Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    This game blew my mind. The story is one thing, but I think the most amazing thing here is the setting. Colombia is simply breathtaking. I'mThis game blew my mind. The story is one thing, but I think the most amazing thing here is the setting. Colombia is simply breathtaking. I'm about to play through a second time to just walk around. this is definitely on my top 5 list of video games. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    You are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be aYou are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be a troll. Do you realize how many years ago this game started to be advertised, and yet here you are having bought it, IF you don't like these kinds of games why do you buy them in the first place. Take for example, I don't like Guild Wars 2, I don't play it, but most people say it's an excellent game...why am I going to go troll about it and give the game a bad rating since I already know beforehand I am not going to like it? Moreover, if you want a game that's tailored to your every need and desire, why don't you go make your own game? exactly! You don't have to sit here and be a troll and ruin it for others who would have probably liked the game. They weren't making the game only for you, like your very own personalized version or something like that. You do not gain anything by trolling, if a person want to buy the game they will do it regardless of what you post here, because it is their choice that they can make, and no matter what some troll on the internet says is going to stop them ok. By have a nice day. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Collapse
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    I can't recall the last time I was drawn into a game as well as in Bioshock Infinite. Even the earlier entries took me a while to really getI can't recall the last time I was drawn into a game as well as in Bioshock Infinite. Even the earlier entries took me a while to really get into, but Infinite just clicked with me the minute I started it up.

    The city of Columbia truly looks amazing, and makes for a great visual contrast to Rapture. Anybody who is saying that the game has bad graphics is clearly only paying attention to the raw graphical fidelity (which isn't the best we've seen recently, but it could be far worse) and missing the great aesthetic design that has been put into this game.

    The gameplay is almost a carbon-copy of the first two games, and it works just as well, if not better in Infinite. Instead of Plasmids from Bioshock 1 and 2, Infinite introduces Vigors which work almost the same, but instead have very different effects from Plasmids, creating very good tactical mixes between them. The two weapon limit is a little disappointing, but overall the gameplay is still very solid and it lives up to it's predecessors.

    As expected of a Bioshock game, the game tells a fantastic and engaging story. Although, much of the story can be missed, as the majority of it is told through voxophones, which are Infinite's version of the previous games' audio diaries.

    Despite a few flaws, Bioshock Infinite is still one of the best games released in recent years, and well worth buying, especially for fans of the previous games.
    Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    Bioshock Infinite does a lot of things right. Elizabeth is one of the best characters to ever appear in a game and the world is beautiful;Bioshock Infinite does a lot of things right. Elizabeth is one of the best characters to ever appear in a game and the world is beautiful; unfortunately many little things keep the game from the level of greatness a lot of people are laying upon it. Pacing is inconsistent, many abilities feel completely similar with only cosmetic differences, and the lack of save anywhere is inexcusable, especially when both previous Bioshock titles allowed it. Lastly, while beautifully realized, the world of Columbia just isn’t as interesting or as “real” as Rapture from the previous Bioshock games.

    The game is still very good but it’s still disappointing because it could have been truly great.
    Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    It's a good game and it's fun, but it's not a great game and it will not have a lasting appeal. This game is also fairly short. $60 for ~6-9It's a good game and it's fun, but it's not a great game and it will not have a lasting appeal. This game is also fairly short. $60 for ~6-9 hours of game-play is a little steep.

    Think of this game as the action adventure version of BioShock. Unfortunately the shooter mechanics are not good enough to stand on their own(like other BioShock games) and there is not enough other stuff to fall back on. The plasmid replacements don't seem to add much to the game and the weapons aren't very interesting so combat is very repetitive. There really isn't much in the way of enemy variety and very few enemies have unique mechanics. This causes the action to get a little stale sometimes. Most of the time combat involves killing a wave of mooks and then moving two rooms down a linear path and killing another wave of mooks who will sometimes be accompanied by a generic miniboss that you have already seen a couple times.

    The story is decent but it really isn't self consistent, which might bother people.(it bothered me a little bit) The environment is also less interesting than in previous BioShock games. The areas are very linear, with linear branches that go to optional equipment or lore. It doesn't give the same sense of exploration as previous BioShock games.

    Overall it's definitely not a bad game and it is worth playing, but it has it's fault and is generally over-hyped.
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    0
    again, irrational games managed to make another amazing groundbreaking game!!!!!! the game is so intriging, smart and mature!!!!! the game hasagain, irrational games managed to make another amazing groundbreaking game!!!!!! the game is so intriging, smart and mature!!!!! the game has some really heavy themes!!!!! the game talks about racism at the time.
    the games atmosphere and story are just amazing! the world is really immersive and detailed. walking in the street and seeing shows and people is really immersive and lends a lot to the games atmosphere. the story is awesome and touching!! the story also has great twists, and even if you wait for them you will never see them coming!! the games design and artstyle are also truly amazing!! the characters are also really interesting, and you grow to care about them. your main companion, elizabeth is great. everything about her is done great, the voice acting, animations and more!! all the voice acting is top notch as well! the city, columbia is also amazing, and its built really masterfully!!! the world is really detailed, which makes it really intriging. if you didnt get it yet THE GAME IS JUST AWESOME, ESPECIALLY WITH THE STORY AND ATMOSPHERE. the games ending is also amazing and shocking.
    the gameplay is also great. the guns and vigirs (powers) feel great. using the skyhook and skylines is also really fun and useful!! the game also has a lot of depth because things called tears which elizabeth can open which i wont spoil). its important to mention that the game is much more fast pace then the previous bioshocks and that it relys on guns much more this time.
    the game does have few mistakes, that take it down from a 10/10. my biggest complaint is that there isnt enough choices in the game. bioshock 2 had a lot of them and they were really meaningful and they changed the ending. in infinite, there are barely choices and they dont change the ending. the game also doesnt have a map. if your lost, it shows you an arrow to were your supposed to go. its a good thing but i still feel like there should have been a map. the game also doesnt have enough NPC variety. the games middle part is a tiny bit too streched. its not bad, its just not as good as the other parts. the game is quite polished but it could have benefited from a bit more polish.

    THIS IS AN AMAZING GAME AND ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS SUPER AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUY IT PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand

See all 1480 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.