BioShock PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3772 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamD
    Jul 12, 2008
    7
    Maybe worth one play through, borrow it from a friend if you can cause you wont want to replay it. Lots of bright cartoony colors and awful annoying sounds. Hacking is painfuly boring and slows game play. All the enemies drop like 1 bullet and Eve (mana or magic energy) gets used up faster than it should. You basically have to be super conservative and can never really just unload on some Maybe worth one play through, borrow it from a friend if you can cause you wont want to replay it. Lots of bright cartoony colors and awful annoying sounds. Hacking is painfuly boring and slows game play. All the enemies drop like 1 bullet and Eve (mana or magic energy) gets used up faster than it should. You basically have to be super conservative and can never really just unload on some enemies. Expand
  2. KevinZ
    Jan 30, 2009
    6
    This game was decent. Rapture is an amazing world, and levels are generally interesting. The atmosphere is good, and it remains creepy throughout. The characters are generally interesting and disturbed. However, it is far from perfect. They made a big deal when this came out about your moral choices having an effect on the world- the only choice is whether or not to kill the Little This game was decent. Rapture is an amazing world, and levels are generally interesting. The atmosphere is good, and it remains creepy throughout. The characters are generally interesting and disturbed. However, it is far from perfect. They made a big deal when this came out about your moral choices having an effect on the world- the only choice is whether or not to kill the Little Sisters, and you wind up with the same amount of Adam either way. The story line is incredibly disappointing after the plot twist- given the great setting I thought they would have been able to come up with a better conclusion. The second half of the game feels like it was rushed out the door, and you lose any motivation to do anything. In general, Bioshock is a great idea with fair to poor implementation, especially in the second half, where they seemed to have run out of creativity. Expand
  3. JimJ.
    Jan 4, 2009
    5
    I'm not sophisticated enough to say specifically what was good and bad about this game. I will say that it was not fun to play. I felt like I was plodding through it. Just praying for the end. I've played HL, HL2, FEAR and Halo many times over and will play them all again, but I will never touch this game again. It's like lutefisk, you only need to try it once to know if I'm not sophisticated enough to say specifically what was good and bad about this game. I will say that it was not fun to play. I felt like I was plodding through it. Just praying for the end. I've played HL, HL2, FEAR and Halo many times over and will play them all again, but I will never touch this game again. It's like lutefisk, you only need to try it once to know if you'll ever try it again. Expand
  4. GabeM
    Mar 13, 2009
    6
    Great setting and weapons. Guns come with upgradeable parts but it gives out so many upgrades that it eliminates replay value. However the different types of ammo are a nice addition to the weapons. Too bad the plasmids (special powers Jack receives) are fairly worthless besides two of them. The research minigame also hurts this game quite a bit. The twist thrown in half way through this Great setting and weapons. Guns come with upgradeable parts but it gives out so many upgrades that it eliminates replay value. However the different types of ammo are a nice addition to the weapons. Too bad the plasmids (special powers Jack receives) are fairly worthless besides two of them. The research minigame also hurts this game quite a bit. The twist thrown in half way through this game is horrendous but if you can look past that for its undertones on objectivism you might like the story aspect. Insanely easy game however. Expand
  5. SamP
    Apr 6, 2009
    7
    This is by far not a bad game, and at times is an incredibly good game, but for the most part it is barely above average. It has an excellent plot and incredible environment (Which get old), but the weapons are ultimately average, as is the most important factor, gameplay. This is perhaps one of the most over-rated games I've seen in a while, more so even than COD4.
  6. Ratama
    May 18, 2009
    5
    Not actually that great. Pretty uninspired console port and it really shows, especially in the linear level size. The story too isn't amazing, you'll see the twist coming a mile away if you got a head on your shoulders. Though there are some interesting characters.. who all get killed off. Breaks 4 because it rags on Objectivism.
  7. MattS
    May 28, 2009
    6
    I was quite impressed the first hour of gameplay (most of the demo). The ingame cutscenes were spot on and the action led me to believe I was going to play a game to be remembered. Starting with 10P. Story. Not bad but not great. I can't really review it because I couldn't bare to finish the game. The choice between killing and not killing children seemed a silly and a lame I was quite impressed the first hour of gameplay (most of the demo). The ingame cutscenes were spot on and the action led me to believe I was going to play a game to be remembered. Starting with 10P. Story. Not bad but not great. I can't really review it because I couldn't bare to finish the game. The choice between killing and not killing children seemed a silly and a lame attempt at a good/evil alignment tracker, but thats just my opinion. Gameplay. It becomes incredibly stale, fast. Enemies were very scary at first. Combat is a lot like doom 3, enemies bust out when a new weapon is received, or objective, etc. But its the same lame 3 enemies (brainless monster, brainless monster with plasmids, robot) the entire time. Plasmids seemed like a redeeming value, and at first I was excited to see what new plasmid I would get. Sadly, I soon realized only one or two plasmids are actually worth using in a fight, which made the combat very bland. I could go off listing all the worthless plasmids and how they are ineffective in combat, but I wont. I will just say the the only effective plasmids distract and hurt. So there are two. They made an option to make guns and ammo. Ammo is lacking in the game so making ammo is essential. Yet the time I took collecting all the random parts and junk just to make a few bullets or grenades seemed not worth the effort. Hacking is a bore with the puzzle being either really easy or impossible (I played enough pipe dream as a kid). While this game is extremely stale in level design and enemy combat, it gets worse. The game creators give you a camera which they expect you to take pictures of the same ole junk they made during combat no less. (-1P) Graphics. They were stunning at times. But as the game progressed there were no attempts at using them to make a great environment. The beginning of this game is as good as it gets (period). (-1P) Originality. NONE. Those who claim otherwise have not been playing video games for long. This game is a crappy clone of System Shock 2, which is a much better game. For newer gamers, this game is like Doom 3 with magic and less enemies. (-1P) Pre/Post-Hype. This game wins as the most overly hyped game I have ever known. Congrats Bioshock. Expand
  8. sammyLOL
    Jun 9, 2009
    6
    This game really is a piece of overblown shit. So glad i bought it for 5 bucks off of steam. There is nothing interesting about this game. The aura it tries to create is completely destroyed by the clunky fighting style and an often frustrating learning curve. I wish the character had an inner ear so running didn't have the feeling of constantly running into shit. The graphics annoy This game really is a piece of overblown shit. So glad i bought it for 5 bucks off of steam. There is nothing interesting about this game. The aura it tries to create is completely destroyed by the clunky fighting style and an often frustrating learning curve. I wish the character had an inner ear so running didn't have the feeling of constantly running into shit. The graphics annoy the hell out of me, the lighting is completely overdone and exaggerated. I also love that the enemies spastically and unrealistically move like they are on crack, making it nearly impossible to headshot a moving target. The game progression and upgrades are also total bullshit, what is with the whole hacking mini-game? I didn't play this game to do something i could find on shitty internet game websites. Only buy this if its, like, way on sale. Expand
  9. StefanoG
    Jan 21, 2010
    6
    I was a bit disappointed by this game, it is not by any means a successor to system shock. It's just another FPS with a cheesy storyline, that seems to pop up from a sci-fi b-movie of the '60.
  10. MichaelC.
    Nov 11, 2007
    6
    Really nice game... bad theme... I simply do not understand the modern need for every new first-person-shooter to be based on horror... I appreciate modern conventional warfare much better and so far only Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and several of the Rainbow Six series have been "real" (including Vegas and Raven Shield and its sequel). I would have given this game a 9 but the theme and Really nice game... bad theme... I simply do not understand the modern need for every new first-person-shooter to be based on horror... I appreciate modern conventional warfare much better and so far only Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and several of the Rainbow Six series have been "real" (including Vegas and Raven Shield and its sequel). I would have given this game a 9 but the theme and its redundancy just disgusts me. Expand
  11. StianS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    I think the game was like a god when i tried the demo, like it came a start of a new generation of FPS games. I liked it like i wont play any other game. Then i bought the full version, and played untill i was stuck alot of times and it got really boring because of same enemies over and over again. Its alot of new things and stuff, that i like, but its to much guns and plasmids.. So i I think the game was like a god when i tried the demo, like it came a start of a new generation of FPS games. I liked it like i wont play any other game. Then i bought the full version, and played untill i was stuck alot of times and it got really boring because of same enemies over and over again. Its alot of new things and stuff, that i like, but its to much guns and plasmids.. So i gave it a "5" because of many bad entertained moments. Expand
  12. NickN.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    A powerful, innovative game with an excellent story and unique, entertaining gameplay. A creative story and memorable characters make for an immersive gaming experience. However, this game's rating suffers due to the massive number of crashes I had to sort through before I could play and the complete LACK of customer service to help fix my problem brings the game down a lot. Also, A powerful, innovative game with an excellent story and unique, entertaining gameplay. A creative story and memorable characters make for an immersive gaming experience. However, this game's rating suffers due to the massive number of crashes I had to sort through before I could play and the complete LACK of customer service to help fix my problem brings the game down a lot. Also, for those of us who like to modify our games for new, creative gaming will be gravely dissapointed in the non-existance of modding, mapping, and developer tools to accompany this game. Don't get me wrong, though. I still recommend this game to anyone seeking a unique first-person-shooter game. If you can get it to work on your computer without needing tech support, you won't be dissapointed. Expand
  13. Sacrosanct
    Dec 10, 2007
    7
    I like to compare Bioshock to reading a really good, old novel. It presents an era that few games have traversed; and with it, it brings an anachronistic element that must be seen to be appreciated. I laud this game, not because of its graphical standing, or what reviews it may garner - be they good, or bad. I have found an appreciation for this game, because it aspires to bring an aspect I like to compare Bioshock to reading a really good, old novel. It presents an era that few games have traversed; and with it, it brings an anachronistic element that must be seen to be appreciated. I laud this game, not because of its graphical standing, or what reviews it may garner - be they good, or bad. I have found an appreciation for this game, because it aspires to bring an aspect that is far and few in modern gaming: immersion. It does not strive to have the best physics, the best AI, or to attain the prestige of being a difficult game - in fact, the game is relatively easy; but I believe this is by design, so that the player can continually progress without experincing frustration, or repetition that comes from trial and error of adhering to the "right" combination of buttons in order to progress to the next portion. The game simply wishes to tell a story, and do so as fluidly as possible. I find its ease to be more of a blessing; because anyone whom is not a gamer, can still pick it up and enjoy it - and prove that art, and eloquent portrayal can exist amidst the cabals of games that repeat themselves through recycle and reiteration. In finality, the game is a good jaunt in storytelling from the first person perspective, and is recommended for anyone that enjoys the concept of immersion, so long as they allow themselves to see beyond the game's technical shortcomings. Expand
  14. SimonM.
    Dec 14, 2007
    7
    A beautiful game that manages to divert your attention from the fact you are playing an utterly average FPS. The story is borderline irrelevant, the action is nothing fancy, the puzzles are low key. The interaction with the environment is unimaginative compared to something like Half Life. It just goes to prove that pretty much every game reviewer in the Metascore list cannot see past A beautiful game that manages to divert your attention from the fact you are playing an utterly average FPS. The story is borderline irrelevant, the action is nothing fancy, the puzzles are low key. The interaction with the environment is unimaginative compared to something like Half Life. It just goes to prove that pretty much every game reviewer in the Metascore list cannot see past 'pretty pictures' Yeah it's ok, its pretty, but it's average. Expand
  15. Edi
    Dec 23, 2007
    6
    Great atmosphere, decent story, somewhat predictable, no character choice (ie: not really an RPG) as by the end, every character will have nearly every upgrade, thus being nearly identical. "Crafting ammo" is not a real selling point, as you simply pick up crap and it makes ammo based on a few forced ammo choices. Also, ending choice is more black and white than... black and white?
  16. GigidiGigidiGoo
    Oct 29, 2007
    5
    Well it was sorta like a new idea. . . ?? I don't know the story line, it's very, inconsistent. Enemies aren't exactly bright, and well the whole game was just, . OK. Not worth the money, .. sorry.
  17. ChrisD.
    Aug 21, 2007
    6
    Not worth the money. buy half-life 2. Graphics are very bad. fine, if that's a given. Most reviews are claiming the combat is good. Combat? You mean zombies running at you? that's this amazin AI? What, becuase they are talking about mixing martiinis, they are intellgient? The days of greusome stupid designs are over. Unreal engine is over.
  18. KoshG.
    Aug 27, 2007
    6
    Nice art direction and high production values, but not very difficult. Double endings and "moral choices" definitely overrated unless you're an ethical simpleton. 7/10. Then -1 for $ value: ridiculous SM3.0 requirement forcing me to upgrade my otherwise perfectly viable X850XT graphics card.
  19. KEvinS.
    Aug 29, 2007
    7
    A beautiful game held back by its game play and weak moral choices. The weak game play elements include all of the guns sucking. At certain times, such as the menu screen and exasperatingly simple combat and crappy UI , it was easy to tell the game was basically a port from the 360 with no significant game play changes. The game kinda gets old after a few hours considering everyone looks A beautiful game held back by its game play and weak moral choices. The weak game play elements include all of the guns sucking. At certain times, such as the menu screen and exasperatingly simple combat and crappy UI , it was easy to tell the game was basically a port from the 360 with no significant game play changes. The game kinda gets old after a few hours considering everyone looks the same. I mean they are exactly the same too, just with different weapons and slightly different tactics. It is like a Final Fantasy game if you only fought goblins but they got more health as you played further through the game. The moral choice you are presented with in the game is stupid too. You can either kill Little sisters and get twice as much adam, or save them and get half the adam initially and then the other half as a gift, along with some useless ammo or something. There are two endings, but I don't really think its worth playing again to see the other one that I didn't see. I'm actually playing STALKER again instead. Stalker is a much better game, in its more optimized patched state. A very good shooter with many good aspects, unlike bioshock that was just pretty. Bioshock just goes to show you that a pretty game doesn't mean a good game. Expand
  20. Avs
    Aug 31, 2007
    7
    Overall: 7, because its a decent FPS by today's standards. I also agree with those who gave it a 8 or lower as they actually point out the worst of the worst. The hype is what gives these reviews their scores, this game is over hyped, its graphics requirement was disappointing for its style of art. Worst off is the fact that wrench > all weapons, and respawn of monsters while Overall: 7, because its a decent FPS by today's standards. I also agree with those who gave it a 8 or lower as they actually point out the worst of the worst. The hype is what gives these reviews their scores, this game is over hyped, its graphics requirement was disappointing for its style of art. Worst off is the fact that wrench > all weapons, and respawn of monsters while interesting, is a bit unnecessary. However, the critics hype it up, and give it ratings it does not deserve, most likely due to the lack of major FPS games out recently. The biggest disappointing factor that shows the truth behind why us gamers rate it much lower than critics for this game is simply because this game was not the flexible, challenging, unique FPS that others like Halflife displayed long ago. The story is weak, especially as it is obvious what is going on before you even crash into Rapture. This kills any redemption value Bioshock has due to its easy and therefore non-thrilling gameplay even on hardest difficulty levels. Story was more audio driven than anything, unlike narrative or script based. Sound is great however, except for some areas with more sound than necessary such as movement when there is none. Art and graphics are great, except they are nothing new than games when the Xbox360 came out, and that their engine could have done much more than a pseudo cartoony rendition with fake blood sprites being the kicker. Choices, while more (in quantity not quality) than other FPS, doesn't create any impact at all. Flexibility in skills and upgrades are non-existent. Expand
  21. CurtisT.
    Aug 31, 2007
    5
    Linear, Repetitive, Underwater Fallout-esqe themed shooter. Pretty graphics. Short length, ten hours solve time. Player choices have little impact on game outcome.
  22. KurtS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    7
    This game is pretty much just a dumb down version of System Shock 2. Game play gets repetitive with only few types of enemies. Most of the plasmids are pretty useless or redundant as are the weapons and despite what the previews said, ammunitions is abundant in the world of Rapture. The actions in only one aspect of the game determine the final ending. Game felt short and the ending was This game is pretty much just a dumb down version of System Shock 2. Game play gets repetitive with only few types of enemies. Most of the plasmids are pretty useless or redundant as are the weapons and despite what the previews said, ammunitions is abundant in the world of Rapture. The actions in only one aspect of the game determine the final ending. Game felt short and the ending was anticlimactic. If you are a fan of the originals you will be disappointed. While the graphics are great, there is no backwards compatibility and are stuck with DX9c or better and then I couldn't get it to run in DX10 mode even after shelling out for a new fancy card. Besides graphics, neat AI behaviours and adept story telling are this game's other saving graces. Expand
  23. RussG.
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    The game really wasn't that great. I played it through to the end, but found it to be relatively boring. The theme of the game was new, but there really wasn't anything groundbreaking or "awesome". The plot was somewhat predictable, but original. The game just wasn't fun enough to deserve a 96 on metacritic. It isn't up to par with HL2 or half of the top 20 games. I The game really wasn't that great. I played it through to the end, but found it to be relatively boring. The theme of the game was new, but there really wasn't anything groundbreaking or "awesome". The plot was somewhat predictable, but original. The game just wasn't fun enough to deserve a 96 on metacritic. It isn't up to par with HL2 or half of the top 20 games. I never said the game was bad, it just is no where close to great. Expand
  24. ThomasH.
    Apr 12, 2008
    6
    I'm tired of people comparing how overrated this is to Half-Life 2, yes Half-Life 2 was overrated, but it was a great game and only overrated by 1/10, but this... thing is far more overrated by far. The graphics are good, but old fashion at the same time (the background is like a painting, literally, like the original Half-life but with half the quality) the innovation of this game I'm tired of people comparing how overrated this is to Half-Life 2, yes Half-Life 2 was overrated, but it was a great game and only overrated by 1/10, but this... thing is far more overrated by far. The graphics are good, but old fashion at the same time (the background is like a painting, literally, like the original Half-life but with half the quality) the innovation of this game wears off after 20 min, and the excitement wears off 20 min after that, then comes the middle of the game [MAJOR SPOILER ALERT] (the part with the insane "artist" who traps you in his large studio) and then comes the part where I just stopped playing (Ryan Industries) [/MAJOR SPOILER ALERT] and the game was fun during some parts (I didn't want to leave the wharf, I just wanted to stay in that level and role play) while others were boring (Ryan Industries) and it just got tiring after a while. Now some people might say that its revolutionary combining rpg with fps and how you can change how you kill enemies and all these upgrades and such, but what people don't know is that this revolution already happened, in 1999, with this games spiritual prequel System Shock 2. In fact Bioshock is basically just System Shock 2 in 1960 instead of in the 2100s, at the bottom of the ocean instead of in a space ship 60 billion miles from earth, and there is more than one person who's still remotely human (besides yourself). This game is tedious after a while, its innovation already come from the people who created it (Back in 1999) and the overly shiny graphics get annoying after a while. Expand
  25. MarkH.
    Dec 17, 2007
    7
    This is a well made game will little or no replayability. You play though it once or maybe twice and then leave in on the shelf. Multiplayer could have made this a real classic.
  26. RobC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    5
    I would like to see how many of these reviewers still play this game ? and what their opinion of it is now, and that is the biggest issue with this game and in cases many others whats it like a few months down the track, well if i am anything to go by its gathering dust, and untouched since i finished it, the game may be a 7 to 9 first time round but lets think here, after spending the I would like to see how many of these reviewers still play this game ? and what their opinion of it is now, and that is the biggest issue with this game and in cases many others whats it like a few months down the track, well if i am anything to go by its gathering dust, and untouched since i finished it, the game may be a 7 to 9 first time round but lets think here, after spending the better part of AU$90 was it worth it long term ? well no, its not, in fact i was very dissapointed that i went out and grabbed this "must have title" as soon as i did, i should have waited for it to hit the bargain shelf, and that is my advise to anyone reading this, due to the limited (read none) replayability of this game i would recommend that people wait until its price drops to a level comparable with the length of play you will get. In regards to the gameplay, i found it atmospheric but forced situations (cut scenes etc) and a respawn system destroy this easily. There is no attachment to your character as there is no consequence to combat actions, you die respawn kill another monster, rinse and repeat if your stuck, which is unlikely as encounters were dull and boring, with a sub standard AI. It had some nice features, which if given more attention could have been great, as in plasmids and tonics. The game was short, i finished it in around 13 hours, which is resonable for a FPS, but since there is no user content creation available makes this a very limited game (see above) and i doubt it would benefit from MP, however being vaunted as a hybrid RPG style game i would expect at least another 10 or so hours of game play, with deeper story and side plots. The reason it would never have recieved a high score from me would be the poor story, which to be honest was totally predictable and very uninspired, there was so much that could have been done here and was not, i expected something amazing and was not shown it, for me it was just play through the game to see how the parts of the story connect together. Expand
  27. Dec 23, 2010
    6
    "A beautiful smooth veneer finish over a flawed, ultimately hollow core" would sum this title up for me perfectly. The setting and overall theme were done quite well, and the conveyance of exploring a now-ruined underwater dystopia is executed very well. To my eyes, that was where the excellence stopped, and the mediocrity begins.

    The story holds up about as well as a cardboard cutout in
    "A beautiful smooth veneer finish over a flawed, ultimately hollow core" would sum this title up for me perfectly. The setting and overall theme were done quite well, and the conveyance of exploring a now-ruined underwater dystopia is executed very well. To my eyes, that was where the excellence stopped, and the mediocrity begins.

    The story holds up about as well as a cardboard cutout in a windstorm, as most of it is told not via in-game events but by picking up random tape recordings scattered throughout the ruins. There was one major plot twist, but by the time it occurs most people would have seen it coming anyway. The weapons, though reasonably balanced, were all pretty standard fare - nothing we haven't seen before. The plasmids, which should have really set the game apart, were only marginally useful save for the one or two strong ones; the rest were relegated to use only for the few virtual stop-gates that required their use for you to pass.

    By the time I was done playing - which, by the way doesn't take all that long - and had followed the cookie-cutter "good" or "evil" path, I left with the feeling that I could have had much more. I think the initial reviews were made by journalists who played through the first hour or so of the game and were really just absorbing the theme and environment. Had they dug a bit deeper, they would have seen the shiny surface give way to the flaws that lurk underneath.
    Expand
  28. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    Just registered to thumb up mcremi's review lol, though I won't give it a so low score.
    It's good looking, yes, but the gameplay mechanics are kinda boring and repetitive. You're in a small room, the doors suddenly closes, a bunch of enemies all looking the same appears, and so on.
    I'm sure the developers only worked on the graphics and forgot to make a game with them. Reviewers that gave
    Just registered to thumb up mcremi's review lol, though I won't give it a so low score.
    It's good looking, yes, but the gameplay mechanics are kinda boring and repetitive. You're in a small room, the doors suddenly closes, a bunch of enemies all looking the same appears, and so on.
    I'm sure the developers only worked on the graphics and forgot to make a game with them.

    Reviewers that gave it 100/100 should do a different job, like in a coal mine or something...
    Expand
  29. May 7, 2012
    5
    If your a fan of shooters you will be a fan of BioShock.
    Unfortunately the marketing and critic reviews led me to believe that this was more than a shooter and nearly a cinematic experience with RPG elements.
    To make it clear: This is nothing like Deus Ex or it's successors or Portal. BioShock is a simple shooter that looks quite good, has good FPS game play, and good audio commentary.
    If your a fan of shooters you will be a fan of BioShock.
    Unfortunately the marketing and critic reviews led me to believe that this was more than a shooter and nearly a cinematic experience with RPG elements.

    To make it clear: This is nothing like Deus Ex or it's successors or Portal. BioShock is a simple shooter that looks quite good, has good FPS game play, and good audio commentary.

    I have rated it 5 to demonstrate it is very good at what it does, but only 5 because the marketing was inaccurate at best as the game does not go beyond it's shooter roots.
    Expand
  30. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    What is so good about this game, I have no idea why everyone likes it. It's your typical first person shooter with crappy setting and guns and powerups that suck.
  31. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    I must say I've got a problem with this one. The whole setting of the game is imbued with an unprecedented amount of artistry, the background of all events is incredibly rich and consistent. Rapture is enchanting beautifully designed location and ubiquitous art déco feel. The history is quite good and I just loved the characters and audio layer of the game (incredibly good voice actingI must say I've got a problem with this one. The whole setting of the game is imbued with an unprecedented amount of artistry, the background of all events is incredibly rich and consistent. Rapture is enchanting beautifully designed location and ubiquitous art déco feel. The history is quite good and I just loved the characters and audio layer of the game (incredibly good voice acting and music). All of this creates a coherent universe which significantly exceeds the technical aspects of the game itself. Bioshock as a game just doesn't offer enough fun. I accept the plasmids because the story behind them is plausible, but i just can't find justification for tonics. The gameplay isn't satisfying the guns don't give that special feel, permanent lack of ammo and too much plasmids to choose the tonics the hacking vending machines adam eve Power to the People Gene Banks Gatherer's Garden Health stations bots turrets photos everything... much exaggerated. The game mechanics is overcomplicated and bewildering.
    Also the level design (in macroscale as a route from beginning to end) isn't very sophisticated I would say it's like small villages sparsely placed by the main road Fort Frolic for example. Unnecessary detour to Fleet Hall and Poseidon Plaza justified only by the designers willingness to add extra content to the game (although I think mentioned location are well designed and eye-catching) heck, why couldn't you just walk straight to bathysphere. Most of the game player seems to travel from node to node.
    I think the game tries to be too long everything goes well if you are driven by plot you gather informations and audio diaries but then you reach a moment in which writers took a pause. It's easy to forget what and why you're supposed to do. The best choice would be to cut those moment since they contain only shooting & fighting and those aspects of the game doesn't defend themselves.
    Another disadvantage of Bioshock is the design of the enemies they aren't very diverse, their animation is poor and they're ugly. Just ugly (and I don't mean scary). Some characters and events related to them are insistently weird. Too mature, too bizarre... you can't really identify with them or with their motives and choices.
    I've got really hard time finishing it some moment are really dull but I'm glad I did it finally.
    Yes, I agree the game is overrated but I will not score Bioshock to 0. And I will not discourage anyone to buy the game.
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  2. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  3. 97
    There is art here, despite what many would say isn't possible with games, from Roger Ebert to game designers like Hideo Kojima... BioShock stands as a monolithic example of the convergence of entertaining gameplay and an irresistibly sinister, engrossing storyline that encompasses a host of multifaceted characters. This is an essential gaming experience.