Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when the only hope of a threatened world lies not with heroes in shining armor but in the hands of a band of misfits and criminals? Blackguards - the new turn-based RPG by Daedalic Entertainment - explores this very question. The player takes on the role of a convicted murderer,What happens when the only hope of a threatened world lies not with heroes in shining armor but in the hands of a band of misfits and criminals? Blackguards - the new turn-based RPG by Daedalic Entertainment - explores this very question. The player takes on the role of a convicted murderer, who with the help of a team of more-than-questionable characters, must save the world from a dark menace. During the wild chase throughout the South of Aventuria, the world of The Dark Eye, there is more to fight than vicious creatures - chapter by chapter, a story full of intrigue and surprising twists unfolds. But when life and death are in the player's hands, how far will they go to reach their goals? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    87
    If you are a seasoned turn-based strategy gamer, you can really sink your teeth into this one and get a run for your money. If you are not, you will still get both that run for your money and a crash course in applied survivor tactics.
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    If you can get past traveling the world map on rails, every location and quest chosen in order for you, the combat is rich enough to make Blackguards worthwhile, and I think comfortably places it near the upper end of that range.
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    77
    Blackguards isn't a bad game. Far from it: actually, it's pretty good. But there is plenty of unused potential here, both in story and in gameplay.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    Blackguards is an entertaining game and traditional role players will love many of its mechanics. The game could have been used to restore part of the essence of the great RPGs that were released during the early years of the last decade, but would require a story influenced by the decisions of the player and a good artificial intelligence. It would have been an excellent tool for Game Masters who want to display combats for his roleplaying group. As a videogame some things are left on the shelf.
  5. Mar 5, 2014
    65
    A game that could have been released 5 years ago and even then wouldn’t be anything special. [03/2014, p.66]
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    60
    With Blackguards, German Daedalic offers an adventure in the vein of a dice RPG. Unfortunately also some irritating moments follows from that kind of games, and when pure chance can decide a difficult battle it all feels quite frustrating. But Blackguards is an entertaining game with well-made elements, and definitely deserves a chance to prove itself.
  7. Mar 5, 2014
    40
    Under the auspices of creating a “hardcore RPG experience,” Daedalic has instead created a rage inducing time waster.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 71
  2. Negative: 17 out of 71
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    I've been playing the game from it's early access beginning, and I have logged more hours in it than I care to say. The graphics are wellI've been playing the game from it's early access beginning, and I have logged more hours in it than I care to say. The graphics are well done, the voice acting is excellent, and assuming you like turn based combat you will be in heaven. There is a demo for those who need to try it first. I haven't had this much fun playing a game in quite a while. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    It is one of this games, where it might take a while to get into it, but then you get hooked up!
    Watched the hubby play it and liked the
    It is one of this games, where it might take a while to get into it, but then you get hooked up!
    Watched the hubby play it and liked the mood. Thought, okay, as him I love roleplaying games especially with the Dark Eye's rules and it does not look too difficult to beat the strategic tasks.
    Actually, it was kind of difficult. I have to admit that I am someone who is more frustrated by crashes and so on (and this game definitely runs smooth and stable) than by having to try tricky situations again and again. I like the chalanges coming from things like that. Okay, the to-hit-chance IS frustrating, but on the other side after a while you get used to it.
    I totally love the graphics style, the story and the good kind of humor.
    This game might not be the first choice for someone who wants to hurry through the tasks and such, but for someone living an adventure it's perfect!
    Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2014
    9
    If you are a friend of AAA turn based tactial games like XCOM or Final Fantasy Tactics, this is a game just made for you! DaedalicIf you are a friend of AAA turn based tactial games like XCOM or Final Fantasy Tactics, this is a game just made for you! Daedalic Entertainment made a real good job on this one. The Story, settled in "The Dark Eyey" Universe is immersive, the graphics are real nice, the tactical approach is kinda advanced and pretty tricky from time to time and even the voice actors made a great job! Two thumbs up! Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    Final verdict, Blackguards is a game I would recommend to any turn based strategy fan, for it’s world, content and solid gameplay and at it’sFinal verdict, Blackguards is a game I would recommend to any turn based strategy fan, for it’s world, content and solid gameplay and at it’s listed price point. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    6
    I cannot in good faith reccomend (LOAD SCREEN) this game at this time. Quite honestly, there are WAY too much bugs and issues (LOADI cannot in good faith reccomend (LOAD SCREEN) this game at this time. Quite honestly, there are WAY too much bugs and issues (LOAD SCREEN)with the game that really prevent a full enjoyment of the title. The character (LOAD SCREEN)creation is very rich, but provides NO explanation (LOAD SCREEN)as to what certain abilities mean or even how (LOAD SCREEN)they affect your character in any way shape or form. It's honestly in desperate (LOAD SCREEN)need of a complete overhaul, and should not have been launched in it's (LOAD SCREEN)current state.

    In case you can't figure out the other serious problem with this game.. lemme clue you in.. you will see the Load Screen so often and so long any real enjoyment of the story or plot gets completely lost in the dreary times you sit and stare at the same 3 screens and 5 tooltips over.. and over.. and over.. and over .. and over again. In the first chapter I counted 17 LOADING PLEASE WAIT... about 15-25 seconds each. Do the math yourselves.
    Expand
  6. Jun 13, 2015
    5
    How would you feel when you are unable to proceed because you do not have the required abilities to deal with the enemy?
    You could say, tough
    How would you feel when you are unable to proceed because you do not have the required abilities to deal with the enemy?
    You could say, tough luck, it is your own fault, because you made the wrong choices.
    And I grant you that.

    But how can I make the right choices when I do not know the strengths and weaknesses of these abilities? And how can I foresee that the story seriously impacts the functioning of my party? At two moments in the game you will be inflicted with a setback that unhinges your party's fighting power. Once, one of the party members gets killed because the story is written that way. And at another time her replacement, a magic user, gets robbed of her ability to do magic and so thousands of points sunk in developing her magic powers becomes nullified with one stroke.
    So you might expect that the game takes this into account, but not at all: you cannot undo your choices nor does the game allow you to make up for the loss of a valuable party member.

    This then, in a nutshell, is the problem with Blackguards..

    This game is very much like searching for keys to doors, while you do not know which key opens which door, you do not know if a door leads to anything useful, you do not know when or if you will find the key or the door to which it belongs and you might find that the keys and doors disappeared before you actually could make use of them.
    So what is left is to go back to an earlier point in the game and find the right keys to the right doors: make the right choices. And unfortunately you might have to go a long way back: perhaps all the way to the beginning.

    And then another issue pops up.

    Blackguards is basically a tactical battle simulator in which the battles are linked together by a thin storyline that gives the battles context. You will find that many of the common characteristics of a roleplay game are underdeveloped. For one, your party members are a given and so are their classes. Do not expect that you can build your own party.
    Furthermore there are few choices in equipment so your party will be running around with the same armor and weapons for long stretches. And while many places have shops, you will only visit them to restock your supplies.
    But the crucial issue is that the story is simply too linear. While at some point you can select what to do first, you will be unable to change the storyline in any significant way. And because the story isn't really special at all, redoing this game just so you can change your characters is not enough of an incentive to go through the game again..

    Even as a tactical battle simulator the game leaves much to be desired. For instance you are unable to determine the setup of your party members. More often than not the game gleefully shoves your more vulnerable members, your magic users, in the front line. Hilarious is the ability to set traps. You have almost no time to set traps, let alone set the traps that actually make difference. The traps are expensive, the relevant skill requires a massive amount of points and you have only a very limited amount of traps.
    In addition some battles confront you with a special setup that is pivotal to the battle, often without explaining to you the specifics. In one battle, for instance, you will be able to make use of automated flamethrowers. But the game doesn't explain this to you, nor do you know what the impact is until you have seen their effect and you figured out how to operate them. It therefore requires you to redo the battle at least once.
    Some battles are practically unwinnable until you achieve a certain level, or develop a certain ability to a certain level.

    Is it all bad then?

    Actually no.
    When I went through the game the first time I actually was entertained. The game uses what I call the fall out principle. The fall out principle is that you start out as a nobody and then gradually start to make a difference when the story unfolds. This is the reverse of what you might call the dragon age effect in which it is clear from the start that you are a special person destined to make a difference.
    Personally I prefer the first angle to the last.
    Also the characters are amusing, even though, or perhaps because, they are so cliche. The remarks of the Naurim, the grumpy dwarf, are pretty funny and in line of what you might expect from a dwarf: a fighter who distrusts magic users and elves.
    The story, although linear, has a few twists and also there is some emotional connection as it involves a friend and later on a family member. It isn't also clearcut that the enemy is actually bad and it leaves things fuzzy for a long time.
    So it seems to me that if you go once through the game(using a game guide to form your party) then you might probably be entertained.

    Verdict:
    Blackguard is a filler when you are in between better games. Pick it up when it is in the bargain bin and around five dollars or euros or less.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    0
    .... im so sad... i realy wanted another great turn based game like xcom or something there are so less of ths kind of games and i dont play.... im so sad... i realy wanted another great turn based game like xcom or something there are so less of ths kind of games and i dont play other genres , but i get the demo of this and the game feels so poor the ui so bad the german voice acting sucks******* . this "professional" speakers are not worth to get paid. The game is okay on english and thats the only good thing about it.

    come make a good tactical turn based rpg with large ui on 1920 1080 and im happy but not this ****
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews