Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blacklight: Retribution is a fast paced, adrenaline pumping first person shooter based in a futuristic urban warzone. Building upon Zombie Studios� predecessor, Tango Down, Blacklight: Retribution provides FPS enthusiasts with a massive arsenal of weaponry and gearBlacklight: Retribution is a fast paced, adrenaline pumping first person shooter based in a futuristic urban warzone. Building upon Zombie Studios� predecessor, Tango Down, Blacklight: Retribution provides FPS enthusiasts with a massive arsenal of weaponry and gear ranging from bleeding edge side arms to massive mechanized Hardsuits. Customize your weapons and gear for the perfect load out, earn credits in game to change the tide of battle by deploying flame throwers, automatic grenade launchers and even airstrikes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 90
    The matter is simple – the game is free to play and, if you take my word for it, an excellent shooter. In a perfect world, it would knock the CoD series on its ass. Of course, in a perfect world its name wouldn't be Blacklight: Retribution and in a perfect world, it would have better ballistics and the graphics would be equally as good on all lanes.
  2. 85
    The biggest concern I usually have with free to play games is that they are actually "pay-to-win". That doesn't seem to be the case here, and while yes, you'll have more fun early on if you spend some real cash on the game, you're not held back by any barrier if you decide to not pay a cent other than your time. Download the game on steam and try out Blacklight: Retribution, as it is a very good game and the price is right.
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    81
    Like many shooters, most gamers won't likely play for the long haul, but for the cost of free it's entirely worthy of a download and your time. Hell, you might even be inspired to spend a few bucks.
  4. 76
    A polished, enjoyable shooter with a fast pace and unique mechanics that are easy to learn and fun to employ. Whatever minor fumbles it may make, the compelling design overrides them to the point where the game is easy to recommend. Plus, it's free. Who doesn't like free?
  5. Apr 30, 2012
    75
    Blacklight: Retribution is a free2play shooter which give its best only with a credit card.
  6. Sep 16, 2012
    70
    A more-than-capable shooter that is a blast to play. Shame about the pings. [Sept 2012, p.59]
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    50
    The fact that it's free-to-play is almost the only point of interest in this derivative shooter - and even that is far less appealing once you get into the details.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 126
  2. Negative: 35 out of 126
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    best fps game today real next gen! amazing fun, thousand of weapons, it is not pay2win u have to play and improve your skill to win! PS4best fps game today real next gen! amazing fun, thousand of weapons, it is not pay2win u have to play and improve your skill to win! PS4 version is little worse PC but they will improve soon Im sure, join TOP clan contact in game name xind Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    For a F2P shooter, it is bang on awesome. Barely any glitches, the HRV (pretty much wall hack) makes sure no one really is able to camp atFor a F2P shooter, it is bang on awesome. Barely any glitches, the HRV (pretty much wall hack) makes sure no one really is able to camp at all. And it's not P2W either. Sure if you spend money you will have a lead, but i did not spent any zen at all and is still rocked. This game is much more about skill than gear. And it does not take a full day to unlock a single accessory. Play 1-2 matches, get about 200 -400 GP and you have enough to either buy a premade weapon, which you can not customize but can give you a feel for certain weapon builds, or slowly build your own. Granted to perma buy anything costs a crazy amount of gp and zen, so i can see why ppl go for zen. But each time you lvl the game sends you a mail with some items for your lvl which last for three days, that is more than enough time to earn enough gp to be able to keep renting your gear for say 1 day, or 7 days until you can earn enough gp to buy that thing forever. So i would suggest this game for everyone, this game is better than some major titles as well, BF3 comes to mind, BF3 is just plain **** fail. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Blacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace isBlacklight Retribution is an amazingly well made free-to-play shooter game. Controls are solid, player builds are very well balanced, pace is fast and exciting, maps are varied and interesting. Customization is deep and complex and very satisfying. Gaining experience points in matches to level up and unlock more gear is also very satisfying. This is an excellent game overall! Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    This game is rather nice. Now, let me tell my experience with the game. I have played upwards 150 hours in the game, many of which I haveThis game is rather nice. Now, let me tell my experience with the game. I have played upwards 150 hours in the game, many of which I have enjoyed. This game possibly has the most expansive customization in an FPS ever. Personally I've never seen anything like it, and it should be downloaded just to see it. But we'll get back to that in a moment. now, unto the game play. you have your usual pew pew action, but those who say its primitive haven't played since early 2012. they changed the recoil system so its randomized similar to Counter-Strike, and is very engrossing. there are multiple weapons besides the guns as well, such as exploding tomahawks (yes, they are insane), stun shurikens, mines, along with melee weapons and grenades. as you unleash carnage and PLAY THE OBJECTIVE (c'mon, people!) you unlock in combat credits. these are credits to be spent in battle, and disappear once the next round starts. you spend these at "depots", a future soldier's Toys R Us, where you can get rocket launchers, Hardsuits (mechs) and airstrike markers, alongside more common fare like ammo replenishment and heals. after a match, you are awarded a small chink of the in-game currency, GP. GP, alongside the paid currency, Zen, can be spent on permanent items. Now, here's the thing. the default weapon is actually really good, and someone who says different is probably just bad at FPS games, and should be disregarded as such. But, if your preferences are not fit for the specific strategies and builds of the gun, there are a variety of other guns to choose from, alongside different components, changing its stats, like firing rate, recoil, and damage dealt per shot. If you are going to play without spending money, let me tell you, it will take a rather long time to unlock things. but here's the thing: the game is so good, you won't mind waiting that long. not to mention, the developers created a system by which, after one or two matches you could rent a weapon for 24 hours. however, please note: the publishers of the game, PWE, have decided to remove the one day rental option, so one would have to play for upwards of 4 matches to get it for 3 days. But may I remind you, unless you dislike FPS games, you will have a fun time during those matches. In summary, Blacklight Retribution is a fun, fast-paced shooter with enough to set it apart from the crowd, and, if you find the action satisfactory, you won't mind its few problems. Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    7
    To all the whiny gamers that say this game is pay 2 win - i say learn to play. You can own anyone with the default equipment that the gameTo all the whiny gamers that say this game is pay 2 win - i say learn to play. You can own anyone with the default equipment that the game gives you. Every weapon and attachment has it's advantages and disadvantages (and there are a LOT of attachments). There is no ultimate weapon. If you are constantly loosing - it means you are a beginner at the game. There is also the hack issue - but compared to other F2P games here are a small number of hackers. You don't have to pay a cent - almost everything is attainable by playing the game. And about the grinding - this is a less grindy game than Battlefiled4Free, or Warface or AVA. A helpful forum community - can answer questions in a friendly manner. The game just has to have more maps. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    The game is great, i love the idea of it being free and also the ability to buy and support the developers to unlock items early. You canThe game is great, i love the idea of it being free and also the ability to buy and support the developers to unlock items early. You can also unlock and buy the items by just playing and buying them with GP which in my opinion is also balanced well, what ruins this game is the Wall hack. The argument of it removing campers from the game is null, because wallhack camping in this game is a viable strategy, pick a safe spot on the map where you can only be attacked from 1 direction, cover and pop out using wallhack when needed and you will kill more then you die. The mechanic is silly, yes it's different and it is what the developers wanted.

    Think about it for just one second before defending it blindly, everyone has a wallhack, you are instantly removing an entire module of skill in regards to positioning and intuition, this element of positioning is vital for a skilled player.
    The only skill you need in this game is decent aim, nothing else is required, you don't even need sound, you don't need to take into account positions of your team mates, and communication isn't really needed either. since you know where everyone is.

    If they wanted to speed up game play to avoid camping, there is many ways to do this without using a global wallhack.

    The wallhack evens out skill levels, hindering better players by giving all players the ability to see through walls. You are removing all intellectual aspects and decision making via this mechanic. You are just a mindless robot that locates an enemy through walls and then press the shoot button, the most lazy mindless shooter that rewards no risk reward.
    Expand
  7. May 18, 2013
    0
    13 hours to download the patch from there launcher, then when it was finally DL and installed i get an error, I looked up for salutations and13 hours to download the patch from there launcher, then when it was finally DL and installed i get an error, I looked up for salutations and all i see is "uninstall and DL it again".
    a waste of time and bandwidth, this is 2013 not f@cking 1996.
    Expand

See all 126 User Reviews