Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a lovely game. Art direction, graphics and sound are superb. Made me think of Singularity and Dishonored at times. A beautiful first person shooter, and a must-have. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    How can people say this game is a horrible game? Don't you think about the hard work that someone did to make this?
    I find this game amazing,
    a poem. 10/10 for me.
    Irration Game is amazing, you did a work much better than Bioshock (another amazing game): so please, take care of this game and make it always better with new updates and dlc!
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    BioShock Infinite provides a blueprint for engaging players in a meaningful story and captivating their imaginations. Although it struggles in some respects, such as less than stellar boss fights, it manages to mitigate those struggles with excellent pacing and storytelling. This game has incredible production values. Everything from the atmosphere to the environments to the set-pieces will astonish both old and new players. In many ways, this doesn't feel like a BioShock game. This is not the cramped, dark, and overtly tense game that was the original. This is a much more subtle and dare I say refined sort of tension one where you're unsure of the motives of any given person, including yourself. The climax and ending of the game are worth asking price alone. If you found yourself disappointed with the conclusion of the original, you will find yourself pleasantly surprised after you set down your keyboard and mouse, sit back from the monitor aghast, and begin filling your mind with the infinite. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I must say this game has some great moments but is being hyped way too much and probably because of the lackluster games as of late. So I can understand people clinging to this like the second coming when a half way decent game pops up. I get it! Let us get one thing straight though. This game does not top the original Bioshock in any aspect for me personally. The mechanics are the same with some refinements but nothing mind blowing. The sky hook is a gimmick IMHO. Really had more emotion with the little girls in the original Bioshock. Columbia is trying to pull the "oh we went there!" with the racism card. This is Bioshock rehashed but without heart and full of hate hidden throughout the world. To those who missed the first Bioshock then I understand why you think this is a masterpiece. There is a reason why originals hold their place in our hearts compared to sequels. Nothing Irrational Games does will capture the heart of Rapture again! Infinite is a great shooter just not as great as the one from 2007. Be realistic and don't let the hype machine fool you! Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    7
    The fact that combat is the least enjoyable part AN FPS shows that something went wildly wrong here. The story is somewhat interesting but not enough to excuse the gameplay which is a total slog. Only The Line and Ultima 7 got away sacrifice all else on the alter of story and this is no The Line and definitely no Ultima 7.

    If you disagree, there are many reviews that explain why all is not flowers and sunshine with this title and they are really really intelligent so go find them!
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    Graphics are fantastic, there's a kind of poesy but it's not enough

    In fact, this game is an empty FPS, a corridor game

    I can't
    understand why this game is rated so high, "gameplay" remembers late 90's before Half Life 1 Expand

See all 1427 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.