Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6473 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  2. sft
    Feb 9, 2015
    10
    Rapture in Columbia

    The first Bioshock game was a remarkable achievement. Bioshock 2 expanded on the first and was equally good. With
    Rapture in Columbia

    The first Bioshock game was a remarkable achievement. Bioshock 2 expanded on the first and was equally good. With BIOSHOCK INFINITE, Irrational Games have surpassed their previous efforts and produced a game that is better than the first two in all but one way (we’ll come to that later). BI looks fantastic. The aerial city of Columbia is quite literally stunning to look at. Visually the game is a work of art, with some of the most amazing design and use of colour that I’ve ever seen in a game. The story, although not directly related to the first two games, is as strong as ever, as is the voice acting. The combat will be familiar to those who have played B1 or 2, although the more open environment of Columbia and the ability to use the Sky-Line system makes many of the set-pieces more fluid and dynamic. The weapons are different and now the plasmids are called Vigors and are replenished by the use of salts but overall the feel of the combat is quite similar to the two previous games. A major difference, however, is that the player now has a companion. Elizabeth is with you throughout much of the game and although she does not take part in any combat she does assist in other ways and she also provides a conversational foil for the playable character, who also speaks in this instalment. The only thing I missed when playing this game were the Splicers. In Bioshock 1 and 2 the bizarre ramblings of these twisted individuals were a joy to hear and they produced much of the games’ humour. There is humour in BI but not as much as I would have liked. That said it’s really the only criticism I have of the game and it’s more than compensated for by all that’s good about it.
    Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    You are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be aYou are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be a troll. Do you realize how many years ago this game started to be advertised, and yet here you are having bought it, IF you don't like these kinds of games why do you buy them in the first place. Take for example, I don't like Guild Wars 2, I don't play it, but most people say it's an excellent game...why am I going to go troll about it and give the game a bad rating since I already know beforehand I am not going to like it? Moreover, if you want a game that's tailored to your every need and desire, why don't you go make your own game? exactly! You don't have to sit here and be a troll and ruin it for others who would have probably liked the game. They weren't making the game only for you, like your very own personalized version or something like that. You do not gain anything by trolling, if a person want to buy the game they will do it regardless of what you post here, because it is their choice that they can make, and no matter what some troll on the internet says is going to stop them ok. By have a nice day. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Bioshock Infinite is a beautiful game that is able to pack so much information into a small amount of time. The game based in 1912 which is aBioshock Infinite is a beautiful game that is able to pack so much information into a small amount of time. The game based in 1912 which is a time that many people forget about because it is an era that is overlooked by the "Roaring 20s" followed by the Great Depression. Infinite shows the concepts of the hatred of immigrants and the most obvious racism towards the Irish, Welsh, and all colored people. The hated group are on Columbia strictly for labor work and there is even stock for the immigrants that are lazy or refuse to work show throughout the game. Colored workers are also shown how they are afraid of the "white man" in two instances I remember when the colored worker apologizes to the non-racist Booker for smoking and a worker cursing the "white man" for his work and immediately when he acknowledged Booker he asks if he needs anything. The game shows the blinded patriotism towards the founding fathers who are considered Gods and do not recognize the bad sides of the fathers in Columbia. When playing this game I URGE YOU NOT TO RECOGNIZE THIS AS A SEQUEL TO EITHER OF THE BIOSHOCKS. Although Bioshock 1 is the makers of this game and hardly any of the creators worked on Bioshock 2. This game is hardly a sequel but a completely different game. However the game captures the key elements I consider the Bioshock franchise to be.
    1. A place made to be a utopia which collapses to be a dystopia with many people in denial.
    2. plasmids(vigors)
    3. No cutscenes and the story comes together via in games material

    Though Infinite contains my characteristics to be considered a Bioshock game, the game lacks a certain eeriness the other games contains (maybe because it is not underwater and the sun is out) there is much more gun play and less plasmid(vigor) use in the game and it feels like it is much more spamming of weapons and scrounging for ammo than the past games. The use of shields is something that I disliked and the fact that whenever you are low Elizabeth magically gives you what you need. I may be biased but I feel like this game would have succeed much more to me if it was apart from the game series and became its own game and title. The game is amazing but doesn't have the elements to me that the other Bioshock game had to me as a player. That is why I am giving the game a 9 instead of a perfect 10. However this game is a great game and if you are a gamer who enjoys a good story line without simply bulldozing through it. It is a must play. If you only like shooting and couldn't care less about story go back to Call Of Duty or something you don't deserve to be called a gamer if you only play one game........

    tl;dr.... Game is exceptional however only contains the basic core elements I consider in a Bioshock game. Which is the reason for the 9 and not a 10.
    Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    As it always happens with this franchise, the new bioshock title is a must have. The story is intelligent and full of impresive twists, theAs it always happens with this franchise, the new bioshock title is a must have. The story is intelligent and full of impresive twists, the graphics are great and the flawless music is probably going to recieve a lot of awards. I won't give it a 10 however, because of its reduced duration, and because, while fantastic, it's not as brilliant as the first one. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2014
    7
    It's a good game. One of the best looking games graphically that I've played recently. Not because of quadrupple rendering or massive AAIt's a good game. One of the best looking games graphically that I've played recently. Not because of quadrupple rendering or massive AA though, but because of the art style and level design.

    The gameplay is moderately fun: if you consider this an FPS, there are better games in that genre available. The much critically acclaimed story wasn't exactly as good as I expected either.

    But the total package of the style, gameplay and story make it well worth playing. Just don't go in expecting an RPG the likes of Fallout or a fun shooter like, let's say Borderlands.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2015
    0
    I really liked Bioshock 1 and 2 however this game feels extremely overrated to me.The gameplay is simple and booring. The story is just lame.I really liked Bioshock 1 and 2 however this game feels extremely overrated to me.The gameplay is simple and booring. The story is just lame. I recommend you stay away. Expand

See all 1471 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.