Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soonInitially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    10
    Bioshock Infinite is a lovely game. Art direction, graphics and sound are superb. Made me think of Singularity and Dishonored at times. ABioshock Infinite is a lovely game. Art direction, graphics and sound are superb. Made me think of Singularity and Dishonored at times. A beautiful first person shooter, and a must-have. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Well, I'm fresh from completing the game. And I must admit, I never in my gamer-life played one so good, with so well written plot, heavilyWell, I'm fresh from completing the game. And I must admit, I never in my gamer-life played one so good, with so well written plot, heavily filled with emotions, with amazing written characters meaning by it, of course Elizabeth, but also Rosalind and Robert Lutece, Comstock, and many, many more. Last hours of game are an emotional rollercoaster. And the ending left me on my knees all choked up.
    I never were so bewitched(and I'm a woman!) with a game companion like that since Half Life2. Damn, I deem Elizabeth as even higher than Alyx.
    With such great, well thought plot comes also very dynamic, satysfying, maybe sometimes chaotic gameplay that shows that it is a true shooter. But this game is enhancing every part of it. I never really was into gameplay, but in this game it was very pleasurable experience. Elizabeth only makes it better. Believe me she makes the difference :)
    Also, soundtrack is masterpiece. I especially love "Will the circle be unbroken" but there's a lot of music in game dynamic during fights, heating your blood, sometimes nostalgic when needed, and there's also Cindy Lauper ;)
    I can't say anything bad about this game. It's the most perfectly made game I had a pleasure to play. Well done Irrational, well done indeed. You rocked my world. Now... would you kindly give us even more such mind blowing games? :)
    Buy it, play it, you won't regret this. This game has a soul.
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts withThe graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved this game, up until the bosses. Why do you have to f_ck up a game with boring clichés? Level-boss-level-boss... So damnI absolutely loved this game, up until the bosses. Why do you have to f_ck up a game with boring clichés? Level-boss-level-boss... So damn obtuse and narrow-minded. I played it on hard and it was really easy, but for the bosses. They made the same mistake as Deus Ex HR did. You can finish the game mostly with using your head and without superfluous button smashing, then the bosses try to compensate. I replayed Bioshock 1-2 not to long time ago and I can't remember hating boss-fights (yes there were too) as much as here. In Infinite it didn't work, after a few tries I switched to easy to get on with it... Nothing kept me there. In Dishonored there were no bosses and I loved it for that.
    I enjoyed it in every other aspect (except the erroneous collision zones... and the "you jump 2m high, than get blocked by a pile of rugs..."). One other thing I hated is the checkpoint system. Bioshock was a pc game. Why did they have screw BI with the hated console shame, the checkpoint. You lose up to 10-15 minutes of advancement if you have to stop and reload later. The spreading console virus on the pc is a shame...

    The story was very good except some forced elements like racism. I expected it to go somewhere, to say something, but in the end it was just as the glow on the textures trying to hide the low-poly models (that I don't mind if the game is good). I never felt anything forced or made up in Bioshock 1.
    This year we started up to this point with 2 "almost got there" games (TR & Bioshock Inf). Both very good, enjoyable games, but not perfect ones. Mind you I've listed mostly the stuff I didn't like, every thing else was great! It would cost me a few hours to list the elements I liked/loved. It is a very good game, but in the end it left me with a bad taste in the mouth it could HAVE BEEN so GREAT!
    Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gameplay will never change. There is this mass illusion in the game industry that each game has mechanics slightly more polished than its predecessors. While you can tweak it a bit, the shooter formula has reached its apex, and while Bioshock Infinite does improve superficially on both the vigors and the guns, especially in the latter category (gunfire and recoil more realistic), it's really what it doesn't do that the game needed more of. Some have complained about the lack of RPG elements (with the exception of gun and vigor upgrades), such as inventory or map screen. I found this to be a huge improvement. There is no menu interaction to slow the pacing and you're always on the move. I thought the tone of the game world would have felt more immersive with the lack of a HUD, much like the first gameplay demo Irrational Games released several years ago. But all of the above are personal opinions and design choices. What left a sour taste in my mouth wasn't anything you can experience in the game itself. No, you could only experience this bittersweet regret if you had watched, in eager anticipation, all of Ken Levine's interviews, only to realize you had just witnessed the biggest cop out in gaming history.

    Expectation #1: An actual floating city, complete with physics.

    After the first demo that was released (which is never shown in the game), we see one of the massive, orange balloons tethered to the corner of a belltower deflate suddenly and the massive structure starts to pivot towards the ground, the bell flying loose from its moorings only to come grinding to a stop inches away from your feet, the cobblestones buckling under its weight and shooting off in every direction. Later, Ken Levine commented on the instablity of the city, how the tech team had made it pulse with life, and hinted that you'd be able to topple the city around you. This fell short on both accounts, the only undulating architecture in the game appearing during the first half, and after you're solidly captivated by the world, these stellar sights give way to more mundane gameplay (street shootouts and interior combat). It never feels like their main selling point is really taken to its full potential.

    Expectation #2: Watch the city tear itself apart (pre-Rapture)

    This is the big one. I want to be as harsh as possible when I say that this was a blatant lie. We were supposedly going to 'watch the city fall apart before us'. We were told that there would be moments where you would have to interact with citizens on the street, such as pointing a gun at a potential mugger to send him scrambling, or intervening in a local execution (both of which are shown in the same demo). There are maybe three moments in the entire game where you feel this sort of weight behind your actions, and they are as superfluous as they are dull. You can't change the overall outcome of anything, although watching the colorful, Independence Day style utopia burn slowly is captivating in its own way. I would have preferred a little more interaction, hence replayability.

    Expectation #3: A decent resolution.

    This one is debatable. And the main reason for the spoilers tag. Let's get the big one out of the way, the resolutions to each storyline. Both Daisy Fitzroy and Jeremiah Fink are shadowbox characters that bleed out of the story as quickly as they pop in. Slate is one of the more interesting characters but doesn't feel fully fleshed out. Don't get me started on Comstock. Let's face it, time travel was both the protagonist and antagonist here. It solves everything (most levels are going back and forth through the area in different time periods), and also helps ease along the ruthlessly shoehorned ending. But despite all of this, the ending was emotional and relatively significant enough to make it feel as if it 'belonged'. It was the gamer in me that made me want to slap Ken Levine. Songbird becomes your best bud and then you get to watch him drown in two seconds. Apparently the Bioshock story will never change because even with its fairly restricted narrative parameters, it's the doorway to infinite worlds just like it with new coats of paint (so we can expect this disappointment forever). Oh, and my personal favorite: The final boss is three waves of the easiest enemies in the game. No Handyman. No Songbird. Fail.

    But aside from all the things they promised and didn't deliver, this is a bittersweet shooter, with some amazingly satisfying gameplay regarding the vigors and gunplay, but some equally frustrating inconsistencies in the pacing and storyline. Oh, and this game tries desperately to emulate Disney (and doesn't do a bad job), but it's so obvious in parts it's almost painful, especially if you're like me and find the overall 'girl in a tower' concept a little overused and cheesy.

    Still, if you're a fan of shooters or Bioshock in general, you owe it to yourself to see how far the series has come.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2013
    7
    Bioshock infinity is an above average game. It does may things well but not great, many of the games faults are outweighed by it charm, andBioshock infinity is an above average game. It does may things well but not great, many of the games faults are outweighed by it charm, and tenacity as FPS go. I cannot in good conscience recommend it over the original Bioshock.
    Although graphically dated. The original used story, atmosphere and sound to a high and mature degree. That being said Bioshock infinity is a really good game, but if this game didn't use the bioshock legacy and name with it. The game itself would have been better for it. Good game and solid fun.
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2014
    0
    Graphics are fantastic, there's a kind of poesy but it's not enough

    In fact, this game is an empty FPS, a corridor game I can't
    Graphics are fantastic, there's a kind of poesy but it's not enough

    In fact, this game is an empty FPS, a corridor game

    I can't understand why this game is rated so high, "gameplay" remembers late 90's before Half Life 1
    Expand

See all 1440 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.