User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 352

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    I've read several low reviews on the site that I believe this game does not deserve due to ignorance and laziness. I'm going to try and give my opinion. Anyone that beats on this game for its "p2w" status has obviously not played it long enough, or is blatantly lazy and demands that everything be handed to "it" on a silver platter. This is my view. I have not spent a single penny onI've read several low reviews on the site that I believe this game does not deserve due to ignorance and laziness. I'm going to try and give my opinion. Anyone that beats on this game for its "p2w" status has obviously not played it long enough, or is blatantly lazy and demands that everything be handed to "it" on a silver platter. This is my view. I have not spent a single penny on Blacklight Retribution. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>The graphics are pretty good, the environments are colorful, and its cyberpunk theme is presented very nicely. However, if you're looking for BF3 level graphics, go play BF3. It's a shooter. If you're too busy staring at the wall textures, then you should really be doing something else.--------------------------------------------------------------------------->>Many people have also hit on this game on its "complexity", stating that it has too many elements, the gun customization is too complicated, the tutorial is too complicated, HRV is too complicated. They are all impatient idiots who are all unwilling to just sit down for a few minutes and learn. The system is not hard. It just requires some getting used to. If you want a simpler game, go and play some **** generic Korean FPS like Combat Arms. -------------------------------------------------------->>The cash shop/paying IRL is another thing I've been seeing as a complaint here. It is also one of the biggest parts of an F2P game. As such, this section will be the longest. Let me get this straight: --The ONLY things that are only obtainable in BL:R via money only are heroes, cosmetic items, taunts, a few profile customization options, and a COUPLE gun receivers. That is it. Everything else, and I mean everything (every single gun part, every single piece of armor, every single piece of equipment) is obtainable permanently by just playing the game. ---------------------------------------------------``Premade weapons(only permable by zen) can be obtained by gp for a very low daily price-200gp. That's about 1.5 matches, which will take a MAXIMUM of 15 minutes. That's a hell of a lot better than other F2P games. -----------------------``Just like other F2P FPS, you can earn Zen(in game money) by doing surveys or offers via the BL:R website. ---------``Items are unlocked on a per level basis. HOWEVER, every single time that you level up, you automatically get a free weapon tag as well as 1 of each item that has been unlocked for 3 DAYS. --``ALSO, People who think that you can only unlock weapons for 1 day with GP are illiterate, lazy, and do not follow the tutorial. In the purchase option, hit the little arrow next to "1 day", and choose a period of time. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------``Perming items is not that hard with GP. Your most expensive weapon part is a receiver at 5000 GP. At 150gp a game, that's only about 30-40 matches. Those that whine and complain about the game being a "grind for gp" need to take the immediate gratification/item needing dick out of their ass and go back to COD. The game is fun, even with the standard equipment. Need proof that standard equipment isn't pure **** and is actually viable? Go search "z3roarmada" on Youtube. >>Next, the gameplay. BL:R has a mechanic called HRV, in which you can see the location of every single player, depot, vehicle, and objective on the map for a limited time, with a set recharge. "AHMAHGAWD THAT'S OP" It's not if everyone can do it. With that added mechanic, situational awareness is key, and ambushes are nigh impossible. Many players are unused to this and throw their anger in the form of a bad score. The gameplay is straightforward and recognizable, with your typical DM, TDM, CTF, and KOTH, and escort. It also has Kill Confirmed (a spin off of TDM), as well as Netwar and Domination(similar to KOTH). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------>>One last thing. The customization in this game is amazing. The guns(all of them) you use(as long as they're not premade) can be customized with a unique receiver, muzzle, barrel, magazine, stock, scope, weapon tag, as well as a skin. Fun-wise, I think that this game is one of the best that I've played, especially for the price of free. I have dumped a few weeks on this game, and it has not bored me yet. This overview, while definitely not the best, covers what I think should help clear some things up. Damn Metacritic and its lack of allowing me to organize my wall of text. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace is fast and exciting, maps are varied and interesting. Customization is deep and complex and very satisfying. Gaining experience points in matches to level up and unlock more gear is also very satisfying. This is an excellent game overall!
  3. May 30, 2013
    10
    Twice as better than Tango Down and the best online MP game Iv'e played next to CS! Here is hoping that the PS4 version will look TEN TIMES better when it comes out!
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    This game is NOT P2W! (pay to win)

    You probably just suck, deal with it. The guns on the game are VERY customizable, and the reason that it seems P2W is because the players customize their guns into their playstyle. The other reviews are very one sided, the "Wallhack" in the game is called HRV, it is to prevent people from camping in corners, and locating your team, the
    This game is NOT P2W! (pay to win)

    You probably just suck, deal with it.

    The guns on the game are VERY customizable, and the reason that it seems P2W is because the players customize their guns into their playstyle.

    The other reviews are very one sided, the "Wallhack" in the game is called HRV, it is to prevent people from camping in corners, and locating your team, the objectives, and any possible threats nearby.

    There is no aimbot, that other reviewer is completely retarded.

    The servers work fine, maybe your connection is bad?
    Maybe the servers were down for maintenance, or game was updating?

    Also, it does not cost $10, it's 100% free.

    People are ignorant and stupid, and I'm not going to be that person, so I'll say some bad things about the game.

    The zombie mode doesn't have many maps, and it's really fun.

    Wearing the best armor in the game only makes you have 50% more health, and it completely destroys the ability to run.

    The Speed demon pants are way too awesome when you're using a SMG.

    The guns don't sound that powerful, maybe its because of the future though.

    And camo is cheap, but people assume you're a P2W if you have camo.
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    First Id like to say one thing, the people who scored this game a zero are not the people you should listen to here. the game is completely free, EVERYTHING in the game you can get without spending a dime, in fact you can get every weapon and every part permanent without spending a dollar. the only thing that you might spend money on is cosmetic stuff that provides no bonuses so there isFirst Id like to say one thing, the people who scored this game a zero are not the people you should listen to here. the game is completely free, EVERYTHING in the game you can get without spending a dime, in fact you can get every weapon and every part permanent without spending a dollar. the only thing that you might spend money on is cosmetic stuff that provides no bonuses so there is no way to pay money to better. This game also features smooth controls and plays great with a massive amount of customization Why is this only a 9? Because of 2 reasons, 1: there are issues with the servers at times 2: There are hackers and the publisher doesn't seem to do much about them and while there are not many they are quite annoying. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This game is rather nice. Now, let me tell my experience with the game. I have played upwards 150 hours in the game, many of which I have enjoyed. This game possibly has the most expansive customization in an FPS ever. Personally I've never seen anything like it, and it should be downloaded just to see it. But we'll get back to that in a moment. now, unto the game play. you have your usualThis game is rather nice. Now, let me tell my experience with the game. I have played upwards 150 hours in the game, many of which I have enjoyed. This game possibly has the most expansive customization in an FPS ever. Personally I've never seen anything like it, and it should be downloaded just to see it. But we'll get back to that in a moment. now, unto the game play. you have your usual pew pew action, but those who say its primitive haven't played since early 2012. they changed the recoil system so its randomized similar to Counter-Strike, and is very engrossing. there are multiple weapons besides the guns as well, such as exploding tomahawks (yes, they are insane), stun shurikens, mines, along with melee weapons and grenades. as you unleash carnage and PLAY THE OBJECTIVE (c'mon, people!) you unlock in combat credits. these are credits to be spent in battle, and disappear once the next round starts. you spend these at "depots", a future soldier's Toys R Us, where you can get rocket launchers, Hardsuits (mechs) and airstrike markers, alongside more common fare like ammo replenishment and heals. after a match, you are awarded a small chink of the in-game currency, GP. GP, alongside the paid currency, Zen, can be spent on permanent items. Now, here's the thing. the default weapon is actually really good, and someone who says different is probably just bad at FPS games, and should be disregarded as such. But, if your preferences are not fit for the specific strategies and builds of the gun, there are a variety of other guns to choose from, alongside different components, changing its stats, like firing rate, recoil, and damage dealt per shot. If you are going to play without spending money, let me tell you, it will take a rather long time to unlock things. but here's the thing: the game is so good, you won't mind waiting that long. not to mention, the developers created a system by which, after one or two matches you could rent a weapon for 24 hours. however, please note: the publishers of the game, PWE, have decided to remove the one day rental option, so one would have to play for upwards of 4 matches to get it for 3 days. But may I remind you, unless you dislike FPS games, you will have a fun time during those matches. In summary, Blacklight Retribution is a fun, fast-paced shooter with enough to set it apart from the crowd, and, if you find the action satisfactory, you won't mind its few problems. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    great game incredible gun play, the game play in general good but need some tweaks at leas a great game recommended game for play sometimes for the people that know it and play it well know that very complete game
  8. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Its pretty simple really.
    Fantastic Weapon and Character Customization
    Good Number of Multiplayer/Co-op gamemodes
    Great Graphics
    Fun Maps
    Unique Gameplay style
    I'd give it a 10, it takes a long time to level up and is not easy to get new items if youre not willing to pay.
    If you are a pc gamer or just plan to get the ps4 DO TRY THIS GAME!
  9. Apr 21, 2013
    7
    At first, Blacklight: Retribution looks like a unique shooter with a wide variety of customization and mechanics. For the most part, this is true. But once you get into the meat of the game, you'll find that it's just another cookie cutter modern shooter and there is very few that is unique about this game. Beginning with the pros of the game, for one it is beautiful. The graphics of thisAt first, Blacklight: Retribution looks like a unique shooter with a wide variety of customization and mechanics. For the most part, this is true. But once you get into the meat of the game, you'll find that it's just another cookie cutter modern shooter and there is very few that is unique about this game. Beginning with the pros of the game, for one it is beautiful. The graphics of this game are even better than Battlefield 3. The futuristic style of things really adds a nice touch. The maps are also great and textured well, so you wont be disappointed here. Another pro is the customization. This game allows you to customize many different elements of a weapon to fit your liking. For instance, you could sacrifice damage for lower recoil, have a gun with explosive ammo that shoots really fast, etc. It's terribly customizable, but a con of the game goes hand and hand with the game is the free-to-play model. There are two types of currency in this game, GP and Zen. GP is a currency that can be earned through doing matches. Zen is (as with all free-to-play games) the game's pay-real-money-for-this currency. Most items will allow you to use both GP and Zen on it, and that's great. The problem is that the GP is earned really slow. If you wanted to purchase a permanent form of an item, it would take a multitude of games, which is unfortunate. For the most part, you'll be found renting items for anywhere between 1-30 days (except items seem to require at least a 7-day rental, I hope this is fixed). If they were to increase the amount of GP earned per game, it would make the game a lot better, because you would unlock more parts for your guns faster and would stop having to use the default AR over and over.

    To discuss the combat, I have to say it's hardly different from Call of Duty or Battlefield 3. It's based on twitch-reaction accuracy which is really, really annoying. This is something that not everybody can do, and it takes awhile (if possible at all) to train your hands. I am one of these people. Whoever can jerk their mouse the fastest will win the gunfight. It's sad too, because the same thing applies to any modern shooter. And that's basically what the combat is, and the combat is what a first-person shooter is about. Now there are a unique caliber of guns, ranging from assault rifles to sub-machine guns, but in all honesty most assault rifles and higher-caliber guns are just too recoil-heavy to use. This game teaches you what real recoil is. In conclusion, it's a free game, and it's a great casual game. It offers stunning graphics along with a high-amount of customization. However the combat is way too fast paced and the free-to-play model kind of ruins the casual part of it. If this game was pay-once, things would be a lot better, as you'd unlock everything in game either by leveling up or just using GP. However this is not the case, and there is no use hanging on that point.
    Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    It's a bit difficult to get things in the game, but for me that makes it worth it that much more. The fact that majority of what you can pay real money for is temporary makes it worth it to work hard and buy the in game cash permanent items. At first I hated the "Visor" that allows you to see where everyone is, but then I realized that you don't have a radar and you can't fire while usingIt's a bit difficult to get things in the game, but for me that makes it worth it that much more. The fact that majority of what you can pay real money for is temporary makes it worth it to work hard and buy the in game cash permanent items. At first I hated the "Visor" that allows you to see where everyone is, but then I realized that you don't have a radar and you can't fire while using the visor. That makes it a very useful tool and since everyone has one you end up seeing each other coming and are forced to make quick decisions. If you don't have the time to dedicate to 40+ matches to get the points to buy a few things, I think you should refrain from reviewing. Many of the negative reviews on here are from people who likely picked the first server they saw with payers way above their level and didn't give it enough time to EARN their equipment. Once u get around 200 matches, more or less if you win/lose, you can really start to put your player together and put the customization system to use.

    Outside of the poor/confusing menu design the game is a lot of fun to play once u get into the match. Sadly because of the customization being a core feature and the menus being so bad, with somewhat generic gameplay I have to give it a 7.
    Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This is actually one of the best shooters I have played on PC. The mechanics are recognizeable and similar to what you'd expect from a Call of Duty game, but it feels a lot more precise. When I shoot people in the head, im definitely shooting the in the head. Many CoD games Ive played, I shoot in the head and replay is enemy dying from an ankle shot, lol. This isnt the case withThis is actually one of the best shooters I have played on PC. The mechanics are recognizeable and similar to what you'd expect from a Call of Duty game, but it feels a lot more precise. When I shoot people in the head, im definitely shooting the in the head. Many CoD games Ive played, I shoot in the head and replay is enemy dying from an ankle shot, lol. This isnt the case with Blacklight. Customization of gear is solid, UI is solid, sound is solid. The only thing keeping from a 10 is Steam Achievements are broken. Expand
  12. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Blacklight is one of best shooters I have played, and belongs 3rd in my line of good fps games (Battlefield 3 being first at the moment, and TF2 being 2nd.) It is incredibly balanced for a free to play shooter, receivers having their own weaknesses and strengths. Customizations to the receivers are also balanced in my opinion, besides the scopes. Holoscopes are the best by far forBlacklight is one of best shooters I have played, and belongs 3rd in my line of good fps games (Battlefield 3 being first at the moment, and TF2 being 2nd.) It is incredibly balanced for a free to play shooter, receivers having their own weaknesses and strengths. Customizations to the receivers are also balanced in my opinion, besides the scopes. Holoscopes are the best by far for automatic receivers such as Assault Rifles, but then again, it's MY opinion. Graphics, sound of the guns firing are very satisfying. Nothing is like the sound of a light machine gun shooting in the morning. Those who say this is P2W is obviously deluded. For every level, you get temporary items so you don't NEED to buy ANYTHING for a while. The classic Assault Rifle (the receiver you start with) is very comparable to other receivers, making it balanced. An element that makes this game differ from other shooters is HRV. Some may say it's broken, others say it's a good because it changes the gameplay from other shooters, which is the POINT of the game. If you want to play without it, join a server that disables it or just go back to COD. This game is far from pay to win. Those who say it is obviously get owned by people of higher skill than them in the game Expand
  13. Sep 14, 2012
    9
    Blacklight Retribution is probably the best Free FPS game Ive played. Forget what the negative people say, they complain that "Wallhacks" ruin the game, when they don't even know the real meaning of them. The "Wallhacks" prevent campers from actually dominating the game and ruining the game like COD. It also has its cons like It is extremely duration time and you are unable to fire whenBlacklight Retribution is probably the best Free FPS game Ive played. Forget what the negative people say, they complain that "Wallhacks" ruin the game, when they don't even know the real meaning of them. The "Wallhacks" prevent campers from actually dominating the game and ruining the game like COD. It also has its cons like It is extremely duration time and you are unable to fire when using it. They also complain of Zen (Special Premium Currency) Users to have a advantage over Non-Zen users. That is a complete and ignorant lie because every item has its cons and pros and Zen does not buy any special un-obtaniable item that is bought by Zen only. Everything can be unlocked with GP unlike other games like Combat Arms where the majority of the weapons cannot be unlocked by GP. Most of the people complaining have no idea how to play the game and ignored the tutorial completely which reviewed the game basics as in: Weakness points for Hardsuits, Using a grenade, aiming. This game is the best of its kind, and you will not find anything better because this game fixes all the errors other FPSs have made. The only problem with this game is the match-making system because Level 12 people get paired up with Level 35 people. Do not pay attention to the ignorant kids in the Negative section because most of their complaints are pure rubbish and crap excuse. This game is excellent overall and I would HIGHLY recommend you telling your friends about this. Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    Lets start this off simple!

    The game is FREE!, meaning you DON'T have to pay for it. But while pay to win may be the angle the developers decided to go for it doesnt mean you have to. I think too many of you are judging this game for something that it is not. It doesnt bear the symbol of EA or Activision so many of the players are writing it off as bad spin offs. Dont. I spent about 3-5
    Lets start this off simple!

    The game is FREE!, meaning you DON'T have to pay for it. But while pay to win may be the angle the developers decided to go for it doesnt mean you have to. I think too many of you are judging this game for something that it is not. It doesnt bear the symbol of EA or Activision so many of the players are writing it off as bad spin offs. Dont. I spent about 3-5 hours playing this game on my day off and i found the game amusing! I did not however find any difficulties in beating the living crap out of other players whose level and gear greatly dwarfed my own. It came down to weapon skill and player skill. I feel many of the reviewers that gave this game a "blam" mark wrote their reviews in frustration. I can understand why as many scenarios i found myself I would ask myself "how the hell did that happen" as i was picked off from across the map by a sub machine gun. Thanks to BF3 I have difficulty playing many FPS that dont use the "bullet drop" affect. However, hats off to the Dev team, because this game is a win. Not a smash hit, but will totally keep many FPS fans entertained for quite a while. Im in.

    P.S. Read all the enraged players that gave this game a "0". They are mad at their own lack of gaming skills and try to redeem their feelings of relevancy by putting down the game. It is just a game. A free one.. do not be angry when you decide to put your wallet into it and are disappointed when you dont get what you are after.
    Expand
  15. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    A great F2P game. Firstly, many people complain that it takes too long to earn GP to get new guns and equipment, but ignore the system enabling 1 day rental, 7 day rental, and permanent items. This can make people choose whether they want to invest into building up a permanent class, or buy their favourite items playing through a week during the holidays, or every so often for a day whenA great F2P game. Firstly, many people complain that it takes too long to earn GP to get new guns and equipment, but ignore the system enabling 1 day rental, 7 day rental, and permanent items. This can make people choose whether they want to invest into building up a permanent class, or buy their favourite items playing through a week during the holidays, or every so often for a day when you have the time. The ability to change the muzzle, barrel, stock, scope, and every piece of the gun you can think of makes you think about what you are going to get, and it rewards you for playing the game well by what you do in a game.I, myself, do not often play this game for days in a row, yet have many permanent items that I like to choose between when tweaking my guns, which often happens every time I play. Often, my friends would rent their favourite pre-made so that they can own with their style of play, and this is often a good way for some people to work for permanent items. Notice when I say favourite, since some people will play extremely well with their own SMG while another person wouldn't live without getting a sniper. The gameplay is great, and changing out only a couple of pieces of your gun can make you notice recoil differences, change in sound, range and spread, showing they really made the customization have depth, with so many different class arrangements you can find by picking up a friendly or enemy weapon drop, which can really help to pick up If you think you need to give the other team a taste of their own medicine. Some people do not want to spend time perfecting their weapon, so they can decide to buy non-customizable pre-mades to keep them happy. But what if you don't want to buy new armours and equipment either? You can get whole character packages that let you drop into play whenever you want, with tailored equipment and guns, with new characters popping out all the time. From snipers, to back-stabbers, to mech-xperts (funny, right?), to heavy gunners, to speed demons. Find the right thing for you and you can enjoy this game as much as you try to. Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    as far as free to play shooters go, you would be hard pressed to find a better gaming experience than blacklight: retribution. the graphics are sharp and the gameplay is tight. all the customizing you can do with your guns--even down to exact stat numbers--will have stat monkeys busy tweaking for hours. the pay model for this game is also very solid. most items you buy in the marketplaceas far as free to play shooters go, you would be hard pressed to find a better gaming experience than blacklight: retribution. the graphics are sharp and the gameplay is tight. all the customizing you can do with your guns--even down to exact stat numbers--will have stat monkeys busy tweaking for hours. the pay model for this game is also very solid. most items you buy in the marketplace you can also earn with in game currency. this makes the playing field feel a little more level and you never really feel like you are at an unfair advantage. some cool things that stuck out to me about the game were the different gadgets you can use from the in-match depots. items such as flamethrowers, and hardbody mech suits. these items really help spice up the gameplay and set it apart from other titles out there. they also give you an HRV display that allows you to see through walls. honestly i think this is a clever counter to hackers who use wallhacks because now, everybody has wallhacks. nice try kids. the game also loads lightning fast. this might seem strange to bring up but no seriously, it loads FAST. it gets you into games in under 5 seconds most the time. at the end of the day, if you are looking for a SOLID shooter on steam and are low on funds, blacklight: retribution may be the way to go. be sure to check out the blacklight reddit because you can often come across codes to unlock things or just really good game pointers in general. Expand
  17. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    BR is a well polished shooter with many things to offer. The game play feels great along with the shooting mechanics and game types. It feels like a pretty even battlefield playing against people who spend money; it doesn't feel like they have a huge advantage over people who don't spend anything on the game, it feels like a skilled player could beat any player who puts money into theBR is a well polished shooter with many things to offer. The game play feels great along with the shooting mechanics and game types. It feels like a pretty even battlefield playing against people who spend money; it doesn't feel like they have a huge advantage over people who don't spend anything on the game, it feels like a skilled player could beat any player who puts money into the game. Graphics are amazing for a F2P game to tell you the truth, they are up to par with some triple A games. It also gives you choices to change you video settings if your pc can't handle some of the graphics which offers other players with just regular computers like myself to play it without any problems. You can also customize your weapons, character and equipment to fit your play style and there is enough depth there to keep it interesting. The only thing that could spoil this great game is the ability to see enemies through walls with HRV (wall hack). Its over used a lot by every player and takes out some tactical elements to the game. It frustrating trying to go around and flank an enemy, but being caught by the HRV and getting killed. Besides this small problem, it is a great game and I recommend giving it a try since it's free and cost nothing at all to play. Expand
  18. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    This game is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. It is free to play, and very fast paced. I don't know what the heck other people are talking about, with permanent weapons costing way too much. Compared to other games like "Tribes: Ascend" which is another one of my favorites, you can get weapons incredibly fast. It often takes me 2-3 hours to get a rifle I want, whereas in other games like Tribes, it takes meThis game is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. It is free to play, and very fast paced. I don't know what the heck other people are talking about, with permanent weapons costing way too much. Compared to other games like "Tribes: Ascend" which is another one of my favorites, you can get weapons incredibly fast. It often takes me 2-3 hours to get a rifle I want, whereas in other games like Tribes, it takes me 1-3 WEEKS. This is a great game, CHECK IT OUT! Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. The HRV (wall see-thru) is amazing. It's not overpowered and gameplay is still balanced. Just today I got a GP compensation for the messed up double GP event weekend. They keep the F2P titles neck-and-neck with P2P titles like Battlefield or CoD. This is a F2P game, take what you can get. This surpassed my thoughts on how good it was going to be. The events areThis game is amazing. The HRV (wall see-thru) is amazing. It's not overpowered and gameplay is still balanced. Just today I got a GP compensation for the messed up double GP event weekend. They keep the F2P titles neck-and-neck with P2P titles like Battlefield or CoD. This is a F2P game, take what you can get. This surpassed my thoughts on how good it was going to be. The events are amazing. I have a Black Mesa Crowbar from a steam event and a headcrab weapon tag. This game is amazing and the options are optimized for gameplay. Do yourself a favor and start playing. Expand
  20. Nov 6, 2012
    7
    Very nice action shooter. Responsive controls and the guns all feel completely different. None of the CoD shooting all the way across the world with a sub-machine gun for an instant kill. All the popular game modes from many different games are included. Great fun and free.
  21. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is one of if not the best free to play game I have ever played. The amount of content in this game is amazing. Get pay to win out of your head when you think about this game. It is extremely balanced and insanely well put together.
  22. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    BLR is one of the best F2P FPS games out there. Unlike most others, the system is not broken with pay-to-win shceme. 1 match of GP will give you enough to rent a decked out gun for a day, so you can use high level guns to earn money to customize your own gun. The gunplay feels tight, and no weapons really feel overpowered than others (Unless you have a low recoil/low spread LMG setup).BLR is one of the best F2P FPS games out there. Unlike most others, the system is not broken with pay-to-win shceme. 1 match of GP will give you enough to rent a decked out gun for a day, so you can use high level guns to earn money to customize your own gun. The gunplay feels tight, and no weapons really feel overpowered than others (Unless you have a low recoil/low spread LMG setup). Speaking of gun setups, its amazing to see all that stats that you can modify by choosing different attachments. Almost anything you can think of relating to your weapons or armor can be customized to your exact play style.

    And the reason why I'm liking this game so much - The maps feel well thought out with plenty of alternate paths. With the exception of HeloDeck, the maps have a great mixture of places to snipe and places to get into a total **** of a gunfight. For a F2P game, nobody could have asked for more.
    Expand
  23. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    This is a great game and great concept... Building the guns from parts is really engaging and adds a lot to the normal Counterstrike model of gameplay. For instance, if you prefer you can build a gun that is purely a short-range "spray and pray" that doesn't require a lot of precision (my favorite) or you can build a slow-firing sniper rifle from similar parts for the same cost. IThis is a great game and great concept... Building the guns from parts is really engaging and adds a lot to the normal Counterstrike model of gameplay. For instance, if you prefer you can build a gun that is purely a short-range "spray and pray" that doesn't require a lot of precision (my favorite) or you can build a slow-firing sniper rifle from similar parts for the same cost. I personally find the HRV (feature that lets you see through walls) to be a huge bonus as far as the speed and strategy of the matches; after all, everybody's got it. The maps are interesting and well laid out and the "F2P + cash extras" model is very well done; it's not intrusive to the game and the cash-bought items do not give you an advantage in each match; you can buy it all if you spend time playing. Bottom line: if you want a Counterstrike-style game with a few twists, it's worth the $0 to download it. Expand
  24. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    I made an account just to rate this game. This game is AAA quality and it is innovative. It is not pay to win. I am a level 32 and have saved up enough in game currency to have two builds (heavy armour and a light armour speed build) and a custom weapon as well as some other equipment. I have spent no money and I am almost always on the podium and frequently first place. The badI made an account just to rate this game. This game is AAA quality and it is innovative. It is not pay to win. I am a level 32 and have saved up enough in game currency to have two builds (heavy armour and a light armour speed build) and a custom weapon as well as some other equipment. I have spent no money and I am almost always on the podium and frequently first place. The bad scores and complaints I have read about are usually by people who have hardly played Blacklight or just aren't very good and get owned, then cry "pay to win". Things like the mechs, the HRV (wall hack), depots add strategic interest to the game. After playing for as long as I have I have realized that this game is very well balanced and well designed. I think this game is as good and as fun as BF3. If you like competitive online shooters, you are missing out if you don't give it a try. New content is always being added, it's easy to find and join servers, no crashes. This game is awesome! Expand
  25. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    My first play experience with Blacklight was not great. I was left wondering is this pay to win or what ? I wont say I am a tournament winning Ace in the Shooter department but Im no slouch either, Im emptying clips into folks from the standard rifle using controled bursts and then getting seemingly 2-3 shotted by opponents who have upgraded weapons. When it shows the killcam I can seeMy first play experience with Blacklight was not great. I was left wondering is this pay to win or what ? I wont say I am a tournament winning Ace in the Shooter department but Im no slouch either, Im emptying clips into folks from the standard rifle using controled bursts and then getting seemingly 2-3 shotted by opponents who have upgraded weapons. When it shows the killcam I can see their health is almost gone & when im firing I see the redbox registering hits but so often this happens where they seem to pip me at the post. To win 1 on 1's i generally have to be behind someone on get a headshot in the opening exchange.

    In any case upon further playing I retracted previous statements about being pay 2 win.

    Apparently I was playing on the non level restricted servers, instead I should have stayed on the "Proving grounds" set of servers for players level 1-10. Having tried the level restricted servers I found it was actually pretty good fun, sure the odd person has slapped down RMT and bought something a little overwhelming but not many. The Default Assault Rifle Reciever with a couple of 3800GP (GP being Game Points earned ingame) modifications is actually really good and premade weapons of other types can be rented for as little as 200 GP a day (thats just a little less than 2 full matches worth of GP).

    In any case Skill does come back into play and the Counterstrike Style per match unlocks are good fun, i particularly like the flamethrower & hardsuit which is kinda like the Mech in District 9.

    I am out of the Proving Grounds now (locks you out at level 11) and have earned enough GP for a couple decent weapon upgrades for my A/R and managed to get some items from the free offers around the net. More than enough to hold my own against hgih levels in the open matches now. Worth a look if you can get it working, but it does have some technical issues. When you run the launcher and it starts to patch (particularly the very first time you run the patcher) just leave it running. The progress bar wont update until it gets to like 90%+ or if it does it will show like 3% then no movement till its finished, which is what it did to me. If it cant patch it actually returns an error fairly quickly, I left mine patching overnight when I first installed.
    Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I am incredibly hard to impress and this free-to-play shooter impresses me greatly. The gunplay is tight and responsive. The kill times are a little short for my personal taste (they're pretty similar to CS kill times) but that certainly isn't a negative. It's fast paced which I really enjoy. The 'wall-hack' mechanic has an extremely positive side effect of keeping action up by directingI am incredibly hard to impress and this free-to-play shooter impresses me greatly. The gunplay is tight and responsive. The kill times are a little short for my personal taste (they're pretty similar to CS kill times) but that certainly isn't a negative. It's fast paced which I really enjoy. The 'wall-hack' mechanic has an extremely positive side effect of keeping action up by directing players towards each other, which someone like me really appreciates. The nade mechanics are on point, you can cook a nade, the throw arch is very intuitive, nothing feels wonky or out of place, the gun balance seems fine, granted I'm not lvl 10 yet so I haven't accessed the late game stuff. I mean I went into this game having extremely high standards for FPS and I am just amazed how satisfying the game experience is. I recommend. Expand
  27. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This by far is the best FPS on PC its very addictive, fast paced and this game offers the best graphics and guns also zombie studios including an exploding tomahawk! that is very creative and never thought of. Yes zombie studios were at the bottom with there blacklight tango down but with retribution i don't know what to say this game is just fantastic i recommend trying this game out Expand
  28. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    This game is good, although some of the weapons are OP and I've come across some hackers, but other than that it is a really good game, I don't see why all these people are giving it bad reviews. It does deserve higher than what the users and critics are giving. So don't listen to them, go and get it for yourself, besides, it is FREE!
  29. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    It's as if COD and Killzone had a perfect baby, that's Blacklight: Retribution folks, a beautiful Directx 11 game that has some astounding customization like no other.
  30. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Esse jogo nem era para ser de graça. O grafico, a jogabilidade, a quantidade de itens que você pode usar para ir melhorando aos poucos, tudo muito bem feito! Espero que o jogo cresça mais ainda e que ganhe muitos fãs!
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 16, 2012
    70
    A more-than-capable shooter that is a blast to play. Shame about the pings. [Sept 2012, p.59]
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Retribution is worth your time under one condition –you like online shooters, you don't get carried away with emotions and will treat this game as entertainment and not a fierce match to the death. Game mechanics is perfect, you can easily feel differences between weapons, even after a slight modification. The game uses Unreal Engine 3, is well optimized and looks nice, although the industrial style and sterile locations prevent you from being astonished. I'm not a hardcore shooter fan, so after a while – even with all the weapons and customization – I became bored. Retribution offers nothing new.
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.