Black Mesa Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 452 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Black Mesa is a re-envisioning of Valve Software's seminal game Half-Life. You will re-visit the inaugural role of Gordon Freeman and his memorable journey through the Black Mesa Research Facility. Expect detailed environments to explore, a huge cast of characters and experimental weaponry.Black Mesa is a re-envisioning of Valve Software's seminal game Half-Life. You will re-visit the inaugural role of Gordon Freeman and his memorable journey through the Black Mesa Research Facility. Expect detailed environments to explore, a huge cast of characters and experimental weaponry. All-new music, voice acting, choreography and added dialogue give way to a more expansive and immersive experience than ever before. [Valve] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    93
    A superlative remake of one of the most important games ever made. [Dec 2012, p.89]
  2. Oct 13, 2012
    91
    A faithful and extremely professional remake of one of the great classics of the FPS genre. Despite slight niggles, like the marines' aimbot-like behavior, it actually manages to achieve the impossible: Black Mesa is Half-Life, only better. [Oct 2012]
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    We should applaud an excellent work made for free by fans of the original game.
  4. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    The result, though still a bit 'sour for some graphic glitch and not bug-free, fully convinces and the new features do nothing but add prestige and longevity to a project worthy of praise from all points of view.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    A free game that lets you relive Half-Life without having to stomach outdated visuals. Essential to every gamer. [12/2012, p.69]
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    Black Mesa is a lot of things. It's one of the best mods ever made and a package that offers every Half-Life fan what they want. It's also a chance for newcomers to get to know a game that has been put on a pedestal over the years, in a relatively modern way. But more importantly, it's a very special and entertaining look into the history of shooters.
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    A fantastic labour of love that genuinely manages to improve on the ground-breaking original – if only by missing out some of the worst parts.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 75
  2. Negative: 3 out of 75
  1. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Black Mesa has the polish synonymous with a Valve property, and has surpassed all expectations in light of the sheer difficulty of theBlack Mesa has the polish synonymous with a Valve property, and has surpassed all expectations in light of the sheer difficulty of the project. The amount of dedication, passion, and love the developers put into this game is immediately apparent as you explore the depths of Black Mesa, and uncover the secrets of this research facility.

    Black Mesa transcends the level of 'modification' - they didn't modify anything. They created this game (save for a few sound bites, etc) from the ground up - in an impressive feat not many could accomplish. Having played Half-Life 1, this game left me without a single gripe or complaint regarding it's faithfulness to the original. The additions (of which there are a few) utilize the source engine's physics and graphics in ways that remind you of Half-Life 2. These are not modders, they're developers - and have made a shining masterpiece which raises the bar on third-party game development in the source engine. It's faithful to the original, and yet creates this bizarre sense of deja vu with Half-Life 2 - making them feel like one contiguous game, no longer separated by 6 years or different engines. They have truly done the impossible. This is a must-play.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Taking into account that the game is free, you can say that this is a masterpiece from the team of fan developers. there were some flaws inTaking into account that the game is free, you can say that this is a masterpiece from the team of fan developers. there were some flaws in artificial intelligence, but again, the game is free. Done a lot of work on the subject, it became more interesting, without disturbing the original. The music in the game is good. Graphics to the limit game engine in 2006, very good. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I am going to write my review in Spanish because I do not want to write anything wrong for the review of this game.

    Cuando jugué esta mod
    I am going to write my review in Spanish because I do not want to write anything wrong for the review of this game.

    Cuando jugué esta mod por primera vez, realmente me pregunté ¿Es esto una mod?, Porque resulta que lo es. Ademas lo bastante bien hecha como para superar al original Half Life o el Propio juego modificado, Half Life 2. Es sencillamente una obra maestra que no debería recibir criticas tan bajas por parte de las webs de criticos. Se nota cuando algo esta hecho por una empresa sin ánimo de lucro y de un juego gratuito.
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Good god what an incredible game. It was also VERY time consuming spanning about 10 hours long it felt endless yet still enjoyable. It wasGood god what an incredible game. It was also VERY time consuming spanning about 10 hours long it felt endless yet still enjoyable. It was bland and boring at the start with an extremely creepy atmosphere and gradually switches genres completely becoming something else. Yes that may be describing Half Life, but this redo of the game was incredible. I was stunned at the graphics comparison to the previous and it blows it out of the water. I usually have trouble playing dated games, and this really helped out. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply amazing... One of the best mods out there. It is definitely mod of the year. It has some new puzzles that weren't in half life 1 and because of some limitations i think they removed some stuff but as a result they also added a lot of new puzzles. But its not perfect the platforming is not good at all but its not impossible, platforming in FPS games is a bad idea but they couldn't just remove that because of half life 1 had a lot of platforming sections. Its not perfect but for a free mod its good and i would even say its harder then the original half life 1 the AI is also good. The Black Mesa team did a great job and i cant wait to see the Xen levels. Like i said its not perfect but for a free mod its great. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    Firstly it's free! Anyone caught whining needs to be shot in the face. It is a update to a classic from passionate and dedicated fans, whoFirstly it's free! Anyone caught whining needs to be shot in the face. It is a update to a classic from passionate and dedicated fans, who happily gave up their time to give a facelift to one of histories best FPS games. It feels as good as it did all those years ago, the improved graphics help it feel modern. If you haven't already played the original (or wanna get back into the boots of Gordon) do yourself a favour and download it now. It's not trying to be a totally original game so expect it to be, don't be an idiot complaining that it's the same story etc. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    1
    Sorry, but this game has bugs that makes this game unplayable. Somehow in the middle of the game all of my weapons disappeared except crowbarSorry, but this game has bugs that makes this game unplayable. Somehow in the middle of the game all of my weapons disappeared except crowbar and my pistol. After dying everything was gone. If you figure to get a weapon however; while shooting the game will close itself. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews