Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 17, 2010
    75
    Those of you yet to delve into the Blood Bowl universe will find a game with hours of entertainment to uncover, provided you manage to scale the steep learning curve and avoid the pitfalls of mismatching. Online however, Blood Bowl is a rare treat - and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    83
    A fine turn-based digital version of a superb board game that, despite some bugs and AI issues, is a blast to play. Rules take some effort to learn but they provide a wide set of strategic options, ensuring endless hours of entertainment in online leagues. Shame that the owners of the first Blood Bowl are left out with incompatible multiplayer across editions.
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    70
    If you're a fan of Blood Bowl, than you've come to the right place but just be warned that online play is a must.
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    55
    Many more teams and some minor improvements under the hood, but not enough to justify a full price re-release.
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Nov 8, 2010
    58
    If you are looking to play online with friends, then it's a solid buy, or if you want to play online after learning how to play the game against the zombie-brained AI. Failing that, it's best to stick with the pewter and plastic.
  7. Nov 5, 2010
    80
    A reasonable price for a title that has a definite advantage: it has no real competition in the genre, and fans of Games Workshop won't hesitate for long. The online mode is rich and full, it has evolved over the patches, coaches' Rankings, league... If you like this universe, if you like strategy and if you can stand the injustice of the dice, go for it.
  8. Nov 4, 2010
    85
    Blood Bowl is a game which knows how to translate the essence of the original tabletop game, and has achieved something we thought was impossible: to make it fun for newcomers.
  9. Nov 4, 2010
    75
    The American football looks different thanks to the imagination of Games Workshop mixing it with the board game. The classical mode is recommended for the fans of the franchise and the real time mode better for casual players. The Legendary Edition is a faithful adaptation to videogame of the warhammer board game series.
  10. 60
    American football without the Americans but with a lot of fantasy characters. It's not exactly the simplest game in the world but if you try it you'll have hours of fun. [Issue#200]
  11. Feb 2, 2011
    79
    There are still bugs and little really new on offer here. [Feb 2011, p.108]
  12. Jan 30, 2011
    82
    Not one to buy if you own the original. [Feb 2011, p.82]
  13. Dec 30, 2010
    70
    Still an excellent rendition of a niche strategy board game, but AI problems indicate there's still a way to go. [Jan 2010, p.66]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Deep strategy and a heavy tome full of rules are involved in Blood Bowl. The mechanics are as close as they can get to the original TabletopDeep strategy and a heavy tome full of rules are involved in Blood Bowl. The mechanics are as close as they can get to the original Tabletop rules, so veterans will feel right at home.
    Don't buy it if you expect quick action, though, as turn-based games usually don't provide that type of fun
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    0
    In short: Broken. At least it was for me. My team could not hold on to the goddamn ball to save their life. In fact, none of my abilities seemIn short: Broken. At least it was for me. My team could not hold on to the goddamn ball to save their life. In fact, none of my abilities seem to work at all for my team, but freaking ALWAYS for my opponents. I don't know if it'll be a problem for you, but remember you received fair warning. Full Review »
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    3
    Nonsense results of dices, bad and repetitive IA, awful camera controls, confused menus, very bad random dices, lot of bugs. A completeNonsense results of dices, bad and repetitive IA, awful camera controls, confused menus, very bad random dices, lot of bugs. A complete disappointment if you like the board game.I have tried several times but seriously play is very hard when you're entire game without taking the ball from the ground. Full Review »