Black Mesa Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 412 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Mesa is a re-envisioning of Valve Software's seminal game Half-Life. You will re-visit the inaugural role of Gordon Freeman and his memorable journey through the Black Mesa Research Facility. Expect detailed environments to explore, a huge cast of characters and experimental weaponry. All-new music, voice acting, choreography and added dialogue give way to a more expansive and immersive experience than ever before. [Valve] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    93
    A superlative remake of one of the most important games ever made. [Dec 2012, p.89]
  2. Oct 13, 2012
    91
    A faithful and extremely professional remake of one of the great classics of the FPS genre. Despite slight niggles, like the marines' aimbot-like behavior, it actually manages to achieve the impossible: Black Mesa is Half-Life, only better. [Oct 2012]
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    We should applaud an excellent work made for free by fans of the original game.
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    The result, though still a bit 'sour for some graphic glitch and not bug-free, fully convinces and the new features do nothing but add prestige and longevity to a project worthy of praise from all points of view.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    A free game that lets you relive Half-Life without having to stomach outdated visuals. Essential to every gamer. [12/2012, p.69]
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    Black Mesa is a lot of things. It's one of the best mods ever made and a package that offers every Half-Life fan what they want. It's also a chance for newcomers to get to know a game that has been put on a pedestal over the years, in a relatively modern way. But more importantly, it's a very special and entertaining look into the history of shooters.
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    A fantastic labour of love that genuinely manages to improve on the ground-breaking original – if only by missing out some of the worst parts.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Black Mesa has the polish synonymous with a Valve property, and has surpassed all expectations in light of the sheer difficulty of the project. The amount of dedication, passion, and love the developers put into this game is immediately apparent as you explore the depths of Black Mesa, and uncover the secrets of this research facility.

    Black Mesa transcends the level of 'modification' - they didn't modify anything. They created this game (save for a few sound bites, etc) from the ground up - in an impressive feat not many could accomplish. Having played Half-Life 1, this game left me without a single gripe or complaint regarding it's faithfulness to the original. The additions (of which there are a few) utilize the source engine's physics and graphics in ways that remind you of Half-Life 2. These are not modders, they're developers - and have made a shining masterpiece which raises the bar on third-party game development in the source engine. It's faithful to the original, and yet creates this bizarre sense of deja vu with Half-Life 2 - making them feel like one contiguous game, no longer separated by 6 years or different engines. They have truly done the impossible. This is a must-play.
    Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that gives half-life fans more to get excited over it's funny how it's been over ten years since the original has been released yet the gameplay still remains nearly completely unchanged and it still manages to be fun and fluid, there are some aspects of the game that could have been improved, but as a fan project it's a solid ten, I doubt i'd ever be able to make anything like this even with my passion in gaming Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Really fun playing an old classic. It is nice to have something half-life related since HL3 or HL2 ep3 is no ware to be seen. Good job at an amazing remake. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is remake is more amazing than the original Half-Life, with enhanced levels, better AI, more challenging gameplay, Half-Life 2 styled puzzles, but be warned, but it's not for people who want a 1-1 remake with only the textures and models changed like Halo Anniversary, EVERYTHING is changed and improved. Although some areas in the game were cut, such as a portion of On a Rail and a portion of Surface Tension, I still think it is amazing and takes on a "Valve quality" design. Black Mesa also has some new areas as well, such as more test labs and experiments in Questionable Ethics, and an amazing ambush from the HECU at the end of the chapter. Overall it was amazing and I give it a 10/10 Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    9
    Eleven years ago, when I had a personal computer, Half-Life was the first first-person shooter in which I fully played. Then I do not know how to play the game of this genre. The game seemed to me difficult, could not even aim properly, let down coordination. But the game was so interesting that it took probably twenty times. Now remember with a smile. For its time, Half-Life was an important milestone in the development FPS, innovative gameplay, interactive environment, an unusual story etc. Without Half-Life would not have games like F.E.A.R, Crysis etc. And now, after eleven years is a remake Black Mesa. How's great to play in the good old Half-Life in a new way with nice graphics, advanced physics... one word... nostalgia. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best re texturing and full modding of any pc game I have ever played. The sound is awesome and plays well with most modern gpus. The game has a few glitches here and there but the fact that it is free I can look past it. With the game set to hard you will have a great experience. This game is one of the holy trinity of first person shooters that set the game industry standards. Wolfenstien, Doom, Half Life. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    1
    Sorry, but this game has bugs that makes this game unplayable. Somehow in the middle of the game all of my weapons disappeared except crowbar and my pistol. After dying everything was gone. If you figure to get a weapon however; while shooting the game will close itself. Expand

See all 70 User Reviews