested. Even if you haven’t played a BioShock game before this is a great place to start and it won’t provide any spoilers to the other games.
    Expand
  91. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutely stunning piece of artwork, it shows that single player games are in fact alive and well. Irrational has yet to make a bad game in my opinion.
  92. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    I owe this game a 10/10, it was brilliantly written, an artistic marvel with an incredible twist as I know only Bioshock can deliver. It had me engrossed from start to finish, but not only the story-line is great, but the game-play is smooth, fluent and wonderfully fun (especially the skylines) and the enemies are intelligent. Can't find a way to knock it, just make sure you play it with everything turned up to max for the best experience of the year! Expand
  93. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely stunning... In a time where I thought I was simply getting bored of video games, it revived my hope by showing me what a real game is. Truly captivating story, and cartoon-ish graphics that are timeless and give a remarkable atmosphere. It mixes in anticipation, along with unknown and mystery of what might be coming next. My favorite game of the past 5 years.
  94. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is an artistic masterpiece. Beautiful, suspenseful, and haunting at times; it captures a blending of history and myth to create something both wonderfully unique and familiar.

    Story: 10/10
    As we all come to expect from Irrational, the plot of this game is bursting with rich parallels, powerful emotional imagery and an ending (brilliantly foreshadowed throughout) that
    will leave you both satisfied and begging for more.

    Ambiance: 11/10
    This is where the game really shines. Each set-piece alone could be a work of art, each architectural blend, each cultural costume. All of the visual splendor mixed together with a score that perfectly juxtaposes the glamor and grit of what Columbia represents.

    Gamplay: 10/10
    I expected a rich story and beautiful visuals/music, what I did not expect was game-play (particularly combat) that surpassed Irrationals previous games in terms of enjoyment and dynamic action. This game takes everything that we loved from previous BioShock games and adds a whole new level of tactical planning and on the fly improvisation. Each combat area is a stage set for a brilliant play, each enemy adding new challenge, each weapon a chance to master. Never has combat been so challenging and satisfying in a BioShock game.

    Overall: 10/10 Irrational proves once again that you don't have to pander to the lowest common denominator to create a true masterpiece.
    Expand
  95. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Criticodubioso- All your reviews you give games zeros and 2s, you are not an objective reviewer. There are very few games that truly deserve a 2. You are an immature child and are why user rating on this site don't mean a god damn thing. Hmm a game that deserves a 2/10 would have to have almost no redeeming qualities at all. How did you even come to this score? The graphics suck? They surely don't some muddled textures, but very impressive overall, better than MOST PC ports. The gameplay sucks? Like what, are you talking about the extensive upgrade system, the cool innovative vigor powers, or the spinning hook that you grind people's heads off with? Or what about flying on rails and using vortexes to give you tactical advantage? Yeah that all sucks and is TERRIBLE I agree man. Or what about the terrible lackluster story that actually isn't unbearably corny for once and deals with real societal issues instead of just being terrible dialogue and a michael bay film like most action shooters..that really sucks too it's sure a 2/10 right?? I hate you, and every PC gamer like you, we are not all like this fa g g ot, but PC does seem to have an awful lot of elitist losers like this guy... Expand
  96. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Games can be art. This one certainly is. Its beautiful, smart, mysterious and edgy. I loved every second of it. Everyone should play it and i dare you not to like it. It's impossible.
  97. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Would you kindly play this game? This by far is one of my favorite games of the past 5 years of gaming. When I walked out of that capsule and those lit candles with the soothing music behind it I knew this game was going somewhere. This is art this is what this generations needed for a ending of this generation consoles. I can now say this is added to the list of great games made by a genius company. Great job irrational games. Every bit was worth playing this game. Expand
  98. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    What a great game. I don't have time to play many video games anymore, and when I do have time to game, I mainly play boardgames, which is in a great revival if you didn't know--just check out boardgamegeek sometime. Anyway, this game sucked me. The subversion of Christianity and the racism were just provocative enough for me to keep going--not to mention the visuals are stunning. I am running this game maxed out, so I can't speak for ps3 or 360 visuals, or even PC visuals on medium settings. I loved Bioshock 1, and didn't even bother with Bioshock 2. This is the game to play if you don't often pick up games. Expand
  99. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    This is an intelligent mans game. The story is one that will be broken down and speculated about for days, or even weeks. Graphically it is top notch. There are very few glitches or bugs. It lacks crippling DRM and is playable within seconds of installing. If you are looking for a story that will make you think, then you owe it to yourself to experience this game before you die. It's a must play. Expand
  100. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is the best game I have experienced in 20 years of gaming. This game is brilliant, simply said and raises the bar to a new level of quality never before seen in gaming history. Have I mentioned how much I love this game.
  101. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I have been a gamer for 20 years. This is my first review. Nothing is perfect. If everything was a 10 there would be no need for new games at all... I’m giving this a 10 because there are some reviewers giving it less than 9.5 and I need to make up for that. Likely they’re blinded by their own genre and gameplay tastes, which Bioshock Infinite may not perfectly align with. Look past that and see a work of stunning beauty.

    It is a compelling, wildly creative story that draws you in from its first moments. Anyone who says they saw the end coming is lying to themselves. They might have wondered but they didn’t KNOW.

    Play the game and enjoy everything that games can be
    Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 92
    Play BSI slowly, relish the moments and don’t rush to the end. It’s certain that you will have lived one of the richest gaming experiences that, as far as narration, lyricism and story are concerned, will take a lot of time to forget! [May 2013]
  2. May 7, 2013
    85
    A very solid, but not revolutionary shooter in an amazing setting, with a story that struggles to convey its authors’ ambitions and is only seemingly complex. The vision is less focused than in previous Bioshocks and it does a worse job on binding the plot with gameplay. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.46]
  3. May 1, 2013
    80
    Problematic plotting and excessive amounts of poorly balanced combat apply friction to what is otherwise one hell of a rollercoaster. [May 2013, p.80]