Blacklight: Retribution Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blacklight: Retribution is a fast paced, adrenaline pumping first person shooter based in a futuristic urban warzone. Building upon Zombie Studios� predecessor, Tango Down, Blacklight: Retribution provides FPS enthusiasts with a massive arsenal of weaponry and gearBlacklight: Retribution is a fast paced, adrenaline pumping first person shooter based in a futuristic urban warzone. Building upon Zombie Studios� predecessor, Tango Down, Blacklight: Retribution provides FPS enthusiasts with a massive arsenal of weaponry and gear ranging from bleeding edge side arms to massive mechanized Hardsuits. Customize your weapons and gear for the perfect load out, earn credits in game to change the tide of battle by deploying flame throwers, automatic grenade launchers and even airstrikes. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Heavy Weapons - Blacklight: Retribution Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 90
    The matter is simple – the game is free to play and, if you take my word for it, an excellent shooter. In a perfect world, it would knock the CoD series on its ass. Of course, in a perfect world its name wouldn't be Blacklight: Retribution and in a perfect world, it would have better ballistics and the graphics would be equally as good on all lanes.
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    85
    The biggest concern I usually have with free to play games is that they are actually "pay-to-win". That doesn't seem to be the case here, and while yes, you'll have more fun early on if you spend some real cash on the game, you're not held back by any barrier if you decide to not pay a cent other than your time. Download the game on steam and try out Blacklight: Retribution, as it is a very good game and the price is right.
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    81
    Like many shooters, most gamers won't likely play for the long haul, but for the cost of free it's entirely worthy of a download and your time. Hell, you might even be inspired to spend a few bucks.
  4. 76
    A polished, enjoyable shooter with a fast pace and unique mechanics that are easy to learn and fun to employ. Whatever minor fumbles it may make, the compelling design overrides them to the point where the game is easy to recommend. Plus, it's free. Who doesn't like free?
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    75
    Blacklight: Retribution is a free2play shooter which give its best only with a credit card.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 16, 2012
    70
    A more-than-capable shooter that is a blast to play. Shame about the pings. [Sept 2012, p.59]
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    50
    The fact that it's free-to-play is almost the only point of interest in this derivative shooter - and even that is far less appealing once you get into the details.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 129
  2. Negative: 36 out of 129
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace isBlacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace is fast and exciting, maps are varied and interesting. Customization is deep and complex and very satisfying. Gaining experience points in matches to level up and unlock more gear is also very satisfying. This is an excellent game overall! Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is a great free to play game, better than a lot pay to play games I have played. It has a very strong theme, GreatBlacklight Retribution is a great free to play game, better than a lot pay to play games I have played. It has a very strong theme, Great customization options, Fun gameplay, very fast paced, and very few modders or hackers. All in all this game is a must play for any FPS lover and even if you don't like FPS's it's still worth trying out. Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    This game is great. All the guns feel very satisfying to shoot, and the amount of customization is just astonishing. The maps feel wellThis game is great. All the guns feel very satisfying to shoot, and the amount of customization is just astonishing. The maps feel well designed, and provide ample sightlines for snipers and narrow corridors for SMG/Rifle combat. The only ding against this game is that you are almost required to use real world money for new guns as the EXP takes FOREVER to earn. That game is very fun, and I recommend it to any FPS fan. Expand
  4. May 9, 2013
    8
    Solid gameplay mechanics.
    + Deep customization
    + Wide variety of guns, gadgets and tactical equipments + Fun fast paced action - Few maps
    Solid gameplay mechanics.
    + Deep customization
    + Wide variety of guns, gadgets and tactical equipments
    + Fun fast paced action
    - Few maps (more will be added via patch updates)
    Must have game considering that it is free!
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    For me few things make this game average:
    1. Everyone has ability to see through walls. That's a standard option, everybody has "googles"
    For me few things make this game average:
    1. Everyone has ability to see through walls. That's a standard option, everybody has "googles" allowing to see other players (enemies and allies) through walls. That is sick, reducing usefulness of any tactical gameplay to zero.
    2. Dumb-looking, pseudo-modern design of many parts of equipment (especially player's models).
    3. Barely moderate satisfaction from the basic activity in the game: SHOOTING. Can't name this feeling, but shooting in CS or any Unreal is much more satisfying and in these games I feel I have MUCH more control over the actions of my character.

    Nevertheless Blacklight: Retribution is not bad game, slightly above the average I would say. If you like network shooters - try it, all in all it's free.
    Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    4
    I can't seem to pull myself together to say something incredibly positive about this game. For starters many people claim this game is not aI can't seem to pull myself together to say something incredibly positive about this game. For starters many people claim this game is not a pay-to-play model, which is an outright lie. You are given a starter weapon set that is nothing more than bare-bones and you gain points at an unbearable rate. These points are then put towards purchasing new weapons and armor and other upgrades. The problem? These purchases are temporary. After a short amount of time (a single day I believe), your recently purchased items are automatically taken from you and if you want to keep using them, you need to pay real life money. This is the epitome of the failure of the pay-to-play model.

    While I do agree that the graphics are impressive and the game feel is superb, it does not make up for the controls which is to no degree comfortable. Regardless of changing up my controls, my attempts to make the game control well went to no avail. I could not get used to it at all. Stuttering and slow-downs are so numerous, it is a wonder I can even feel good about getting a kill. It feels like I'm playing the system more than playing the game.

    Overall, the game has an interesting model, but it collapses in on itself with it's pay-to-play model, it's horrid controls and all and all bad delivery.
    Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2016
    0
    Used to be amazing, like literally one of the best games to have ever graced this world, but then the PS4 version struck and the devsUsed to be amazing, like literally one of the best games to have ever graced this world, but then the PS4 version struck and the devs literally just copy pasted the PS4 version onto the PC removing recoil and making it Pay 2 Win.

    Game used to be the best thing I ever played for kicks and then poof bye bye Blacklight hope I never see you again. This game would have been a full on 10 from me until the Parity Patch they still haven't fixed after an entire year maybe even more. All they need to do if they seriously want to stop working on it is reverse the Parity Patch and let us just play it how it used to be with the best Free to Win model ever and when the weapon customization actually mattered because there was recoil.
    Expand

See all 129 User Reviews