BioShock Infinite PC

BioShock Infinite Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7401 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 18, 2016
    10
    Wuao! i just finished it, It is the best game i have ever played, i can't describe what im felling right now, but BioShock is one of thoseWuao! i just finished it, It is the best game i have ever played, i can't describe what im felling right now, but BioShock is one of those rare games that connect with something very deep in you.
    This game is a jewel, if you havent played yet, do yourself a favor.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a masterpiece. Quite literally, one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced. People will speak of this gameBioshock Infinite is a masterpiece. Quite literally, one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced. People will speak of this game for decades to come, not just for what it did, but for what it helped lead to long after its creation. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    I've known about this game for at least two years prior to its release. I suspect that Irrational began working on this one right after theyI've known about this game for at least two years prior to its release. I suspect that Irrational began working on this one right after they released the first game of the series. The atmosphere and narrative in this game are unique and immersing, and make it stand out amongst other run-of-the-mill zombie, WWII, or 21st century-based shooters. It's clear that Irrational put massive time and effort into this game's development. The game-play does echo that of the first Bioshock in some ways. Vigors are like Plasmids, and Salts are like Eve. Each gun and Vigor is upgradeable, and there are plenty of vending machines from which you can purchase supplies and said upgrades. My only real complaint about this game you can only carry up to two guns at a time. Fans of Halo or Crysis are probably used to this, but I'd personally like to have at least an additional weapon slot or two. Still, this doesn't hinder overall game-play too much. I like the fact that you don't have to babysit Elizabeth like you did Ashley from Resident Evil 4. She knows her way around a fight and knows how to assist Dewitt, even though she remains unarmed. But she never feels like a burden. Also, you don't have some Irishman asking if "you would kindly" be his errand boy every five minutes over a comm radio. You pretty much explore the world on your own as you would a Metroid game, though Elizabeth does drop hints on occasion as guidance. Though I've beaten this game once, it feels like one of those movies that has to be watched a second time in order to understand it better. Maybe I have to play through it a second time to better understand the story. Overall though, this is one of those rare moments where the game lives up to the hype, like Half-Life 2 did in 2004. The ratings, both by Critics and Users, are no joke. Try this game at least once in life. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First off, really amazing game, when you first arrive in Colombia it's simply awe inspiring! A game where you can just look around and marvel at the setting is always good, the game was really good except I felt rather short maybe more could have been done before the first tear? You suddenly found yourself working for the vox but you never really get to experience that world, before everything is turned on its head and then all out war, the end was really good but left me a little bit confused, Good game but like Dishonoured way too short. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Good but extremly overrated game! Story is good, graphics nice too, but other things not so great. Shooting is very poor. Game is too easy soGood but extremly overrated game! Story is good, graphics nice too, but other things not so great. Shooting is very poor. Game is too easy so all efforts about weapon and other upgrades is pointless because you can pass easy everything without upgrading anything! Good game, but most overrated this year! Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2016
    0
    This is game is actually just a spit in da face of fan base of bioshok 1
    Dat game killed all good stuff of bioshok, and put in only absurd
    This is game is actually just a spit in da face of fan base of bioshok 1
    Dat game killed all good stuff of bioshok, and put in only absurd story,that only nerds can enjoy.
    0/10
    Give me my Rapture back,
    Expand

See all 1503 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.