BioShock PC

BioShock Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3534 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea.Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no more. Now the city is littered with corpses, wildly powerful guardians roam the corridors as little girls loot the dead, and genetically mutated citizens ambush you at every turn. Take control of your world by hacking mechanical devices, commandeering security turrets and crafting unique items critical to your very survival. Upgrade your weapons with ionic gels, explosives and toxins to customize them to the enemy and environment. Genetically modify your body through dozens of Plasmid Stations scattered throughout the city, empowering you with fantastic and often grotesque abilities. Explore a living world powered by Ecological A.I., where the inhabitants have interesting and consequential relationships with one another that impact your gameplay experience. Experience truly next generation graphics that vividly illustrate the forlorn art deco city, highlighted by the most detailed and realistic water effects ever developed in a video game. Make meaningful choices and mature decisions, ultimately culminating in the grand question: do you exploit the innocent survivors of Rapture...or save them? [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  2. BioShock is on the same par as those great classic films that have won awards for years and this one will for the video game industry. The combination of a great story and fantastic gameplay with wonderful scenery has been so well created into an all around well crafted game that it would be a shame to miss out on playing it.
  3. Everyone will play it differently, and have a different experience. Some like myself will find it drenched in tension and atmosphere, having run into many a situation where the poop was scared out of me. Others, like a friend of mine, will claim that its intuitiveness, combative freedom, and creativity puts it above the spiritual predecessor "System Shock 2," and wonder at how convincing the whole affair can be.
  4. Play Magazine
    95
    The first-person shooter is, simply, one of the best games ever made. [Oct 2007, p.86]
  5. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  6. It meshes impressive graphics with an inventive gameplay system, and uses them to push an amazing story in a refreshingly unique setting. Unless you faint at the sight of blood or you absolutely despise FPS games, you should consider this game a must buy.
  7. So BioShock is not a revolutionary game, or even a particularly innovative one; by the time I reached the end, I felt as though I had played a rather standard and predictable first-person shooter.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 705
  1. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    The best game I've ever played that wasn't a game made by Bethesda. I just loved the game and the storyline. The only thing I didn't like wasThe best game I've ever played that wasn't a game made by Bethesda. I just loved the game and the storyline. The only thing I didn't like was that you rarely meet anyone that doesn't want to kill you, I would like the occasional person that says, "Hello," and doesn't try and stab you in the back. The whole background story is interesting to hear too. When I first heard of this game and saw the trailer, I thought it was about a pedo trying to kidnap little kids in a wierd city. But once my friend told me that I had to play it and sent me a gameplay video, I knew I would be hooked. And I was, it turned out to be a great game and loved it. So, if your looking for a good game that is linear and isn't an RPG, then you have to play this game. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2016
    10
    It is a most amazing game ever created - in my opinion.
    Extremly addictive story with an amazing "plot twister", great, dark climate and
    It is a most amazing game ever created - in my opinion.
    Extremly addictive story with an amazing "plot twister", great, dark climate and feeling of claustrophobia caused by surrounding us Atlantic ocean and all of that topped with an amazing music that highlights brutality of underwater city - Rapture.

    And yet questionable matter is game mechanics - specialy shooting system what most of the time feels very plastic and gives us conviction of bullets bouncing from enemies.
    But the thing that sustains the positive reception of combat mechanics are plasmids - some sort of "super powers". Thanks to them we can shoot with thunders, fireballs and do many more things.

    Summary:

    Ken Levine (creator of classic System Shock 2) delivered us an amazing piece of work. The world he created in Bioshock is breathtaking and deserved a recognition.
    There are some bugs and problems with shooting system but the story and the world of the game save the day.

    That's why i give this game 10/10. Not becouse it is a perfect game - becouse perfect games doesn't exist - but becouse this game is polished in most of the key aspects that let game recipient realy dip into the virtual world which feels so real and alive. So this is 9/10, but in my personal feeling 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It is a beautiful but strange world. Fascinating environment that is eerie, elegant music that is mysterious, lovely children that is underIt is a beautiful but strange world. Fascinating environment that is eerie, elegant music that is mysterious, lovely children that is under external control, dramatic plot and touching ending depict a unprecedented world in the game of bioshock. Maybe, this is the most artistic violent game, almost all would be "shocked" after finishing this game. Maybe, this is the game with the deepest content. 9.7/10 from IGN really says it all.(My rating: 10/10 absolutely) Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    I was very pleased with this game. The story is especially the strongest points of this game, along with its setting. Difficulty wise, you'llI was very pleased with this game. The story is especially the strongest points of this game, along with its setting. Difficulty wise, you'll probably only find a challenge if you play on the hardest difficulty settings, and even then you'll be swamped with ammo and money all the time. The combat also feels a bit... 'meh'. It doesn't really have a lot to the combat, however they did a very good job with the variation with the Plasmids. I really enjoyed using those. I also found it extremely pleasing to look at, seeing the ruins of what was once a very inspiring city built underwater being filled with mutated humans and armored wrecking machines called Big Daddies brings in a lot of atmosphere.

    In short, the setting and story-line is unexpectedly fantastic, though the combat will fall a bit short after a few hours of playing and should definitely be played on the hardest difficulty for the best challenge.
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    First of all I'll state that I'm not an FPS or generally shooter fan. The reason is because I value plot in games highly. So Bioshock came outFirst of all I'll state that I'm not an FPS or generally shooter fan. The reason is because I value plot in games highly. So Bioshock came out and after way some time after its release, reading all the reviews on the internet and being hype by acquaintances of mine, I decided to buy it.

    And it was not bad, not bad actually. I liked the gameplay, especially the Big Daddy boss fights that needed some preparation beforehand.
    The plasmids were interesting, though some like security bullseye weren't useful enough to use.
    The weapons were all cool to use except the throwers perhaps.

    I also enjoyed searching for audio files which I found interesting and immersive.

    Rapture's design was okay but just plain okay. I found disturbing the lack of character models, where characters important to the plot like tanenbaum or julie langford were depicted with splicers like models. I honestly thought that was lazy.
    The AI was in good levels, the part where splicers run to healing stations when brought low on hp shows good programming.

    However the final boss fight was outright laughable. Extremely easy with no special strategies whatsoever, it gave me less difficulty than the Big Daddy fights. Took me less than 2 minutes to finish

    Last but not least and actually most important of all aspects, the plot. This game was praised vastly for its story but I wouldn't praise it that much. Plot was great as far as shooter games plot goes but it is not that impressive. I honestly didn't find the twist that breath-taking. When it happened I actually thought that was the start of the nice part. Alas my hopes were crushed, for the story after the twist switches back to generic. So to summarize I didn't find the plot bad, heck it was great at unraveling just not that great for all that praise. I guess shooter standards are just different...
    Expand
  6. MattB
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    Pretty graphics, interesting sound effects and little else to bring me back to playing this game once I'd played through it once. DismalPretty graphics, interesting sound effects and little else to bring me back to playing this game once I'd played through it once. Dismal lack of multiplayer and a UI that was obviously crafted for low resolution XBox360. A decent play through but certainly not worthy of all the praise lavished upon it. Not worth $50 bucks for sure. Maybe $30. The game play is hyper linear and it's impossible to game-over from what I've experienced. The plot line is predictable and boring and interactivity with the world is positively uninspired. Expand
  7. RobertG
    Aug 28, 2007
    0
    I'm sure the game is great, if you get it to start. The 1000+ posts in the "outstanding pc problems" thread on 2k:s support forum bearsI'm sure the game is great, if you get it to start. The 1000+ posts in the "outstanding pc problems" thread on 2k:s support forum bears witness to major problems though. In said thread not a single reply from 2 k can be found. In short - no game performance can nullify the complete and utter disregard from 2k against the thousands of buyers that are reporting trouble even getting the game to start (on more than adequate machines, I might add). Nope, sry - 2k flunks in my book. Expand

See all 705 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.