Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 68 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5923 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Initially conceived as a floating symbol of American ideals at a time when the United States was emerging as a world power, Columbia is sent to distant shores with great fanfare by a captivated public. What begins as a fresh new endeavor of hope turns drastically wrong as the city soon disappears into the clouds to whereabouts unknown. The player takes on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker DeWitt, sent to the lost city to rescue Elizabeth, a young lady imprisoned there since her childhood. He develops a relationship with Elizabeth, enhancing his abilities with hers so the pair may escape from a city that is literally falling from the sky. DeWitt has to learn to fight foes in high-speed Sky-Line battles, engage in combat both indoors and amongst the clouds, and harness the power of a myriad of new weapons and abilities.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 68
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 68
  3. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    Dealing with themes like religion, racism, and xenophobia, Columbia is a richer and more nuanced setting than even Rapture, and the unveiling of the city’s culture is masterfully executed.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    100
    With the release of BioShock Infinite, developer Irrational has delivered a bigger story, more polished experience, and created two similar-yet-separate games that can co-exist and remain equal in quality. When the history of videogames is written, not one, but two BioShocks will be remembered for pushing gameplay, story, and subject matter to new levels.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    100
    Bioshock Infinite is a visionary piece of entertainment where the gameplay, characters, art style and story all come together to make what undoubtedly will be considered one of the best games of this generation.
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    95
    The PC version, as run on mid-range hardware, makes no such visual compromises, with gorgeous high-resolution textures, detailed faces, and smooth performance...A brilliant shooter that nudges the entire genre forward with innovations in both storytelling and gameplay.
  5. 91
    The story has stirred me speechless and compelled me to think.
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    For a while it's a frantic shooter game, then it's a touching confession, afterwards it is a parable about the ideological turmoil in America. The others would break it into pieces, but quantum physics and its creators that are hell-bent on going far than other big productions hold it firmly together.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    80
    It is fascinating, and also boring. It is important, yet forgettable. Its world is enticing and unappealing. It attempts to move things forward, yet is in places stuck in the past. For a game that has the potential to open up the franchise up to a multitude of different ideas and interpretations, BioShock Infinite can feel curiously limited.

See all 68 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The graphics are so mesmerizing, I almost forget to move on with the game play. The setting, the story, the way Elizabeth interacts with you--I am stunned and in awe--This game was fun without being frustrating in combat and challenges-- PERFECTION--PURE PERFECTION A eloquent way to say good-bye to this generation of consoles. Kudos Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    Best game i ever played! totally recommended. The story is great, specially the ending (really unexpected, and makes you want to play it again), the characters are great, many powers you can use, good graphics, fun to play, many weapons and Upgrades.
    You should also buy the DLC season pass, which contains two "story modes" about previous bioshock stories, and Clash in the clouds, a mode of pure combat which also allows you to unlock more things about the story and the world.
    Highly recommended
    Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    How can people say this game is a horrible game? Don't you think about the hard work that someone did to make this?
    I find this game amazing,
    a poem. 10/10 for me.
    Irration Game is amazing, you did a work much better than Bioshock (another amazing game): so please, take care of this game and make it always better with new updates and dlc!
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story was really good and the graphics were sooooo awesome the gameplay was really cool but it was to short the game took me 5 hours to beat but it was worth the money the only thing i didnt like about the game was the ending it was soooo freakin sad and psychological why the did Songbird need to die such a horrible way he was so awesome if the game had a alternative ending then i would personally give it 10 but the ending ruins the game a little sorry for my english im danish so im not so good at it :S Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    People who think this game is overrated are probably either not honest did not take the time to play the games correctly ,Or have too much expectation of what a game should be TAKE YOU TIME ENJOY THE SHOW .

    This is a very funky and cool game Of course the story was not written by Charles Dickens or Tolkien give them a break, come on !

    The graphics are simply fabulous the blend of Disney type and digital graphics is amazing the heroes and characters are credible and you get found of them the voice acting is perfect .

    I am proud to have purchased this games and in the same time encouraged the peoples who have worked so hard on it !

    I can describe the game as being an interactive cinematic story telling shooting gallery type EASY FUN AND BEAUTIFUL. A nice way to get out of the daily routine .

    the games that i have loved Monkey island Half-life serie Fall-out 3 and LAS Vegas Titan quest Dead island Civilization
    Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    7
    The fact that combat is the least enjoyable part AN FPS shows that something went wildly wrong here. The story is somewhat interesting but not enough to excuse the gameplay which is a total slog. Only The Line and Ultima 7 got away sacrifice all else on the alter of story and this is no The Line and definitely no Ultima 7.

    If you disagree, there are many reviews that explain why all is not flowers and sunshine with this title and they are really really intelligent so go find them!
    Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    Eu realmente não entendo por que as pessoas estão tão sobrecarregadas por este jogo. Vamos ver a primeira coisa gráficos, Bem, isso um ardil tão inteligente, tudo o que flor, nevoeiro e eixos de luz estão bem colocados para cobrir modelos pobres e texturas em geral (e eu não sou uma pessoa que elogiar gráficos, mas isso simplesmente não podia ser ignorado). A próxima coisa zonas de colisão horríveis, num primeiro momento, não foi um grande negócio, mas tornou-se cada vez mais chato. Também a dificuldade muito baixo eu não posso nem imaginar como fácil o jogo poderia começar em dificuldades mais baixas. História e os personagens são misturar de vários clichés com vários altos e baixos e para ajudante vez finalmente útil sobre o AI inimigo contrário bastante pobre e você vai ver grande número de inimigos stucked em algum obstáculo. Há também o fato desagradável que este jogo só abraçar checkpoint salva. Assim, não sendo um fanboy nem inimigo que tenho a dizer Infinito Bioshock um jogo bastante médio com uma enorme campanha publicitária, eu estou feliz eu tenho a minha cópia gratuita porque senão eu ficaria realmente muito raiva de mim mesmo por desperdiçar dinheiro. PS para todas as pessoas que dizem que Bioshock melhor avaliado FPS da história basta verificar Half Life 2 e veja por si Colapso Expand

See all 1395 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.