Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5922 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    BioShock Infinite was a beautiful game with great story telling and the end blew me away I had sit there thinking about it for about an hour until I finally gave up and googled it.this is a must buy it is probably my 3rd favourite game of all time.the gameplay was fun and fluid,this has really brought back what fps have become with things like cod and medal of honour ruining my love of them anyway haters gonna hate but don't listen to them go and buy this game right now I mean it! Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    There are certain games that live up to their hype, Bioshock being one of them. Far from the confined and cold halls of rapture we move to Columbia. A beautiful city in the sky, with busy streets and always things going on. Not many games draw you in completely but this one succeeds. Without going in to to much more detail the only thing i can conclude on is if you are a gamer you must play this game Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a beautiful game that is able to pack so much information into a small amount of time. The game based in 1912 which is a time that many people forget about because it is an era that is overlooked by the "Roaring 20s" followed by the Great Depression. Infinite shows the concepts of the hatred of immigrants and the most obvious racism towards the Irish, Welsh, and all colored people. The hated group are on Columbia strictly for labor work and there is even stock for the immigrants that are lazy or refuse to work show throughout the game. Colored workers are also shown how they are afraid of the "white man" in two instances I remember when the colored worker apologizes to the non-racist Booker for smoking and a worker cursing the "white man" for his work and immediately when he acknowledged Booker he asks if he needs anything. The game shows the blinded patriotism towards the founding fathers who are considered Gods and do not recognize the bad sides of the fathers in Columbia. When playing this game I URGE YOU NOT TO RECOGNIZE THIS AS A SEQUEL TO EITHER OF THE BIOSHOCKS. Although Bioshock 1 is the makers of this game and hardly any of the creators worked on Bioshock 2. This game is hardly a sequel but a completely different game. However the game captures the key elements I consider the Bioshock franchise to be.
    1. A place made to be a utopia which collapses to be a dystopia with many people in denial.
    2. plasmids(vigors)
    3. No cutscenes and the story comes together via in games material

    Though Infinite contains my characteristics to be considered a Bioshock game, the game lacks a certain eeriness the other games contains (maybe because it is not underwater and the sun is out) there is much more gun play and less plasmid(vigor) use in the game and it feels like it is much more spamming of weapons and scrounging for ammo than the past games. The use of shields is something that I disliked and the fact that whenever you are low Elizabeth magically gives you what you need. I may be biased but I feel like this game would have succeed much more to me if it was apart from the game series and became its own game and title. The game is amazing but doesn't have the elements to me that the other Bioshock game had to me as a player. That is why I am giving the game a 9 instead of a perfect 10. However this game is a great game and if you are a gamer who enjoys a good story line without simply bulldozing through it. It is a must play. If you only like shooting and couldn't care less about story go back to Call Of Duty or something you don't deserve to be called a gamer if you only play one game........

    tl;dr.... Game is exceptional however only contains the basic core elements I consider in a Bioshock game. Which is the reason for the 9 and not a 10.
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    9
    BioShock is an awesome game that most people should have already known about. It might not feature Big Daddy like usual (Well, at least where i'm up to) but it is a must play for all shooter fans. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    New Bioshock is a good game, that's for sure but it's WORSE than Bioshock 1 and 2. How can I explain this. I just loved The Rapture. Infinite isn't the same. I think it shouldn't be even called as "Bioshock game". It's just a good FPS. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    Eu realmente não entendo por que as pessoas estão tão sobrecarregadas por este jogo. Vamos ver a primeira coisa gráficos, Bem, isso um ardil tão inteligente, tudo o que flor, nevoeiro e eixos de luz estão bem colocados para cobrir modelos pobres e texturas em geral (e eu não sou uma pessoa que elogiar gráficos, mas isso simplesmente não podia ser ignorado). A próxima coisa zonas de colisão horríveis, num primeiro momento, não foi um grande negócio, mas tornou-se cada vez mais chato. Também a dificuldade muito baixo eu não posso nem imaginar como fácil o jogo poderia começar em dificuldades mais baixas. História e os personagens são misturar de vários clichés com vários altos e baixos e para ajudante vez finalmente útil sobre o AI inimigo contrário bastante pobre e você vai ver grande número de inimigos stucked em algum obstáculo. Há também o fato desagradável que este jogo só abraçar checkpoint salva. Assim, não sendo um fanboy nem inimigo que tenho a dizer Infinito Bioshock um jogo bastante médio com uma enorme campanha publicitária, eu estou feliz eu tenho a minha cópia gratuita porque senão eu ficaria realmente muito raiva de mim mesmo por desperdiçar dinheiro. PS para todas as pessoas que dizem que Bioshock melhor avaliado FPS da história basta verificar Half Life 2 e veja por si Colapso Expand

See all 1394 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.