BioShock PC

BioShock Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3796 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea.Going beyond "run and gun corridors," "monster-closet AIs" and static worlds, BioShock creates a living, unique and unpredictable FPS experience. After your plane crashes into icy uncharted waters, you discover a rusted bathysphere and descend into Rapture, a city hidden beneath the sea. Constructed as an idealistic society for a hand picked group of scientists, artists and industrialists, the idealism is no more. Now the city is littered with corpses, wildly powerful guardians roam the corridors as little girls loot the dead, and genetically mutated citizens ambush you at every turn. Take control of your world by hacking mechanical devices, commandeering security turrets and crafting unique items critical to your very survival. Upgrade your weapons with ionic gels, explosives and toxins to customize them to the enemy and environment. Genetically modify your body through dozens of Plasmid Stations scattered throughout the city, empowering you with fantastic and often grotesque abilities. Explore a living world powered by Ecological A.I., where the inhabitants have interesting and consequential relationships with one another that impact your gameplay experience. Experience truly next generation graphics that vividly illustrate the forlorn art deco city, highlighted by the most detailed and realistic water effects ever developed in a video game. Make meaningful choices and mature decisions, ultimately culminating in the grand question: do you exploit the innocent survivors of Rapture...or save them? [2K Games] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Irrational Games, 2K Marin
  • Genre(s): Action, Shooter, Shooter, First-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
BioShock - iOS Launch Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    The hours spent playing this masterpiece were the perfect encapsulation of why videogaming is such a favourite waste of time for so many of us. Thrilling, terrifying, moving, confusing, amusing, compelling, and very very dark. BioShock isn't simply the sign of gaming realising its true cinematic potential, but one where a game straddles so many entertainment art forms so expertly that it's the best demonstration yet how flexible this medium can be. It's no longer just another shooter wrapped up in a pretty game engine, but a story that exists and unfolds inside the most convincing and elaborate and artistic game world ever conceived.
  2. BioShock is on the same par as those great classic films that have won awards for years and this one will for the video game industry. The combination of a great story and fantastic gameplay with wonderful scenery has been so well created into an all around well crafted game that it would be a shame to miss out on playing it.
  3. Everyone will play it differently, and have a different experience. Some like myself will find it drenched in tension and atmosphere, having run into many a situation where the poop was scared out of me. Others, like a friend of mine, will claim that its intuitiveness, combative freedom, and creativity puts it above the spiritual predecessor "System Shock 2," and wonder at how convincing the whole affair can be.
  4. Play Magazine
    95
    The first-person shooter is, simply, one of the best games ever made. [Oct 2007, p.86]
  5. A dark and astonishing masterpiece...I spend my career, and my gaming life, waiting for a moment when a game just astonishes me, when I can't believe what I'm seeing, what I'm doing. BioShock has five. [Sept 2007, p.66]
  6. It meshes impressive graphics with an inventive gameplay system, and uses them to push an amazing story in a refreshingly unique setting. Unless you faint at the sight of blood or you absolutely despise FPS games, you should consider this game a must buy.
  7. So BioShock is not a revolutionary game, or even a particularly innovative one; by the time I reached the end, I felt as though I had played a rather standard and predictable first-person shooter.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 719
  1. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Bioshock is the second best game. Kind of like Timeshift but under water with alot of powers! 10/10 HATER SHIELD ENABLE! THAT IS ALL!
  2. May 31, 2016
    10
    Mi juego preferito de la séptima generación sin duda. Es cierto que mirando ahora la jugabilidad no es lo más puntero del mundo, pero cumpleMi juego preferito de la séptima generación sin duda. Es cierto que mirando ahora la jugabilidad no es lo más puntero del mundo, pero cumple más que bien, pero donde más reside el encanto de este juego es en la historia, y qué historia! La manera en la que te la cuentan y como te das cuenta de todo es brillante, tanto como la ambientación de este juego. Un juego que se debe jugar sí o sí. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It is a beautiful but strange world. Fascinating environment that is eerie, elegant music that is mysterious, lovely children that is underIt is a beautiful but strange world. Fascinating environment that is eerie, elegant music that is mysterious, lovely children that is under external control, dramatic plot and touching ending depict a unprecedented world in the game of bioshock. Maybe, this is the most artistic violent game, almost all would be "shocked" after finishing this game. Maybe, this is the game with the deepest content. 9.7/10 from IGN really says it all.(My rating: 10/10 absolutely) Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of the greatest stories I've ever experienced, as well as some of the best gaming mechanics and progression. There's thisThis is one of the greatest stories I've ever experienced, as well as some of the best gaming mechanics and progression. There's this constant, strange feeling of fascination as you react to the insanity of the characters around you. The world is beautiful and believable with just a few complaints; recurring models and voice actors persistently remind you that it's just a game. Also, nearing the games completion, there's a fantastic cut-scene that seems to be preparing you for the game's conclusion, but as it turns out, there are several more areas to explore. This might end up making these last few areas feel a little slow, as it did for me, because you're ready for an epic finale but not shown one for quite a while. If you look past these things, Bioshock is hands down one of the best gaming experiences of the past decade. Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    First there was System Shock, then there was System Shock 2, and now there is Bioshock. I will start of by saying that Bioshock is like aFirst there was System Shock, then there was System Shock 2, and now there is Bioshock. I will start of by saying that Bioshock is like a watered-down version of System Shock 2. System Shock 2 is big and massive while Bioshock is small and linear. Now, Bioshock is actually very fun but it is NOT a masterpiece. The thing that brings the game down are the RPG elements. This is NOT an RPG yet it seems like it's trying to be. It has RPG like things but it isn't an RPG. The game is not as good as the critics claim it to be. Now I could say more bad things about the game but I'll say some good things now. The game is just beautiful. It takes place in an underwater city, so yes it is going to be beautiful. There are enemies called Big Daddies. They look like over grow deep sea divers with a giant drill for a hand. The powers you get are pretty cool and you can shoot lighting out of your hands and when enemies are in the water you can shock the water and they will fry. I recommend the game but play System Shock 2 first. Expand
  6. MattB
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    Pretty graphics, interesting sound effects and little else to bring me back to playing this game once I'd played through it once. DismalPretty graphics, interesting sound effects and little else to bring me back to playing this game once I'd played through it once. Dismal lack of multiplayer and a UI that was obviously crafted for low resolution XBox360. A decent play through but certainly not worthy of all the praise lavished upon it. Not worth $50 bucks for sure. Maybe $30. The game play is hyper linear and it's impossible to game-over from what I've experienced. The plot line is predictable and boring and interactivity with the world is positively uninspired. Expand
  7. RobertG
    Aug 28, 2007
    0
    I'm sure the game is great, if you get it to start. The 1000+ posts in the "outstanding pc problems" thread on 2k:s support forum bearsI'm sure the game is great, if you get it to start. The 1000+ posts in the "outstanding pc problems" thread on 2k:s support forum bears witness to major problems though. In said thread not a single reply from 2 k can be found. In short - no game performance can nullify the complete and utter disregard from 2k against the thousands of buyers that are reporting trouble even getting the game to start (on more than adequate machines, I might add). Nope, sry - 2k flunks in my book. Expand

See all 719 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.