Black & White 2 - Battle of the Gods PC

Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy On
  1. 60
    Battle of the Gods is about standard as an expansion can get. With new units and lands it adds about a third as much content as the original game, as well as some much needed additional depth of strategy.
  2. If you acquire a copy and want more of the same then you'll find this expansion pack accommodating, just don't expect it to take you to heaven.
  3. After playing the three levels of this, all the beans in Tesco wouldn't make me play it again. There's not room in this sandbox for two. Or one for that matter. Goodbye gods, hello atheism.
  4. 60
    This one’s an easy case of “if you liked the original you’ll love the expansion”, but it won’t be wooing over any newcomers.
  5. Essentially, it's new levels for a pretty decent game, without really bringing anything new to the table for your $19.95.
  6. Games Master UK
    68
    Fairly atmospheric, but not the religious experience we hoped for. [July 2006, p.83]
  7. Battle of the Gods is a straightforward expansion that adds some new, but not remarkably different, content to Black and White 2.
  8. And the biggest question: why, for the love of god (pun intended), didn’t they add multiplayer? It’s a god-sized wasted opportunity.
  9. Good expansion, just not good enough to buy both the original and expansion to play it.
  10. 70
    The only real addition worth mentioning (beyond just having more missions) is the inclusion of an enemy with a definite personality and agenda.
  11. Ultimately this is a very predictable and flat feeling expansion that may have the hardcore few blowing the dust of their original game and reinstalling it, but will certainly not be bringing new players or those that may have passed after buying the first game in the series.
  12. If you have played through the original game than this expansion will offer you little in the way of new excitement.
  13. PC Format
    70
    Unfortunately all the flaws from the original are still glaringly omnipresent - from the awkward mouse cursor to the tedious mini-games. [June 2006, p.96]
  14. PC Gamer
    67
    Battle of the Gods could have used a touch of divine inspiration. [July 2006, p.67]
  15. PC Zone UK
    70
    There's little content on offer here, with only three islands and four new miracles making this hardly an essential purchase. [July 2006, p.86]
  16. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    Yet another collection of separate ideas, which do not work together. The simplistic and far-too-easy gameplay is insulting. Maybe someone with actual gaming experience could make Black & White finally work? [June 2006]
  17. Your overall sense of immersion with the game is broken occasionally by the tempo of the game, however Battle of the Gods seems to be played at a much faster rate that should please anybody turned off by the occasionally pedestrian pace of its predecessors.
  18. It's a fine addition to Black & White 2 but in the end it's more of the same - entertaining more of the same, though, for under $20.
  19. 60
    A fairly generic expansion that adds a bit of content without really improving the core experience. It's OK for the hardcore fans, but if you had issues with Black and White 2, don't expect to see any of them resolved.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 15, 2017
    10
    Excellent follow-up to Black and White 2....the difficulty level has been ratcheted up significantly, including the silver scrollExcellent follow-up to Black and White 2....the difficulty level has been ratcheted up significantly, including the silver scroll puzzles...makes this very challenging which for me is key to a game. Ten years on, believe it or not, this expansion holds up admirably and is well worth playing. Replay value is high with Black and White 2 and this expansion. Recommend. Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    Turtle and Tiger are fun but the difficulty.... ts just so hard... I can't even get through the first level with all the skeletons andTurtle and Tiger are fun but the difficulty.... ts just so hard... I can't even get through the first level with all the skeletons and catapults attacking me every 5 minutes Full Review »
  3. PhilipR.
    Aug 19, 2006
    3
    This only lasted about 4 hours of gameplay for me. Its good, but theres still no skirmish or online play. thats what we all want from b&w. This only lasted about 4 hours of gameplay for me. Its good, but theres still no skirmish or online play. thats what we all want from b&w. and there is only about 1% of the ore resource for how much you need to use in-game. Full Review »