Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5939 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Collapse
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best fps I have ever played. The plot is outstanding and the action is great, it was hard to pull myself away from it. The game isn't just horror based like bioshock 1 and 2, it revolves around a breathtaking plot which some points are designed to be scary. There was never a single moment when i felt finished or even frustrated with the game, if you haven't played it yet, get it now. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    How can people say this game is a horrible game? Don't you think about the hard work that someone did to make this?
    I find this game amazing,
    a poem. 10/10 for me.
    Irration Game is amazing, you did a work much better than Bioshock (another amazing game): so please, take care of this game and make it always better with new updates and dlc!
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Loved the combat and thought it was perfect for a bioshock game and much more evolved than in the previous renditions. The music was sparse as usual but the score was great and matched the environment well. The environment was designed beautifully and levels were made in such a way I only got ahead of myself and had to backtrack once. The story is where I'd have to ding it. It's great and comes together well,l but it didn't feel very bioshocky to me with less philosophical debating and more standing back and contemplating. The only major step back for the game was lack of more than a few morality options. Other than that, great game that I expect to be a GOTY contender. Expand
  5. May 15, 2013
    9
    The game that managed to attract the attention of the masses.

    By today standards, games are categorized in sub-genres that belong to other
    sub-genres making something "Unique" impossible in this era. Reviews are often skewed because of the erroneous approach reviewers take. Games are now compared to one another, and judged on perspective. This method would be the ideal method to criticize a game in a perfect world, where a perfect game could exist and we could compare anything to it and simply measure up. Sadly that is just wishful thinking and we live in an imperfect world full of imperfect people and imperfect scores.
    To the matter, the game Bioshock: Infinite cannot, be a unique game, it is just not possible in any way. I have read time and time again how Bioshock: Infinite is a copy paste of it's predecessors and so on, but the part that reviewers neglect to see is that a brand is a brand for one thing, it is easily recognized, it has a theme and therefore sticks to its core. If Bioshock Infinite were to not resemble Bioshock in any way, we would have a list of complains about how the game wasn't a "Bioshock" title.
    Games should not be compared to each other, it clouds vision and impairs judgement. This is the reason why I can say Bioshock Infinite is not an RPG, nor an FPS.
    "Bioshock Infinite was/is Bioshock Infinite and nothing more."

    --Combat: The combat in this game was fun but gets repetitive by the time you approach the ending. It is loud and messy, nothing bad with that but I see ways it could have been improved greatly by changing a few things such as more interactive environment, and possibly a bit more "freedom" not necessarily non-linear but a bit of freedom is always welcome.

    --Gameplay: Enjoyably and easy to get used to. It doesn't take much to be immersed in the world of Columbia. The voice acting fits nicely with the situations and provides a smooth gaming session. Speed varied according to the situation, fast during action/combat and slow during interactive cut scenes and some dialogue.

    --Graphics: The cartoonish, steampunk theme went rather nice together, and to an extend I dare to say It reminded me of Dishonored, The textures were good where they mattered (occasionally you can find bad patches of low res textured in hidden places). Overall it is visually pleasing.

    --Story: This is where the game shines. The story of this game can be easily categorized to the user in two different groups. Amazing and Boring. I have heard both sides to the argument over the story of Bioshock Infinite and after a really good moment of observation I can conclude that the more ignorant the person, the boring the story gets. Nice and simple as that. Sorry for not sugar coating, but I am not here for that. The story of Columbia revolves around concepts and theories that exist in our world, in other words, Bioshock Infinite puts some of said theories to practice and reveal a probable view of those theories. The story requires a high amount of attention to detail and if you can't pick up, you know what category you fall under. On the other hand, if you can grasp even the basics of the core elements of the story, you are in for great enjoyment and continuous amusement and awe.

    --I could go on with categories but I believe the four mentioned are the most important. The game itself is a great title, a title worth playing and burning a few brain cells over trying to understand the twist and turns flooding the story. a game 10/10 doesn't exist yet and chances are that game will never exist, there isn't such thing as a perfect 10, but we can only hope to aim close. The game has some faults here and there that I can just wish I could change to fit my liking, but seeing how that is not possible at the moment I'll let it slide into a general opinion.

    Personal Score 9/10.
    I recommend, as I have with friends, to play the game only if thrills are your thing, recommend to the one with a bit of witts to understand puzzles, and complex thinking.
    Try to approach the game as a game of its own, do not taint a rather good game with expectations, senseless labeling and comparisons. Play the game, have fun, and move on in the quest for the perfect game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    BioShock Infinite, like the rest of the of the BioShock franchise, was very enjoyable to play, combat was very fun and graphics were great. However I'd still say that the original BioShock was more fun to play.

    I was also slightly disappointed that BioShock Infinite didn't live up to expectation set by developers in early production. Even elements shown in the Beta game-play seemed to be non-existent: such as being fired at with artillery weapons and having a telekinesis power to stop the shells, sandbox level design, larger and more open areas and the random collapse of buildings. However due to time, story and technology restraints many of these features were unrealistic so many of this is excusable.

    Also I found the ending to be a bit weak, but enjoyable non-the-less. The re-playability is also somewhat non-existent. I still strongly recommend playing the game. Good job 2K.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    0
    This is a good game on it's own. But compared to the original Bioshock and System Shock it is crap. As far as a Shock game i was very dissapointed even though I played through it twise (one time on 1999 mode, hoping for a bit of the old feel, but no).
    While Bishock and Systemshock feelt "real" and dynamic in a way few games do, Infinite feels more like a bland rail shooter. It is not really a shock game anymore, you don't even have a map! (because you don't need one in this "corridor" shooter!)

    And while the splicers in the original Bioshock feelt very thoughtout and fitting to the setting, they just copied them to what is supposed to be regular humans in Infinite, taking another well thought out game setting and turning it totally unlogical. In Bioshock, crazy splicers jumping at you in frenzy make total sense. In Infinte regular policemen doing the same, not so much.

    They had the good sense to not involve nps:s in the first Shock games to much, in Infinte again, they just screw it up with populating the world in some areas with these "robots", just taking away from the feeling this is a real place.
    The best things about the game are Elizabeth as a character and as an AI. Very impressive. Also the story is interesting, but not as involving as in the original Bioshock. I had to judge this as a 0 to counter the ridiculous scores from people who seem to know nothing about games or what the Shock series is even about. This is a Shock for the CoD generation.
    Expand

See all 1398 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.