Blade & Soul PC

  • Publisher: NCSOFT
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2016
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Feb 15, 2016
    82
    Blade & Soul's combat system is a huge breath of fresh air in the MMO market.
  2. Mar 22, 2016
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Mar 13, 2016
    80
    Blade & Soul offers an action-packed battle system and fantastic PvP. But a lot of grind, too, and crafting is boring.
  4. Mar 3, 2016
    80
    Overall this is a game that should not be passed up simply because you have already put in so many hours on another game. Rather it should be experienced for what it is and all other developers looking to dip a toe in the MMO pool should take note that this is how to breathe life into an otherwise stagnant and overcrowded free-to play market.
  5. Feb 29, 2016
    80
    Blade & Soul is a great MMORPG experience. It’s big in scope, easy to pick up and play, and it’s fun as hell. It’s not perfect, but it has a solid formula to possibly achieve such a feat.
  6. Feb 15, 2016
    80
    Blade & Soul is a complete MMO package. The combat is excellent, it has a deep crafting system and highly developed PvE and PvP that are constantly being expanded. If you grew tired of the same old MMO formula, give this gem a try.
  7. Feb 2, 2016
    79
    You know those lists with pros and cons that help you make important decisions? In the case of Blade & Soul the beautiful graphics and exciting PvP, and the fact that the game is free to play, would be on the plus side. The negative side is mostly filled by the somewhat uninspired quests and dungeons. Fortunately Blade & Soul has an advantage which helps fill the list in favor of a beautiful score: The unique combat.
  8. Feb 12, 2016
    76
    In the end, Blade & Soul just feels like a game that’s not for me and that’s OK. It’s still a very good game, quite competent at achieving its goals. It sometimes feels like its big MMO features are just tacked on to give people something to do between the next arena match, and that’s OK too. If League of Legends or SMITE had a big open world campaign, I’d wager I’d play them more too. Blade & Soul can be content in having some of the best combat in MMO history, and I’ll be content to pop my head in on the game from time to time to see what’s new.
  9. Feb 22, 2016
    75
    A good MMORPG with great PVP and an inspired background, that suffers from most of the problem of the genre when it comes to pve content.
  10. May 18, 2016
    70
    Addictive MMORPG with a classic core, whose main attraction is a great and entertaining fight together with a number of well-functioning systems. Only some particular technical problems and boring quests prevent the gem to achieve the greater score.
  11. Mar 1, 2016
    70
    It's clear Blade & Soul is an MMORPG which stands out from the crowd for different reasons from the norm. Of course it's got all the usual questing systems, dungeon raids, and character customisation, but where it really comes into its own is its competitive edge. PvP combat is as good as many fighting games, so provided the advanced loop grabs you Blade & Soul could occupy you for months to come.
  12. Feb 29, 2016
    70
    Blade & Souls has some interesting ideas but would be forgettable without his fresh take on combat.
  13. Feb 17, 2016
    70
    Even though Blade & Soul follows the pattern of an mmorpg, the fighting system feels new enough to enjoy it until level 45. After that this game is a more standard mmorpg.
  14. Feb 9, 2016
    70
    Although Blade & Soul is rough around the corners with its outdated quests and PvE envrionment, its strength in action-based combat and PvP shines through.
  15. Feb 2, 2016
    70
    Blade & Soul is a free-to-play MMORPG and as such offers a lot of content and gameplay for literally nothing.
  16. Apr 20, 2016
    68
    We waited a lot to play Balde & Soul, but NCSOFT's MMO arrives on the west market a little too late. The action oriented combat system is interesting and well designed, but PvP is still unbalanced and the endgame is tasteless and boring. The game, in conclusion, has very good intuitions but a very bad structure.
  17. CD-Action
    Mar 30, 2016
    65
    A belated game following the band of other Korean MMOs vanishing on the horizon. [03/2016, p.58]
  18. Feb 8, 2016
    65
    An amazing combat system is the only enjoyable thing about Blade & Soul, a forgettable MMORPG from NCsoft.
  19. Jan 20, 2016
    65
    Blade & Soul is finally available in the west, but four years after its initial release in Asia. The game suffers from a dull PvE that needs a lot of grinding and a great interest in Wuxia from the players. But the very good fighting system and its great arena PvP mode make it worthy of a look.
  20. Mar 7, 2016
    60
    It succeeds at providing enough of a compelling reason to try it out, but in failing to do anything else new it just feels like a rehash of once-standard ideas.
  21. Feb 23, 2016
    60
    The strongest point of Balde & Soul is the combat system. Its weakest point is that it doesn't know how to explain itself.
  22. Feb 19, 2016
    60
    Blade & Soul has the PVP pedigree to stand at the top of the MMO heap, which is why the rather rote PVE stands out. You'll have to go through some soulless grinding before you get to the great PVP. If martial arts-laden PVP isn't your thing, there are better MMOs out there.
  23. Feb 2, 2016
    60
    Despite the strong foundation, I was struggling to stay interested in Blade & Soul at the end of my journey. It does wonders with the blade, yes. But where's the soul?
  24. Games Master UK
    Mar 19, 2016
    58
    Time is a precious currency for the MMO-er. For all but the most curious, Blade & Soul won't be staking a claim on theirs. [March 2016, p.81]
  25. Feb 15, 2016
    54
    It’s hard to imagine Blade & Soul propelling itself to the top of an already overflowing market.
  26. Jan 28, 2016
    52
    Blade and Soul's excellent PvP is buried beneath a mountain of tired MMO tropes that are sometimes frustrating and rarely innovative.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 93
  2. Negative: 43 out of 93
  1. Mar 3, 2016
    5
    Blade and Soul is not a bad MMO, however it's definitively not a good one either.

    I really tried to love it, but sadly it just doesn't
    Blade and Soul is not a bad MMO, however it's definitively not a good one either.

    I really tried to love it, but sadly it just doesn't bring much to the table that hasn't been done before already, and well done way better. Except the combat. Combat is just outstanding, and by far the best in this genre.

    However you can't really invest a years worth of time into an MMO which is exceptional only with it's combat design. All the content it has to offer is mediocre at best, well PvE content is so bad it's not even worth mentioning.

    I really hope BS finds it's place in this genre, perhaps PvPers will love it due to it's combat. The game is on par with WoW, perhaps even a little bit better. However it's definitively way behind ESO, GW2 and FFXIV. I'd put Elder Scrolls Online as the best MMO currently, it's improving crazy fast, and well there is really nothing that BS does better than ESO. The comparison in quality is gigantic. Try it out for yourself.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2016
    10
    What an amazing game! The action combat has changed the way I look a MMO's. I will never be able to go back to a game like WoW again where IWhat an amazing game! The action combat has changed the way I look a MMO's. I will never be able to go back to a game like WoW again where I mash buttons in a rotation. Every kick, every punch, and swing in Blade and Soul just feels so right. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2016
    10
    Blade and Soul is one of the most fun Asian styled mmo's i have ever played. I have been playing the NA/EU Version since Alpha Testing andBlade and Soul is one of the most fun Asian styled mmo's i have ever played. I have been playing the NA/EU Version since Alpha Testing and have enjoyed every single minute i have played the game. Don;t trust these reviews from people who have not even played the game and are writing low reviews because of NC soft as a company, or they played one of the Asian servers and found it grindy. The NA/EU Port was very well done and the game has an amazing story. Also PvP while fun is not required to enjoy the game, but the PvP is insanely fun and skill based instead of gear based. I was able to attack and kill someone 7 levels higher than me because i knew my class better. it is a real rush! And the Tag Team Arena Matches have so much awesome and surprising twists it is amazing!

    My Main point is since the game is free to play, please try it for yourself before you decide to follow the advice of people who have not played this version and base it off the past.
    Full Review »