BioShock Infinite PC

BioShock Infinite Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 27, 2015
    10
    With it's heavy themes, impressive visuals, great soundtrack, fluid gameplay, and compelling story, Bioshock Infinite is one of the bestWith it's heavy themes, impressive visuals, great soundtrack, fluid gameplay, and compelling story, Bioshock Infinite is one of the best single player experiences i've had. The level and art design for this game are top-notch and give a completely new visual and gameplay experience for each environment. The sub-antagonist songbird adds an even more threatening atmosphere to the already twisted world of Columbia. The songbird's steampunk metal body backed up with its haunting shrieks and cries create one of the most compelling and terrifying enemies in a videogame. With the game's haunting atmosphere and great storytelling, you are left with an unforgettable gem in single-player FPS. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This game is just one thing: An AWESOME MASTERPIECE! Best FPS I played so far, and yes, i'm playing video games since the mid '80s! NothingThis game is just one thing: An AWESOME MASTERPIECE! Best FPS I played so far, and yes, i'm playing video games since the mid '80s! Nothing more to say, just play it! Totally worth the Money! Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  4. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    What can I say about this game that hasn't already been said? Amazing game. The story is original, complex, well told, and rarely dull. TheWhat can I say about this game that hasn't already been said? Amazing game. The story is original, complex, well told, and rarely dull. The gameplay is fun and addictive. The two central characters are very well fleshed out. I am pleased to say that, in Bioshock Infinite, Elizabeth is useful and you really start to care for her. I was worried about having to play with an NPC for 80% of the game, but looking back I really think Elizabeth only enriched the gaming experience. I only have one, tiny nit-pick about the game: the two weapon limit. The limit is more realistic and makes the game more challenging, BUT I found that at times I was using the same weapons over and over. Still, this is a minor complaint because the moment you finish Infinite, you will want to start a new game and use different weapons, different tactics, etc. Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    I've been anticipating Bioshock Infinite for quite some time. I have to say that it didn't disappoint me in the slightest. I've been readingI've been anticipating Bioshock Infinite for quite some time. I have to say that it didn't disappoint me in the slightest. I've been reading through most of the negative reviews here and a lot of them are pretty poorly written. I'll try my best to address some of the main points that were commonly brought up in them in my review here. To start, this game looks beautiful. Does it use lots of bloom and god rays and volumetric lighting? Yes. Does this get in the way? No. Are there minor graphical issues occasionally? Yes. Bioshock Infinite isn't meant to have to-of-the-line graphics. It seems like peoples' standards for graphics are ridiculously high after having seen games like Crysis 3. People expect every single texture to have crisp definition and for the game to run on any machine. Bioshock Infinite has a very refined visual style, and the guys at Irrational Games did an amazing job at budgeting the graphics for the most optimal balance between performance and visuals to accommodate the game's art direction. It's superb. Anyone who doesn't really understand graphics won't know that this game looks amazing. Yes it has graphical issues here and there, but every game has that. Nothing is perfect. People have also been complaining about linearity, and seem to be expecting games to always have moral choices that affect the ending ever since games like Mass Effect came out. Sure, Bioshock 1 and 2 had these things, but the different endings were honestly really weak and uninspired. Infinite has a mind-blowingly bizarre and AWESOME single ending to it. I promise anyone who plays this game that they won't see it coming. Infinite has a few "choices" you can make, but they don't really change anything to be honest, and the ending kind of explains why, actually. Gameplay is what you'd expect. I really didn't like the fact that they limit you to two weapons. I love old school shooters much more, so being able to carry 8 or 10 weapons at all times is something I love, but it wasn't enough to make me hate the game or anything. The Vigors (basically plasmids) are pretty damn awesome though. Much more "inventive" than the plasmids from Bioshock 1 and 2. I would have liked to see more big battles involving sky rails, as that was easily my favorite gameplay feature. There's only 3 or 4 really enjoyable battles where you can ride sky lines and drop-attack enemies. Firefights that take place exclusively on ground tend to be a bit boring and tedious after you experience the vertical elements of the environment. They did a good job in pacing you though. There are lengthy segments where you just explore the world without having to fire your gun. In fact your character sort of holsters his weapon during these parts. The first two games were a bit different since the environment was mainly tunnels connecting large rooms. They used AI that would randomly wander around the environment and attack you on sight (except for Big Daddies), so you were getting in to fights more frequently than in Infinite. However, Infinite's environments were sprawling towns with alleys and courtyards and boardwalks that all sort of interconnect with each other, so Irrational had to compensate by scripting battles more often. The good thing is, these battles tend to be MUCH larger in scale. The drawback to this method is that everything feels more scripted in general, whereas the first two games were much more organic when it came to unimportant fights. I personally don't see this as a major issue since Infinite wasn't supposed to be just like the other two games. The brand new setting (which I prefer over Rapture; though I still LOVE Rapture) was only one of the major differences to the game. Regarding the guns, there are upgrades, but they're strictly statistical upgrades. Since you're limited to two weapons at a time, having upgrades modify your weapon's look would be a bit odd since you'd be dropping guns all the time. I really don't understand why they decided to go the two weapons only route. I guess it was to be able to make the vigor system more feasible. In Bioshock 2, you always duel wielded a plasmid and gun, but the system was really wonky and nobody liked it at all. Infinite uses the same essential system, but it's vastly improved on so it's easy to use. I guess limiting how many weapons you can carry was part of fixing the issue...though it was honestly not worth it. Again, not enough to ruin the game, but definitely a downside for me. Lastly, people crying over the slavery theme need to realize that the setting of Columbia was meant to be like Colonial America. During those times, racism was normal. When you combine those ideals with an extreme antagonist, of course it's going to be a prominent theme in the story. Hell, at one point in the game, you enter a building where they worship John Wilkes Booth and portray Abraham Lincoln as a devil. If you don't understand the significance of that, brush up on your US History. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Bioshock Infinite definitely has its flaws. It's extremely linear, poor enemy AI, a seeming infinite amount of supplies and money fromBioshock Infinite definitely has its flaws. It's extremely linear, poor enemy AI, a seeming infinite amount of supplies and money from Elizabeth, enemies not very challenging (even on hard), and the game holds your hand the entire way through, it's too short, upgrades are virtually worthless, the waves of enemies & violence really detract from the violence, and there are numerous questions that are never addressed. However the game is so well done in terms of narrative and art that it really pulls you in, the characters are wonderfully scripted and the way Elizabeth runs ahead of you and makes these little comments made me impressed. The ending, of course, is also crazy.

    The game is good, but not the best of a decade like I've seen it been called. Definitely over-hyped and not worth the 95 metacritic score. Though, it could be as others suggested, it's just the best out of recently mediocre releases.
    Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2016
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start off with saying, this game was exceptionally cool. At least until *spoilers ahead* you beat the game. The entire experience of the game is rendered irrelevant, as the girl you escort through the entire game could have gone back in time using her powers decides that the universe could do without you, and for some reason you agree, and she straight up murders you with infinite copies of herself. And you allow her! You don't even fight back at all as they all drown you. Any moral choice you make in this game makes no damn difference in the ending at all. Nothing you find or do will change the out come. She will go nuts. You will give up on life. You will be killed. Screw this game, and I hope the guy who wrote the story never gets a job in a creative business ever again. Clearly all he or she is capable is flipping burgers. Expand

See all 1537 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.