User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5938 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Would you kindly play this game? This by far is one of my favorite games of the past 5 years of gaming. When I walked out of that capsule and those lit candles with the soothing music behind it I knew this game was going somewhere. This is art this is what this generations needed for a ending of this generation consoles. I can now say this is added to the list of great games made by a genius company. Great job irrational games. Every bit was worth playing this game. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    BioShock Infinite is a reinforcement of drugs such as degenerating into the world of gaming. What a wonderful world of storytelling rest on coercion scripts.Striking narrative or cinematic QTE scenes to make the story does not need an elaborate construction.This game is a masterpiece, a masterpiece
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Absolutly outstanding game, this is a new benchmark for game developers to strive for... have no hesitation if you are considering wether or not to buy this game... this is pure art expressed masterfully
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    While this game is short, I feel that if it was longer it would have detracted from the experience. If you do not play this game, then at least watch a friend play it. This is an amazing game beyond what I expected from any game in 2013. The only problem I see is that games now have to live up to this standard.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Best game for last 5 years. Good Music, good and beauty graphics, perfect gameplay and amazing story with best ending i've seen ever! 10/10. And i think, I found my love. Elizabeth
  7. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutley stellar. The graphics are fantastic(they are not photorealistic, they are highly stylized). The gameplay is spot on. You are always finding new abilities and new ways of doing things. Lots of action. If you like bioshock, heck if you love video games get this! The only thing I would say that is apparant in some negative reviews is that if you are a HARDCORE shooter fan that only enjoys photorealistic graphics and games that are similar to call of duty then this may not be for you. It isnt the most serious shooter in the world. But if you play things other than call of duty then get this! you wont be dissapointed. Looks amazing on a good gaming pc! Easily one of the best games of 2013! Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The BioShock franchise and the team in Boston redefine gaming once again with BioShock Infinite. The original game was a masterpiece upon release, it still aged very gracefully.. I know this more appropriately now because I just slammed my way through both BS1 and BS2 before tonight's midnight launch. And no, I have not finished Bioshock Infinite. However, I am going to review this game based on my 5 hours of gameplay... why? you may ask? Because the first 2 HOURS of gameplay were more enjoyable than the entire BioShock series. It sucks you in, immediately, and never let's go. If you bought this game on launch for $60 give yourself a pat on the back. You truly made a strong purchasing decision that just helped the gaming industry as a whole. This game just paved the way for what we expect in our next gen titles! Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Cool graphic design and perfect soundtrack. Love it very much. Action is very dynamic and the story is interesting so far. A graphics itself feels kinda old, but light effects are awesome, so i don't have any complaints. It's a little bit laggy on ultra 1080p on my GTX 560, but i hope they'll fix it later.
  10. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Simply AMAZING. I can't get enough of this game. It's perfection. Or near perfection at least. It's so beautiful, clever and fun. Stunning job from the guys over at Irrational. Good job!
  11. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Every once in a while a game comes out that blows your socks off. This game goes above in beyond in all areas. Superior story telling, combat, atmosphere, music. You feel immersed in the world and unable to quit playing. The details in the areas show the care given by the development team. This game was not rushed and will serve as proof to what games can accomplish. This game accomplishes what Half-Life did for its time period. I think Ken Levine said it best when referred to games as a better medium than movies and books because you pilot them. You get to participate and experience them. This is nothing short of a masterpiece and should be purchased by everyone. Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    An absolutely beautiful game. The graphics are stunning, and the overall mood of the game is fantastic. Also the music changes dynamicly if your in battle, and it makes the battles very intense. The levels are full of secrets, locked doors and collectibles. The world is very beautiful. I often find myself just exploring the world outside of where I'm supposed to go, because it's so beautiful. It also helps that I always find secrets when exploring. Fantastic game! Expand
  13. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is more than just a great game, it is a great work of art. The game is executed in a way that only can be done through video games. If this were a movie it wouldn't work. This is the game that may bring respect to videogames as an art form.
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I had doubts before preordering the game, but I gave it a shot, since I loved the bioshock games from the past, and I always liked the atmosphere which is unique to this game, no game has this kind of graphics, and sounds, and environment.
    The gameplay, as always, fun to play, and not to easy, but possible, (not like those games that you die a thousand times to move on).
    In addition to
    that, you have a unique companion, that aids you in many ways, Elizabeth will through you a coin she found, or a shotgun when you are out of ammo, also, her character is something I never saw, she moves along with you, not after you, she interacts with the world, like it was real, she would tell you her opinion or just go around and look.

    If you love singleplayer games, and are looking for something fresh that no other game can offer, give this a shot, you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. You have to love a game that is built not to please everyone, or to appeal to the biggest demographic of the lowest common denominator. Bioware Infinite is about a development team trying to realise their creative vision. This is a very fun shooter, but by no means is it the kind of shooter that is going to inspire thousands of hours of shooting.
  16. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I liked the original Bioshock games but wasn't a huge huge fan of them like some people. I wasn't super hyped for this game (no unrealistic explanations of "OMG GUYS, this is going to be the best game ever!!") but I was definitely excited. Just finished this morning after staying up all night and wow. Wow, was it worth it.

    Very unique gameplay. Incredible sound design (there is
    something that just draws you in about the sound: all of it is very realistic and well done), great setting, great characters, great story. One of the first games that I've felt was actually worth its initial box price in a long, long time. Expand
  17. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game sets a new bar for the fps genre, it reuses the unique formula of the previous bioshock games and implemented it well. And I'm glad Irrational games and the crew took the time to polish the game. This game is a great experiences and it is possibly one of the stronger contestants for Game of the year.
  18. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Normally I would never give a game 10/10, but Bioshock Infinite ticks all the boxes. Just like the first game did. Infinite has exciting gameplay, with various ways to approach encounters. You have Elizabeth there to help. She gives you ammo, salt and health when you need it. She can also open rips in the world to give you the edge in combat. The graphics are amazing, mixed with excellent use of lighting and sound. the world is truly amazing. I love the way that it is specifically a different experience to the previous games. There you are stuck in Rapture, a claustrophobic, dark and broken city. Here we have a huge open beaming world, with light. It's still terribly evil though All that aside this game is absolutely amazing and If a game is better than this in the next 2 years I will be very surprised. GOTY for sure. Expand
  19. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. It deliveres everything that other shooters do not. 1. An amazing Story which i will not spoil. 2. Amazing graphics that fit the atmosphere perfectly. 3. NO BUGS SO FAR!!! Never thought the day would come when i would play a game on release without any bugs. 4. Superb gameplay: amazing levels, weapons, means of transportation so on and so on. I could go on but i desperately want to continue playing. And 2k was nice enough to give me Bioshock 1 and xcom: enemy unknown for FREE!!!!! Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I am going to keep this short. OMFG. Bioshock 1 was my favorite game of all time and this is surpassed it and I am only half way done. Enough said. Go buy and support this amazing game. These is the kind of games that keeps me playing. I am 28 years old and I have not felt this strong about a game since the first Bioshock. Go buy this now. If you do not you will do yourself the biggest disservice to your gaming. This is why I game. And this is why I am a gamer. MASTERPIECE. Expand
  21. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is fantastic. The awe never stops, from the moment you launch the game, til the moment you complete it. This is by far the best FPS ever made. I don't see how anyone could hate this game or dislike it. I don't believe it to be possible. I didn't buy into any hype, but even with all the hype around the game, it will still blow you away. Words cannot express this game. It has to be played. Of course on PC it has way better visuals, but I wouldn't let that deter console players. It would be an injustice to yourself not to experience this game. Expand
  22. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    I have been a gamer for 20 years. This is my first review. Nothing is perfect. If everything was a 10 there would be no need for new games at all... I’m giving this a 10 because there are some reviewers giving it less than 9.5 and I need to make up for that. Likely they’re blinded by their own genre and gameplay tastes, which Bioshock Infinite may not perfectly align with. Look past that and see a work of stunning beauty.

    It is a compelling, wildly creative story that draws you in from its first moments. Anyone who says they saw the end coming is lying to themselves. They might have wondered but they didn’t KNOW.

    Play the game and enjoy everything that games can be
    Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I almost never play games twice. However, upon finishing Bioshock Infinite, I rebooted and started again straight away. The characters, setting and plot are fantastic. The combat is interesting and tight, though I agree with others who suggest there might have been a bit too much of it. The sound track is outstanding I want to buy it.

    I know I'm gushing, but I think this is my
    favourite game ever. It's plot and characters are as good as, or better, than any film or book I've seen or read. To an extent, I feel like this is a new level of story-telling in gaming. Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    "The lord judges, I act."
    This is a spoiler free review. I won't touch the story-line it's epic and I'll end it at that.
    I'm loving Infinite so far. But as a long time BioShock fan I must say the graphics are mildly disappointing. Especially if you lurk around in every corner of the game. The flowers, the fruits, walls etc. just look like they were rushed up during development. That's
    the only part which is bad about the game.
    The guns, they are so well balanced. For every different heavy hitter you WILLL need a different technique. I found out that the hard way, haha! The Vigor combos and Vigor Gun damage combos are epic. The Vigor themselves don't feel OP so you'll constantly have to use different ones at different times.
    I played the Industrial revolution, and well I personally feel that the rewards, specially the early 500$ you get from completing IR will give you an edge early on as you can quickly buy health kits, salt and ammo. But that's ok.
    Music is just mind blowing. Literally mind blowing.
    Elizabeth and here gossips are epic. Don't consider here a fancy-dandy superwomen without brains, she's bloody smart, and helps a lot.
    Still think they could have done the game graphically a bit much better.
    Anyhow that probably shouldn't keep me from giving BS: Infinite a 10/10.
    Also, any idiot voting 0s or 1s is probably trolling around without having actually played the game.
    Expand
  25. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Occasionally, a game comes along that truly takes my breath away. Like my first runs through Half-Life 2, BioShock, and Fallout 3, I was at a loss for words from start to end with BioShock Infinite. Let me start this review with the only negative I can possibly attempt to give it- the middle is slightly blurry with a couple of quick transitions that only make sense after you have completed the game. However, the combat during that time completely makes up for it. I really want to keep this review short, so I'll get straight to the point. 1. Buy this game. 2. The atmosphere, combat, story, visuals, characters, and much more, combine together to make one of the most enjoyable fictional (beyond just video games) experiences I have ever encountered. Expand
  26. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    the most awesome shooter i've played since Half-Life 2. I enjoyed every minute of this game...
    Great story, great art design, great characters, great ending.

    Game of the year 2013
  27. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Now, I've played all the Bioshocks and beaten them. This is the best one. With more freedom than previous titles, I cant find anything wrong with this game. Aside from all the obvious ones, graphics are awesome, gameplay is phenominal, the music and environments are 2nd to none. The game is very immersive. I catch myself getting tense sometimes and I'm like "Wow, its been a while for that!"
  28. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    This is great stuff. Imaginative. Creative. Textures tend to be muddled, but the art direction is inspired and beautiful. Ditto for the sound design; the Beach Boy's "God Only Knows" is turned into a haunting, Sinatra-esque mantra. Absolutely fun. Absolutely worth the simoleons, imo. Ken Levine is a blessed genius. This game does not exploit multiplayer, which is a minus in my book. A game this great should have comparably singular multiplayer. Still, worthy, and quite the experience. Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    A true work of art, Kev Levine's background in drama shines through and takes you on an incredible journey. I did not think they could top the atmosphere and story of the first game but they've succeeded and in many ways surpassed. Anyone who gives this game a negative review likely hails from the "CoD era" of shooters, unable to appreciate this game for what it is. No it does not have the polished combat of some games but it does not need it. This is not something to be rushed through in as short as you can, you must be willing to sit back and explore, listen to the diaries, learn the history and indulge into the story. Only then will you see how perfect this game is. Expand
  30. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite, when announced, left me sadly skeptical about how well it could live up to the prior game's, more specifically of course the first Bioshock. upon starting this game for this first time I was astounded by the visuals, everything is absolutely beautiful. beyond the fact that they have removed hacking from the game, which left me quite sad. The vigors are unusual and even when theyre similar to those found in Bioshock 1 and 2 they differ in key ways. everything about this game is enjoyable and original Bioshock customers should love this as much as the first. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. 92
    Play BSI slowly, relish the moments and don’t rush to the end. It’s certain that you will have lived one of the richest gaming experiences that, as far as narration, lyricism and story are concerned, will take a lot of time to forget! [May 2013]
  2. May 7, 2013
    85
    A very solid, but not revolutionary shooter in an amazing setting, with a story that struggles to convey its authors’ ambitions and is only seemingly complex. The vision is less focused than in previous Bioshocks and it does a worse job on binding the plot with gameplay. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.46]
  3. May 1, 2013
    80
    Problematic plotting and excessive amounts of poorly balanced combat apply friction to what is otherwise one hell of a rollercoaster. [May 2013, p.80]