Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Runner 2 - Future Legend of Rhythm Alien is inspired by the Bit.Trip series originally released on Nintendo platforms.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    95
    There are very few games I’d recommend to anyone regardless of gaming experience or preference, but Runner 2 is one of them. It’s a fantastic reminder that sometimes games are most effective when they don’t try to emulate explosion-riddled Hollywood blockbusters and instead embrace solid gameplay mechanics and unfettered creativity.
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Bit.Trip Presents... Runner2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien is a mix between a platform and a rhythm’n game. It looks sharp, it plays smooth and the music is the ‘Trip’ in the title. Try it for something simply funny.
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    90
    Extremely addictive and fun, this is one of the best indie games you can find these days. If you're looking for plain fun, this is one of the best choices.
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    85
    Bit.Trip Runner 2 uses a simple premise, a beautiful universe and a giddy set of songs to conjure an overwhelming sense of happiness. It's a game everyone can play.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    85
    Travelling along a plane at a constant pace has never been so much fun – Runner2 is an addictive and rewarding experience.
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    78
    Runner 2: Future Legend of Rhythm Alien feels like the natural evolution of the original Bit.Trip Runner. The heart of the game is still the same, but it comes with a prettier look and expanded gameplay. While I felt like some of the expansion was unnecessary, it’s still a very fun and challenging experience. For new players, it’s more accessible than the original, and for returning vets it’s more of what made the original so unique.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the BIT.TRIP series, BIT.TRIP RUNNER in particular. When I saw this for pre-order, I new straight away I had to get it. So I did. I've played through the entire game and still aiming to 100% the game. Unbelievable fun and re-playability with solid mechanics and 2.5D graphics with this game, an easy 10/10. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Excellent graphics with fluid animations
    - Slick, responsive controls
    - Fantastic music
    - Charmingly nonsensical plot and cutscenes
    -
    Optional checkpoints which grant a score bonus if skipped
    - Great level variety; 5 worlds, each of which has a unique look and feel, and its own musical style

    Overall a very impressive, polished sequel which should keep fans of its predecessor happy whilst also being more accessible for new players.
    Collapse
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    This game is just awesome. If you love bit. trip series, you must try this game. The graphics are just awesome, the gameplay has a lot of improvements and the lengh of the game is just perfect.
    10/10
    Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    A very frustrating but brilliant game. The graphics are brilliant, the music is brilliant, the gameplay is brilliantly simple.
    Every aspect
    of this game is designed to distract you from the essential timing of your button-presses to advance throught the seemingly never-ending obstacle courses. Alone, the simple free-running style would be easy, but the moving backgrounds, particle effects, detailed environments, hyper music and wacky ideas ensure this is not so. I love that. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    It doesn't look interesting. I'm old enough for this kind of stuff. But let's get stupid just for a while. Oh I was mistaken. This lovely game is stupidly funny. It's challenging and very entertaining, but not for more than 20 minutes, because your brain is going to grow tired and you will feel bored. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    7
    As someone who really enjoys rhythm based games, I initially had a lot of fun playing this. However, I quickly found the "normal" difficultly setting to be far too easy, and switched it to hard. The game instantly became extremely frustrating. It's kinda annoying that you have to do the levels completely perfectly to continue. I would have really like to have maybe one or two health points or something so I can keep going when I mess up. But being sent back to the beginning again and again and again and again and again really started to get on my nerves. So I set it back to "normal", and was once again boringly breezing through the levels with little effort. Also, the music could be better. In most levels, the music doesn't really get "good" until the very end, at which point it... ends. It'd be better if some levels could START OUT with awesome music and just build on that, instead of starting with quiet, dinky, boring blips.

    Also, there's no setting to sync audio with video (like in Guitar Hero etc), so on my screen, the audio always seems a tad ahead of the video, which makes the game difficult to play.
    Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    This game is literally just quick-time events. I don't understand the appeal in it, at all. I can safely say that it's better than Bit.Trip Beat and Bit.Trip Runner 1 though, but that's not much of an achievement. The fact that games like Dishonored and Stalker have a lower score than this sickens me. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews