User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6015 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Damn. How does Levine do it? How does he come up with these amazing stories and brilliant gameplay? Isn't it enough to have the System Shock and Bioshock games be the epitome of gaming? Well, he can have all the accolades he gets he deserves them all. Bioshock Infinite is the best game of 2013. It is a step ahead of all the other FPS games this year and stands tall above anything else I've played this year in terms of story. Fusing a strong game mechanic and an intricate narrative, BI creates an absolutely vivid and realistic gamine experience. The idea of the city in the sky alone is worth praise. So we have an incredible environment that designed so beautifully and authentically. We have a story that has twists, clever and emotional dialogue, strong narrative and has excellent pacing from start to finish. The game engine is as good as it ever was from the original Bioshock games and plays even better here. The music score is brilliant as usual from franchise composer Schyman as well as the cover songs. The foley, environmental and sound FX are excellent. There are really no faults to be found here. Well... not completely. For whatever reason the Bioshock franchise has had issues with graphics for smaller items at close range. I played this at full settings on DX11+PhysX and the rounded items still look clunky. I'm not sure why this is but it's just a small, visual annoyance. There were also several invisible walls and ceilings here and there that were frustrating. At times there were sticky spots like invisible items on the ground that stopped me as well as some corners that stuck out. Lastly, the Vigor (Plasmid in previous Bioshock games) keys aren't as accessible as they should be. Instead of hotkeys for each Vigor there is a wheel to choose and then a separate key to execute. Since Vigors can be combined it's a bit of a nuisance to have to switch back and forth, especially in tense scenarios. Given all those drawbacks Bioshock Infinite is a milestone in gaming. There is no other game with such fun and excitement blended with an elaborate and wildly imaginative storyline. One last thing: The rails. The wonderful rails. So much fun zipping around in fire fights. I'll never forget how awesome it was! Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    Story Great. Graphics Amazing. Gameplay Below average. Annoying Quirks Many.

    So yes this is over-hyped. A 95 on metacritic say what? It deserves an 85 tops. The story is really good and the cut scenes are riveting. The voice acting is also excellent. But the overall action is not good enough, especially in 2013. I played through on the Hard setting piece of cake except for the
    Boss scenes which were impossible. On the Medium setting the enemies were a joke. Scrounging around for ammo and health is a PITA. Searching every corpse and desk...yawn. There just isn't much in the PC FPS category right now. Save your money. Me, I'm waiting for the HL2 final episode. Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    I just finished the game and felt the need to write a review immediately. This is easily one of the best FPS I've ever played. Absolutely beautiful setting, aesthetic, and music bring the world of Columbia to life and completely immerse the player into the game. While it appears some people would disagree, I found the story to be fantastic, particularly the ending. Elizabeth was great as both a character and an NPC. I found her to be both realistic and helpful without ever being annoying... which is pretty rare for a companion NPC. The gameplay is pretty similar to the original Bioshock and is perfectly adequate when compared to other top-tier FPS games. I did find that certain vigor/equipment/gun combinations were completely overpowered though, so there could have been a bit more balance. I also wish that the textures were higher resolution and that the game put more emphasis on exploration, but that's just me nitpicking. Overall it was an amazing experience. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    i'm fan of Bioshock (2007) and was really excited about infinite.Now when iv played it i think its one of the best games of all time whit original bioshock and i feel sad for people who can't understand it greatness cuz when they will see or experience something that good (movie, music, painting, book, video game) they will miss some good feeling.
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I'd put this game in the 90th percentile for storytelling, but the 99th percentile for world building/artistic design. Seriously, I'd be happy to sink a few hours into just wandering about and enjoying the design and music without any other stuff to do. The gameplay is... fine, with moments of fantastic fun courtesy of the sky-lines.
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is one of those rare games that comes along with a story worth telling. More than that. This story is one that deserves telling, and the only way it can do that is for you to play it. No friend's retelling, or Wikipedia synopsis can ever come close to the experience the floating city of Columbia brings, and no YouTube video of the ending scenes can convey the emotion behind this brilliantly designed game. So please, would you kindly pick up this unforgettable piece of video game history? Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Pretty good story, though I want to know more about Elizabeth. I feel like her past is still empty. I agree she is one of the best companions in a game thus far. Her mannerisms and personality make her instantly likeable and you appreciate her company through the entire game. Stunning visuals, great sound, animation is top notch! Combat gets very repetitive and weapons become a chore. Highly recommend, as this game is brilliant. Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    My rating is based on the super graphics and the somewhat unique approach to the coming of the messiah. The shooter end of the game is okay, but somewhat annoying. I would like to find at least one game where you can kill an opponent with one shot. Still, the game lives up to the hype, but personally I prefer the first two Bioshocks.
  9. Apr 24, 2014
    6
    The good, the game has probably the best atmosphere I've ever experienced in a game. Certain parts of the game just ooze ambiance and you can tell that the people at Irrational gave total thought into every single set piece that was placed. The game has probably the best environment I've ever seen in a game and its' pretty much the sole reason the game gets a 6. The atmosphere is top notch and you literally can't help but not be awed by the sight of Columbia. The bad, well it has this great atmosphere in a floating city but for most of the game you're exploring confined spaces. In all 8 hours I played in only a ten second span, did I feel like I was in a floating city. This was when the PC had to traverse a ledge to get to another point in the area. Another problem, the game uses checkpoints to save your game. The game prizes itself on exploration to flesh out the world through audio and visual diaries, such as Bioshock 1 and 2 yet at times I noted myself having thirty minutes between saves due to me exploring. I found myself rushing exploring just because I had to go to work or school. Another problem, there's not much variation in enemies or is there much of a challenge. The most challenging enemy called a, "Handyman," is only encountered around six or seven times and its' the only time you'll ever encounter a challenge. The gameplay is distinctly average, which is a shame. The game shares problem with third person shooters, in that it they telegraph where fighting will occur. The vigors also feel like direct rip offs from Bioshock 1 & 2 yet are harder to aim. The games story is decent, but the foreshadowing is literally jammed down your throat. and not only that but its' confusing as hell towards the end and makes no sense. I paid $7.50 for the game and it took ~8 hours. Overall the game's decent but don't expect the second coming of first person shooters. Expand
  10. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    Bioshock Infinite is a good single player shooter that's worth one playthrough. After that, well... you're going to have to like it a LOT to go through it again. The main draws are the story and setting which are respectively interesting and gorgeous, though the former is rather heavy-handed with its handling of racism. Gameplay wise Infinite is similar to previous Bioshocks and other FPS, but never manages to be more than average. The combat isn't particularly difficult even with 1999 mode engaged, and the vigors and weapons are rather boring. One thing I found myself really missing was the visual representation of weapon upgrades. I bought Infinite on sale for $30, which is probably the high end of what I'd consider to be a good price wait for it to go to $20 before you consider buying. Expand
  11. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the few I will call excellent, with tight game play, interesting characters and a story that was both interesting and poignant. It actually made me misty eyed at the end.

    The only criticisms I can level are that it is possible to miss details of the story if you're not paying close attention but also that it does not fully resolve the ending. Maybe the designers
    intended to leave it ambiguous as to whether that.... bed.. is empty or full. Expand
  12. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Bioshock Infinite is a well put together game. Story is incredible, characters drawn in that engagingly weird way of the Bioshock games, and the environments leave lots of room for exploration and fun. The only down side (and even this only warrents a few points off) is that the game controls sort of like Right mouse is Vigor, left mouse is fire. Can't tell you how many times I accidentally used a vigor by either trying to zoom or just a missclick. Even after re-binding some controls, the interface feels rather un-natural and clunky. Even that aside though, It's still one of the more fun games I've played in a while. Expand
  13. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    An amazing feat in story-telling. Bioshock Infinite will give you a mind blowing experience if you really give attention on it's story. I wanna give this game a 9.5, because the gameplay is a bit lackluster if you compare it to the story. The control is a bit weird for an FPS game, so a little bit of adaptation is required for playing. I died so many times because there's no radar here.
  14. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Just finished the game and liked it very much. Although I didn't like it as much as the previous entries in the series. Where BI really hits the mark is the world and lore created. The atmosphere is almost perfect. The city is awesome, done with attention to the smallest details. It's so good it really should have been an RPG. Of course when I preordered it I knew it's an FPS game, but when you do such grand setting it's almost a waste to do "just" a shooter out of it. It would have been great if more interaction was allowed with the actors and I wouldn't had the feeling of walking amongst puppets. Despite the stuff I just mentioned, Columbia is a living city, with very nice design. The story was also good, but the writers aimed for too much and at the end I was more confused, than satisfied. The morality of the whole act is pretty shallow, after such hype I was expecting more. It's definitely for an adult audience, but stays at a level of infancy from a certain point of view. I felt, that it could have been developed much further, however it's nice to see, that some developers at least try to deal with these questions.
    Now some words about the gameplay. While it isn't as great as the previous Bioshock games, it's still good. Again, the design imo couldn't reach the high level which it was aiming for. I felt a sense of "streamlining" effort to make the game comfortable for newcomers and casual gamers, which definitely hurt the experience. I missed the minigames, the hacking and the need for bringing truly strategic decisions when upgrading my stats and weapons. I could pass all the obstacles without too much effort or the need to develop strategies to beat the enemies. Near the end some creatures forced me to think through which gun is the most useful in the situation, but that's it. Elizabeth powers are make you much stronger, than you need to be. And if it seems that you will be beat down in a few moments she is always there with ammo or a medical bag. This gave me the feeling, that I can play as stupidly as I want and there won't be any consequences.
    Summary: Despite the criticism above, Bioshock Infinite is still a great game, recommended.
    Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Yeah, umm... what on earth is going on with everybody? This game is OK, but nowhere near a masterpiece or without its flaws. To sum it up, you travel from point A to point B while viewing amazing scenery, shooting the occasional bad guys with mediocre gunplay, and waste time looting those GODDAMN STUPID BOXES/CANS/BINS/WHATNOT FULL OF WORTHLESS What a way to slowdown the actual progress... Now I'm all for exploration and slow&high tension gameplay, but it's really distracting when you have to stop every few feet to open another garbage can, and find the same reward of a few coins and an apple. If you're an obsessive collector like me and/or would like to get the money required for the vast amount of upgrades the game offers, of course you have to search every nook and cranny and coincidentally impair the enjoyment. A stupid, stupid design decision from the creators... I don't like it one bit. However, all this said, the game does have its highlights. Apart from having an interesting story and world, so far I've come across to one of the best chase scenes in gaming history (that I can recall anyway). The music and SFX are topnotch, overall and particularly in this scene. Expand
  16. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! The best Bioshok so far and the best FPS shooter of the year. The art style is awesome. Anna Maleva (Elizabeth) is so beutiful that I cant stop watching her in front of me. Its been awhile since my last enhoyment of the game's world. This game MUST be played on PC with graphics on MAX, otherwise it wont be that enjoyable. As for the plot.. maaan, most of scie-fie movies lose to Bioshock in many fields. a MUST PLAY GAME OF THE YEAR! Expand
  17. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is, first and foremost, a great successor to Bioshock and Bioshock 2, and refines and polishes not just it's core gameplay mechanics but it's politics, narrative and characterisation, with most (if not all) of the difficulties of the previous games corrected. The first thing that strikes you when playing Infinite is the sheer quality of it's production, the level of detail put into it's graphics and audio is second-to-none. It's rare also to see a game so well-researched, and so sure if it's ideas and to stick to it's convictions so thoroughly, to trust it's audience with serious themes, in particular racism, in such a way that neither waters it down or trivialises it with melodrama. And then there are quantum mechanics applied in an intelligent, complex manner inevitably, these themes are not for everyone, but once again this is something Levine and co should be applauded for sticking with so consistently, to believe in the intelligence of their fans and not be put off at risk of alienating those more used to Call of Duty's cod-melodrama.

    Perhaps the most striking component for me when playing Infinite is the character of Elizabeth. I haven't yet seen a game do an AI counterpart so effectively she is a consistent part throughout the game, a dynamic character with an authentic rapport with DeWitt that works seamlessly with the game's busy and less busy periods (though to be sure, this is a considerably more action packed game than Bioshock ever was). Some players have criticised the simplification of some mechanics such as lockpicking, which is now handled by Elizabeth (upon the player's request). This is a great deception by the game you are still initiating the action, you are still in control, but the game is using a character who responds believably to fulfill the action, whilst often using the opportunity for a quick dose of exposition. Other features, such as finding codes or keycards are essentially removed, and this is clearly for the benefit of the flow of the game this is pretty much entirely a journey taken with someone else, and to have a bunch of mini-games would distract from this relationship.

    These elements have been attempted (and not badly done, necessarily) before, most notably in Half-Life 2 (and increasingly in it's following episodes), but this so far is the apex of the design principle of AI counterparts it feels right, it's consistent, it's never, ever in the way of combat. There is no friendly fire, Elizabeth doesn't fight your enemies, but rather assists with health, ammo and salts (essentially ammo for the tonics, the more general variant of Bioshock's plasmids). Combat is fast, furious, bloody and dynamic with the inclusion of rails that twist amusingly like interactive rollercoasters throughout the games larger exterior combat areas an interesting point to make too, in that Bioshock's claustrophobia is largely replaced with vertigo, and this is reflected in the combat appropriately.

    To summarise, Bioshock Infinite is the apex of the action game with increasingly streamlined RPG elements, an interesting path considering the classic predecessor of System Shock 2, an altogether more complex, slower paced and more scary title. But what Infinite places instead of the slow creeping dread of System Shock 2 and Bioshock is a grander sense of horror, the horror of racism and revolution, with all of it's moral ambiguities intact. It is superb.
    Expand
  18. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Okay, seriously. You cannot say that the creativity was nonexistent in this gem. Bioshock Infinite was by far one of the best story-driven game I've played in recent memory. The combat in this game was very fun, the voice acting was superb, but did I mention the story was absolutely incredible? I literally couldn't leave this game untouched for a minute because I was locked into the plot. So, I'll just leave it as this: this game will not leave your psych for days after you have completed the game. Expand
  19. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    While benefitting from a gorgeous aesthetic design, a top-notch opening and some great voice acting, Bioshock Infinite is a deeply flawed entry in the 'Shock' series, and possibly the weakest thus far. Carrying over the basic gameplay from Bioshock, Infinite suffers from a shallow combat system that is both overlong and out-of-sync with the story & characters. Whereas both System Shock 2 and Bioshock were set in dystopian, ruined cities, Infinite is set on the still-functioning city of Columbia; this makes the scavenging mechanic seem oddly contrary to how the city is painted during the opening, as do the "vigors" that take the place of Psy powers and plasmids but add nothing meaningful to the world or the people inhabiting it. The story itself is fairly well-presented and has an exceptional opening and a satisfying conclusion (a first for a shock game) but loses momentum and becomes a slog in the middle. Overall, Bioshock Infinite is a decent game with a good story that could've been vastly improved if it were a new IP rather than trying to be another shock game. [7.4] Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    the produers of bioshock are back with another great adventure for you to experience. the first minutes draw me in and it worked. graphics and story are interesting and on a high level. i think one of the best games lately!
  21. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game; great story, very rich and developed world, good gameplay with significant improvements from Bioshock 1 and 2, and a mind blowing ending. In short nothing less than what I expected from a Bioshock game!
  22. Xon
    Jul 19, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite manages to carefully juggle amazing action, immersive atmosphere and great story-telling.

    The gameplay is fluid during intense battles presented with beautiful and crisp graphics. Great care was taken to construct a riveting story that surprisingly dovetails with the first two installments.

    It is definitely a game worth your time and thoroughly enjoyable.
  23. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    This game combines innovative shooter technology and familiar Bioshock game play into a fantastic triple A story that was worth every dollar. Your life is one of regret until you give it a play through.
  24. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely stunning! It's graphics, gameplay and story are top notch. I have not played a better game for a very long time now. A must play for any gamer.
  25. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    As someone who didn't really enjoy the first two games that much, I found Bioshock Infinite to be an incredible experience. It has some strong satire that I found to be shocking and refreshing. The campaign is fairly long, voice acting is excellent, production value is absolutely insane. The PC version runs and looks the best by far.
  26. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    It's Bioshock, but without the amazing writing and atmosphere (still miles ahead of any other game out there atm though). Irrational tried too hard to make Columbia be another Rapture, but fell somewhat short. Having said that, the combat is as fun as in the original game. There are however pacing issues, where you spend more time searching countless containers scrounging for cash than actually shooting stuff; the first couple hours are particularly slow and tedious. There are also far too many long, scripted sequences. This is very unfortunate, as Bioshock had the perfect balance between action and story.

    Graphically, and artistically, the game is very pleasant (I played on ultra settings). One of the disappointing things about the original Bioshock was that you only got a sense of the massiveness of the city in the sub ride at the beginning; the rest of the game was very claustrophobic. Not so in this game, the developers were not shy in constantly showing off Columbia's size and splendor.

    All in all, it's a solid shooter with a good story, and a must for any Bioshock fans. Just don't go in expecting the same epicness of the original and you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  27. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Story is amazing, the setting is just nice. Gameplay lacks of certain aspects. The difficulty is best to play at hard just getting a nice experience but still is little bit too easy. If going to play better from a story aspect than shooter.

    POTENTIAL MINOR SPOILER:
    The ending is some kind of a paradox itself (if you know a lot of physics and science itself you get the idea)
  28. Oct 17, 2013
    5
    This game does average things well and good things bad. Let me explain. The developers have used some clever effects such as lighting to make the average and simple graphics on this game bright shiny and very polished looking. However after several hours an experienced gamer will see the graphics and textures for what they are, simple.
    So after you have finished marvelling at the shiny
    graphics and started playing the game there is no escaping the fact that the game is extremely boring. The very imaginative setting is utterly wasted on a truly uninspiring
    storyline that would have goldilocks screaming about copy write violations.
    But the game is not a RGP it's a shooter I hear you say. Well it is a shooter but a very dull one at that. Let me tell you why. Head shots don't really count!!! Each bad guy has a read bar that needs to be depleted. There are about 2 usable weapons to choose from and every fight is essentially the same. You will always be fighting in a square surrounded by building or in a building which is roughly the same dimensions as the streets. You have 3 different types enemies to kill throughout the whole game.
    The AI is awful.
    This game has some good points but if you are looking for something more this game is not for you.
    Expand
  29. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. Irrational are the best devs out there. I ran into not a single glitch in the 13 hours it took me to play through the game. The story is amazing. The gameplay is amazing. It's the best game of this generation.
  30. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Unos gráficos increíbles (que no realistas) ayudan a sumergirte en una trama aun mejor que disimula un juego bastante lineal en el que la ciudad de Columbia podría haber estado mucho mejor aprovechada. En combate el bueno de Booker se maneja con soltura eligiendo entre unos poderes que son casi calcos de los plásmidos que vimos en el primer juego y una gran variedad de armas.

    La trama
    está narrada casi enteramente por cintas de voz que el jugador va encontrando a medida que explora los escenarios. Lo cierto es que es francamente intrincada y con un final muy confuso pero si has prestado atención a lo largo del juego podrás recomponer en su mayoría el rompecabezas.

    GRAFICOS: 9,5
    SONIDO: 9
    JUABILIDAD:8
    DURACION:8
    Expand
  31. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. I highly recommend taking your time and finding all of the voxophones. Story is beautifully told. If you can play it on the PC then DO SO; it really brings out how beautiful the scenery is and the amount of detail they put in just make you just want to take screenshots and put it as a wallpaper.
  32. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Game of the year! Very interesting gameplay, nice level-design and great, memorable story. Very sad that most negative reviews here is about graphics. 10/10 must have!
  33. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    You beauty!
    For those who say this game is overrated, i suppose you're either new to video gaming or you've had such an overdose of COD that you can't tell the difference between a 'game' and a "STUNNER".
    i am totally blown.
    i am a big movie-buff and have watched 100's of sci-fi movies to judge a sci-fi plot. If this were made into a movie,it would sure as hell break plenty of records.
    The graphics,gameplay and other stuff are great but what what really steals the show is the plot and especially the ending of the game.
    Too bad if you haven't bought it yet coz its worth every penny. If you're not one of those who like to replay the game on higher difficulty settings after beating it once, this game might change you're mind.
    PS: it was the first bioshock that i bought.i haven't played any of the the previous titles on any platform.
    I have so much to say about this game but let's not spoil the surprise for you. Live it yourself.
    Expand
  34. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Probably the most amazing game I have played in the past 10 years every review that has given the game more than 9.5 is true; it really is THAT good. This game is almost like movie in how it is presented story-wise. There is so much depth within it that makes you wonder about the character development like no other game. The characters are so rich and fleshed out that they are like they are living flesh in blood that you care about. The combat is super smooth and, might I say, much better than the first 2 in the series. There is also a ton of customization in how you want to upgrade your vigors and your strengths. All-in-all, this game definitely deserves a 10/10.

    Great job Irrational; great job indeed.
    Expand
  35. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Amazing game; honestly this is probably my favourite game of all time. It's not for everyone; the change in tone from Rapture may irk some, and the game-play isn't the best of all time. For me though, I play games for the art and story, both of which are phenomenal in this game. The design, art, story, and character development (among other elements) take the standard for video games to a whole new level, and it was also nice that Irrational bothered to give the PC version the option of turning the texture quality up to ridiculous levels (it really improves the overall experience, the game is gorgeous on higher settings). Ken Levine is one of the greatest story tellers of our age, not just in video games. 10/10, my only complaint being a lack of multi-player (which I think could have been fantastic with all the different mechanics in the game), but the single player experience was honestly so brilliant, that I can completely live without it. Expand
  36. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This game is a must, unless you're brainwashed player who claims that graphics>everything else. It's really hard to describe what I've felt after finishing this game. No words can describe it. Usually i'm very disappointed by modern game industry. But this game, is something else. You can feel this game. Buy it.
  37. May 11, 2013
    8
    Fantastic story and storytelling and an amazing world however the run and gun gameplay itself is quiet bland, everything is just a sponge. Weapon and armour upgrade system feel awkward and hamfisted (no visual representation of upgrades, c'mon this is a AAA title guys). If you're like me you were always too cautious to actually use Salts due to the randomness of obtaining them.
  38. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is example of what real triple A video game should be. It was done perfect in all sides. Optimization is also awesome. This is Game Of The Year!!!
  39. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    This is by far one of the most beautiful games I have ever played. There's little in this game that you can't enjoy. I spent the first 20-30 minutes of my time in Columbia just walking, literally walking, around and examinging my surrounding. Everything feels so alive, there are so many things going on around you and there are also several things the developers added to the game that you may never see, that I might have not even seen. It's beautiful to know that it you've played through a game without seeing several things on the side that the developers didn't have to put in the game at all. Elizabeth makes the game far more enjoyable and you'll constantly be thanking your lucky stars she's there on the battlefield with you. By the time the game came to an end my mind had been blown. If you enjoyed the surprise twist to the origninal Bioshock game then you're in for a treat. The game ends in the most beautiful way and is easily one of the best game endings I've ever seen. If you're on the fence on whether or not you should buy this game do youself a huge favour and get it. I can't possibly reccomend this enough. Expand
  40. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Phenomenal story telling is at work in Bioshock Infinite. Yes, there are times where the twists and turns can be hard to keep up with but that's the point! It's complexity regarding physics and metaphysics is to be expected. Artistically, I can't say I've seen anything quite like it. The set pieces in the game are very, very well done and looks like painstaking detail went into making many of them. Technically, I would not say bioshock is breaking as many boundaries. It is a standard shooter on some levels. However, with the sky-line, the vigors, etc it becomes more. Overall, you would be hard pressed to find a game like this at all. This game will live on in the pantheon of games with the likes of Half Life forever. Expand
  41. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Never have I thought that a game that has its core built around quantum physics and philosophy would be so perfectly crafted. No cut scenes, 100% immersion, perfect attention to detail, and a story that blew my mind more so than it's predecessor. This... is easily thee best game I've played. Sure, there's the golden oldies that I still love, but Bioshock Infinite has launched a new era of cinematic immersion games. Games that shape the way we ask questions, ponder life, and live in our imaginations. In an ironic twist, it almost makes me wish I never played it, because now I know that every game that's released with money-grabbing intention is just that... pure crap. Expand
  42. Sep 13, 2013
    5
    Sadly not as enjoyable as the first two games, Infinite lacked the subtle story-telling of Bioshock 1+2 and went for a (literal at points) hand-holding approach. Underwhelming and easily forgettable, with forced characters, forced drama, 'threatening' situations are told to you, rather than an actual repercussions possible.

    BioShock Infinite misses the magic of the first two games.
  43. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    I have this message to you low-scorers.

    You come to the FPS genre to be entertained in the FPS fashion. Funnily enough there's a certain limit on how many creative ways to kill someone and I think many of them would be way more overrated than this game. If you buy and play and FPS game and get turned off by the fact that you're actually just shooting people with weapons *gasp* I offer
    this suggestion on rethinking what actual genre and gamestyle you actually enjoy and perhaps refrain from purchasing these.

    So you say it's a generic shooter? Well what isn't a generic shooter? Portal can have kudos for being the outlier here, but the overwhelming majority of FPS games have funnily enough been no more than just a play on shooting the guy before he shoots you. I'm not sure where the style title First Person Shooter misleads people here, you must have been going into this expecting guns and a plentiful serving of foes to spray bullets into, if not then again look for another genre. And on the flipside there's no shortage of games that have become memorable for all of us that put more effort into the atmosphere than the shooting gameplay.

    Story is also a big thing brought up here. First of all if you actually take the time to explore and listen to the tapes things become far clearer. In these games you cannot just walk down the corridor, shoot this guy and the other and suddenly everything makes sense. You have to investigate and find things out for yourself. You are actively part of the story, you're not taking a backseat here watching someone else as you would reading a book or watching a movie. I might also agree that the story was a little convoluted at times but that doesn't mean the game is a complete fat 0. You were never meant to fully understand the movie Inception on just the first viewing and it doesn't deserve a low score just because of this or even if you hated the story altogether, you won't please everybody.

    So please, save those 0 scores for games that truly deserve it, not a game that is innocently using the FPS style as a means of telling a unique story.
    Expand
  44. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    An immersive shooter, with loads of wonderful art, decent graphics and excellent voice acting, taking you through a neat, kinda cool story. There are some not-so-nice features, like the fact that it is hardly challenging except during horrible, unjustified boss fights. And except where you might forget to walk back all level to replenish your ammo before entering the evil tower of doom, because there is suddenly no ammo around there. Odd, given that you would find ammo even in an ice-cream shop. Even so, you should be able to club everything to death.

    Anyway, I got this for 20EUR and at this price, it is absolutely worth it. It is imaginative, fun, the pacing is great, and generally it's a thrilling, part funny, part melancholic rollercoaster to the end. My score reflects my enjoyment of this product at that price. Should you pay 40EUR (or, God forbid, even more), make it 6/10, as the whole game is quite short actually. 12 hrs and you would have done like everything possible.
    Expand
  45. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    There's something magic about this game no doubt about it. I applaud the developers for yet another awesome job for this third game in the series. I can really see the passion and the heart that went into this game. From the voice acting to the character animation to the art style and etc. I don't even know what to say. If you've played the past two games you know there's always some kind of twist in the story. I was expecting this, and predicting all sorts of things like: "this person will betray me," "I am a test subject in an experiment," but boy was I wrong in all of my speculations. The story still managed to blow me away and take me by surprise. Honestly, if this story were turned into a book I'd bet it would become a best selling novel (not that I read a lot of books but hey I know a great story when I hear one). Most people who dislike this game either didn't understand the story, or are just being hipster and hating on the "mainstream" and "overhyped" things. I did not even know this game was "hyped", and honestly, if you take time to listen to all of the dialogue and follow the progression carefully, and reflect on it at the end, you will understand the story just fine (and I checked an online source for clarification too, because the ending was just so incredible and fantastic). And make sure you watch after the credits, because that's the REAL ending of the story.

    Graphics aren't the best in the industry but it more than does the job. If I could describe the environment and the visual aspects of this game in three words: euphoric, breathtaking, and artistic. I notice in these bioshock games, there's something signature about the atmosphere, or mood while you're playing the game. It is unlike any other. Is it the ominous violin music? The 1900s era furnishings? The way people talk? It's all very distinct to me, and it stands out from all the other games.

    In this game you get a female companion, and wow, I have never ever seen a companion AI done so well. No matter where you are, she will interact with the environment and talk to you about things. Her body and facial animation is flawless. I never felt like this while playing a video game before, but I felt like I was talking to a living, breathing human being. She was the farthest thing to one of those companions you get in the fallout or oblivion series, where the guy just follows your every step and spits out lines over and over. This character clearly has a personality, and a likable one too, with a mind of her own. It was almost like this character was being played by another human, the way she led the way wherever I was heading, and the way she wandered and said quirky things. She also is very handy in combat, and most of the time she will throw you ammo, or other items just when you think you need it. This was one of the biggest reasons why I became so engaged into the game.

    The reason I gave this game a 9 instead of a 10 is because I felt the ending was way too rushed. It was brilliant, but I felt that it needed to be slower paced. when the game was over I felt that my mind was raped with too much happening all at once. I had to sit down and think for a few minutes to process what had happened. But also, regretfully, I felt that the ending missed a great opportunity to give closure with great emotional depth like in the previous games. I'm not gonna spoil it for you, but the end of this game didn't make me tear up like in the last two games, and I love it when games can be that powerful. The ending of this game could have had the same emotional impact on me had it included more "drama," but it ends kind of just too abruptly without much emotion in my opinion. Sorry if that classifies as a spoiler for you but it's just what I thought.

    Other than the ending which was a bit emotionally shallow for me, the rest of this game more than makes up for it, and I would definitely recommend it to literally anyone. You do not have to play bioshock 1 and 2 to understand this game.
    Expand
  46. May 1, 2013
    10
    I have never been interested in Bioshock series before. But Bioshock Infinite completely changed my point of wiev. This game is totally awesome. Firstly, I have never seen such a storyy in computer games. After end, I couldn't stop thinking about it and I had to play this game again. Secondly, Elizabeth replace Alyx V. as the most interesting NPC in games. Her emotions is so natural that there is no way to dislike her. And these two things create propably the best game I've ever played! Now I'm getting familiar with previous parts of Bioshock. Expand
  47. Dec 23, 2013
    9
    The best FPS out there at the moment, the story is the best I've ever seen in a shooter, I even think that is better than it's predecesor (Bioshock and the gameplay is great with the addition of the vigors (plasmids for Bioshock and Elizabeth, great character and partner that helps in combat summoning elements like cover, turrets or decoys, also the sky-rails are awesome, the gave the game high speed action moments.
    the only problem I have with this game is that you are retricted to carry only 2 weapons unlike the previous games in wich you could carry all the weapons you found.
    Expand
  48. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This is one of if not the most immersive game i have ever played. You will lose yourself in the brilliant gameplay and amazing mind-bending story that you feel like you are actually a part of it. It's an absolute masterpiece.
  49. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a promised and delivered game that all Bioshock fans have waited the extended dates for. Not only is the gameplay mechanics the best part about this game, the story will drive you to figure out what's going on and what to do. It turns into a simple task of search and rescue into the most mind-blowing chain of events a game has ever created. The soundtrack will make you feel at ease or tense your spine from the hardcore action. It changes from the walking around under the ocean to mid sky battles on the rails. I rather find it interesting what they have done with the game and was worth the hype and money. Not perfect since of some minor bugs in the game, but definitely better than a 7. Give this game a go, and see what the game has to offer. Its beautiful, brilliant, and a must have. Expand
  50. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    this game is just a amazing masterpiece its such a good looking game without being demanding and just plain awesome this game is very fun and life like characters like Elizabeth just make this game the gameplay has not changed too much from the first Bioshock and that's a good thing the game is just perfect the music choice the graphics the story the gameplay the voice acting this is just a masterpiece you see once or twice in a life time Expand
  51. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Let me start by saying that Bioshock Infinite would rather be a much better movie than a game. It setting and story are way beyond average, lits sublime actually....But the awfull gameplay makes it a pain to reach till the end, cause battling all those enemies doesnt contribute anything to the story, and you battle a awfull lot of them, becoming very tedious even in the beggining. A good game in general, with a fascinating story, superb sound and beautiful art style but with terrible gameplay. Expand
  52. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    A game such as this comes once in a generation, and very few times in a lifetime. True Master craft worked with the biggest love and attention, from music to visuals, it was an incredible pleasure. The story in particular is the work of genius, it will have you thinking for days after you've finished it. Never has a game had such an incredible story and characters that can stir some deep emotions inside of you. Thank you Irrational. Unforgettable. Expand
  53. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. Just finish it. My mind was blown away. I dont know what to say. That was... amazing.
    Damn this guys are good. 10 out of 10. For making an art out of shooter.
  54. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. All right. I don't play many fps games recently as most of them are just military games which I have no interest in whatsoever. The only single player fps games I've played in recent 4 years were: MirrorsEdge which I lost interest to at around 3h in, HardReset which i still need to finish, Rage which glitched out on me in later part of the game and lost all my saves so i never bothered to go trough it again, Bioshock1 which shooting mechanics were very poor and never finished it, Portal& Half-Life Series which I actually finished all 4 games and expansions, and in last year I've played a lot of Blacklight and a bit of QuakeLive. Now you know where I'll be coming from, let's move on to the review. The story is basically another version of wizzard of oz. Unfortunately the mature subject matters that it speaks off feel unbaked, and the religion aspect just feel biased. It would be nice if instead of getting an opinionated answers, the game would create a questions and invite us in to conversation outside of the game. The characters were entertaining, thought somewhat inconsistent in their actions, behaving illogical at points. I guess I could just call those moment plot movers. However I did started to care about them in the second part of the game, and they were few moments that did touch me the whole bit in the future in the asylum where you're meeting up with old Elizabeth Elizabeth herself is animated really well, and I would even go as far as to say it's almost pixar quality. Shame that song bird is almost absent. I would have thought judging by early videos that I would have to fight that creature on few occasions, which would be a blast. Its story is also underwhelming.

    The setting is something that is up to personal preferences and taste, but it did resonate with me a lot. I do like that surreal vibe, and to me it feel most visionary part of the game. It's dramatic and full of detail (playing on Ultra). It made me want to continue the game to see what else have the art team prepared. However due to the fact that it was made for consoles, there was no huge outdoors areas like the ones we have seen in the pitch videos, which is a real shame as everything does feel a bit narrow. Only in the final portion of the game you have a little bit of branching paths. The character design is very cool. While the outside areas feel very refreshing, the indoors do look like first game. Thought invisible walls were starting getting irritating after a while. A lot of people say that combat was simple, but I did find it a bit difficult, which maybe due to the controls, which are a bit of a mixed bag. Now, I did tweak them, and got used to them more in the second part of the game, but they did feel somewhat off. The KB layout was pretty weird. And the movement itself has got some issue, like I don't understand why I can reload while running, but why I can't start running while reloading. Also choice of press shift to run instead hold shift to run is beyond me. But the worst offender is the UI. So much for Ken Levin's talk in the interviews that they work hard to make pc version control good. To his credit thought the gun play was much tighter then original BS(but that's not pc specific feature). Guns themselves are not very distinguishable, giving me hard time to differentiate them, but they feel pretty good. I ended up just using arm cannon(or whatever it was called) and rpg, sometimes carabin. Didn't really seam like it matters much which gun i use anyway as long as i stick to short range/long range rule. The battles are pretty good but they really get better in the second portion of the game, in which the game start throwing at you a lot of different types of enemies at once. It did made my heart pumping faster. Also the rails are really cool addition to quickly navigate the environments and I found myself using them more and more with enjoyment. Also, as I mentioned in the beginning of this review, I didn't play much BS1 so for me upgrading was all right in this game. Also loot is everywhere and I know it is made to ocd your exploration, but not sure if it does favor to create better mood. Technically i had not much issues with the game, aside from one game breaking bug in the beginning ot the game at the festival. I love the soundtrack. Imagine industrial music played by string quartet and interpreted as it would be a movie soundtrack. Overall I had a blast with the game, but looking at it from the distance of several days, I can see that the game is slightly unfinished and It is a shame that I feel like console limitation hold it back from achieving the grander scale presented in the pitch videos that it could have had. Game would certainly benefit from more exploration, better variety of weapons, better structured story and character, more objective critique. and better pc controls. Game is really good but It could have been "smarter".
    Expand
  55. Oct 1, 2013
    7
    The graphics are absolutely stunning, controls are just fine, and I did not run into any major bugs. The storyline is also very good, and it is obvious the creators took the time and effort to create a premium game for the premium price it demanded. Problem is, that's where the game falls short it is not worth the premium price because there is no replay value. Extremely linear game play, weak enemies and a short campaign made me want more. This game has been around long enough that the hype has died down considerably, and people have moved on so it is on sale quite often. Buy it then. Expand
  56. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    This game is very charming, and once you get to the end you feel a sense of aw and accomplishment. The story drags you around a lot and you have to think for yourself about what everything means, which is a good thing. This game does not have the charm the original Bioshock has, nor is it as fun, however it is still a rewarding experience. My experience with the game is that the combat is a bit boring in some, not all, situations and that the combat is just filler between plot points. Playstation move was a lot of fun to play with and made combat a bit more interesting. Definitely a game worth playing, however it's fun factor is just a bit lacking. Expand
  57. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a gem. Very few games this generation succeeded in delivering the kind of atmosphere this game provides. Everything is so detailed and the surroundings are spectacular. Booker and Elizabeth have a great chemistry and there relationship grows as the game progresses. The game is about 10-12 hours on the first run but 1999 mode adds replay value. The skyhook gameplay is enthralling and never gets old. It has a story and ending that people will not forget, some might not like it but unlike the Mass Effect 3 ending, this ending makes sense in the Bioshock universe and will explain important questions in the end. Do not let this game get past by you, this is an experience every gamer should try. If this is the direction games are going in terms of story and great atmosphere, thenI cannot wait for what Irrational Games has in store for us. Expand
  58. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    There are so many things I can say about BioShock Infinite. It was the first game I ever beat. This game is also one of the greatest games I have ever played. The entire story is amazing with a great plot and one of the most shocking endings ever. Also the graphics are amazing. At some parts I thought I was watching a movie. But most of all the combat is amazing. Whether its versing killer birds or robots the combats just great. Also the setting of Columbia is very cool. Maybe not as eerie as Rapture but still very cool and actually somewhat eerie. All in all this game is nearly perfect and I say if you're going to buy it go for it. Expand
  59. May 4, 2013
    10
    One of gaming's biggest achievements.Bioshock Infinite is not only one of the best games of this generation but also has one of the best stories told in a gaming history.

    Pros:
    One of the best stories of this generation.
    Great characters,The Elizabeth AI is a perfect.
    Perfect shooting mechanics.
    Great boss fights.
    Superb ending.

    This game no cons,it is totally perfect.
  60. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    BioShock Infinite story is just awsome and it's first for long time that have awsome story but there was something that in the game that was not that good thing at all and that was the immortality.

    Graphics are really good but there was some small areas are bit poorly optimized that made FPS drop a lot even on really small areas that had water somewhere but other then that game runs
    really well on max settings.

    but most best part of game is own AI partner that you don't have keep her alive and you just can forget her and focus killing enemys also AI partner gives HP when your HP is low, she can give you ammo when ammo is low and salt when your salt is low.
    Also she give you money that you can use upgrade weapons, skills and buy ammo.

    The enemy AI is not the best but they give some challenge by haveing high accuracy that keeps you move alot and take cover too and some times enemy AI is just stupid and makeing then bit you easy to kill.

    Now the immortality thing it's a most worst thing in the game tha made it bit too easy because every time you die you spawn in small room but all enemys you killed are dead and when you have own AI partner without she revive you on area where mostly are no enemy near the area where you died.

    Bioshock Infinite is a good game but not perfect but the story is that make this a good game.
    Expand
  61. Vex
    Nov 22, 2013
    7
    I'm feeling somewhat disappointed with this game. It's been hyped up so much that I was expecting something more captivating and unforgettable, and yet I was left with a somewhat mediocre shooter. Don't get me wrong, the story is good (though it starts falling apart a bit in the second half of the game) but the gameplay is extremely linear and there is very little freedom as to what you can do off the beaten path. Also, the first few levels when you initially arrive to Columbia are absolutely amazing, stunningly beautiful and crafted with great skill and precision. Unfortunately this aspect also takes a turn for the worse in the second half and the world starts looking and feeling somewhat mediocre and cheap.

    This is an alright game but definitely not worth $60. Pick it up on a sale instead.
    Expand
  62. Jul 26, 2014
    5
    The games looks okay, until people move and talk. In this day and age I expect models that are a bit less 'wooden'.

    Sound is excellent as is the story. Though I am still not a major fan of Bioshock in general (BS1 was good but not a classic) this was better.

    Despite some available DLC, I did not feel any replay value. But then, I haven't seen Sixth Sense more than once. Games and
    movies with major twists often have this problem though. Expand
  63. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    I decided to write a review even though I didn't have to in the first place. Its just that some idiot by the username AdamC wrote a review so reviling I almost vomited. I don't know whether you're a troll or not but seriously YOU!!! How dare you compare a game like Infinite to a series as cliched and boring like Call of Duty (yep, he's a troll). Anyway, my review goes like this. The gameplay has its good and bad moments. My PC is able to handle the game at high resolution and effects but I still find a slight lag with my mouse. Also, you don't seem to be able to catch a break. It's really plenty of shooting and explosions and your shields going down and round it goes again. The enemies have every poor A.I, they keep rushing at you even though you are armed with a rocket launcher. The replacement for the plasmids in the first two games called Vigors in Infinite are awesome, my fav is the Murder of Crows. However, they can feel underwhelming in certain situations and you really need to figure out when is the best time to use which Vigor. I have seen people on Youtube playthroughs using the wrong Vigors at the wrong times, making the game difficult for them. Plotwise, it IS the best for a game in the past few years (since when games have A-grade plots anyway?). Booker DeWitt is a really cool character and Elizabeth is a godsend (throwing items your way) although she can get annoying at times. Simply, the story is the main reason you should play this game. A lot of people complained about certain parts of the game like the ending being unlikable or difficult to understand and yes, it is true. Took me two playthroughs to figure it out. But, it is a pleaser and the Sky-Lines in the game make the gunfights interesting although very frantic (damn Handymans). The game is also very violent, it IS a shooter after all but I didn't find it distracting. The racism and religion angle wasn't a problem either, I guess its just the moral and religious guardians overreacting again as usual. The game isn't perfect, no game is, but I give it a 10 based on the fact that it is probably the most unique game this year. Bioshock Infinite DOES fall flat in many areas and many of the elements the were promised in the early development of the game did not appear (I won't spoil it). Call yourself a real gamer then play it. Although I would advise you to wait for the price to drop a bit if you're unsure. Still, Bioshock Infinite is something different from the usual crap. Play it unless you want to be a delusional CoD fan like our friend at the beginning. Expand
  64. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece of artistic accomplishment. Bioshock Infinite is the synergy of the greater aspects of video game story telling and exhilarating gameplay, and will be held up as the industry standard for years to come. Columbia is an enthralling and jaw droopingly beautiful city. The game is no technical marvel, but the world's masterful artistic flair demonstrates why art direction wins out over photorealism any day. The plot's twist isn't as immediately shocking as the first game's for reasons I will not disclose, but it is an absolutely fantastic ending that perfectly ties the world's numerous mysteries into a big bow. Be warned, it is incredibly confusing, and even many professional reviewers have resorted to saying that it "makes no sense", but that is simply not true. The game will stay with you far longer than any other game you will play this decade. You will grow to love and care about Elizabeth and this fantastical world she exists in. Bioshock Infinite is a game that should be played by anybody who considers themself a fan of video games. When the medium has matured to the level of literature and film, this game will be pointed to as the beginning of the art form's rise to greatness. Expand
  65. Vel
    Mar 22, 2014
    6
    First, let me say I was a big fan of the first bioshock, and somewhat a fan of the 2nd. This one fell short of what it could be. I'll just list it as a set of pro's and con's, but please, PLEASE don't believe all the hype about this game.
    Pro's:
    -Graphics are pretty good, nothing ground breaking, but up to competing with what's out there.
    -The story was somewhat clever, kind of reminded
    me of dishonored.
    -The gameplay mechanics were very similar to bioshock 1 and 2, which made it easy to get in to

    Cons:
    -The game was relatively short, with almost 0 replayability. While the game gives you some decisions, none of them feel like they mean anything at all.
    -The gameplay becomes VERY repetitive as the game continues. Move to the next area, shoot all the bad guys. Move to the next area, shoot all the bad guys. By the last half of the game, it was more a desire to finish than a desire to play that got me through it.
    -The story did not really flow. While the main plot was interesting, the sideplots and people you meet just felt like filler to point you to the next area full of bad guys.

    Overall, if you can get it for under $10, it's a pretty good game, but trust me, once you beat it, you will never pick it up again.
    Expand
  66. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I loved the first Bioshock. The second was somewhat meh, and so I was very sceptical, yet very excited about this one.
    And boy was I in for a treat. If you loved the story of the first one, and the setting of the previous games, you will be too!
    The combat is fun and challenging, even at lower difficulties. Sometimes it can be a bit chaotic and killbox-y, but it gets the adrenaline
    running, which I truly enjoyed.

    The story is an absolute masterpiece. The characters are believable, and it's hard not to feel sympathetic with both the protagonist and Elizabeth.
    I loved how the story just slowly ramps up in the beginning, time ticking along, and then as you get further into the game, and deeper into the story, it just picks up pace, until in the end it all just comes together and crashes down on you.

    The ending left me shedding a tear, and I would be surprised if I were the only one!
    I can't help but wonder if choices during the game might have made for a different outcome...?
    I suppose only another play-through will tell!
    Expand
  67. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Despite the fact that the 2 first Bioshock games were pretty good, they both pale in comparison to this one. The story is much deeper and one of the best ones I've seen in a while and the gameplay is also more interesting and fun with the new ability to open tears and some new powers that are even more awesome than the ones in previous games.

    If anyone out there has played the first to
    games, but still played this one yet, then they definitely should. Expand
  68. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a triumph for PC gaming. It has great graphics, a highly immersive storyline, an intricate and beautifully designed world, and smooth flowing gameplay. The combat system works really well and leaves me with a smile on my face. I am so pleased with this game, it's a joy to play!

    Your main companion (Elizabeth) has been designed extremely well. She's helpful and
    intelligent and I never once got that feeling of "get out the way, NPC!". She works with you, movement is well programmed and it makes me feel she's really helping rather than hindering.

    The PC implementation is to a high standard. Unreal Engine is looking better than I've seen it before. This is helped by high resolution textures which look absolutely gorgeous. I give out-the-box multi-monitor widescreen support an A+ rating.

    Congratulations to Irrational Games for this masterpiece. Highly Recommended!
    Expand
  69. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Good but extremly overrated game! Story is good, graphics nice too, but other things not so great. Shooting is very poor. Game is too easy so all efforts about weapon and other upgrades is pointless because you can pass easy everything without upgrading anything! Good game, but most overrated this year!
  70. May 24, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome.
    Columbia is so colorful,charming.(I loved the railsliding part the most.)
    The story is great,and i enjoyed the combat as I rarely play FPS games.
    I think the graphics were good,even on very low setting it gave me a feeling.(not counting the cut animations)
  71. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    A visually beautiful game. Not really in terms of cutting edge graphics or zillion polygon character models, but in the conception and execution of a floating city. If I were just rating this game on the ambiance would easily earn an 11 out of 10. The gameplay is solid, but brings nothing new to the genre. Perhaps FPS has reached maturity. The replacement of save slots and quicksaves with autosaves is a bit irritating, but not so much it'd turn you off of the game. My major issue with the game is that it's a bit long-winded, and this was only an issue for me because the plot was unsatisfying. I'm not just trying to say I didn't like the ending, I'm saying it doesn't make sense and because of that left me unfulfilled. Early on some plot devices are revealed that throw up red flags. The same brand of flags JJ Abrams uses so liberally in his narratives. If you can enjoy Lost or Alias, you'll probably be blown away by this game. Expand
  72. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Fantastic, beautiful game that is worthy of being analyzed like a good novel with its criticism of treating capitalism like a religion. Crazy awesome ending too. Elizabeth is one of the greatest companions I have ever had in a video game, and your connection with her gets to be very strong as the game progresses (if you're into it). I just absolutely loved it.

    Comments on critiques of
    the game as being racist: This game is just as racist as Huck Finn, in that, A) racism in 1912 wasn't as big of an issue and B) the setting takes place in a corrupted society, which means their hatred of non-whites is only as valid as Pa's in Mark Twain's novel. The game is only racist if you look at the surface of what the developers are saying. Wonderful game. Game of the year in my opinion. Expand
  73. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    A very polished game with graphically brilliant ideas, and all the stylized old-fashionedness og the prior Bioshock games. However for a person (like me) who can't have their life revolve around computer game, it has a game-breaking flaw: YOU CAN'T SAVE THE GAME. So if you played for 30 minutes since your last auto-save, and you have to leave, then you will have to re-do those 30 minutes next time you start the game. Why this was done, I have no idea if they wanted the game to be "intense because you can't save/reload at will" they could at LEAST add a save-on-exit. For a game at this price level, there is no excuse for this glaring neglection. Expand
  74. JEK
    May 22, 2013
    9
    I like this game. But I've finished the game in just 2 days. It was a good game but it seems like I'm playing dishonored. But IF you compare them, BI has great graphics and lots of useful power to choose from. In Dishonored I love the sneaking and assassin kind of killing. The story of BI is really good unlike of the previous one that's boring. I love the ending...
  75. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played.. Amazing Story great graphics and beautiful characters... The intro of the game is one of the best intros I have ever seen and the moment you see Columbia for the first time you just can't resist staring at it... The characters are all amazing espesially Booker DeWitt with his dark past revealing itself throughout the game.. The graphics are absolutely beautiful with bright colours and amazing facial expressions... Finally something new to the FPS gender.. Expand
  76. May 11, 2014
    10
    This is the first game of the series I have played, and afterwards I feel ashamed I have not played any of them before.
    The game is purely beautiful; the amount of little snippets put into each scene and every little detail is absolutely superb, being supported by its incredible graphics that really show off the creativity of the developers. Not one location seemed insignificant – each
    had its own unique atmosphere – which could not have been improved upon.
    The story is one of the most complex stories I have ever experienced in a game – probably not helping that I had not played either of the previous games – but the sheer scale of the story is its strongest point. There are so many twists and turns throughout the game, all of which still link together and make sense, which often makes you become awe-dropped. A story so complex as this certainly lets me know that the developers truly loved creating it, as its depth and delivery holds up persistently in the game. However, it is a difficult story to figure out – I had to do some external research after completing the game in order to understand it fully – but it is a puzzle I enjoyed learning about.
    Its gameplay becomes marginally repetitive, but with the customization through gear, infusions, vigors and the broad range of weaponry, it holds up very well to ensure players use different tactics for each encounter. Additionally, the animations occasionally clash with the surroundings, but thankfully that is only a rare fault.
    Concluding, ‘Bioshock Infinite’ is a masterpiece of fantasy, a game that truly delivers in story and graphics, making the game an infinite classic.
    92/100
    Expand
  77. May 30, 2014
    8
    As someone who was a big fan of the first two Bioshock games, this game did not let me down. The environment, which in a Bioshock game is also pretty much a character, was stunningly portrayed: the graphics, the ambient sound, the random conversations and music... I did generally find the supporting characters to be less interesting than in previous games, but this was more than made up for by the splendid duo of main characters. The story in which you find yourself is worthy of the Bioshock mantle, though far more bizarre and cryptic than previous titles. Gameplay-wise, it feels familiar enough while still introducing some awesome new features: you still fight your enemies with a combination of powers and weapons, but there are new options for utilizing the environment to your advantage (not to give any spoilers). Definitely a good choice for anyone who likes FPS games, but especially for gamers who love compelling stories. Expand
  78. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    People should support this game to encourage video game developers to make more games like this. It's a true work of art, an touching story about regret, faith and redemption. It perfectly combines striking storytelling, amazing gameplay and a deep story. Furthermore, they made Elizabeth one of my favorite female game characters:) Keep on the good work, Irrational Games!
  79. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite Presents something entirely new but still keeping the same essence. The Gamplay is simple and gripping and it is really fun. The Most amazing thing about the AI is Elizabeth. The way the player interacts with her is really good and handy. The emotion is binds the player with the thoughts of her. At times it may seem that game becomes easy with this assistance but surely it is what makes the game different from others. The Graphics looks astonishingly well although there are some glitches but it is entirely forgivable. The Storytelling and the voice acting were the main thing that made the game distinctive. It was a whole new level of story telling. I thought that it will not live up to expectations but it has. The ending was a bit unexpected and it left me thinking for a while but it is totally justified. Although the violence the game depicts sometimes drags us out from the same emotional narrative it can be overlooked. Expand
  80. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    Bioshock infinite is an great game, but it unfortunately doesn't quite match the original. Ludo-narrative dissonance is very evident in this game ruining the immersion. Each area is just a shooting gallery of copy-pasted baddies that u must slaughter in order to progress. The world of Columbia itself combined with the great and mind bending story is the saving grace of the game.
  81. May 12, 2013
    10
    Didn't care much for Bioshock 1, got bored 30mins in to the 2nd but Bioshock Infinite is my opinion a perfect game! Great story, well crafted characters an amazing twist... just out right enjoyable all around! It's so great to have such a colorful and refreshing experience.
  82. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is a game which you can play dozens of times without getting bored.The graphics are astonishing,the story is well-written and well,where the game truly exceeds is the ending,the combat and of course the voxophones which help you to find out more about the character's motivations.I enjoyed the game and i think that is a really contender for goty,although i wished that the choices you've made during the game to have an impact on the ending. Expand
  83. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game ever made to my taste. After seeing the ending my mind was absolutely blown, both on the story and on how legit the game actually is, even in laws of physics and quantummechanics. I have finished it a month ago now and I am still talking about it and thinking about it, creating memory's where none exist about how things could have happened that are not explained in-game. Expand
  84. May 10, 2013
    10
    A STANK ASS GAME IT STAN|K YO IT SUCKED YO IT SUCKED LIKE DIARRHEA

    Well I can start by saying. It is a very unique and artistic setting. The visuals are great. To be quite honest it isn't as good as the game deserves. I found it to
  85. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    It's impossible to accurately describe what makes Bioshock Infinite the masterpiece that it is. In large part it's due to the storytelling and the characters, but Ken Levine obviously has learned, from his years of game design, how to create a world that feels real, and that sucks you in.

    Colombia is beautiful, but troubled. At first glance, you're walking into a utopia built upon a
    christian jingoist cult and you will be absolutely awestruck by the vistas sprawling out before you. Remember that feeling you got when you started Bioshock 1 for the first time? It's like that, but tenfold. The combat is also excellent, and low-scoring reviewers obviously were more accustomed to run-and-gun COD style gameplay, not realizing that FPS titles existed long before the new franchises that kids have grown up with today, and there is so much more to gaming than l33t no-scope headshots and hiding behind walls. The best way I can think of describing it is a combination of Halo, Half Life 2, Bioshock 1, and perhaps a bit of COD thrown into the mix for iron sights and cover-based shooting moments. Vigors (read: plasmids) work much better in this title than they did in previous Bioshock installments, and have far more uses. If you really want to get the most out of combat in this game, use your vigors creatively, use the sky hook, and use the entire battlefield instead of just one corner. I can't think of another title that let me fire a chaingun at robotic George Washingtons while sliding along a rail, only to jump off and decapitate a machine gunner on the dismount, in one fluid and satisfying motion. I also can't think of another FPS title in recent memory that presents you with enemies that are immune to things like grenades.

    However, while the combat is fun, the real strength of Bioshock Infinite is in it's storytelling and chaaracters. It's difficult if not near impossible to not fall for Elizabeth when you first meet her, the Luteces are perfect companion characters that provide necessary comic relief as well as important exposition, and everything just makes sense the more you play. As with all Bioshock games, there is a twist, but I will not spoil it for you and will not even tell you when to expect it. Suffice to say, the game gets deep and keeps going, and by the end you might have the best kind of headache.

    It might be harsh to say, but the reviews below that are scoring Bioshock Infinite at anything between 0 and 6 simply... didn't understand it, and that's OK. Unfortunately, if the majority of the world disagrees with you, they're not the ones who are wrong. Play it again; get absorbed, get lost in it, get involved in it. It's not "stupid" to invest yourself emotionally in this game. that's the entire point of playing it.

    This is one of those games that you need to seriously devote some thought to. It will twist your brain and test your emotions. The only way it could be called "mediocre" is if you tried to play a game like this like you would play a yearly installment of COD and paid absolutely no attention whatsoever to the environments, characters, storyline, or original gameplay. You don't just grab a gun and go to town on evil nazi zombies, you are defending yourself, and that is what makes all the difference.

    Buy Bioshock Infinite. It's the most satisfying, brilliant, and fresh take on the FPS genre since Half Life 2.
    Expand
  86. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    I've loved the Bioshock series from the start, so I may be biased, but I absolutely LOVED playing through this adventure. Game play, story and visuals merged to create a really epic game that will undoubtedly be talked about positively for years to come. Works of art like this make me confident that the gaming industry as a whole still has hope, I can't recommend this title more highly.
  87. Apr 27, 2013
    7
    I really enjoyed the gameplay but it wasn't all that different from the other Bioshock games other than the added regeneration shield making it rather easy in comparison to its predecessor and restricted to two weapons. The story was very interesting in the beginning with its take on American History dealing with themes like racism and equality and a unexpected ending that either leave you confused or shocked. However, the story felt rather flat half way into the story picking up towards the end. Its is different from the previous game as its is more linear with the morale choices you make throughout the game having very little impact on the story. Most of the character were kinda dull other than Elizabeth and felt over the top at times. The setting is a fresh start for the series and the art direction they took. I would have given it a higher score if it wasn't as linear but I understand the direction they took when they made this game. Expand
  88. May 20, 2013
    10
    very very bland game, not until the very end did anything interesting begin to happen. another thing wrong with this game is that the boys of silence were too scary.
  89. Jul 14, 2013
    8
    For this review, I rounded up from my 7.5 score. Bioshock Infinite is a fun game and experience, but it is not without its flaws, being substantially overrated and over-hyped. The shooting mechanics are fun, as well as the items you use to incapacitate enemies. There are better shooters out there, but to be completely fair most of them are lacking in any real story or plot, and the focus of the developers was pure gameplay mechanics. The AI of Elizabeth is groundbreaking and really helps me to feel a connection with the person I'm escorting, but it's still not perfect and I will occasionally find immersion broken by her running in front of enemies that should be able to see her.

    The pacing of the game is where the score takes a hit. The first few hours, albeit slow, flow smoothly and draw me into this new world. My inner adventurer is extremely pleased by it. The next 80% of the game is combat, combat, combat. It's unbelievable how many soldiers you have to fight against when the combat starts. This is an isolated city in the sky, it shouldn't feel like a spawn camp for infinite soldiers. Too many games these days will pad out areas with unnecessary combat against hordes of enemies you would never realistically encounter.

    I also have my issues with the ending of the game and plot holes, but seeing as that is personal preference, I will leave them out of this review.
    Expand
  90. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Grab a soda before you start because you will not want to get up once you begin. This has the most beautiful intro in game history. The lighting and movement is top notch. The variety of enemies though leave some to be desired. Also this is a linear game. It hides this with much predetermined commentary with Elisabeth your pseudo-disney girl in distress. Have an open mind with the story and you will enjoy it much better. This storyline starts with a bang and then jumps around more often than you can count. I would of liked more weapons, the vigors (spells) were plentiful though and got more interesting as the game went on. Overall this game is a go, as in go out and buy it this is better than anything that has come out since Skyrim and is worthy of your time. Expand
  91. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I'm just going to go ahead and say this. This game is incredible. Easily a more than worthy contender for GOTY and one of the greatest games of this generation. It easily deserves the hype and praise it's been getting. Also, don't pay attention to the negative reviews. They are either just trolls or they can't tell the difference between a bad game, and a game that isn't in tune with their personal taste. Expand
  92. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    THE ENDING OH GOD IT HURTS MY BRAIN!
    The game was awesome but just the ending.
    What were they thinking it makes no sense.
    Also the twins make no sense
  93. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    good game
    but i agree with the low score from some guys is overrated
  94. May 20, 2014
    7
    I am not someone who writes reviews after only playing a hour and then trashes or praises a game. After playing bioshock infinite all the way through and having played the first two games all the way through, I have to say while this game is good it's not as great as many critics make it to be. Is the game pretty? Yes. It makes good use of high end hardware for those who have powerful systems. For a world that looks so gorgeous and seems so open, it's very on the rail, as they say. Speaking of being on the rail, there's no real choices in the game. The first two games had choices and consequence for those choices. You had to choose whether to save the little Sisters and only take enough Adam (in game energy) or harvest them and end their existence, but getting more precious Adam in return. You also had choices whether to spare or kill certain characters (some of which were real scum bags). Every choice had a consequence and depending on your choices your story may have a different ending. I used to wrestle with the choices made as I wanted a certain ending but also because I thought about what kind of protagonist I wanted to be. This game? Nothing. Not only are there little choice in this game but even if you make a choice it makes no difference because there's no consequence. You can kill anyone and it doesn't matter. Is that the message we send in games and entertainment? That choices have no consequence? It's also ironic as one of the games themes is redemption for the main protagonist. At it's core, this game is a solid shooter but the AI is dumb on Normal difficulty. If I got killed it was due to sheer numbers or an unbalanced damage system. Vigors for the most part were useless except Possession, Devils Kiss and Shock jockey. I ended up just getting a sniper rifle and sniping most enemies from a distance with headshots. So like playing Call of Duty in a prettier world. Not to give anything away, but the ending willing probably piss most people off and have you saying WTF. I walked away scratching my head, but after reading an explanation online it made a little more sense. The thing that pissed me off most was again no choice even when you finally face the games nemesis, Comstock. No boss fight leading up to the confrontation and no final boss fight, just an onslaught of enemies who come at you in waves. Just seemed lazily done at the end and was a big letdown for me, personally. Especially for a game series that in the past has stood out in the FPS genre as always having a strong story and solid single player campaign. I wanted to keep playing just to see what happened, but unlock the second game where I took the punishment of cheap kills due to unbalanced play as it had a great story, this one began to feel like a chore. Bottom line? This game is pretty and has lots of polish, but underneath the veneer is a hollow experience that left me wanting more. Play the original game and maybe check out the second as it still was pretty good. Wait until this goes on a Steam sale if you still haven't played this yet. Expand
  95. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    art is fantastic
    environments are good but repetitive
    graphics very good
    graphic engine perfect
    sound is normal
    but the gameplay is boring...upgrades almost good for nothing
    very repetitive
    enemies quite repetitive ....
    the places where we are the same or very similar ...
    the history is ok.....not the best bioshock game...trust me...is overrated
  96. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    I sincerely hope other creators take a cue from the Bioshock games; games should be a journey where you feel part of the story rather than just experiencing it. Bioshock Infinite It offers fantastic, exciting, and seriously difficult gameplay alongside immersive & emotional story telling. Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece in every sense of the term. Do yourself a favor and go along with this journey. Expand
  97. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is an amazing game. However there are some points that bring the game down from "flawless" or "masterwork".
    Pros: Amazing Lighting Graphics, Great story-line (especially the ending), Vigora are awesome (IMO), Unique Setting Beautiful world, Top-notch voice acting, Elizabeth...
    Cons: Combat gets Repetitive, Some textures aren't great (but that won't be a big deal)
    But
    that won't bring Infinite down a whole score (of course decimals). So my overall score is 9.8/10. Expand
  98. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite not only lives up to the series name, but surpasses it! Unlike the first two games, where Rapture was already in ruins when you got there and all the inhabitants (with very few exceptions) are psychotic, genetically enhanced, murderers, Columbia in Infinite is a living, breathing world, where many of the inhabitants are non-combatant, and others will only attack if you perform certain actions. Playing on the skylines was a lot cooler than I expected, I spent a lot of time just whipping around buildings playing around. Elisabeth is probably the least useless AI partner in any video game ever, you never have to worry about her in a fight, her powers can help you in a fight, and sometimes she'll toss you ammo or mana or health when you need it. Combat is fast and brutal, as should be expected in a Bioshock game. The storyline is pretty damn amazing, though the very last piece of ending felt kind of like a cheat. I honestly liked it all the way up until the very last scene. That doesn't hurt the overall game though, had a blast, will enjoy the DLC as it comes out. Expand
  99. Apr 29, 2013
    6
    Good enough. It looked beautiful but the vigors were never really needed. I only started using possession towards the end.

    It just never really did it the same way that Bioshock 1 did. I think the main problem was that they loved the creative side too much and then failed to focus on the details of the fighting mechanics.

    Ultimately all the vigors were pretty wasted on me because i
    didn't need them and that sums up a lot of the combat. I didn't really need to think just empty the machine gun into anything that moved.

    Pet quibbles Using frames seemed like a deus ex machina effort. And how come people just carried these huge boxes that they left around when they died and why did the sniper have loads of machine gun and pistol ammo on him.....

    Won't replay
    Expand
  100. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite delivers on every level- the gameplay is fantastic, the story is great, and the customization of your character is great. While your weapon options are limited, that presents you with seemingly more options, as you have to prepare yourself for what you expect to be coming up, and you adapt your weapon choice to your playstyle. Additionally, the powers you get add to the whole spectacle. While it's storyline isn't as terrible ground-breaking as some reviews make it out to be, it's an enjoyable one anyways. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 92
    Play BSI slowly, relish the moments and don’t rush to the end. It’s certain that you will have lived one of the richest gaming experiences that, as far as narration, lyricism and story are concerned, will take a lot of time to forget! [May 2013]
  2. May 7, 2013
    85
    A very solid, but not revolutionary shooter in an amazing setting, with a story that struggles to convey its authors’ ambitions and is only seemingly complex. The vision is less focused than in previous Bioshocks and it does a worse job on binding the plot with gameplay. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.46]
  3. May 1, 2013
    80
    Problematic plotting and excessive amounts of poorly balanced combat apply friction to what is otherwise one hell of a rollercoaster. [May 2013, p.80]