Blocks That Matter PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    85
    An intriguing action puzzler that is as cute as it is challenging. While the campaign probably won't take you more than five or six hours to get through (and a lot less than that if you know what you're doing), the bonus levels and community levels will keep you entertained as long as you wish.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    I had a ball playing it, and seven hours passed without me noticing. I recommend Blocks That Matter to fans of blocks, and just about anyone who loves indie games.
  3. Aug 25, 2011
    83
    This independent game is genuinely clever stuff. A great indie game.
  4. Sep 15, 2014
    80
    Taking price–entertainment ratio into account, this was already an ace game three years ago. But even today, Blocks That Matter are able to teach other puzzle platformer games how can one mix addictive gameplay out of simple formulas, that have been used in many ways though.
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Blocks That Matter is an excellent game, inspired by the two kings of block-based games: Alexey (the creator of Tetris) and Markus (theBlocks That Matter is an excellent game, inspired by the two kings of block-based games: Alexey (the creator of Tetris) and Markus (the creator of Minecraft). The plot is as follows: Alexey and Markus are working on a secret project: a small robot capable of digging blocks. However, when they said "secret project", most people assumed it was a game. When no game is released, an angry fan sends some of his men to kidnap the game developpers so they can finish their game sooner. The problem: they have no game, just a robot. They decide to send their robot out to help them, however, the robot is not even in alpha. Thus, the robot has to upgrade itself if it wants to help its creators. The aesthetics are very colorful and pleasing to the eye, even if they are very simple. The game itself is a 2D puzzle-platformer with Minecraft-esque elements and tetranimoes. There are many types of blocks you can collect, each behaving like they do in minecraft (e.g. sand is affected by gravity, where as other blocks don't). Unlike Minecraft, though, you can't just place a block. In this game, you must arrange them into a Tetranimo before placing them. You can also eliminate a line of eight or more blocks to get them out of the way. These gameplay devices comes into play a lot. There are also "boss" levels, which require you to think fast. The platforming itself is smooth, and you will rarely find yourself mad because Tetrobot didn't respond quick enough. The humor in the game is also good, and you will often chuckle when Alexey and Markus reference each others games. There is also a level editor and a community level hub, so players can share their creations as well as play and rate levels made by other people, effectively adding an infinite amount of replay value. To sum it up, Blocks that matter is a great game with a simple but entertaining story, eye-pleasing aesthetics, fun and unique gameplay, smooth controls, humor and a level editor, and it's very cheap too (five dollars on Steam). I highly recommend buying this game, even if you don't particularly like Minecraft OR Tetris. Full Review »
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    This is a pretty basic, but fun little puzzle platformer. They've even thrown in a story and a couple upgrade elements to make it moreThis is a pretty basic, but fun little puzzle platformer. They've even thrown in a story and a couple upgrade elements to make it more interesting. The puzzles are quite challenging which makes it all the more rewarding. Full Review »
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    They have actually finally translated crack cocaine to the small screen with this wonder. I never thought I would be so captivated by a 2DThey have actually finally translated crack cocaine to the small screen with this wonder. I never thought I would be so captivated by a 2D puzzler in my life. Superb job! Full Review »