Bleed Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wryn is a girl with a big arsenal and big dreams -- she wants to be the ultimate videogame hero! Help her take down the Greatest Heroes of All Time in an action-packed bid to claim the title for herself and show the world what a true hero looks like!

    Bleed is an action-platformer focused
    on stylish, acrobatic dodging and fluid, challenging gameplay. There's no filler -- just you and your skills against seven levels of enemies, obstacles, breakneck set-pieces and inventive bosses! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    78
    Bleed is not as refined as the aforementioned Super Meat Boy, not is its action as satisfying balletic as most bullet shmups. But there's a real spark in it--a spirit that lights the game up every time things slot into place. [April 2013, p.63]
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    75
    There's little in Bleed that hasn't been seen before. But even though it hasn't reinvented how we kill baddies in two dimensions, it's still a fun and satisfying adventure. For just $5, you get a few hours of fast-paced combat, and there's punishing side missions tucked away for those who crave a challenge. Think you can get through the entire game without dying? Tight mechanics make it possible, but it takes dedication to earn that triumph. Bleed is an energetic tale of heroic conquest.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    PROS :
    - Super fun gameplay. It's like 2D Max Payne. Slow your time and dodge the bullets. Core game mechanic is superb and make me play
    again and again.
    - Awesome stage design. Brilliant design of stage is just great. Playing through stages, you will may think 'Oh, it's classical but nice.'
    - Various modes to play. It's not just a single story campaign, but there's also a arcade mode, challenge mode, etc. And change your character will plus hardness to play.

    CONS :
    - Short story. I cleared this game just 2~3 hours. (Normal) And the story line is just plain, not special.
    - Nothing new. But combination of it is well mixed.

    I really enjoyed this game. If you are fan of 2D shooter platformer, BUY IT NOW. This game has a value of buying.
    Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    I really liked this game. It's as challenging (or as easy) as you want it to be (with different difficulty levels). It has personality and heart. For what it's worth, I *enjoyed* it far more than Super Meat Boy (which was an exercise in masochism). I'll be checking out Bootdisk Revolution's future works: keep it up, Ian Campbell! Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    I have to say, when I first started playing this game I didn't expect much because of the low price tag (I bought it when it was on sale).
    But I was really surprised by how good the game actually is. After playing the first levels I quickly got the hang of it and could enjoy the game even more.
    I also like the challenge when you play through the game for the first time.

    Also: I don't know why but I kinda didn't notice the ingame shop. This resulted in me playing through the game on hard without any items, which was of course much more challenging than playing with items, but since I like difficult games (especially platformers) I don't regret not buying anything.

    The gameplay and the bosses remind me of Megaman, and I think this game is pretty much on the same level as Megaman 2 (the only Mega Man game I've played *cough*) when it comes to having fun playing the game.

    All in all:
    pros:
    The controls are really smooth and once you get the hang of them you really start to enjoy this game.
    Really well designed stages and bosses
    The various game modes are also super fun to play if you want the extra challenge. (Arcade mode and challenge mode)
    The difficulty settings
    The 16 bit+ graphics look really nice

    neutral:
    The music. It's clearly not bad, but it's also not something that gets stuck in your ears easily (unlike cave story or Mega Man)
    The story: Honestly: it's a platformer, it doesn't need to have a great story. The great humour makes up for it though.

    cons:
    It could be a little bit longer. If you're fast, you can play through this game in about 1 hour (I have also seen some speedrunners getting
    Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    Bleed is easily one of the best PC games I played all year. It is incredibly fun to play and I've honestly never seen slow-motion dodging incorporated so well. Add interesting level design and a pleasant art style, and you have a genuinely fun time.
    As far as criticism, the only one I can offer can be applied to most indie games. It is simply too short. There are only about seven levels. I would love to see some kind of DLC. In any case, I'll be keeping an eye on the developer.
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Extremely fun and addicting despite of how short the game actually is. Its graphics are very good and it adds mechanics that other 2D games should have. I'm only giving this a 9 because once I beat the game in 1-2 hours I REALLY wanted more than just 7 tiny action-packed levels. Overall this game IS worth the $5
    that the developers charge if you are a fan of 2D adventure games.
    Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    I went into this game with high expectations, and it still exceeded them. A few of the weapons are pretty much useless, but some feel very good, like the default Dual Pistols, for example. (They don't really shoot like pistols, its basically a machine gun with infinite clips, and its amazing.) The controls were a bit awkward at first, but I quickly got used to them, and after only a couple of minutes, it felt completely natural.

    My only real issue is that the game is quite short. However, if you play on anything above normal difficulty, you'll be spending plenty of time taking down the bosses. Which gives it plenty of life for a $5 game. I love it!
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    2
    Yiiiikes. Bleed is a nothing-special shoot-em-up with interesting art. The plot is...thin, to say the least. Honestly it's just an excuse to kill. Which is okay, if the killing was especially interesting. For a game called "Bleed" you hopefully know that going in. Unfortunately, the killing is not especially interesting. Or interesting at all, really.

    You shoot, things die, their puny attacks not being especially difficult to dodge. If you fail, you respawn a short distance away, with full health, and lose out on some money with which to buy more generic weapons and probably some achievements or something.

    Also, this game lasts about an hour, at best, unless you're trying to be all pro and replay the handful of ten-minute-long levels to get perfect ranks.

    But all these things are...bearable, at least. The quality of a free internet game, but bearable. Where the game really became unplayable for me was with its gimmicky "triple jump" mechanic. Basically, you jump and move in the direction of whatever arrow you push, three times. Unfortunately, no game has done this in the history of ever, with the possible exception of Super Smash Bros Melee and Pikachu. Remember how much of a pain in the ass it was learning to control that jump? That's basically this whole game. If the game was longer, maybe they'd have eased you in, started you off with just a double jump, so that you were moving more like Captain Falcon, again from SSBM. Unfortunately it is, as stated before, stupidly short.

    So for me, at least, it was basically "fumble your way through a very limited number of levels, stumbling into or almost into nearly every obstacle like a drunken retard, while shooting and dodging like a goddamn ninja." I felt like a child trying to wield the torso-sized Xbox controller again, learning to use something totally alien. Only you're given fifteen minutes to do so, because this game feels like it was cranked out in an afternoon.

    Anyway, if using practically alien systems for a gimmick in order to play a short, lackluster game is your cup of tea, Bleed is for you.
    Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews