User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3059 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SHODAN
    Jan 12, 2008
    3
    This game is a backwards step from the decade-old game it is imitating. Elements not lifted directly out of System Shock 2 are those that were stripped from it in the dumbing-down process. This says a lot about the current state of the industry.
  2. tv
    Nov 7, 2008
    0
    Bioshock starts out OK. It's got a good atmosphere starting out, but it doesn't keep that up. It just gets boring very fast. The enemies are tedious, weapons are unbalanced (I run around with all ammo and money maxxed out half the time), some levels are confusing (what to do next? How to open the door to the next part of the level, that sort of thing). The graphics are all very Bioshock starts out OK. It's got a good atmosphere starting out, but it doesn't keep that up. It just gets boring very fast. The enemies are tedious, weapons are unbalanced (I run around with all ammo and money maxxed out half the time), some levels are confusing (what to do next? How to open the door to the next part of the level, that sort of thing). The graphics are all very shiny, like everybody running around is very very wet and slimy all the time. The only beautiful graphics are in the little sister characters, all other characters are just plain ugly! There were a few cool moments, and even a couple of smart or innovative things, although most of those get boring very fast (hacking stuff is irritating after, say, 10 times, and certainly after the 500 times you are supposed to do it). All in all I'd give it a 5 or a 6, but for the average's sake, a zero. This game is simply listed too high! Expand
  3. SteveP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    0
    The game installs invasive copy-protection (DRM) on your PC, and it does not get removed when the game in uninstalled.
  4. RandallM.
    May 28, 2008
    1
    Totally sucked. It crashed my computer after 15 min of boring, crap quality play. One reviewer said this game gets you hooked immediately. Not So.
  5. JoeM
    Jul 22, 2008
    4
    Despite a promising start, this game quickly disappoints, as it becomes apparent that in the midst of all the game's atmosphere, they forgot to make it fun. That is to say, shooting enemies is boring, regardless of your weapon or special powers. Add to this clichéd anti-intellectualism and a gaming world devoid of motivation and you have a distinctly sub-par game.
  6. NestorB.
    Jul 23, 2008
    2
    Bioshock is one of the most buggy games I ever played. Lots of problems to make it work properly, lots of crashes. Not even the patch works. You only have to go to the forums to see how many people complains about this game. Besides the constant crashes, yeah, I could play the game, and...well, the gun sounds are...quite poor... the graphics, they all look like cartoons... it's just Bioshock is one of the most buggy games I ever played. Lots of problems to make it work properly, lots of crashes. Not even the patch works. You only have to go to the forums to see how many people complains about this game. Besides the constant crashes, yeah, I could play the game, and...well, the gun sounds are...quite poor... the graphics, they all look like cartoons... it's just all go and go and go...absolutely linear...ambientation? try stalker, this one is just gotham underwater, i've seen that city so many times...and the plasmids...you kidding me? "plasmids"? sounds like something sweet and soft you can eat in the cinema...and the guy just finds a neddle and uses it, yeah, very common... Sorry guys, didn't like it at all, it's just a very common shooter exchanging guns for "plasmids". Very, very common... My rating goes for the crashes! (still quite annoyed...) Expand
  7. xioxenna
    Jul 8, 2008
    4
    Great looking but shallow, linear, very little true customisation, 4stars all for effects and atmostphere, precious little in the way of a challenge, attrocious ai, cant understand ANY good reviews this game has got, it's just completely untrue.
  8. Viktor
    Dec 28, 2009
    4
    Looking at the score I expected something that would blow half-life 1 into the dust as the most innovativ game and best gaming experience. However it is a boring game which I had to force myself into playing through. I don't understand how the criticts could fall for this game as they have. It is a mediocre FPS.
  9. MichaelT
    Feb 14, 2009
    0
    I comment this for the overrated Critics score. Learn to critizice.
  10. CharlesB
    May 2, 2009
    1
    Game is fantastic if it would work properly. I have never played a game so buggy in my life, yes... this one is worse than Age of Conan at launch for bug issues. I got stuck on the 6th stage of the game because the game would crash when zoning in. This game would have gotten a 9 or a 10 from me if it would have worked correctly.
  11. sammyLOL
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    This game really is a piece of overblown shit. So glad i bought it for 5 bucks off of steam. There is nothing interesting about this game. The aura it tries to create is completely destroyed by the clunky fighting style and an often frustrating learning curve. I wish the character had an inner ear so running didn't have the feeling of constantly running into shit. The graphics annoy This game really is a piece of overblown shit. So glad i bought it for 5 bucks off of steam. There is nothing interesting about this game. The aura it tries to create is completely destroyed by the clunky fighting style and an often frustrating learning curve. I wish the character had an inner ear so running didn't have the feeling of constantly running into shit. The graphics annoy the hell out of me, the lighting is completely overdone and exaggerated. I also love that the enemies spastically and unrealistically move like they are on crack, making it nearly impossible to headshot a moving target. The game progression and upgrades are also total bullshit, what is with the whole hacking mini-game? I didn't play this game to do something i could find on shitty internet game websites. Only buy this if its, like, way on sale. Expand
  12. JamesL.
    Nov 17, 2007
    2
    On PC, this game plays like what it is - a bad console port with none of the problems ironed out. Although the graphics are hardly ground breaking (think unreal 2004 with bad textures and fancy water effects), this game is a resource hog, and it still runs like crap on high end systems. The sound likes to glitch at random too, forcing me to restart the game. Although the story is decent, On PC, this game plays like what it is - a bad console port with none of the problems ironed out. Although the graphics are hardly ground breaking (think unreal 2004 with bad textures and fancy water effects), this game is a resource hog, and it still runs like crap on high end systems. The sound likes to glitch at random too, forcing me to restart the game. Although the story is decent, the gameplay is boring, repetitive, and frustrating. Enemies respawn out of nowhere in areas you have already cleared just seconds before. The non-plasmid weaponry is uninspired and ineffective, plus aiming is extremely hard thanks to a poor mouse look implementation. This is one game that is better left on console. I want my money back. Expand
  13. wadzkup
    Aug 25, 2007
    1
    waste of money, terrible and overhyped. No variety in the enemies (warping or shooting guns isnt variety) and they say you have choices to make, the only choice is to harvest or save girls... the story was so incredibly weak that I reinstalled hl2 to get that bad taste out of my mouth. Valve better make tf2 worth it....
  14. goggruel
    Aug 25, 2007
    4
    VERY poor quality - game is GREAT - but no as complex as system shock - more FPS then anything - story line is ok (the sound quality to hear it is POOR - game crashes and resets all settings every 30 mins or so - DONT BUY FROM STORE - buy it from steam - it gets patches 1st and has a lot less problems
  15. kingj0nking
    Sep 21, 2007
    0
    This game has many bugs. If you don't mind that, the game is very very very very very VERY easy.. The gameplay is very short too. It's not all that great. You can use the wrench the whole way though the game... It's an okay game but not worth a 10 or a 100 like all the other mindless raters... You can kill the big daddys with a wrench, i figured out how to not die to one This game has many bugs. If you don't mind that, the game is very very very very very VERY easy.. The gameplay is very short too. It's not all that great. You can use the wrench the whole way though the game... It's an okay game but not worth a 10 or a 100 like all the other mindless raters... You can kill the big daddys with a wrench, i figured out how to not die to one and kill it on the hardest mode.... You don't get enough bullets if you just want to shoot your way though it. Waste of money IMO. Expand
  16. TerryS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    Support sucks, inability to play on active video cards
  17. DavidP.
    Nov 24, 2008
    4
    It was fairly boring. You are kept busy in bioshock, but the things you do are repetitive and not actually fun, hack this, hack that, choose what upgrade goes in what slot. select a plasmid shoot ememy, select wrench hit enemy, repeat. Graphics are very pretty but i don't care about that very much, i care about gameplay/ game pacing/ highs and lows/ moments that get your heart racing It was fairly boring. You are kept busy in bioshock, but the things you do are repetitive and not actually fun, hack this, hack that, choose what upgrade goes in what slot. select a plasmid shoot ememy, select wrench hit enemy, repeat. Graphics are very pretty but i don't care about that very much, i care about gameplay/ game pacing/ highs and lows/ moments that get your heart racing or make you panic or decide to tease an npc before killing him because he annoyed you by jumping out from a corner. There are not enough different enemy types in bioshock. I liked HL and HL2 because there was variety, open skies fast moving in a boat to claustrophobic tunnels etc etc, sometimes a crab was hidden and got a bite out of you so you get a fright but you're not going to die = game variety. Bioshock is repetitive indoor boringness. Story was interesting-ish but gameplay is more important and bioshock doesnt have it. Games i have an opinion on: Doom, Duke Nukem, Quake, HL1, HL2 and the episodes - great but some are old. FEAR Perseus great, scary. moh series, good. cod 1->3 good but old, cod4 AWSOME. Prey, avg. Stalker, annoying as hell uninstalled after 3 hrs. Timeshift, cool concept but pacing is not there because of time controll, therefore fairly boring. Oblivion TES, 3rd person doesnt interest me, looks boring. Crysis, good. Team fortress 2, awsome. Portal, very cool. Expand
  18. Jake
    Jan 26, 2008
    3
    I give this a low score to balance the undeserved praise lavished on this mediocre title by "the critics." Bought the game based on that hype and wondered whether the reviewers had been bought off or just plain desperate. Yes a few pretty graphics, but no totally killer world design, the animation and gameplay was subpar and pretty childish/arcade-like, the story not that thrilling or I give this a low score to balance the undeserved praise lavished on this mediocre title by "the critics." Bought the game based on that hype and wondered whether the reviewers had been bought off or just plain desperate. Yes a few pretty graphics, but no totally killer world design, the animation and gameplay was subpar and pretty childish/arcade-like, the story not that thrilling or unique. I'll never play it again after the first run-thru. Save yer $$ til the price drops if you have to have it, otherwise look to other titles. Expand
  19. anonymous
    Oct 25, 2009
    4
    very boring game, was expecting something brilliant and in return got a dud. most boring story in a video game yet. very redundant game play. the 4 points come from the outstanding artwork but in a video game it doesn't make up for the poor mechanics and the lack of hook-factor.
  20. Bozik
    Mar 27, 2009
    3
    I'm not sure why these critics loved this game so much. for me, i just couldn't get into it. the weapons were, so-so, nothing overly special, or maybe they were so unique they were just stupid. storyline was nothing special, kind of random actually. but the biggest pain in the ass for me with this game, is the shocking shortage of ammo and money to buy ammo or heals. personally I'm not sure why these critics loved this game so much. for me, i just couldn't get into it. the weapons were, so-so, nothing overly special, or maybe they were so unique they were just stupid. storyline was nothing special, kind of random actually. but the biggest pain in the ass for me with this game, is the shocking shortage of ammo and money to buy ammo or heals. personally i am a very ammo conserving guy, in almost all games i have no problem with money, ammo, heals, etc. but they simply werent made available which made progression slow and boring. I HAD high hopes for this game, it was a terrible let down. Expand
  21. AlexHemling
    May 14, 2009
    10
    This is the best single player game i have ever played I don't care what anyone says. All of you all ways say "Ooh this game sucks because i doesn't have online"...before online we only played offline.So who cares that's what I think makes this game good a some parts.
  22. JoeK.
    May 19, 2009
    9
    GREAT GAME!
  23. StevenH
    Aug 29, 2009
    3
    Baby's first System Shock. Crude, Tim Burtonesque art style that belies the supposed "scary" atmosphere. Generic and pointless upgrades. Lack of challenge. Extremely repetitive gameplay. Endless running. Cliche storyline. At one point in the game you disguise yourself as a "Big Daddy", a genetically altered sentinel that dons an armored diving suit and wields a rivet gun or drill Baby's first System Shock. Crude, Tim Burtonesque art style that belies the supposed "scary" atmosphere. Generic and pointless upgrades. Lack of challenge. Extremely repetitive gameplay. Endless running. Cliche storyline. At one point in the game you disguise yourself as a "Big Daddy", a genetically altered sentinel that dons an armored diving suit and wields a rivet gun or drill (pictured on the cover). As far as the game is concerned this equates to putting a camera filter on which represents the tunnel vision of the helmet. Despite the fact that your character is the same sweater-wearing beatnik that he always was, and looks like it, everyone treats you like you are wearing the suit. Whenever you die, you are respawned about 100 feet away. You actually have to "delete" some plasmids to make room for new ones - something that doesn't make sense in the context of genetic modification (not to mention the unbelievable powers that are granted thanks to it, unlike System Shock 2's cyborg explanation). This is because the game is just System Shock 2 but dumbed down for consoles with an even less coherent storyline, which is more or less on par with Quake or the first Half-Life, and yet people laud this game for its story. About 10 hours of gameplay and no multiplayer. Very overrated. Worth about $5-$10, perhaps. Expand
  24. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bioshock first struck me as yet another Half-Life 2 imitator. Iâ Expand
  25. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Bioshock is a phenomenal game. It introduces new storytelling methods that help convey an intriguing story without making you feel like you have to "sit and listen" because the story is often (but not always) conveyed WHILE you do other parts of the game - and comes in the form of audiotapes that you find while exploring the mysteries of Rapture. It does a great job of deliveringBioshock is a phenomenal game. It introduces new storytelling methods that help convey an intriguing story without making you feel like you have to "sit and listen" because the story is often (but not always) conveyed WHILE you do other parts of the game - and comes in the form of audiotapes that you find while exploring the mysteries of Rapture. It does a great job of delivering interesting information and backstory about the game's world and setting to the player, without getting boring.

    The combat and gameplay in this game were also superb. I don't think I've ever seen a game with so many potentially unique playstyles and techniques for a player to have in the RPG/FPS format. There are just so many ways to approach combat in this game... it really is very well designed. I found myself wanting to replay the game just to experiment with the different weapons, upgrades, and enhancements your character can acquire during travels of the wonderous world of Rapture. This is probably the best game I've played since Half-Life 2.
    Expand
  26. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Bioshock is a phenomenal and groundbreaking video game with one of the most imaginative gameworlds ever. The underwater utopia of Rapture is an artistic and fun city to explore. Bioshock’s innovative narration tells the story of Rapture’s high-class citizens through the accessible audio logs scattered throughout the city. The voice acting is brilliant and following the tales of theseBioshock is a phenomenal and groundbreaking video game with one of the most imaginative gameworlds ever. The underwater utopia of Rapture is an artistic and fun city to explore. Bioshock’s innovative narration tells the story of Rapture’s high-class citizens through the accessible audio logs scattered throughout the city. The voice acting is brilliant and following the tales of these secondary characters spruces up Bioshock’s overall story. This method of narration is very effective, because it doesn’t interrupt the main focus of Bioshock: the gameplay. Simply referring to this game as just a first person shooter is doing Bioshock a disservice. It features revolutionary RPG mechanics and unrivaled level design. Scrounging around an area for unique ammunition, Eve hypos, and invaluable weapon upgrade stations are rewarding experiences. Most importantly, participating in Bioshock’s clever level design will prepare you for the chaotic skirmishes with Big Daddies, which are menacing guardians that protect the little Adam factories with their massive drills, rivet guns, and rocket launchers. There are two forms of currency in Rapture: dollars and Adam. Dollars are acquired through conventional means, such as searching crates or cracking safes. However, Adam can only be gathered by the orphaned girls venturing through Rapture in search of “angels”. Unfortunately, Bioshock is no masterpiece, especially the PC port. You cannot rebind plasmids or weapons to a particular hotkey, and hacking machines are time consuming and temporarily bring Bioshock’s exciting gameplay to halt. In addition, the game is also plagued with some mouse sensitivity and audio problems. However, the sound and mouse issues are fixable. Bioshock’s unrivaled story and groundbreaking gameplay mechanics deliver a nearly perfect gaming experience. Expand
  27. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, hands down. 2K never fails to please. Firstly, the plot is AMAZING. The voice acting is extremely well done, better than most games these days. The gameplay is really cool and new, with the plasmids and everything. The graphics are good to look at, despite some texture errors as the level loads (but that's expected). The music and generalThis is one of the best games I have ever played, hands down. 2K never fails to please. Firstly, the plot is AMAZING. The voice acting is extremely well done, better than most games these days. The gameplay is really cool and new, with the plasmids and everything. The graphics are good to look at, despite some texture errors as the level loads (but that's expected). The music and general ambiance is really cool, making it one of the most immersive games I've ever played. If you're into good story, and a generally good experience rather than just looking for explosions (*Cough Call of Duty Cough*) then this is DEFINITELY the game for you. As a side note, I have to say I am sick to death of people on metacritic **** about either the game crashing or about the "huge score that the game doesn't deserve". If you think the game deserves a 7, give it a damn 7 and not a 0 just to bring the average score down...an average is the COLLECTIVE opinion of everyone. Those people giving it a **** score to change the big score need to think more about everyone else...your opinion isn't the one that should be shown. Expand
  28. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    A very sound game with some unique features but too short for my liking and the ending is poor. On the other hand, the setting is visually stunning, the story is well told and thoughtful (especially the tapes) and the plasmid idea is interesting. One gets the impression that mixing philosophical and moral issues with liberal amounts of violence tends to confuse people. This kind of thingA very sound game with some unique features but too short for my liking and the ending is poor. On the other hand, the setting is visually stunning, the story is well told and thoughtful (especially the tapes) and the plasmid idea is interesting. One gets the impression that mixing philosophical and moral issues with liberal amounts of violence tends to confuse people. This kind of thing only works once and even then not for everyone. A shooter is a shooter no matter how you dress it up, but Bioshock dresses it up extremely well and is definitely a game that is worth playing and that will be remembered. I didn't find that much replayability myself, but when I did play I was thoroughly entertained, except perhaps for the ending. An FPS devotee should not miss it. Expand
  29. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This is an epic beginning to an epic franchise. It's got story. It's got action. It's got puzzles. It's got everything! It just doesn't have its story told through videos. Even better: The story and interactions happen while you're playing. You save the game whenever you want. The graphics are excellent and the controls too. A diverse range of weapons and equipments. Splendid!
  30. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Certainly one of the greats when it comes to video games. It is filled with fun mysterys and great action i love it certainly give it a 10/10 at some parts it may make you say creeeeeeeeeeeepy but its not really a scary game. you have to try it.
  31. Mar 4, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For its' time Bioshock must have been the best thing ever since sliced bread, however in a perspective of today, which was when I finished the game, the game feels as if the developers were too lazy to do some minor changes for the better. Ragdolls are not falling realisticly it's like watching a movie with 10 FPS, slowmotion and laggish like. But that isn't anything compared to the crashes that occur once in a while. Whenever the game crashes, then all the settings you changed will be reset to default, which I was very frustrated about. The gameplay was not the best, but that wasn't the meaning of the game, so that didn't bother me that much, it was okay and there are a lot of oppurtunities to deal with enemies. The graphics isn't something I will critize too much, it was decent nothing more than I was expecting. However the story was the bright point of the game, it was exciting and I really fell in love with it. Though I was so dissapointed in the ending, the game simply ends bad, if you just harvest 1 little sister. Through the whole game I made a mistake and harvested one of those girls and rest of them I rescued. How can I bring brutality when I saved all of them? The ending of the game simply can't make me give this game an earned 8, but a 5. I hope next game in the franchise will bring some more joy to me. Expand
  32. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Can just appreciate the unique design and gaming experience this game delivered. Very well made and enjoyable to play. Just missing some features increasing replay value, thats all. Also a big thank you to 2k for not ruining the game by trying to press a mediocre coop mode into it. This current game generation a lot of potentially good singleplayer games got ruined this way.
  33. Oct 7, 2013
    7
    BioShock does a great job of atmosphere. The environments, music, story and art style combine to create the fantastic underwater city of Rapture. There are some tense moments against some well designed enemies as you progress through this "utopia" as it's falling apart. The mechanics are where the game loses some of its shine. The weapons and plasmids while interesting aren't wellBioShock does a great job of atmosphere. The environments, music, story and art style combine to create the fantastic underwater city of Rapture. There are some tense moments against some well designed enemies as you progress through this "utopia" as it's falling apart. The mechanics are where the game loses some of its shine. The weapons and plasmids while interesting aren't well balanced. It seemed to force playing enemies a certain way. Beating ranged big daddies with certain weapons and plasmids was almost impossible while others almost made it too easy. The customization with buffs and the invention mechanics are deep but don't feel gameplay changing. If you can get used to the mechanics BioShock has a lot to offer. Expand
  34. Aug 8, 2014
    7
    Bioshock.
    This game was supposed to be the spiritual successor to a very powerful game, System Shock 2. The environment and the story are supposed to be dark and horrifying, with every piece you learn building up to a terrifying and emotional breakdown as the game progresses.
    Does Bioshock deliver? Yes and no. The game is fanciful and beautiful, a graphical piece of art at the time.
    Bioshock.
    This game was supposed to be the spiritual successor to a very powerful game, System Shock 2. The environment and the story are supposed to be dark and horrifying, with every piece you learn building up to a terrifying and emotional breakdown as the game progresses.

    Does Bioshock deliver? Yes and no.
    The game is fanciful and beautiful, a graphical piece of art at the time. But if we just wanted to look at pretty things, we wouldn't play games right? And that is where Bioshock's ultimate problem lies, it is a beautiful, polished game on the outside, but on the inside it is affected by a hideous gameplay, and so-so story telling.

    The gameplay is repetitive from within itself, go here, do this, kill the big daddy, get some more juice and pump yourself up. It's boring and unimaginative; it was cool the first, and maybe even second time it happened, but once you realized it for what it was, it quickly became stale. The boss at the end was incredibly contrived, I found him to be an incredibly comical looking, shallow villain. He wasn't scary, or monstrous, but colorful and without real history or depth. The developers tried to sell him off as someone that went mad with his lust for power and evolution, but in the end he was just another NPC to destroy.

    The storytelling was borrowed from System-Shock's progressive method of sharing what happened in audio logs. This is a fantastic way of sharing a story, though the characters that leave the logs need to be believable, true and above all, REAL to us. While the story of how Rapture was conceived, built, rotted from within, and eventually collapsed was intriguing, the delivery was poor, and you couldn't connect as easily with the former inhabitants of Rapture due to the lack of emotional connection with the characters who left the logs behind. In System Shock 2, I was dying to find the next log, the next piece of the puzzle, the next E-mail that might explain what was going on. In Bioshock, I wasn't that excited, and the game's plot was static and predictable.

    Some might argue that comparing it to System Shock isn't fair and that it should be judged on it's own merits. I disagree because this game is riding on the coattails of greatness and promised an experience that would rival its spiritual predecessor. It didn't completely live up to expectations.

    It is, though, at least entertaining, and is worth playing. Do not expect it to be a groundbreaking, game-changing experience however. It is neither of those.
    Expand
  35. Jul 16, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oing beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no Expand
  36. May 7, 2012
    5
    If your a fan of shooters you will be a fan of BioShock.
    Unfortunately the marketing and critic reviews led me to believe that this was more than a shooter and nearly a cinematic experience with RPG elements.
    To make it clear: This is nothing like Deus Ex or it's successors or Portal. BioShock is a simple shooter that looks quite good, has good FPS game play, and good audio commentary.
    If your a fan of shooters you will be a fan of BioShock.
    Unfortunately the marketing and critic reviews led me to believe that this was more than a shooter and nearly a cinematic experience with RPG elements.

    To make it clear: This is nothing like Deus Ex or it's successors or Portal. BioShock is a simple shooter that looks quite good, has good FPS game play, and good audio commentary.

    I have rated it 5 to demonstrate it is very good at what it does, but only 5 because the marketing was inaccurate at best as the game does not go beyond it's shooter roots.
    Expand
  37. May 30, 2012
    7
    Pros: Great story, relatively fun gameplay. Cons: Extremely easy, linear, simple. The gameplay itself is a linear FPS with few depth, and you get no penalty for dying. Overrated, but the game is still fun.
  38. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Bioshock is both overrated by critics and underrated by users. In my opinion it's too flawed to be scored a 96/100 but it's definitely not a terrible game like most people will tell you. I like the setting, the story, and the gameplay for the most part, except I have one major problem. The vitachambers make the difficulty balance seem a little lazy. You can turn them off, sure but I don'tBioshock is both overrated by critics and underrated by users. In my opinion it's too flawed to be scored a 96/100 but it's definitely not a terrible game like most people will tell you. I like the setting, the story, and the gameplay for the most part, except I have one major problem. The vitachambers make the difficulty balance seem a little lazy. You can turn them off, sure but I don't think they should have built a game surrounding a concept like that. Otherwise I feel the gameplay is strong, the weapons are cool though there could have been more plasmids, and it's rather lengthy too, around 12-15 hours your first time. The story is surprisingly deep but it's unfortunate that most of it is told only through dialogue. Worth a play if you ask me. Expand
  39. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Great graphics for it's time,fascinating story,and the ending is so touching.
    So violent,yet so deep.
    With all if it's faults(due being the first bioshock game),it is really a "must play"!
  40. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    I recently bought a new computer and decided to go back and play some of my favorite older games with the graphics jacked way up, just to see how much better they look. When I did this with the original Bioshock, it reminded me of a few things, both good and bad, about this game. GOOD: The graphics are stunning, both technically and aesthetically. The art deco design of the underwaterI recently bought a new computer and decided to go back and play some of my favorite older games with the graphics jacked way up, just to see how much better they look. When I did this with the original Bioshock, it reminded me of a few things, both good and bad, about this game. GOOD: The graphics are stunning, both technically and aesthetically. The art deco design of the underwater city of Rapture perfectly captures the look and feel of an era. With settings maxed out, Bioshock looks as good as any game I would hope to see today, five years after its initial release. Also, as a shooter, Bioshock is pretty much unsurpassed. Enemies are quick, smart, and well-armed, and level design provides plenty of cover and obstacles. BAD: Bioshock really is just a shooter. When it was released, there was a lot of attention paid to the "moral choices" involving the Little Sisters, but in the end, the choices you made painstakingly through hours and hours of gameplay culminate in...two irritatingly brief cut-scenes, one if you took the good path, one for the bad. Yawn. And Bioshock's incredible visual style distracts from the fact that it is almost perfectly linear. Thanks to the many bits and pieces of backstory and Ayn Rand philosophy that are gradually uncovered as you progress, the game feels deeper and more nuanced than it really is. SUMMARY: Bioshock is worthwhile no matter what style of action-adventure-RPG you prefer, but I believe it will appeal most to fans of straightforward, Doom-style shooters who just want to get their blast on, albeit in some of the best-designed game environments in recent years. Expand
  41. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    sub-par Rpg fps, Extremely overrated when compared to games like Deus ex and Systemshock 2,its too easy and the Rpg element is lacking,hacking is a boring joke
  42. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    After a while it gets repetitive and the Story hasnt really made me play it through, all the walking through already visited places annoyed the **** out of me, and the graphics weren't that good, if you actually played it on your PC
  43. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    Very good game and spiritual successor of system shock. Story and graphics style is awesome. Combat is fun thanks to the plasmids. Gameplay is something between System Shock 2 and Doom 3.
  44. Oct 14, 2012
    7
    Although there is not questioning Bioshock's greatness, i found it has more flaws than people make out. maybe its just not my kind of game but it seemed to be a bit dull through most of it.
  45. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Hands down, the most immersive video game I've ever played. It has the best atmosphere I have ever seen- the setting was initially terrifying, which thrilled me, and this aspect was augmented by challenging gameplay. You are given abilities to play according to your style, using weapons adapted to your preferences. The storyline is a strong point, which is rare for a FPS. The only downsideHands down, the most immersive video game I've ever played. It has the best atmosphere I have ever seen- the setting was initially terrifying, which thrilled me, and this aspect was augmented by challenging gameplay. You are given abilities to play according to your style, using weapons adapted to your preferences. The storyline is a strong point, which is rare for a FPS. The only downside to the game is the repetitive hacking of machines, which got dull after the first 20 hacks. I would highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a memorable FPS. I will never forget this game. Expand
  46. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This game is a real gem, full of horrible moral dilemmas and unique gameplay mechanics. Yes you can go through the whole game with just the starter weapons, but what's the fun in that with so many different toys to play with? The biggest problem I had was with the ending; You are either Mother Teresa or a baby eater. It's really sad that they're milking this for all it's worth because it'sThis game is a real gem, full of horrible moral dilemmas and unique gameplay mechanics. Yes you can go through the whole game with just the starter weapons, but what's the fun in that with so many different toys to play with? The biggest problem I had was with the ending; You are either Mother Teresa or a baby eater. It's really sad that they're milking this for all it's worth because it's really a good game on it's own. Expand
  47. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    I must say I've got a problem with this one. The whole setting of the game is imbued with an unprecedented amount of artistry, the background of all events is incredibly rich and consistent. Rapture is enchanting beautifully designed location and ubiquitous art déco feel. The history is quite good and I just loved the characters and audio layer of the game (incredibly good voice actingI must say I've got a problem with this one. The whole setting of the game is imbued with an unprecedented amount of artistry, the background of all events is incredibly rich and consistent. Rapture is enchanting beautifully designed location and ubiquitous art déco feel. The history is quite good and I just loved the characters and audio layer of the game (incredibly good voice acting and music). All of this creates a coherent universe which significantly exceeds the technical aspects of the game itself. Bioshock as a game just doesn't offer enough fun. I accept the plasmids because the story behind them is plausible, but i just can't find justification for tonics. The gameplay isn't satisfying the guns don't give that special feel, permanent lack of ammo and too much plasmids to choose the tonics the hacking vending machines adam eve Power to the People Gene Banks Gatherer's Garden Health stations bots turrets photos everything... much exaggerated. The game mechanics is overcomplicated and bewildering.
    Also the level design (in macroscale as a route from beginning to end) isn't very sophisticated I would say it's like small villages sparsely placed by the main road Fort Frolic for example. Unnecessary detour to Fleet Hall and Poseidon Plaza justified only by the designers willingness to add extra content to the game (although I think mentioned location are well designed and eye-catching) heck, why couldn't you just walk straight to bathysphere. Most of the game player seems to travel from node to node.
    I think the game tries to be too long everything goes well if you are driven by plot you gather informations and audio diaries but then you reach a moment in which writers took a pause. It's easy to forget what and why you're supposed to do. The best choice would be to cut those moment since they contain only shooting & fighting and those aspects of the game doesn't defend themselves.
    Another disadvantage of Bioshock is the design of the enemies they aren't very diverse, their animation is poor and they're ugly. Just ugly (and I don't mean scary). Some characters and events related to them are insistently weird. Too mature, too bizarre... you can't really identify with them or with their motives and choices.
    I've got really hard time finishing it some moment are really dull but I'm glad I did it finally.
    Yes, I agree the game is overrated but I will not score Bioshock to 0. And I will not discourage anyone to buy the game.
    Expand
  48. 6nd
    Nov 23, 2013
    9
    While it is currently raining here, I thought I'd take this as a chance to flesh out my continued obsession with Ken Levine's beautifully zeitgeist; 'Shock Series'.

    Anywhore, as I have stated a few days earlier (and in the introduction). I love Ken's work, it's the superior pacing, the fresh storytelling, and the bold craftsmanship. All of which comes together, and forms a lovely
    While it is currently raining here, I thought I'd take this as a chance to flesh out my continued obsession with Ken Levine's beautifully zeitgeist; 'Shock Series'.

    Anywhore, as I have stated a few days earlier (and in the introduction). I love Ken's work, it's the superior pacing, the fresh storytelling, and the bold craftsmanship. All of which comes together, and forms a lovely reprise that allows us. Nay, gives us the ability to stand atop our chairs, finally see what's beyond the heaping pile of the rubbish we usually have had slopped on our plates, and demand better. But after playing System Shock 2, and seeing what advanced game play mechanics we're capable of achieving on the shoddy, limited, broken, and eyebleedingly simple caveman hardware of the late 90's, I got to thinking. How can we keep demanding a dumbed down, overtly simple, and linear experience? A excellent example would be the spiritual successor to the late great System Shock, BioShock. Now I know this sounds like nitpicking, but I found a multitude of instances where it's lack of key successive element's disheartening, E.G. The sexy RPG side, and if anyone reading this has played SS2, than you know exactly what 'sexy' I'm referring to. Actually, come to think of it. I'm starting to rethink using the word zeitgeist. But getting back to my current rant. It's the lack of these element's that were the sole responsibility for it's change from: Serious, and personalized role playing en devour. To: simplistic, and user friendly pick up and play shooter.

    Now, don't get me wrong. I've said it twice, and I'll say it again. I love the work that 2K, Irrational, Looking Glass, and Levine put into those games worlds. Really it's just sad to see the majority rule of the ignorant masses, how they have come to completely control the previously unfettered epic that was the development industry, then proceeded to hurl it like a derailed train flung directly into a bridge abutment.

    But, I digress. Any real complaints sitting in my head when playing BioShock are usually reconciled, and quite quickly I might add, by the fact that you can shoot swarms of bee's from your hands. And anything that allows you to shoot swarms of bee's from one's hands, well I say it deserves a break, at least for that.
    Expand
  49. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    I was very pleased with this game. The story is especially the strongest points of this game, along with its setting. Difficulty wise, you'll probably only find a challenge if you play on the hardest difficulty settings, and even then you'll be swamped with ammo and money all the time. The combat also feels a bit... 'meh'. It doesn't really have a lot to the combat, however they did a veryI was very pleased with this game. The story is especially the strongest points of this game, along with its setting. Difficulty wise, you'll probably only find a challenge if you play on the hardest difficulty settings, and even then you'll be swamped with ammo and money all the time. The combat also feels a bit... 'meh'. It doesn't really have a lot to the combat, however they did a very good job with the variation with the Plasmids. I really enjoyed using those. I also found it extremely pleasing to look at, seeing the ruins of what was once a very inspiring city built underwater being filled with mutated humans and armored wrecking machines called Big Daddies brings in a lot of atmosphere.

    In short, the setting and story-line is unexpectedly fantastic, though the combat will fall a bit short after a few hours of playing and should definitely be played on the hardest difficulty for the best challenge.
    Expand
  50. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. Top-notch 1950s soundtrack, very atmospheric underwater setting. Weapon & plasmid combat balance "feels" just right. Good voice acting, great plot (and plot twist). Nice low frequency rumbles of the Big Daddies (if you have decent headphones or speakers). Bioshock is one of the best games I've ever played, up there with Deus Ex, etc, for "top 5 games of the decade"). AFantastic game. Top-notch 1950s soundtrack, very atmospheric underwater setting. Weapon & plasmid combat balance "feels" just right. Good voice acting, great plot (and plot twist). Nice low frequency rumbles of the Big Daddies (if you have decent headphones or speakers). Bioshock is one of the best games I've ever played, up there with Deus Ex, etc, for "top 5 games of the decade"). A worthy "spiritual successor" to System Shock 2. It's sad that a 2007-era game (which doesn't feel "dated" at all compared to many others) is of a far higher "polished" finished production quality than many bug-ridden 2013 games... Expand
  51. Jun 2, 2013
    2
    Loved the atmosphere and the story, but the gameplay is EXTREMELY lacking.

    Everything gameplay-wise is poorly designed, from the frantic looting to the poor puzzles and messy equipment window.
  52. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    I couldn't understand the hype over Bioshock infinite- Bioshock 1 will always remain in my heart as the best Bioshock of them all, the story is amazing and gameplay is pretty fun. I'd say the story and execution of the story bumps this game to 93, gameplay wise it's around 80.
    Recommended!
  53. Jul 20, 2013
    1
    Well, this game is awful... why? VITA CHAMBER... I can not think of any other easiest game than this one... what's the point on playing on HARD difficulty if those damn vita chambers resurrect you anytime you die?!!?! I literally beated this game using the wrench 95% of the times, I even beated big daddies with the wrench... BORING!
  54. Aug 8, 2013
    6
    Probably the most overrated game of all time. True Rapture is beautiful and amazing and I was kinda surprised by the "twist" but it wasn't spectacular. However the biggest problem is the controls and lack of it. The guns don't pack any punch and the button used to aim down the sights is oddly placed. Great concept but it did not live up to it's potential
  55. Aug 15, 2013
    5
    I'm not entirely sure what all the fuss is about this game. Its gameplay was mediocre at best, although the plotline and overall graphics, I will say, were well done.

    Boring and repetitive enemies. Linear gameplay. Powerups that aren't even useful. And don't even get me started about the broken death system. "Oh, you were an idiot and died? No problem, full health for you and you keep
    I'm not entirely sure what all the fuss is about this game. Its gameplay was mediocre at best, although the plotline and overall graphics, I will say, were well done.

    Boring and repetitive enemies. Linear gameplay. Powerups that aren't even useful. And don't even get me started about the broken death system. "Oh, you were an idiot and died? No problem, full health for you and you keep all your progress!" Talk about dumbing it down for the masses! Also, for Christ's sake, get more than 3 voice actor's. I was ready to punch holes in my speakers after hearing enemies say the same crap over and over and over for hours.

    Overall: Not that impressed.
    Expand
  56. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Bioshock has a creepy atmosphere not just in the game but when u consider the whole point of the game which is man having ultimate power.Voice acting is top notch likewise is the level of detail gone on to make the game.The story is mysterious and creepy for most parts and the characters are just brilliant.The only negative about this game is that it has to end and wraps up too quickly.
  57. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    I don't know any other game which has such a great climate as BioShock. It can be really scary at some moments! If you haven't played in BioShock yet, do it now!
  58. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    I guess I liked the game, I couldn't really get into it though for some reason, not too sure how it became so popular, but that's just my opinion.

    Defiantly unique and interesting! I recommend it, but I think this feels like more of a console game though, so I suggest getting it on your console.
  59. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    just buy it it,s goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooddddddddddddddd
  60. Sep 8, 2013
    8
    Finish the game on a good path. A mixed bag from the game. The development of skills of the character during the game it's definitely a plus. Not many shooters can please pumping. Yet the AI ​​is not very bad as well. Plot too thought out. On the other hand repetitive missions first you are being driven through the whole mission, then after a couple of hours finally reaching the goal,Finish the game on a good path. A mixed bag from the game. The development of skills of the character during the game it's definitely a plus. Not many shooters can please pumping. Yet the AI ​​is not very bad as well. Plot too thought out. On the other hand repetitive missions first you are being driven through the whole mission, then after a couple of hours finally reaching the goal, know that the door that separates you from moving to the next level is closed and to open it you have to build something in the amount of n pieces (photographs, objects it.p). To do this one more time to go through all the locations, again make the same enemies while carefully seek out the requested items. "Second passage" of this same mission also takes a lot of time and rather boring. Expand
  61. Dec 5, 2014
    7
    Great pre-game of that, what "Bioshock: Infinite" saved and done more goodly, than here!.. But dont forgetting about that fact, that this is really one of the best "first person shooter games" ever!
  62. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. The story alone had me playing this all day long, the only time I stopped was to use the restroom. Not to mention the fact that the controls are so new and fresh as well as fun. The game was also based off of a massive novel by Ayn Rand called "Atlas Shrugged". This game compelled me to go read the entire book. And it was a great book, and you canThis is the best game I have ever played. The story alone had me playing this all day long, the only time I stopped was to use the restroom. Not to mention the fact that the controls are so new and fresh as well as fun. The game was also based off of a massive novel by Ayn Rand called "Atlas Shrugged". This game compelled me to go read the entire book. And it was a great book, and you can really see how it fits in with the world of Rapture. This adds a whole new depth of feel for the game once you read the book. Overall this is not just a game, but it is an experience. So much so that you just have to go through it to understand the genius of it. I am proud to list this as my favorite game. Expand
  63. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (2/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (2/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  64. May 31, 2014
    10
    The Ocarina of Time of First Person Shooters.
    I've played lots of games over the years and very rarely has something stood out like BioShock. I was late to the game on this one, playing it years after it came out, but the incredible amount of work put into it made it stand out, even against better looking games.
    It will always be timeless. Goldeneye, halo and call of duties will come and
    The Ocarina of Time of First Person Shooters.
    I've played lots of games over the years and very rarely has something stood out like BioShock. I was late to the game on this one, playing it years after it came out, but the incredible amount of work put into it made it stand out, even against better looking games.
    It will always be timeless. Goldeneye, halo and call of duties will come and go, but Bioshock deserves to join the ranks of Half-life 1 as one of the greatest games in which one shoots other people.
    Story doesnt matter. Characters dont matter. Graphics dont matter. Only what you feel with the gun floating in front of your face matters.
    Very few games give me what I call the Ocarina of Time paradox--I want to play them over and over in order to re experience them, but it becomes less special as I play it more times. I can't wait until enough time has passed for me to play this game again.
    Expand
  65. Jul 31, 2014
    5
    Unfortunately, I was hyped for Bioshock to no end. The spiritual successor to one of the best games in history - System Shock, partly from the same creators. The expectations went through the roof, raving reviews, promo lines like System Shock on steroids, you get the idea. But when I started playing this I was like What??? What is this console shooter crap? Yes, the location is nice and IUnfortunately, I was hyped for Bioshock to no end. The spiritual successor to one of the best games in history - System Shock, partly from the same creators. The expectations went through the roof, raving reviews, promo lines like System Shock on steroids, you get the idea. But when I started playing this I was like What??? What is this console shooter crap? Yes, the location is nice and I always love the retro flavor, but other than that the entire thing was a huge disappointment for me. From visuals and engine, to enemies and game mechanics, disappointment was huge with this one. 5/10 Expand
  66. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of the greatest stories I've ever experienced, as well as some of the best gaming mechanics and progression. There's this constant, strange feeling of fascination as you react to the insanity of the characters around you. The world is beautiful and believable with just a few complaints; recurring models and voice actors persistently remind you that it's just a game. Also,This is one of the greatest stories I've ever experienced, as well as some of the best gaming mechanics and progression. There's this constant, strange feeling of fascination as you react to the insanity of the characters around you. The world is beautiful and believable with just a few complaints; recurring models and voice actors persistently remind you that it's just a game. Also, nearing the games completion, there's a fantastic cut-scene that seems to be preparing you for the game's conclusion, but as it turns out, there are several more areas to explore. This might end up making these last few areas feel a little slow, as it did for me, because you're ready for an epic finale but not shown one for quite a while. If you look past these things, Bioshock is hands down one of the best gaming experiences of the past decade. Expand
  67. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This is one of those "Why on earth didn't I play this game sooner" games. I hesitant to call this game a work of art, because that sounds horridly pretentious. The shooter aspect is alright, the game itself isn't terribly difficult, the graphics are dated by 2013 standards, and the horror moments are not enough to compare it to horror games. That said, this game has am amazing score, aThis is one of those "Why on earth didn't I play this game sooner" games. I hesitant to call this game a work of art, because that sounds horridly pretentious. The shooter aspect is alright, the game itself isn't terribly difficult, the graphics are dated by 2013 standards, and the horror moments are not enough to compare it to horror games. That said, this game has am amazing score, a totally immersing environment, sufficient levels of creepy without going too overboard, lots to explore, and a story that blatantly mocks Ayn Rand while making you think she had many good ideas.

    If you haven't played this game yet, you really should. It's an experience.
    Expand
  68. Jwv
    Jan 11, 2014
    10
    One of the best singleplayer experiences out there, and probably the best game I played after Half-Life 2. Extremely cool combat, although more kinds of enemies would have been welcome; great sound-effects; good story and plot-twist; consequences for player choice (albeit minor); and one of the coolest concepts in the history of gaming ever! One of the best things of the game are itsOne of the best singleplayer experiences out there, and probably the best game I played after Half-Life 2. Extremely cool combat, although more kinds of enemies would have been welcome; great sound-effects; good story and plot-twist; consequences for player choice (albeit minor); and one of the coolest concepts in the history of gaming ever! One of the best things of the game are its gorgeous, large sand-box levels that just beg to be explored, there are also a lot of player-triggered events in each level, the levels and its inhabitants are dynamic and each level has its own unique theme. Expand
  69. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    Calling BioShoch a mere video game is quit inaccurate,it would be more accurate to call it a philosophy book in which you turn pages by brutally murdering splicer(I like to call them sploicers) and other things, namely the big daddies and turrets; and the powerful quotes are instead represented by the Little sisters and the choice they offer, and occasionally-if we're lucky-actual quotesCalling BioShoch a mere video game is quit inaccurate,it would be more accurate to call it a philosophy book in which you turn pages by brutally murdering splicer(I like to call them sploicers) and other things, namely the big daddies and turrets; and the powerful quotes are instead represented by the Little sisters and the choice they offer, and occasionally-if we're lucky-actual quotes by my all time favorite video game character Andrew Ryan the man who provided me with my personnel motto and the must influential phrase of my adolescence :"A man chooses.A slave obeys".
    But don't you think for a moment that the robust story and philosophy of BioShock isn't supported by the gameplay; because it is, up to date BioShock's gamplay is still one of the most original and solid gamplays ever presented in an FPS, heck... sometimes you even get more immersed in the gameplay than the story. I mean you have guns-which is always a plus-;plasmids(aka: the plusest plus of all pluses, maybe after the portal gun and some other stuffs); hacking; gene tonics...extra,extra. What else would you ask for?you know other than taking the HL2 approach and enabling mods; imagine BioShock with mods,Oh yeah;OK now stp imagining before you **** your pants.
    All in all, the original BioShock is a must-play no matter who you are;it got story, gamplay , and more importantly: Andrew Ryan.
    Expand
  70. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    Bad shooting physics and bad story plot. A highly overrated game. It might was a good game in 2007 but in 2014 it is not satisfying. Only good thing in the game is the coolness of Big Daddy. Deserves at most 5 points.
  71. Jun 25, 2014
    3
    ok so i just went out and bought all the bioshock's and naturally i stated with this one. i must say this game is so boring played for 5 hours and haven't had any fun yet. the other ones better be better. i have no idea how this game has been rated so highly the game play is terrible and the story isn't even that great. im pissed off to say the least what an overrated piece of crap i canok so i just went out and bought all the bioshock's and naturally i stated with this one. i must say this game is so boring played for 5 hours and haven't had any fun yet. the other ones better be better. i have no idea how this game has been rated so highly the game play is terrible and the story isn't even that great. im pissed off to say the least what an overrated piece of crap i can honestly say i had more fun play cod ghosts. Expand
  72. Aug 28, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't get me wrong I liked this game. The Good: The Story was well done the atmosphere was good as well. Now for the bad: The ending(s) were terrible the gameplay got kinda repetitive half-way through. Overall i recommend it, but I think bioshock infinite was the best of the series. Expand
  73. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    Some glitches with Windows 8 (yes it's old) but once fixed I could enjoy it though a bit late, good graphics for the time, beautiful scenery like Arcadia, the only problem I have is that it's still very hard to me even on medium difficulty setting, I do lose lives so often!
  74. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Bioshock is more than just an extremely polished and entertaining first-person shooter; It's an uncompromising vision of one man's attempt to create a utopian society and the terrifying aftermath that his became his legacy. This stands as one of the best examples of video games as an art form: Bold, fresh, and leaving the player with more questions than answers. This game must beBioshock is more than just an extremely polished and entertaining first-person shooter; It's an uncompromising vision of one man's attempt to create a utopian society and the terrifying aftermath that his became his legacy. This stands as one of the best examples of video games as an art form: Bold, fresh, and leaving the player with more questions than answers. This game must be experienced. Now, would you kindly go play it? Expand
  75. Sep 17, 2014
    10
    Great gameplay, immersive setting, a rather haunting story and the rather frequent jumpscares. My favorite game of all time. Now, if you haven't played the game, would you kindly go do so?
  76. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    If I were to be comparing this game to some of the good old fps and pegs, this game would suck. It would be WAY too simple, but if I were to be comparing this to a modern day fps or rpg this would be a brilliant game. I would also compare it to system shock 2, but I never played that(it's illegal to not have played it, I know). This game is a fantastic blend of rpg and fps. The gameIf I were to be comparing this game to some of the good old fps and pegs, this game would suck. It would be WAY too simple, but if I were to be comparing this to a modern day fps or rpg this would be a brilliant game. I would also compare it to system shock 2, but I never played that(it's illegal to not have played it, I know). This game is a fantastic blend of rpg and fps. The game should only take about 20 hours to beat, quite short for a rpg. But it's game mechanics and game play are brilliant, I just wish that it would be a little more challenging.
    One thing that I don't like about this game is that its theme is very dark and gloomy. Although it really fit the game well, it gets VERY sickening and gloomy. It took me a long time to beat it because I got really sick of the gloomy underwater dark and depressing theme, so I took breaks from it that lasted for months. It isn't really the developer's fault, they did a really good job of creating the theme. It is just very annoying or rather sickening after a while. I would give it an eight but I think the game is just made to be like that and it gave me a wonderful experience(no I don't do drugs).
    The game also have a really weird scare factor. The game-play itself isn't that scary, but the soundtrack and audio made it seem scary as shirt. It's not really the jump out of your seat type scary, more of a daunting type and it never gets old.
    Overall it is a brilliant game, it just lacks a bit more of a challenge, and the theme was a bit annoying. Otherwise this game is brilliant(compared to other games of the same time). Also I forgot to mention that it had probably the BEST story of all of gaming!
    Expand
  77. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Bioshock may just be one of my favourite games of all time. The game is dark, creepy, fun and challenging. Even not it's possibly one of the most interesting worlds gaming has ever come up with. The dark, fallen city of Rapture gives of that feeling of terror that only well made and immersive game worlds can bring you. The design of the city is beautifully crafted, with interestingBioshock may just be one of my favourite games of all time. The game is dark, creepy, fun and challenging. Even not it's possibly one of the most interesting worlds gaming has ever come up with. The dark, fallen city of Rapture gives of that feeling of terror that only well made and immersive game worlds can bring you. The design of the city is beautifully crafted, with interesting characters, ideas and a city that looks like an underwater New York, making the game even more chilling. Not only that, but the game is an extremly fun shooter. The weapons feel great, the crafting is fun, the enemies are interesting and the story surprising and engaging. This is a game you simply have to play to understand the simple joy of. Expand
  78. Oct 3, 2014
    9
    I just want to say before I start my basic "Pros and cons" Review,I love the "Bioshock" games!

    Pros:

    Amazing game-play

    Amazing story!!!

    Amazing art!

    kinda scary.

    Super powers!

    Cons:

    It's a little bit Cliché'd

    KHAAN

    There is really nothing else bad about this game,It's worth a buy :D

    So I give this game a : 9/10
  79. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    This game really is one of a kind. It should 100% be above HL and HL2. Those awful games are only up there because they were made by Valve. BUT BIOSHOCK. Dear god, this is a masterpiece. 10/10 You gotta play it for the time of your life.
  80. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    some people says this game is strange, creepy, and weird. but i don't think so, i think this game is unique cause the gameplay are really different from FPS game i ever play. most of this game is a puzzle, yea i say this because something in here is like puzzle like "go to here", "go to there", go to "blahblahblah" and many more. but im interesting in some stage in here, especially killsome people says this game is strange, creepy, and weird. but i don't think so, i think this game is unique cause the gameplay are really different from FPS game i ever play. most of this game is a puzzle, yea i say this because something in here is like puzzle like "go to here", "go to there", go to "blahblahblah" and many more. but im interesting in some stage in here, especially kill enemies with "HAND POWER!!". i want to give 10/10 in here but i think i can't because this game is Awesome but not really outstanding game i think Expand
  81. Nov 18, 2014
    9
    Brilliant. The only thing keeping it from a "10" for me was the mediocre third act. Had they found a way to end it after the "big" reveal in act two, I would have left feeling like I'd just played a masterpiece of storytelling, character, dialogue and haunting visuals. As it is, it's a near masterpiece.
  82. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Bioshock's dark but beautiful world of Rapture creates a believable environment just a step outside of possibility.
    The story, characters, action and music weave together to create an unforgettable piece
  83. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    I played this game back when it was first released and I was blown away. I hadn't played anything like it. I found it to be completely original and very engaging. Great story and cool gameplay mechanics. Just an all-around wonderful title.
  84. DavidMoser
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Although gameplay and plot advancement are still mostly standard FPS fare, the many uses of "Plasmids" lend an exciting and creative element that helps immerse you in a beautifully crafted social experiment gone wrong. The story is well thought out and keeps you playing, nervous at every step and jumping at shadows in the flickering lights of Rapture. The many layers of morality areAlthough gameplay and plot advancement are still mostly standard FPS fare, the many uses of "Plasmids" lend an exciting and creative element that helps immerse you in a beautifully crafted social experiment gone wrong. The story is well thought out and keeps you playing, nervous at every step and jumping at shadows in the flickering lights of Rapture. The many layers of morality are explored as you try to rediscover what exactly happened to this place, the only record of which is given piece by piece in the audio diaries of residents. For those looking for an interesting break from their WWII shooter, this is a godsend. Expand
  85. TL.
    Aug 25, 2007
    8
    A very good game, but not a great one. The play mechanics really needed to be tweaked--since you respawn at the closest "vita chamber" you can wear enemies down by fighting, dying and respawning ad nauseum. The story is completely predictable, an amalgamation of every worn out science fiction cliche in the book and the characters are all kind of blah. None of them stick with you for more A very good game, but not a great one. The play mechanics really needed to be tweaked--since you respawn at the closest "vita chamber" you can wear enemies down by fighting, dying and respawning ad nauseum. The story is completely predictable, an amalgamation of every worn out science fiction cliche in the book and the characters are all kind of blah. None of them stick with you for more than five minutes after you finish the game. Compare the stereotypical villain from Bioshock with Robert Culp's fussy, supercilious head scientist in Half-Life 2. Expand
  86. Nacho
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    If you're going to review a game, at least make educated statements. The reason a reviewer's grapical problems existed was because his video card was NOT up to the REQUIRED system specifications. It's not enough to have a DirectX 9 video card, it also must support Shader Model 3. It gives the video card specs right on the box. If this is ignored there will be nothing butIf you're going to review a game, at least make educated statements. The reason a reviewer's grapical problems existed was because his video card was NOT up to the REQUIRED system specifications. It's not enough to have a DirectX 9 video card, it also must support Shader Model 3. It gives the video card specs right on the box. If this is ignored there will be nothing but graphical 'glitches'. I orinally scored this at 10, because I couldn't give it a 9.8, because I felt it was that good. The game is still excellent, but now that I've completed about 70% of the game, I feel that it could have used one more month of QA testing. The widescreen thing was a design decision which is being adressed by developers now. However, there are just enough on the issues that have come up since the games release to make me re-assess. Mostly the widescreen decision. But the copy protection for the non-digital purchasers is a slap in the face to those that spend hard earned money. I don't know of any other software that would require me to un-install it, before I do a system format, or I lose one of my validations. So if I have a system crash and have no way to recover other than format my HD, there goes an activation. If I just forget because I haven't played the game for a while . . .there goes another activation. I guess I'd just have to resort to some other means of getting my game to work. This copy protection is one of the reasons piracy is so prevalent on the Internet. If I hadn't purchased this game off of Steam, and purchased it in a store. I'd be looking for an alternate means of running the software, if you catch my meaning. Expand
  87. TomJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    The + AMBIANCE, GFX, ART, SOUND! The - Gameplay, Repetitive, AI, Replay After only 3 hours, the game got boring, kill, kill, open door, save or kill girl, blah. i was expecting more then just repetitive gameplay. this game shoulda been more like an adventure, what a waste of beautifull environments. Conclusion Just another FPS. with great gfx , sound & art.
  88. SteveG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    5
    I would love to give this game a 9 or even a 10, however the bugs and major crashing issues that I and many others are experiencing prevents me. In the week and a half I've had Bioshock, I've been able to play for about 15 minutes all together and only about 5 min consecutively. I even reinstalled XP for this game with no luck. However, the few minutes I was able to play wereI would love to give this game a 9 or even a 10, however the bugs and major crashing issues that I and many others are experiencing prevents me. In the week and a half I've had Bioshock, I've been able to play for about 15 minutes all together and only about 5 min consecutively. I even reinstalled XP for this game with no luck. However, the few minutes I was able to play were fantastic. To 2k I say please patch this game. Expand
  89. TerryD.
    Aug 30, 2007
    6
    Man, I must be missing something - I just don't see the wonder of this title. Yeah, it
  90. LiboW.
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    This game is superb in its execution. For people who have "missed something," play it again; you might find a change in combination weapons/plasmids or something else that would fill that missing gap. Though comparing oblivion and bioshock is like comparing apples and oranges. If oblivion received such wide-acclaim (which btw is still one of my fav. games of all time), then bioshock by This game is superb in its execution. For people who have "missed something," play it again; you might find a change in combination weapons/plasmids or something else that would fill that missing gap. Though comparing oblivion and bioshock is like comparing apples and oranges. If oblivion received such wide-acclaim (which btw is still one of my fav. games of all time), then bioshock by means deserves it also. Just because a game is linear, doesn't mean it's bad (halflife 1/2 was extremely linear, just because you had some "space" in some places doesn't render it a grand theft auto type of a game), the linearity allows for a movie like composition, which was the effect bioshock was going for. Expand
  91. AhrelF.
    Sep 14, 2007
    8
    Good game because of it's story and setting. Without both I doubt that many would be as enamored with it. A fairly standard shooter, you've probably done everything this game offers in other games, so don't expect anything new. But what it does do, it does right and on point. The main problem is the AI, it isn't living up to that 2nd letter at all. Only the Big Daddies Good game because of it's story and setting. Without both I doubt that many would be as enamored with it. A fairly standard shooter, you've probably done everything this game offers in other games, so don't expect anything new. But what it does do, it does right and on point. The main problem is the AI, it isn't living up to that 2nd letter at all. Only the Big Daddies and Little Sisters execute some modicrum of intelligence, and it's definitley not dynamic. Everything else is so heavily scripted any season gamer will recognize when and where to use certain skills for maximum benefit. I would have liked it to be a little more transparent. And there is very little environment interaction outside of burning oil, or electrifying water. Big Daddies are pushovers on anything but Hard mode. I was quite let down by how easy they were to put down, esp as you grow more nad more powerful. The hardest ones are the first three you encounter...if you choose to kill them then. Of course you can come back later and wipe hte floor without even being touched about mid-way through the game. Don't even ask about near the end of the game....you're a steam roller then. Aside from those qualms, it's a great game. But I can't give it more than an 8.0 -- it's mroe style less substance. Not a bad thing, but certainly undeserviing of anything too much higher in this gamers opinion. Expand
  92. B.G.
    Sep 10, 2007
    6
    Maybe I was wrong in expecting some kind of System Shock 2.5, but then again, maybe Ken Levine shouldn't have been boasting around about the game being a "spiritual successor" of said title. To me, Bioshock is as overrated as HL2 - instead of exploring a living (yet hostile) world as we did in SS, I feel like riding some kind of ghost train with scary monsters being thrown at me Maybe I was wrong in expecting some kind of System Shock 2.5, but then again, maybe Ken Levine shouldn't have been boasting around about the game being a "spiritual successor" of said title. To me, Bioshock is as overrated as HL2 - instead of exploring a living (yet hostile) world as we did in SS, I feel like riding some kind of ghost train with scary monsters being thrown at me every now an then. The suspense of a good horror-game is killed in frantic shooting and fiddling with the somewhat unintuitive controls (which I couldn't re-map for my own needs as the game seems to reserve the keys I'd like to use for whatever bloody purpose !)- for a game that promises such "sophisticated" ways of killing off your opponents the overall pace is way too fast and customisible controls should be a standard in every first person game, be it a simple fps or something that pretends to be something else. It's a shame the interesting setting und beatifully executed graphics desing are wasted to such a run-off-the-mill FPS - maybe Irrational should have stuck with their original concept of "secret-nazi-underground-lab", that way, everyone would have known what to expect ... Expand
  93. ZachO.
    Sep 24, 2007
    8
    Certainly not a bad game by any standards, I had a fun time through and through with it. Yet, there is plenty holding it back. For starters it is obvious the game was designed around the Xbox, the interface makes this plain and clear. The lack of an inventory system hurts the game in my opinion, what you mean I have to eat that candy bar as soon as I touch it? The game is also BUGGY. It Certainly not a bad game by any standards, I had a fun time through and through with it. Yet, there is plenty holding it back. For starters it is obvious the game was designed around the Xbox, the interface makes this plain and clear. The lack of an inventory system hurts the game in my opinion, what you mean I have to eat that candy bar as soon as I touch it? The game is also BUGGY. It would only run properly if I reformatted to XP, and it would not work at all under Vista. The DRM is also a huge annoyance and VERY intrusive. But, like I said, once the game works it is very immersive and fun as mentioned countless times before below me. I just wish there wasn't so much holding it back. Expand
  94. VincentL.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Awesome FPS ... perfect atmosphere and graphism ... One point lost because of it's so short !!
  95. FotisJ.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Impressive grafics and interesting game play on the plus side, on the negative side is the fact that we play a dumbed down version of System Shock. Certainly a game you shouldn't miss but no real milestone in the genre history.
  96. MilesM.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics, original storyline and characters, amazingly customizable weapons and abilities, fluid sound and replayability for different outcomes give this game a perfect 10.
  97. PhilT.
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    Overall a good game. Good graphics and the gameplay is, for the most part, fun. In my opinion it is worth the purchase price. I enjoyed the gameplay, with the multiple ammo types and plasmids. It was a lot of fun, switching back and forth depending on the situation. The audio is top-notch, easily the best part of the game. Honestly, the problem was with plot points. The endings were Overall a good game. Good graphics and the gameplay is, for the most part, fun. In my opinion it is worth the purchase price. I enjoyed the gameplay, with the multiple ammo types and plasmids. It was a lot of fun, switching back and forth depending on the situation. The audio is top-notch, easily the best part of the game. Honestly, the problem was with plot points. The endings were definitely rushed, and it disappointed me that choices I made literally in the first 3 hours of the game so directly influenced the ending. I guess I fell victim to expecting too much of the narrative, and I tried to play the middle in terms of morality. I didn't want to pick one path over another, since I figured it was an game that was deeper than it turned out to be in the end. That was a mistake, as trying to play the middle chose my ending for me. Even though the game touts itself as being morally gray, it essentially makes it black and white in the end. Make one decision, just one, that it deems morally reprehensible and you get a the 'bad guy' ending. You literally have to be a saint the entire game to get the 'good guy' ending. That is extremely disappointing. The ending completely ruined the game overall for me. Up until literally the last 15 minutes of the game I would have rated this easily 90+. After finishing it...not so much. Oh well, I still have some hope for the Half Life story. Hopefully it will resolve itself in a satisfactory manner (Although I'm a pessimist and I doubt they will pull it off I can hope they will actually follow through). All that being said, it's a fun game that I recommend. I just don't think it warrants the scores of 90+ it is getting. Maybe, just maybe, if I am in a good mood, it gets a 90. After playing through the whole thing I say it is definitely high 80's, but not high 90's. A good spiritual successor to System Shock, and I am glad a game like this is being made and I don't regret spending my money on it, but definitely not better overall than System Shock 2. SS2 was much, much, MUCH better in terms of story, although Bioshock probably has SS2 beat in terms of overall gameplay. I would personally prefer story over gameplay, but meh. You take what you can get. Expand
  98. SteveC
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    As far as FPSs go, its one of the top 5 for me. Complaints that the complex weapon/power system is "boring" obviously stem from the fact that it isn't a run-n-gun splatterfest. it's the thinking-man's FPS. The countless combinations of powers and weapons lead to unique and meaningful attack choices for specialized enemies. As for the wrench, need we look in the direction of As far as FPSs go, its one of the top 5 for me. Complaints that the complex weapon/power system is "boring" obviously stem from the fact that it isn't a run-n-gun splatterfest. it's the thinking-man's FPS. The countless combinations of powers and weapons lead to unique and meaningful attack choices for specialized enemies. As for the wrench, need we look in the direction of Halo 2 or Half-life? Melee weapons are always going to be powerful, the reason being that in order to use them you have to get very close to your enemy, and at that range its tough to miss. Eliminate your expectations, the game accomplishes accomplishes its own goals. If you die thirty times in a row, its not because the game isn't good, it's because you aren't. Expand
  99. MikeL.
    Sep 5, 2007
    7
    Bio Shock Has very nice graphics on high setting medium settings look poor. The retro artdeco style is nice and it's reasonable atmospheric. BUT the gameplay is hardly uniqiue i don't understand how this game has got such high reviews when more innovative games of 07 have got lower scores! I bet if this was made on the source engine which is dated, it would get a crapier score Bio Shock Has very nice graphics on high setting medium settings look poor. The retro artdeco style is nice and it's reasonable atmospheric. BUT the gameplay is hardly uniqiue i don't understand how this game has got such high reviews when more innovative games of 07 have got lower scores! I bet if this was made on the source engine which is dated, it would get a crapier score at the most 75% overall. But anyway the point is this is I bet this game will end up having a higher scores than say a new and interesting game like L4D and that's another thing it bring nothing to the multiplayer plate! So in conclusion, nice Graphics and a interesting storyline. Un-unique gameplay, predictable and over-rated. Still despite all that it's worth ago! ooh ohh and the DRM thing is outrageous! Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  2. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  3. 97
    There is art here, despite what many would say isn't possible with games, from Roger Ebert to game designers like Hideo Kojima... BioShock stands as a monolithic example of the convergence of entertaining gameplay and an irresistibly sinister, engrossing storyline that encompasses a host of multifaceted characters. This is an essential gaming experience.