Bit.Trip Runner PC

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 96
  2. Negative: 17 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    1
    This game is suck. Humdrum game with boring graphics and stupid level-design. hm.. not only that game the very bad parody of the 8bit games so also it is contained in a parody of a parody bonus levels, decorated in the style of the "old 8bits" -that are, incidentally, made ​​graphically at times better than the game itselfю And.. Nuff said. I regret the time spent on the game.
  2. Dec 25, 2011
    1
    I am still at a loss as to why this game was made, it is not particularly fun, clever, or cool. The graphics are boring and basic, and are crippled by horrible vsync issues. The soundtrack plain sucks, with the exclusion of the Title song. Gameplay is generally frustrating and repetitive.
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    3
    The charm wears off within minutes of playing this game when you realize how unresponsive the controls can be. In a platforming game centered around good rhythm and timing, you CAN NOT afford to have controls that delay slightly upon being pressed. I am also slightly annoyed by the quasi-Atari style graphics which seem to be a staple among Indie game developers these days. There's also aThe charm wears off within minutes of playing this game when you realize how unresponsive the controls can be. In a platforming game centered around good rhythm and timing, you CAN NOT afford to have controls that delay slightly upon being pressed. I am also slightly annoyed by the quasi-Atari style graphics which seem to be a staple among Indie game developers these days. There's also a difference between challenge and cheapness and this game skates a fine line, mostly in the direction of the latter. There is nothing fun about being 2-3 minutes into a level before hitting a staircase and having to start the entire process all over again. Yes, I understand it's a homage to older games and that old games are hard, I grew up with a NES, but it doesn't mean we still have to endure it 20 years later. But then again it is an Indie title, so I supposed you should still support the developers for trying, or something like that... Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    1
    Never before has a greek legend (Sisyphus) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sisyphus been so accurately portrayed. I felt just like King Sisyphus pushing the boulder up the hill only to have it roll down again so I had to start over and over forever. This is the computer game equivalent of CHOOSING to ram pinecones up your bottom until they pop back out again of their own accord. Bleeeeeeeeee!
  5. May 12, 2012
    2
    I'm convinced this game requires a lobotomy to appreciate. It's nothing more than another horrendous piece of hipster indie garbage with terrible "retro" graphics to mask the developer's lack of talent in every facet of game design. The entire game is nothing more than a mindless exercise in repetition and memorization. It's boring, lazy, and brainless, and its notoriety detracts fromI'm convinced this game requires a lobotomy to appreciate. It's nothing more than another horrendous piece of hipster indie garbage with terrible "retro" graphics to mask the developer's lack of talent in every facet of game design. The entire game is nothing more than a mindless exercise in repetition and memorization. It's boring, lazy, and brainless, and its notoriety detracts from indie developers who are actually making good games, many of whom are not even charging for their far superior work. Avoid this paradigm of artificial difficulty at all costs. Expand
  6. May 30, 2012
    3
    Not an exceptionally deep, brilliant or creative game, all you do is jump to avoid stuff. The game is quite long lasting though due to its sheer difficulty - it's very challenging and satisfying. The long lastingness is useless though since most people will likely play it for 2 hours maximum before getting tired of it.. I enjoyed the game for about 4 hours, and it was good, pick it up ifNot an exceptionally deep, brilliant or creative game, all you do is jump to avoid stuff. The game is quite long lasting though due to its sheer difficulty - it's very challenging and satisfying. The long lastingness is useless though since most people will likely play it for 2 hours maximum before getting tired of it.. I enjoyed the game for about 4 hours, and it was good, pick it up if you want a challenge. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    2
    I'll start off by saying the soundtrack and sound effects are superb. The game is a joy to listen to. Everything else about it fails. The game lacks any checkpoint system so you'll become immensely frustrated since the smallest mistake will mean starting over from the beginning. The frame rate is also terrible and that combined with the graphical style made my eyes water in pain. I can'tI'll start off by saying the soundtrack and sound effects are superb. The game is a joy to listen to. Everything else about it fails. The game lacks any checkpoint system so you'll become immensely frustrated since the smallest mistake will mean starting over from the beginning. The frame rate is also terrible and that combined with the graphical style made my eyes water in pain. I can't stand to look at this game because of my eyes immediately start to hurt. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    Bit.Trip Runner is glorious to behold and hear, but when it comes time to play it is often a frustrating experience.