User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3132 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SlickV.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    One of the best games of the year! If your feeling cautious, because of bad reviews, download the demo and you will see...fantastic....beautiful....imaginative....challenging. I purchased it for xbox 360 worth every dollar!
  2. DavidS.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Very solid game. While I had to contend with the bugs, gameplay is very action oriented, driving storyline, and the impressive score all help to make this game immersive and keeps ya hooked. However, did feel like things were kinda trailing near the end in relation to the beginning, but you will play this title more than once, and exploring is a rewarding experience. If you were a fan of Very solid game. While I had to contend with the bugs, gameplay is very action oriented, driving storyline, and the impressive score all help to make this game immersive and keeps ya hooked. However, did feel like things were kinda trailing near the end in relation to the beginning, but you will play this title more than once, and exploring is a rewarding experience. If you were a fan of the Deus Ex series at all, give this game a try. Expand
  3. S.S.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    Great story line, exploring is possible (not always one path to follow), addictive game play has remapped my reflexes (right mouse button!). Gorgeous graphics require equally impressive computer, and I had to tune down quite a few features (mostly screen res) to make the game play sketch free ... but even then, a beautiful game.
  4. RyanM.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    This game was amazing. the story and plot so original and immersing. this is one of the best games ive played in a VERY long time.
  5. B.H.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best game to come out in the genre in YEARS! I have been playing video games for more than 20 years and this has to be one of the best of all time..hands down.
  6. LIJ
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    A great single player game, however a bit short, a lack of diffrent Big Daddies and way to many vitachembers makes this game lack a bit.
  7. AndrewC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    One of the best and scariest games I've ever played. A worthy successor to system shock 1 and 2. In fact, I daresay in many ways it surpasses them. The only game I've played in YEARS to make me scream out loud... not once, but twice! A must own. Period.
  8. EC
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    WOW! Just... wow. Such an amazing game from the graphics to the sound to the plot line. First off, the graphics are gorgeous! Rendered using a modified version of the Unreal 3 engine, everything is rendered with great detail and with amazing physics (which is needed in a game with lots of fire and telekinetic powers). The artwork in it is also quite awe inspiring from the creepy splicers WOW! Just... wow. Such an amazing game from the graphics to the sound to the plot line. First off, the graphics are gorgeous! Rendered using a modified version of the Unreal 3 engine, everything is rendered with great detail and with amazing physics (which is needed in a game with lots of fire and telekinetic powers). The artwork in it is also quite awe inspiring from the creepy splicers to the monstrous Big Daddies. However, the thing that kept me in is still the amazing plot. You're hurled into the middle of quite an adventure with almost no details (kind of Half-Life-esque) and you just find your own way around. The weapon/plasmid(superpower) system works really well with an endless combination of strategies you can use to defeat the enemies in the game (which at times just come out of the darkness and swarm you from 20 sides) It's probably one of the best done games I've ever had the pleasure of playing and is just purely amazing. Anyone who's a fan of plot driven first person shooters NEEDS to get this. Expand
  9. MarkS.
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    This game has it all. Great gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, and atmosphere. There is little to complain about with this title. From the opening cutscene, you get drawn into the world of Rapture. The dark atmosphere of the game is enhanced by the familiar sounds of old music hits from way back. When the action is at low state, you can hear sounds coming from other rooms, such as This game has it all. Great gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, and atmosphere. There is little to complain about with this title. From the opening cutscene, you get drawn into the world of Rapture. The dark atmosphere of the game is enhanced by the familiar sounds of old music hits from way back. When the action is at low state, you can hear sounds coming from other rooms, such as water trickling and voices. While the lack of true widescreen support is disappointing, there is no reason that anyone even remotely interested in FPS games shouldn't rush out and pick this up now, provided you meet the minimum hardware requirements. Turn the lights down (better yet OFF) and get lost in the undersea world of Rapture. Bioshock is, without a doubt, the best FPS since Half Life 2 Expand
  10. IanFerguson
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    I was disappointed. I don't want my money back, but it wasn't what I was expecting. While it does have an enjoyable story, there is a lot of shooting as well. I'm a big FPS fan and I really enjoyed the story, but the shooting got pretty tedious. I did play it on the hard setting, so maybe it isn't so bad by default. No weapon had a ton of killing power, and thatI was disappointed. I don't want my money back, but it wasn't what I was expecting. While it does have an enjoyable story, there is a lot of shooting as well. I'm a big FPS fan and I really enjoyed the story, but the shooting got pretty tedious. I did play it on the hard setting, so maybe it isn't so bad by default. No weapon had a ton of killing power, and that goes for the plasmids as well. This means that especially nearing the end of the game you have to slug it out with the enemies for quite a while before 1 drops. Even a headshot with the crossbow won't take down all the slicers.

    To kill with plasmids is usually a 2 part move. Most plasmids are there to disable your opponent so you can more easily kill them with your weapons. For plasmids like incinerate that are designed for damage you might need to waste your entire mana bar just to drop 1 foe.

    Also many people as well as myself suffer a crashing bug that shows up while in the menus that open during hacking and when getting a new plasmid or tonic.

    I still think the game is worth buying, but it was not quite as amazing as advertised.
    Expand
  11. PaulT/
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Simply brilliant, a true successor to System Shock 2 at last. One of the best gaming experiences I have ever had. The future of games is alive & it is Bioshock......
  12. YermakirumY.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Very good game.
  13. BenM.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    I'm not one to blindly follow the hype of a game, but I admittedly could not wait until Bioshock was released. I am happy to report that it is everything I could have hoped for and more! Outstanding graphics, awe-inspiring sounds and atmospheric effects, solid story telling in the style of Half-Life 2 (with the addition of audio tapes acting as a narrative), and one of the most I'm not one to blindly follow the hype of a game, but I admittedly could not wait until Bioshock was released. I am happy to report that it is everything I could have hoped for and more! Outstanding graphics, awe-inspiring sounds and atmospheric effects, solid story telling in the style of Half-Life 2 (with the addition of audio tapes acting as a narrative), and one of the most visceral and heart-pounding gaming experienced I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The only minor gripes I currently have are the lack of a speed modified when playing with the keyboard and mouse (you can't walk without a 360 controller!), and the fact that the game utilizes the SecuROM DRM system to authenticate the game to a limited (5 currently) number of PCs, even on the Steam version. Beware of this fact. That being said, if you like games, then there's something to like about Bioshock and you really should check it out. Expand
  14. DJ
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    What can I say that hasn't already be said. I just completed the game, but will definately play it again now, trying new things as I go. The game ran great and had no glitches, bugs, or other problems for me (high-end system, though). Definately worth the money.
    I only wish it could have had slightly more content, but then maybe I'm just greedy.
  15. neilspeck
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    i am a fifty year old gamer and this year looks like it will be a bumper year if crysis or indeed any other game can match up to bioshock.i am running it usinng a xt1900xtx and it looks awsome.the game play is addictive and fun also at the same time pulls you in and sucks you out wanting more.and guess what you get more cos it gets better each time you play it.i have had it one day and ii am a fifty year old gamer and this year looks like it will be a bumper year if crysis or indeed any other game can match up to bioshock.i am running it usinng a xt1900xtx and it looks awsome.the game play is addictive and fun also at the same time pulls you in and sucks you out wanting more.and guess what you get more cos it gets better each time you play it.i have had it one day and i have been on and off it about 6 times in between meals and sleep etc.amazing the trouble is i am going to greece on holiday monday and i will have to wait a week then before i can play it again.what else can i say except if anyone knocks it i would like to know what they have been playing. Expand
  16. JohnV.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Not sure how the FOV really ruins the game or effects gameplay. I also haven't encountered any of these "tons of graphical glitches" and I can always see my mouse cursor. Anyways, this is one of the most amazing games I have every played and even more so goes on to show that a great single player storyline will beat out a rich multiplayer mode any day of the week. It has all the Not sure how the FOV really ruins the game or effects gameplay. I also haven't encountered any of these "tons of graphical glitches" and I can always see my mouse cursor. Anyways, this is one of the most amazing games I have every played and even more so goes on to show that a great single player storyline will beat out a rich multiplayer mode any day of the week. It has all the elements of great gameplay and storline inclusion that in the end, make this one of the greatest video games I have EVER played. Expand
  17. CollinC.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    One of the few games that can truly be considered art. Bioshock offers the gamer a glimpse of what lies ahead for this rapidly evolving medium.
  18. dd
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    It is simply the best FPS game I've ever played. The graphics are stunning and varied. There are lots of puzzles but they never feel like puzzles, they feel like actual problems to be solved. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is that while it's the best in the genre, it's not an entirely new concept, even if it is the best execution of the concept
  19. RJT.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    Bioshock is an experience no one should miss! A exciting and interesting story is here, surrounded by a finely detailed world that is quite unique. Many times I would just stop and marvel, at how well crafted each piece of Rapture really is. The only fault I can find here, is the lack of penalties after your character dies. the challenge is really negated by the Vital chambers. But this Bioshock is an experience no one should miss! A exciting and interesting story is here, surrounded by a finely detailed world that is quite unique. Many times I would just stop and marvel, at how well crafted each piece of Rapture really is. The only fault I can find here, is the lack of penalties after your character dies. the challenge is really negated by the Vital chambers. But this is a minor thing, when compared to the overall creation. Wonderful! Thank you for once again raising the standards for all future games. This is a quality experience, with great voice acting, engaging storyline, amazing graphics, and most of all... exciting. I have enjoyed every second I have spent in Rapture! Expand
  20. GarrettM.
    Aug 26, 2007
    8
    Bioshock stretches the unreal engine to its limit. That being said, it stretches quite nicely. The game delivers superior art design, sound, story, acting, scope, and pretty much everything it attempts to do (excluding basic combat). Those who enjoyed Doom3, but wished for a deeper feeling of imersion, Bioshock is for you.
  21. BigJim49
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    I have deliberately made a point of not looking at other comments while playing this game. I'm about halfway through and from the first I have had the distinct impression of deja vu. System Shock 2 sprang immediately to mind. Still a very good game, good story and gameplay. The mark of a good game is that it forces you to sit on the PC for hours just to see what happens next. II have deliberately made a point of not looking at other comments while playing this game. I'm about halfway through and from the first I have had the distinct impression of deja vu. System Shock 2 sprang immediately to mind. Still a very good game, good story and gameplay. The mark of a good game is that it forces you to sit on the PC for hours just to see what happens next. I should be out gardening but I've managed to lose a full day playing this thing... very addictive. Expand
  22. KN
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    this is a great game, the idea of having diffrent ammo types, upgradable guns (the chemical thrower is REAL FUN) plasmids all adds to variety although there are 2 things which i think would make the game better.
    1. some more character variety because killing splicers over and over then hacking security cameras becomes very repetetive (at least half life 2 had zombies/people/combine ect)
    this is a great game, the idea of having diffrent ammo types, upgradable guns (the chemical thrower is REAL FUN) plasmids all adds to variety although there are 2 things which i think would make the game better.
    1. some more character variety because killing splicers over and over then hacking security cameras becomes very repetetive (at least half life 2 had zombies/people/combine ect)
    2. its always action and i dont think there is enough breaks in gameplay, what i liked were games like HL2/dark messiah/dues ex all had camps where you could stock up on ammo and were out of the action for 5 minutes... with this its constant

    but all in all great storyline, good combat, innotive ideas such as hacking and a great way to show off the new unreal engine before MOH AB and UT3
    Expand
  23. KT
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    If ever there was a game to rival HL and HL2, this would be it. From the characters, to the atmosphere, to the music, this game is the mona lisa of the gaming age. The dystopian feel, the 1984 ambiance, the ayn rand story architechture (especially in Ryan) are all top notch. If you own a functional modern pc (meaning graphics card of 7950 gtx and up) you owe it to yourself to get this If ever there was a game to rival HL and HL2, this would be it. From the characters, to the atmosphere, to the music, this game is the mona lisa of the gaming age. The dystopian feel, the 1984 ambiance, the ayn rand story architechture (especially in Ryan) are all top notch. If you own a functional modern pc (meaning graphics card of 7950 gtx and up) you owe it to yourself to get this game. It's that good. Expand
  24. ChrisG.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing! The graphics are not the best ever seen (ex. Crysis), but the overall atmosphere is amazing. I'm running on a DX9 system, so I haven't experienced the DX10 "extras", but from the side by side comparisons I've seen on the web, there isn't too much difference. The standout of the game is that the sound design is some of the best I've ever experienced. The Amazing! The graphics are not the best ever seen (ex. Crysis), but the overall atmosphere is amazing. I'm running on a DX9 system, so I haven't experienced the DX10 "extras", but from the side by side comparisons I've seen on the web, there isn't too much difference. The standout of the game is that the sound design is some of the best I've ever experienced. The voice acting is top notch. The pacing is perfect. Characters have a personality and go about their daily routines, mumbling strange things to themselves or arguing amongst themselves. This is a living world. There are some minor flaws, but they do not detract from the experience. I have not fallen victim to widescreen issues or any of the registration issues, so I can't talk on those. One of the flaws that I have noticed is that the weapons don't feel right, sometimes. The shotgun, my personal favorite, doesn't have a realistic feel when up close to an enemy. The sound of the shotgun blast is off occasionally. The pistol sounds and feels more powerful than the shotgun. The other thing that seemed strange was that the enemies get tougher as you progress, but without any visual difference. Why does it now take 3 headshots to take down a common enemy that only took 1 earlier? Did they upgrade their health? Are they wearing invisible armor? Why? My advice to anyone that wants to get the most out of this game: 1) Turn up the volume, 2) Use 5.1 speakers or headphones, 3) Sit close to the monitor, 4) Adjust the Brightness through the game options to the optimal setting, 5) Play in a dark room. 6) Turn off subtitles, quest arrow, shiny usable objects ( This adds to the realism and forces you to explore more of the world, unlocking more of Raptures secrets, 7) The game gets better the further you progress, so keep playing This game will pull you in and not let go. Expand
  25. JosephS.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    The most minor of flaw is the lack of online play. Otherwise it is easily one of the most amazing games I've ever played. There are games you play once, and there are games you lay awake in your bed thinking about, contemplating strategies, and ultimately returning to your computer to waste away your sleeping hours with your eyes wide and unblinking, staring at that glowing box that The most minor of flaw is the lack of online play. Otherwise it is easily one of the most amazing games I've ever played. There are games you play once, and there are games you lay awake in your bed thinking about, contemplating strategies, and ultimately returning to your computer to waste away your sleeping hours with your eyes wide and unblinking, staring at that glowing box that sends you into this amazing world. There's simply nothing else like it. This is the sort of game people will be talking about nostalgically in fifteen years, exclaiming how it changed the video game industry for the better. In a world of games that rely on graphics and throw story development down the crapper, this game shines blindingly, and shows us just how flawed other games are, and these games bow before Bioshock. Expand
  26. JudsonV.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This masterpiece combines first-rate gameplay, storytelling, visuals, and even sound into the best game I have played in a long time. Truly, video game art.
  27. AndrewB.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    Wow I had 3 hours of the best gamepley ever last night have a radeon x1900 gt and it looks superb the best graphics I have ever seen! I was thinking of upgrading my Graphics card but I don't think I really need too. Not at all samey samey like oblivion (once you have seen one grey castle you have seen them all!. I cannot wait to get back and play some more . Intelligent Ai even on Wow I had 3 hours of the best gamepley ever last night have a radeon x1900 gt and it looks superb the best graphics I have ever seen! I was thinking of upgrading my Graphics card but I don't think I really need too. Not at all samey samey like oblivion (once you have seen one grey castle you have seen them all!. I cannot wait to get back and play some more . Intelligent Ai even on medium settings. Expand
  28. TimL.
    Aug 30, 2007
    10
    Graphics - Outstanding Gameplay - Outstanding Story - Brilliant Simply breathtaking atmosphere. AI rather smart. Multiple ways to kill enemies. All the environment can be manipulated to your advantage. 10/10 100%
  29. JohnM.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    Like most rpgs this game has repetetive gameplay. And I love to keep doing it over and over again! A great and compelling storyline moral decisions? I loved it. The only flaw is multiplayer. And everyone. The game isn't bad just because you have a bad computer.
  30. RobertL.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Great game, A little choppy with sound but awesome none the less.
  31. JohnC.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    This game has such a dark and twisting story through scenery that screams plastic and fake. The mid-1900s theme is very spooky. It is reminiscent of a happier time gone horribly wrong. This is one of the most visceral experiences you'll find in a game. In terms of graphics, it is on par with gears of war, but blows gears of war out of the water in terms of it's design. The way This game has such a dark and twisting story through scenery that screams plastic and fake. The mid-1900s theme is very spooky. It is reminiscent of a happier time gone horribly wrong. This is one of the most visceral experiences you'll find in a game. In terms of graphics, it is on par with gears of war, but blows gears of war out of the water in terms of it's design. The way the levels are designed is amazingly beautiful. Having enemies that aren't always your enemy is amazing. What I refer to is the Big Daddy. Not since gears' Berzerker has a game character made me tense up at the mere sight of it. It's always interesting when you are fighting a splicer and accidently shoot a Big Daddy. Especially on the harder difficlty settings. The first thought to cross your mind is "Oh SH&*" ...... "RUN!!!!" . The detail and the amount you can explore is also amazing. People may complain that it is too short. I have a theory on this. In fact a lot of great games are accused of being too short. If at the end of a game you still want to continue. If you want more of the story. If you think.... let's do it again! Than the game creates have done good and you are just complaining because you didn't want the experience to end. Expand
  32. SmokeW.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    This game, is not just a game, its a work of art.
  33. GuyS.
    Sep 15, 2007
    9
    No game is perfect, but this comes very close. I don't often play FPS as I don't find them extremely interesting. When I heard of Bioshock I was thinking "Oh great, another FPS to unfairly dominate the gaming world", but when I played it, I was surprised. I was HAVING FUN. I loved the graphics, not only were they good, but they had a very good atmosphere, and of course the water No game is perfect, but this comes very close. I don't often play FPS as I don't find them extremely interesting. When I heard of Bioshock I was thinking "Oh great, another FPS to unfairly dominate the gaming world", but when I played it, I was surprised. I was HAVING FUN. I loved the graphics, not only were they good, but they had a very good atmosphere, and of course the water looked great. The Splicers were grotesque and horrifying, the Big Daddies were almost admirable, considering the lengths they probably have to go to to protect the Horrific Little Sisters from the chaos of Rapture. It was linear, but I have yet to find a FPS that really isn't, as far as the game goes, you can randomly explore the areas for loot and come across the random splicer. So all in all, a very good game, although perhaps not deserving of the "revolutionary" title it was given, but definitely not deserving of the flak it was given by some players. Expand
  34. WilSt.C.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    A brilliant game, and a compelling story mesh to become something larger then just a video game, but an entire world. Do yourself a favor and pick up the damn thing already.
  35. TaylorC.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    This is an excelent game. I truely have not had a greater experince with a game for a long time. This beats Both HL 1 and 2(maybe not episode 1 and 2 though) in story and creativity. The graphics are stunning. The only thing I was annoyed by was the fact i always had lots of ammo. It didnt feel right at all. The only scripted sequnces are at the begining middle, and end, which really made This is an excelent game. I truely have not had a greater experince with a game for a long time. This beats Both HL 1 and 2(maybe not episode 1 and 2 though) in story and creativity. The graphics are stunning. The only thing I was annoyed by was the fact i always had lots of ammo. It didnt feel right at all. The only scripted sequnces are at the begining middle, and end, which really made you feel like you were actually the character, because you were learning about rapture and everything at the same time. And finally, i think most people will get 20 hours out of it (from playing twice, because i beat it in 9.1 hours) in the first month. Then the player will stop playing Bioshock for a few months, then pick it up and play again. Expand
  36. HetH.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    It has almost the exact same "feel" as System Shock 2....But SS2 is universally considered one of the finest games ever developed...So how bad can that be?
  37. KevinW.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    Took a bit of messing with drivers to make it work correctly, but once it worked it is beautiful.
  38. TobyB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    The story alone makes this worth the purchase alone. The design is also exemplary, the "set peices" are outstanding, the pacing is just about right and it does, of course, look gorgeous. Also, if you're slightly feint of heart, don't play it at night with the lights off, few moments where I either jump or just felt downright spooked out. Fantastic.
  39. GrahamG.
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    This experience is over pretty quickly for a 50 buck game. BS gets repetitive very quickly and unless I'm missing something there is little point in replaying the game. On the good side; no bugs, bad side; too many ways to kill stupid enemies. The endgame punch up is obvious and unsatisfying yet the actual ending is better than most. All in all - rather disappointing.
  40. BrianS.
    Sep 29, 2007
    8
    I pre-ordered this game because the player buzz in regards to it was very strong, the level design was absolutely stunning and the FPS game play was effective if average, the additional RPG side of the game was fun, and reminiscent of the old Fallout series in a way, but fairly superficial as well. Largely while Bioshock excels in the area of level design, atmosphere and story, it I pre-ordered this game because the player buzz in regards to it was very strong, the level design was absolutely stunning and the FPS game play was effective if average, the additional RPG side of the game was fun, and reminiscent of the old Fallout series in a way, but fairly superficial as well. Largely while Bioshock excels in the area of level design, atmosphere and story, it doesn't really do much to step away from the linear trend of FPS games and its RPG additions don't really do anything so outstanding that it truly takes the game to another level. It is, by and large, a magnum opus of level design, art and nostalgia and must be appreciated for that, but in the area of game design, it hasn't really taken any new strides or tried any new concepts, so it falls short of a pure 10 score in that regard. Great game, worth the money simply for the beautifully grungy design work, but beyond that, nothing really new here. Expand
  41. SpyderC.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    The greatest game I've ever played. Multiple endings make replayability excellent as well. Graphics are best I've ever seen and I play a lot of PC games. It is a tad unstable at some settings, but can be avoided by using the default video settings. Hope this is fixed in the future.
  42. DarkHandTDH
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Ce n'est pas pour rien que la presse est unanime. Depuis combien de temps un jeu et surtout un fps nous avait offert une ambiance aussi soignée? Les quelques rageux qui mettes 0 ou 3 sur 10 n'ont pas le pc pour le lancer je pense il en ai pas possible autrement. Personnelement je n'est aucun bug avec mon ecran wide. Bref y'a pas à hésiter jettezCe n'est pas pour rien que la presse est unanime. Depuis combien de temps un jeu et surtout un fps nous avait offert une ambiance aussi soignée? Les quelques rageux qui mettes 0 ou 3 sur 10 n'ont pas le pc pour le lancer je pense il en ai pas possible autrement. Personnelement je n'est aucun bug avec mon ecran wide. Bref y'a pas à hésiter jettez vous dessus! Expand
  43. AnonymousMC
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    If you're going to give this game a 1 you should probably check to see you're actually meeting its system requirements. The guy who couldn't see his mouse cursor was using shader model 2.0 and the game requires a card with 3.0.
    This game is fantastic--the only game that's as immersive, and well-crafted as the Half-live games. While the combat is a little inferior
    If you're going to give this game a 1 you should probably check to see you're actually meeting its system requirements. The guy who couldn't see his mouse cursor was using shader model 2.0 and the game requires a card with 3.0.
    This game is fantastic--the only game that's as immersive, and well-crafted as the Half-live games. While the combat is a little inferior to H-L, the superior art direction makes up for it. Bioshock deserves it's place in a three-way tie with VALVe's games..
    Expand
  44. JohnnyM.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Beautiful. Evocative. Creepy. Engaging. Above all, fun. If you only play one shooter this year, then make it Bioshock. P.s. it's far better than Crysis.
  45. Jeremy
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Excellent game, best atmosphere in a long time. Recommend playing it in the dark, makes it feel even better. Very original from the little sisters, to the setting and everything. Excellent sound and music, much better then Crysis, etc. I would give it about the same as COD 4 as one of the best games of 2007.
  46. Paul
    Jan 11, 2008
    9
    It becomes clear very quickly that every room and corridor in the game has been lavished with attention to detail and clever touches, from corpses and disarrayed furniture to cryptic messages. That pretty much sums up the game for me. It is stunning to look at, listen to, and explore, but if you're just rushing through it you may as well give BioShock a miss. It is a FPS to the core It becomes clear very quickly that every room and corridor in the game has been lavished with attention to detail and clever touches, from corpses and disarrayed furniture to cryptic messages. That pretty much sums up the game for me. It is stunning to look at, listen to, and explore, but if you're just rushing through it you may as well give BioShock a miss. It is a FPS to the core - lets be upfront about this. The RPG elements are extremely limited, as are the moral and narrative choices you make in the game. One other limiting suprise for me was the linear nature of the game. At the end of the day BioShock still uses the old Doom 1.0.0 formula of go to A, get key at B, unlock C, get D, return to A. Again, this is hardly a negative unless you believe Take2's spin about BioShock being a totally non-linear world. Combat is a little clunky, but that is counterbalanced by the game encouraging you to experiment with ways to dispatch the various splicers and big daddies. Replay value is limited somewhat, but most players shouldn't mind giving the 15-20 hour game at least a couple of play through. I've concentrated on the negatives thus far so players don't disappoint themselves by BioShock not meeting expectations. Having said all that I'm still more than happy to give it a 90%. Its a staggeringly smart, beautiful, lavish experience, right up there with the best of FPSers (HL, Max Payne, etc). There is so much thought, back story and design invested in this game that it is simply stunning. The game runs beautifully on current hardware. Expand
  47. darthmaulskywalker
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    The haunting musical score, amazing graphics, and innovative gameplay sets a new bar for the FPS genre. The storytelling also immerses you in the game as you fight Big Daddies and collect EVE. There's also little chance you'll take it out before playing again to see the 2nd ending.
  48. SimonS.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    In my opinion, it´s one of the most enthralling and exciting shooters ever made. The unique setting and the atmosphere makes you really feel like being in a living underwater city.
  49. CaseyY.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This game is quite amazing. Though the combat of the game is about a B the story and style of the game are far greater than most of the stereotypical junk out in the market.
  50. MattW.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    One of the most facinating FPS I have ever played. For your second (or first for that matter) turn off the music and enjoy the unique and subtle enivornment that is Rapture. Listen to the denzions of the city share their stories. Lose yourself to the song of the whales as they swim near the glass. An experience you won't ever forget.
  51. JackV.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    The game has such an amazing atmosphere and intense emotion. I have never played a game which brings makes you feel like reality.
  52. EdwinM.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    An amazing play. An experience like no other. I was utterly immersed in the world of Rapture. I've been playing games since the Atari on all systems, and have lots of PC experience as well, and I've never played a game that was able to capture so many diverse elements and still be steady, exciting, and FUN. There are so many options in your approach to this game as an FPS/rpg An amazing play. An experience like no other. I was utterly immersed in the world of Rapture. I've been playing games since the Atari on all systems, and have lots of PC experience as well, and I've never played a game that was able to capture so many diverse elements and still be steady, exciting, and FUN. There are so many options in your approach to this game as an FPS/rpg that you can play it over and over again, and do it differently each time! The world is beautiful and doesn't take away from performance either! A MUST PLAY! Expand
  53. MarkR.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Outstanding. I didn't want it to end. Can't really think of anything to say Bioshock at all. Incredible.
  54. JesseG.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    This game was absolutely stunning and so psychologically twisted that only a mature strong mind can handle. I enjoyed every bit of it. And for those guys giving it a bad rating probably only whip right through the game without capturing the feeling and emotions the game give (kind of like people who inhale their food without tasting it).
  55. RoshT.
    Apr 21, 2008
    9
    This game is extremely good but you cant give it a 10.Graphics wise,yes they have done a great amount of designing to polish the game.Game play wise,its same old shooting and occasional surprise backed by very good story.
  56. JesseM.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    It was an awesome game. I played it on a Wii. The graphics is sooooo great. i loved it. I liked everything about it.
  57. AndyM.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Breathtaking indeed, this game is amazing. I don't think there's even a point to reviewing this game, you really must play it for yourself to understand just how good this game is.
  58. AndrewF.
    Jun 14, 2008
    10
    A true work of art. Easily the best game of 2007, and the best game in a very long time. Thankfully, the creators took their time on making a great singleplayer game instead of following the rest of the crowd and throwing in some garbage multiplayer. Great decision, can't wait for the sequel (hopefully).
  59. JoshuaP.
    Jun 25, 2008
    10
    This Game Is Fantastic! Its Has a mix of Horror and Thrill. This Game Will Keep You On Your Toes Waiting For Mutants to Jump Out and Get You! And Randall M. Just Because u have a shitty computer and cant run the game doesn't mean the game is bad.
  60. NickM.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    This game has an incredible storyline and great game play, along with its immerse and clever enemies. But this game fails to bring anything new to the FPS shooter line, its just another run and gun game. But with all the items there are to find and the multiple hours i could play this game i give it a 9. Pros: Great Story Great Graphics Amazing AI Easy to grasp Just plain Fun Cons: Run of This game has an incredible storyline and great game play, along with its immerse and clever enemies. But this game fails to bring anything new to the FPS shooter line, its just another run and gun game. But with all the items there are to find and the multiple hours i could play this game i give it a 9. Pros: Great Story Great Graphics Amazing AI Easy to grasp Just plain Fun Cons: Run of the mill FPS Lack of Ammo&Supplies Last boss was incredibly easy Cant get all the powerups in 1 playthrough The scare factor was very low, but i guess its not supposed to be a horror though. Expand
  61. AndyB
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Outstanding Game. System Shock 2 and Deus Ex finally got the spiritual successor they deserve.
  62. LarryakashellbackLarson
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    Bioshock is unlike any computer game I have ever played. I can tell you right now if you read this you will have never herd of me as a game reviewer or blogger. For another thing, as an older and more mature gammer you will never hear me make blank statements like: Best game in the whole wide world etc, etc. However, without question some people worked very hard to write a game none of us Bioshock is unlike any computer game I have ever played. I can tell you right now if you read this you will have never herd of me as a game reviewer or blogger. For another thing, as an older and more mature gammer you will never hear me make blank statements like: Best game in the whole wide world etc, etc. However, without question some people worked very hard to write a game none of us have ever seen or experienced before and the program writters at 2K, who wrote Bioshock, did just that. Can I say it is the best game I ever played? Truefully, I am not sure. Yes it is up there as being one of the very few greatest games I ever played but there are other ground braking games out there. For example: Quake and UT, but those games are old in todays (but they did brake ground) gamming world. Nevertheless, it has been a very long time that we have enjoyed a solid ground braking game like Bioshock. In my humble opinion 2K games has done that with Bioshock. Get ready for the ride of your life. Expand
  63. MatthewC
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    This is truly one of the greatest games i have ever played. the visuals are absolutely stunning, the sound effects and design are brilliant and the character design is downright amazing. I haven't played a game this immersive, intense and frightening in a long time. This game is, for lack of a better word, Perfect.
  64. BobB.
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    Bioshock has some of the most excellent weapons FPS's have to offer, an exciting plot, and beautiful vistas, but the problem is with repetitive level design. After a while, you really needed a change of scenery, and more enemies.
  65. ChristopherNa
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I agree with Steven H because first of all system shock 2 and bioshock are made by different companies (yet looking glass failed). As far as I know in system shock 2 had a good story plot and scariness factor. But the game play still sucked and very easy to beat. It's also lacks upgrades, challenge, repetitive game play and treasure hunting for supplies. It also lacks the rpg game I agree with Steven H because first of all system shock 2 and bioshock are made by different companies (yet looking glass failed). As far as I know in system shock 2 had a good story plot and scariness factor. But the game play still sucked and very easy to beat. It's also lacks upgrades, challenge, repetitive game play and treasure hunting for supplies. It also lacks the rpg game play and first person shooter. Despite the fact that your character is a skinny looking dude with eyeglasses that are not funky enough. The upgrades are useless and expensive. I would say downloading it for free would be better than buying it. Bioshock had few flaws but unbelievable graphics. Such as the water flowing through your feet (feet needs work). The story line was great and the upgrades were cool as heck. It's hard to fight against big daddies and just a single enemy can bring the word trouble. The atmosphere may seem not scary at first but as you progress sometimes fear takes over. The water is just amazing because of the graphics it produces. The entire game is worth every penny and after you beat it you want to play it again to find the different endings. Expand
  66. EvanMiller
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    Easily one of the most origional and challenging first person shooters EVER! The only bad is that the game can be almost to challenging at times, even on normal. also some parts are so dark that you can hardly see. But besides these minor defects, BIOSHOCK is easily a pioneer into the age of modern gaming. 9.5/10 in my book.
  67. oli
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    some aspects are a little simpler than ss2 but you cant say it is a bad game. even ben yahtzee crosshaw said it was the best game of 2007. the plasmid problem would be worse if we were weighed down with dozens of powers that we don't use. if you dont like it go back to your pussy fucking halo 3!
  68. PeterL.
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    Bioshock is an engaging piece of work. The twisted retro atmosphere and storyline kept me engaged from start to finish. I particularly enjoyed the Doom-esque feature of filling in story gaps via audio logs. The Little Sisters are downright eerie and I found myself stopping often to inspect the disturbing visuals displayed throughout the game. As it's been stated by many others, truly Bioshock is an engaging piece of work. The twisted retro atmosphere and storyline kept me engaged from start to finish. I particularly enjoyed the Doom-esque feature of filling in story gaps via audio logs. The Little Sisters are downright eerie and I found myself stopping often to inspect the disturbing visuals displayed throughout the game. As it's been stated by many others, truly a masterpiece! Expand
  69. Dalek
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    BEST GAME EVER. When I tried out the demo it was amazing graphics and I thought hey! this is pretty good except my drivers didn't get past the 2nd map. It crashed when it was loading or my pc restarts itself aka crash. But the story line is good it was fun loads of stuff to do, good and evil. Old music which is nice. Gave me a lovely feeling that game. CANT WAIT TILL BIOSHOCK 2!
  70. Brad
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played and I would have given it a ten if it hadn't been so repetitive. The graphics were amazing and the story line is amazing. The only reason why many people rate this a one is because they haven't looked through the game menus, just got the demo, or they have an outdated graphics card. 9.5/10 for sure
  71. TonyW.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    By far the most engrossing way of storytelling in a game to date. The audio diaries are a stroke of genius. They not only deliver the story but they also make you think about the story - try to piece together all the snippets and fragments you find. Hands down the best FPS of 2007.
  72. ColbyA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    This game was really good. Fun features, quite a bit of innovation as far as storyline goes. It was really creepy in ways I never thought it would be. Only complaints are the respawn system, and the fact that the game felt too easy on a whole, and the whole hacking system was kind of funny/too easy, and finally that some of the Plasmids and Gene Tonics were useless. Beautiful, innovative This game was really good. Fun features, quite a bit of innovation as far as storyline goes. It was really creepy in ways I never thought it would be. Only complaints are the respawn system, and the fact that the game felt too easy on a whole, and the whole hacking system was kind of funny/too easy, and finally that some of the Plasmids and Gene Tonics were useless. Beautiful, innovative atmosphere and setting. Never played System Shock - heard these games were similar. Expand
  73. PadaG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    One of the few games that has held me to the end! No difficulties on my PC with sound, setup, video cards or lockups -and I played at highest settings. Controls are user set to your own specs. I guess it was a FPS with "dumb" enemies, but the setting was gorgeous and atmospheric, the puzzles reasonable and the play frantic. My one criticism was the "instant rebirth" with no penalties One of the few games that has held me to the end! No difficulties on my PC with sound, setup, video cards or lockups -and I played at highest settings. Controls are user set to your own specs. I guess it was a FPS with "dumb" enemies, but the setting was gorgeous and atmospheric, the puzzles reasonable and the play frantic. My one criticism was the "instant rebirth" with no penalties after each "death". This tended to make the game a little too easy. Unfortunately it has little replay value.Still I wish all games were as good as this! Expand
  74. JimD.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. The art design in it makes the game seem surreal yet real at the same time. It makes you feel as though you are actually part of a story. For me it is the perfect balance of story and action!
  75. JoshB.
    Aug 21, 2007
    8
    All in all a great game. Exquisitely well done graphics, the music, the atmosphere, the game play revolution. So many choices on how to tackle the situations and puzzles. A very high replay value.
  76. robertHaggarty
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    The game was very long and it took me a day and a half of nonstop play to beat it. The story line was one of the best ones ive seen in a while and the game play is flawless. Use of the plasmidsmakes for an all around fun time. The graphics are also to die for, making this one of the best titles on the xbox 360 "A MUST BUY"!!!
  77. AndrewW.
    Aug 22, 2007
    8
    Reasons it wasn't that great: No enemy variety Not difficult Tired plot Too easy to buy your way out of ammo shortages/trouble Weapons don't cause desired destruction You c an do cool stuff with plasmids, but all the really fun things you have to painstakingly set up which makes the game feel canned. All this game really nails in my opinion are the environments and graphics - Reasons it wasn't that great: No enemy variety Not difficult Tired plot Too easy to buy your way out of ammo shortages/trouble Weapons don't cause desired destruction You c an do cool stuff with plasmids, but all the really fun things you have to painstakingly set up which makes the game feel canned. All this game really nails in my opinion are the environments and graphics - you could have the same experience watching somebody play it as playing yourself. Expand
  78. EnddorD.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    Incredible atmosphere, brilliant story, and fantastic gameplay. One of the best single player games ever.
  79. DT
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    If you possess any amount of intelligence, this game will reward what you have. If you possess any amount of imagination, the possibilities are endless. If you lack both, you will find yourself confused, disappointed and bored. No spoilers here, but this game is certainly more enjoyable and is one of the greatest breakthroughs in PC gaming because it succeeds in its subtlety of applying If you possess any amount of intelligence, this game will reward what you have. If you possess any amount of imagination, the possibilities are endless. If you lack both, you will find yourself confused, disappointed and bored. No spoilers here, but this game is certainly more enjoyable and is one of the greatest breakthroughs in PC gaming because it succeeds in its subtlety of applying FPS/RPG conventions while allowing the player to feel as if he is an intricate part of it all. Expand
  80. Czar
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    This game has it all. Intense game play, amazing visuals, and a simply awesome settings. The art-deco underwater city is just great. I love hearing the latest tape recordings and slowly finding out what is going on. The plasmids are simply cool. Bioshock is a real breath of fresh air. Bioshock has revived the FPS genre for me. Recommend playing on decent specced computer.
  81. ROBO_LEADER
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Irrational does an amazing job of sucking you in and not letting you out. The controls are well laid out, the graphics are great, even on DX9 with low settings, mainly because the style is held up so well, and the story is extremly well integrated into the game, but you could ignore it alltogether and still have a blast. This game actually had me playing untill my hands cramped, Amazing. Irrational does an amazing job of sucking you in and not letting you out. The controls are well laid out, the graphics are great, even on DX9 with low settings, mainly because the style is held up so well, and the story is extremly well integrated into the game, but you could ignore it alltogether and still have a blast. This game actually had me playing untill my hands cramped, I wanted to delve even further into Rapture, I wanted to complete it all in one sittng, like watching a great movie or reading your favorite book, you just don't want to stop playing. Kiss your schedule goodbye, this is by far, the best new game for two years. Expand
  82. JosephP.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    A fantastic, original story, captivating gameplay mechanics and a wonderfully crafted world. A superb game for FPS and RPG fans alike.
  83. CurlM
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Talk about perfection... There hasn't been a game release that has drawn me in like this in a very long time. I challenge other developers to do the same.

    And to all the naysayers and complainers, just play the game and enjoy it. Stop acting like whiny little kids!
  84. AM
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    an amazingly inventive and original game, i was not aware of it until release, so avoided all the hype. for the 2 people who have complained so far, i understand somewhat the overly complexity of the game but thats why they included the shift menu with all weapons and plasmids, giving you paused time to select the best weapon for the next scenario. second person there are bugs becausean amazingly inventive and original game, i was not aware of it until release, so avoided all the hype. for the 2 people who have complained so far, i understand somewhat the overly complexity of the game but thats why they included the shift menu with all weapons and plasmids, giving you paused time to select the best weapon for the next scenario. second person there are bugs because your computer is a piece of shit, thus far it has been a extremely stable release with only some minor physics/gameplay issues, and btw dave a this isn't ea, which you shouldn't be expecting quality from. as with any form of high art it goes over the heads of the lesser dabblers, the cannot properly appreciated the wonderful blend of so many different genres to help refresh the tired old fps format. Expand
  85. GMcG
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    An excellent game, though a little difficult for those without the proper equipment.

    If you have a fast, up-to-date, killer gaming PC then this is the perfect game for you. However, if your PC is a little behind on the updates, it can bring the experience down a bit.

    Either way, an engrossing and beautiful game. Good work, Irrational and 2K!
  86. DaveW
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    There isn't much to say about this game that hasn't already been said. However it is not a perfect 10... not because of anything in the game, but instead the use of DRM in the PC version. It's enough of an issue to atleast lose a point... Nothing in this game is at fault, it is expertly crafted. My only niggle is that the little sisters don't back away and try to hideThere isn't much to say about this game that hasn't already been said. However it is not a perfect 10... not because of anything in the game, but instead the use of DRM in the PC version. It's enough of an issue to atleast lose a point... Nothing in this game is at fault, it is expertly crafted. My only niggle is that the little sisters don't back away and try to hide after your initial encounter with one, but it hardly matters. Expand
  87. Dr.G.
    Aug 25, 2007
    8
    A well built game but has it's share of flaws that over hyped games typically have. While the environment was intricately constructed there was a definite sense of being enclosed. There was no feeling of "openness" as one may expect from a next-gen FPS. Of course this is because of the underwater environment seems to be limiting as to what surroundings can produce. While the game had A well built game but has it's share of flaws that over hyped games typically have. While the environment was intricately constructed there was a definite sense of being enclosed. There was no feeling of "openness" as one may expect from a next-gen FPS. Of course this is because of the underwater environment seems to be limiting as to what surroundings can produce. While the game had an excellent plot I still felt a sort of cookie cutter resemblance to many other games. If I were to measure this game against HL2 I believe Bioshock would leave me wanting more. In the end this game had a very intriguing concept but I believe that it was victim to the typical over hype that most big name games are in our present time. Expand
  88. TheCaptain
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    I like this score. It really says how I felt about this: pretty good. Kind of short. I expected more replay value too. I liked the moral dilemma and the twist was decent if corny. One person said the graphics were terrible. That's like saying watermelon is terrible because your knife isn't sharp enough to cut it. What?! Get a new fucking knife! There's juicy delicious I like this score. It really says how I felt about this: pretty good. Kind of short. I expected more replay value too. I liked the moral dilemma and the twist was decent if corny. One person said the graphics were terrible. That's like saying watermelon is terrible because your knife isn't sharp enough to cut it. What?! Get a new fucking knife! There's juicy delicious inside. My computer's only decent and the game doesn't run that choppy at all on high settings. Clearly it's very well optimized. As for the AI... it really does try not to die which is all you can really expect and it gets better later on with them more likely to run off to healing stations when necessary. Someone else said "overly complex." There's some complexity in it, but it's actually fairly simple. In fact, it's very much like any other FPS. It's more linear than expected, which aids the narrative any way. You get guns, hope you have ammo and shoot things. There are some decisions to make along the way. Otherwise if your head hurts while playing this I'd seek medical attention because there's not even that much to think about. Unless you're listening intently to the intricate story through the audio diaries strewn about the game. I'll agree that it was over hyped, but this is still a must have game. Expand
  89. Adrian
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    An amazing rollercoaster of a ride that oozes atmosphere. The attention to detail is phenomenal and the graphics are incredible. You really get involved in the story behind Rapture and the mystery surrounding this underwater "Utopia". This game provides plenty of thrills and tension that's sure to keep you on your toes at all times and see it through to the end. Sure, this game An amazing rollercoaster of a ride that oozes atmosphere. The attention to detail is phenomenal and the graphics are incredible. You really get involved in the story behind Rapture and the mystery surrounding this underwater "Utopia". This game provides plenty of thrills and tension that's sure to keep you on your toes at all times and see it through to the end. Sure, this game isn't perfect (no game is), but that doesn't mean it doesn't deserve a 10. Easily one of the best games on XBOX 360 and probably one of the best games overall that I have played in the last 6 or 7 years. Expand
  90. ElliottS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    An excellent update to a perfect game (System Shock 2). It is far scarier than Doom3 'promised' to be, but this title lives up to its claims and makes you carry on actually wanting to be scared. There is I feel a little something lacking in the plasmid selection, far more choice would have been good and areas where one plasmid would be needed over another to make swapping and An excellent update to a perfect game (System Shock 2). It is far scarier than Doom3 'promised' to be, but this title lives up to its claims and makes you carry on actually wanting to be scared. There is I feel a little something lacking in the plasmid selection, far more choice would have been good and areas where one plasmid would be needed over another to make swapping and managing them all the more integrated but that's a minor complaint. All in all, graphics, sound, gameplay, story a 100% classic and definite contender to Game Of The Decade never mind the year. Expand
  91. GeraldS.
    Sep 13, 2007
    8
    First off, I'll explain I knew nothing about this being the "spiritual successor" to System Shock 2 (one of my favorite games), so imaging my surprise when I realized that's exactly what it was trying to be. I say "try" because, although at first my jaw dropped with the visuals and tense set pieces, I soon realized it paled slightly to SS2. Still fun to play (for a shooter), but First off, I'll explain I knew nothing about this being the "spiritual successor" to System Shock 2 (one of my favorite games), so imaging my surprise when I realized that's exactly what it was trying to be. I say "try" because, although at first my jaw dropped with the visuals and tense set pieces, I soon realized it paled slightly to SS2. Still fun to play (for a shooter), but not as in-depth as its predecessor. Expand
  92. IanN.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    The kind of experience that makes me proud of my hobby.
  93. DonW.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    A unigue game style that's easy to learn and fun to play. It has an engrossing story that keeps you wondering untill the end. All in all one of the most original games I've played in a long time.
  94. ArielO.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    Its fun has nice graphics and not only action but its also horror or some type of edge of the seat game. ill say it deserves a 9.5 but 10s good enuf it really does deserve a nice round of applause.
  95. NickA.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Now it is my favourite game: gameplay, storyline, graphics,music - everything is perfect. Some say that it isn't revolutional and just a bubble.Yes, most of technologies not so fresh and taken from other games, but in our case it will like comparing hunting and darts. AI-ecology, brilliant water, plasmids("magic"), security system - yeap, they aren't so fresh, but realisation Now it is my favourite game: gameplay, storyline, graphics,music - everything is perfect. Some say that it isn't revolutional and just a bubble.Yes, most of technologies not so fresh and taken from other games, but in our case it will like comparing hunting and darts. AI-ecology, brilliant water, plasmids("magic"), security system - yeap, they aren't so fresh, but realisation and integration is the best. And of course storyline is perfect. Want more! Expand
  96. DavidR.
    Sep 26, 2007
    10
    Such an amazing game. Creative storyline, unique weapons/abilities, awesome environment. One-of-a-kind unique FPS that is a must play.
  97. CharlieH.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing. I had read about the story and it was still intriguing. I played it for 5-8 hours per session and loved every bit of it. To those who seem to complain about this game that's the beauty of it. If you don't like a certain part of the gameplay you can play some other way. Don't like hacking? Try the security target plasmid. Don't like plasmids? Use This game is amazing. I had read about the story and it was still intriguing. I played it for 5-8 hours per session and loved every bit of it. To those who seem to complain about this game that's the beauty of it. If you don't like a certain part of the gameplay you can play some other way. Don't like hacking? Try the security target plasmid. Don't like plasmids? Use the weapon arsenal and different ammo types to kill everything in your path. As for bugs I didn't experience a single issue on my computer. BioShock rocks. Buy it today. Expand
  98. EndlessWaves
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    Bioshock is the typical fps game, the plot is just there to move you along, you get the standard complement of weapons (pistol, machine gun, shotgun, grenade launcher etc.) and you get whisked through various different scenery with the odd boss along the way. Where it falls down is that it's done well enough that you start thinking it's something more and are disappointed when Bioshock is the typical fps game, the plot is just there to move you along, you get the standard complement of weapons (pistol, machine gun, shotgun, grenade launcher etc.) and you get whisked through various different scenery with the odd boss along the way. Where it falls down is that it's done well enough that you start thinking it's something more and are disappointed when you realise it isn't. You start getting attatched to the city and wonder what it's fate will be, concerned over what these plasmids are doing to your health and wanting to meet the people who's diaries you keep finding. But you just shoot your way to the final boss, get a token ending cutscene and then wonder whether Bioshock 2 will be the much more ambituous game that this one could have been. Expand
  99. NeilC.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Wonderful atmospheric game. Sander Cohen is one all the all time great game characters. Unlike the telephone messages in FEAR and the audio logs in Doom 3, the audio messages in this game add to the atmosphere and are worthy of pausing and listening to. The 50s music is used to great effect and the level design and story are interesting enough to make you want to plough through to the Wonderful atmospheric game. Sander Cohen is one all the all time great game characters. Unlike the telephone messages in FEAR and the audio logs in Doom 3, the audio messages in this game add to the atmosphere and are worthy of pausing and listening to. The 50s music is used to great effect and the level design and story are interesting enough to make you want to plough through to the end. The gameplay and combat isn't as satisfying as System Shock 2 but the storyline and atmosphere do it justice. Expand
  100. JohnP.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Very well, made hard to predict
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  2. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  3. 97
    There is art here, despite what many would say isn't possible with games, from Roger Ebert to game designers like Hideo Kojima... BioShock stands as a monolithic example of the convergence of entertaining gameplay and an irresistibly sinister, engrossing storyline that encompasses a host of multifaceted characters. This is an essential gaming experience.