Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6493 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    People always ask me why i play games instead of watching movies. Well, it's because games like these just blow me away. The story, thePeople always ask me why i play games instead of watching movies. Well, it's because games like these just blow me away. The story, the feeling, the graphics, the atmosphere... Its like you're the main character of the best movie you've ever seen. You are so actively involved in the story. People who think negative about this game are maybe not mature enough to understand. The gameplay may not be the most interesting but the story/feeling is just incredible. I can say that this is the best book ive red, the best movie ive seen and the best game ive played. Absolutely my favorite. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    You are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be aYou are absolutely absurd. You down rate the game for such reasons as you don't like the thematic, it's not realistic enough, or just to be a troll. Do you realize how many years ago this game started to be advertised, and yet here you are having bought it, IF you don't like these kinds of games why do you buy them in the first place. Take for example, I don't like Guild Wars 2, I don't play it, but most people say it's an excellent game...why am I going to go troll about it and give the game a bad rating since I already know beforehand I am not going to like it? Moreover, if you want a game that's tailored to your every need and desire, why don't you go make your own game? exactly! You don't have to sit here and be a troll and ruin it for others who would have probably liked the game. They weren't making the game only for you, like your very own personalized version or something like that. You do not gain anything by trolling, if a person want to buy the game they will do it regardless of what you post here, because it is their choice that they can make, and no matter what some troll on the internet says is going to stop them ok. By have a nice day. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    Loved the combat and thought it was perfect for a bioshock game and much more evolved than in the previous renditions. The music was sparse asLoved the combat and thought it was perfect for a bioshock game and much more evolved than in the previous renditions. The music was sparse as usual but the score was great and matched the environment well. The environment was designed beautifully and levels were made in such a way I only got ahead of myself and had to backtrack once. The story is where I'd have to ding it. It's great and comes together well,l but it didn't feel very bioshocky to me with less philosophical debating and more standing back and contemplating. The only major step back for the game was lack of more than a few morality options. Other than that, great game that I expect to be a GOTY contender. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved this game, up until the bosses. Why do you have to f_ck up a game with boring clichés? Level-boss-level-boss... So damnI absolutely loved this game, up until the bosses. Why do you have to f_ck up a game with boring clichés? Level-boss-level-boss... So damn obtuse and narrow-minded. I played it on hard and it was really easy, but for the bosses. They made the same mistake as Deus Ex HR did. You can finish the game mostly with using your head and without superfluous button smashing, then the bosses try to compensate. I replayed Bioshock 1-2 not to long time ago and I can't remember hating boss-fights (yes there were too) as much as here. In Infinite it didn't work, after a few tries I switched to easy to get on with it... Nothing kept me there. In Dishonored there were no bosses and I loved it for that.
    I enjoyed it in every other aspect (except the erroneous collision zones... and the "you jump 2m high, than get blocked by a pile of rugs..."). One other thing I hated is the checkpoint system. Bioshock was a pc game. Why did they have screw BI with the hated console shame, the checkpoint. You lose up to 10-15 minutes of advancement if you have to stop and reload later. The spreading console virus on the pc is a shame...

    The story was very good except some forced elements like racism. I expected it to go somewhere, to say something, but in the end it was just as the glow on the textures trying to hide the low-poly models (that I don't mind if the game is good). I never felt anything forced or made up in Bioshock 1.
    This year we started up to this point with 2 "almost got there" games (TR & Bioshock Inf). Both very good, enjoyable games, but not perfect ones. Mind you I've listed mostly the stuff I didn't like, every thing else was great! It would cost me a few hours to list the elements I liked/loved. It is a very good game, but in the end it left me with a bad taste in the mouth it could HAVE BEEN so GREAT!
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    The game is not bad but I must say that I enjoyed the first Bioshock more and to a lesser degree Bioshock 2. It just doesn't have that gemThe game is not bad but I must say that I enjoyed the first Bioshock more and to a lesser degree Bioshock 2. It just doesn't have that gem quality the first one did. As a shooter it is mediocre. As a story driven action adventure the story is only mildly compelling with the usual go here do this, go here do that. Many of its spells/augmentations seem to be there just as filler as they don't really add much to the game. The art direction is very good but that's to be expected from Irrational, if only they didn't use the same rather outdated engine. The game was also a bit repetitive. The quality is there as a triple A game would demand but it just didn't dazzle me as much as Dishonored did, which I think competes well in this genre. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2015
    0
    I really liked Bioshock 1 and 2 however this game feels extremely overrated to me.The gameplay is simple and booring. The story is just lame.I really liked Bioshock 1 and 2 however this game feels extremely overrated to me.The gameplay is simple and booring. The story is just lame. I recommend you stay away. Expand

See all 1471 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.