User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 57
  2. Negative: 14 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2015
    10
    A fun game that does not require reflexes but brains. Role playing elements and strategy works great together. There are many races you can pick. You have to plan your game for a W. I am not even into american football but this game is fun if you like slow games/board games/turn based games.

    I wish it was possible to save and quit during the matches for solo play (a game takes 40-45
    A fun game that does not require reflexes but brains. Role playing elements and strategy works great together. There are many races you can pick. You have to plan your game for a W. I am not even into american football but this game is fun if you like slow games/board games/turn based games.

    I wish it was possible to save and quit during the matches for solo play (a game takes 40-45 minutes). Other than that I have no complains. Great game. 10/10.
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    As someone who loved playing the Blood Bowl board-game with my brother as kids, I very much wanted this game to be good. It certainly has the potential to be, but as mentioned before, the single player is just overshadowed completely by the ludicrous dice-roll cheating in the AI's favour. Contrary to the die-hard fans who insist that single-player modes are for dinosaurs, and impatience isAs someone who loved playing the Blood Bowl board-game with my brother as kids, I very much wanted this game to be good. It certainly has the potential to be, but as mentioned before, the single player is just overshadowed completely by the ludicrous dice-roll cheating in the AI's favour. Contrary to the die-hard fans who insist that single-player modes are for dinosaurs, and impatience is the only conclusion for getting pissed off at a game, I play multiplayer games regularly and have the patience of a saint. However, none of my friends play this, and I found myself cursing the screen like a trooper at how badly the game cheats with no shame or attempt to hide it. Every time you're about to score or win, you'll get the worst roll possible. Again and again. The AI, however, enjoys the pleasures of what actually appears to be reasonably random rolls. It grows old very fast. This game could have been so much more if someone hadn't 'dropped the ball' on.. dropping the ball. I Hate to give a bad rating on a game, but feel the higher number of positive reviews reflects people who only play multiplayer, or those who love Blood Bowl enough to put up with inferior single-player gameplay. I'm sure multiplayer is more fun, but if you want single-player, stay away. I last played this about a year back, but don't think it's been patched since, rather they've released Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition instead. Probably better to take a look at that. Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    5
    For those who enjoyed the smashing board game, this bloody realisation is a faithful recreation. Those who donâ
  4. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    I tried to play this game, after spending an hour in a horrific, uninformative tutorial and crashing multiple times while trying to choose my team and trying to actually play this game I've decided that it wasn't worth the whole 2$ I spent on it on steam. Awful.
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    Love this Game. I can't stand most sports games, and this just lets me have fun. The turn base mode is great way to get comfortable if you prefer strategy. Love the variety of races. Sure it doesn't have ALL the races from the Board game, but none the less, it provides great variety.
  6. Sep 10, 2010
    8
    It is and great game. Every race is different and fun to play...except for Dorfs(read:Dwarves).It has great multiplayer,and awsome blitzers and Big Guys. Very good game. Higly Reccomend it
  7. LukeB
    Jan 21, 2010
    4
    I think this game really appeals more to players of the board game rather than new comers. The tutorial is next to useless, the AI is lacking any intelligence what so ever and the real-time mode is messy. I think really this game is best played with friends and can be fun at times, and, if you have none you'll smash the AI and then yourself for wasting your money.
  8. BryanZ
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    The only people who won't find this game a blast are those with no patience. So if you text somebody sitting 2 feet away from you steer clear! If you like to blow a few hours crushing the souls of the opposition then I'll see you in the finals!
  9. PhilB
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    As a fan of the board game I love it! I know that it's not easy for beginners to get in to, it but neither is the board game and it is supposed to be a faithful recreation after all. You wouldn't expect to learn chess in 30 minutes. If you want a game with an impressive depth of tactics and endless playability then buy the game, sit down and learn to play it!
  10. ChrisW
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    This is game is an amazing recreation of the tabletop rules. Forget complaints about graphics and A.I., if your not playing this game online or with friends you really are still in 1999 and should give up; consider the RealTime playing and Cpu battles bonus flavor for training, not the real game.
  11. MattC
    Dec 5, 2009
    5
    Although the PC version is a faithful depiction of the board game, Blood Bowl was not a fair and balanced game from the start. Some races are pathetic (read goblins) and the AI seems to only have two tactics: cage the ball carrier or throw a long pass. Even on hardest difficulty, it is easy to play an entire season without conceding a single touchdown. The graphics belong to a game from Although the PC version is a faithful depiction of the board game, Blood Bowl was not a fair and balanced game from the start. Some races are pathetic (read goblins) and the AI seems to only have two tactics: cage the ball carrier or throw a long pass. Even on hardest difficulty, it is easy to play an entire season without conceding a single touchdown. The graphics belong to a game from 2001, the sound is truly awful, the interface is ugly and clunky, the RTS mode is completely flawed and the matchmaking is completely hopeless. If you love the warhammer world and enjoyed playing tabletop bloodbowl, this game is for you. If not, steer clear of this ugly, repetitive game. Expand
  12. TyroneB
    Nov 19, 2009
    1
    this game makes me sick
  13. Gianmarcov
    Oct 5, 2009
    8
    Good conversion of the boardgame, but only for the Blood Blow fans. Nice online mode.
  14. MarcelZ
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    If you love the table-top game, this is right what you need.
  15. IanP
    Sep 27, 2009
    1
    Terrible A.I. ie each team adopts the same crowd-around-the-player-with-the-ball tactic and then goes out and succeeds in wiping out your team with a sucession of successful dicerolls. Makes for a frustrating and fruitless experience. I owned the very first edition of this game and became quite good at it but this game is almost unplayable with the A.I. at the minute.. Need some serious Terrible A.I. ie each team adopts the same crowd-around-the-player-with-the-ball tactic and then goes out and succeeds in wiping out your team with a sucession of successful dicerolls. Makes for a frustrating and fruitless experience. I owned the very first edition of this game and became quite good at it but this game is almost unplayable with the A.I. at the minute.. Need some serious patching before I play this game again. Expand
  16. JohnB
    Jul 30, 2009
    5
    An over-priced, faithful interpretation of the original boardgame. With lackluster tutorials and inconsistent feedback from the game interface, this really is for Blood Bowl fans only. This is only compounded by the awful real-time mode which is if anything, a step back from Cyanide's previous title Chaos League. Play it with friends and you'll have a good time, play it by An over-priced, faithful interpretation of the original boardgame. With lackluster tutorials and inconsistent feedback from the game interface, this really is for Blood Bowl fans only. This is only compounded by the awful real-time mode which is if anything, a step back from Cyanide's previous title Chaos League. Play it with friends and you'll have a good time, play it by yourself and you'll end up screaming at the screen as you lose the game due to random dice-rolls. Expand
  17. BradK
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    I have always been interested in Blood Bowl, but have never been able to try it out. When i heard the PC game was a faithful recreation of the board game, i was excited to say the least. This game is all that i hoped it would be. I learnt how to play by reading the official board game rules, and suffice to say, it's pretty damn faithful! It's a hell of a lot of fun, with I have always been interested in Blood Bowl, but have never been able to try it out. When i heard the PC game was a faithful recreation of the board game, i was excited to say the least. This game is all that i hoped it would be. I learnt how to play by reading the official board game rules, and suffice to say, it's pretty damn faithful! It's a hell of a lot of fun, with excellent multiplayer prospects, and is being well supported by Cyanide. If you're interested in the fantasy Warhammer universe, or a just interested in the idea of a medieval styled game of gridiron, you won't be disappointed! Expand
  18. JoshuaC
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    If you like miniature games and strategy games. the turnbased elements of this game are great. the multiplayer interface could use some help but the Pro's well out way the cons
  19. MattL
    Jul 13, 2009
    8
    Neat, tidy and faithful recreation of the best board game ever. Everything a Blood Bowl fan would want and a easy to use intro for new players. Only down side is some funniness with ports
  20. JoeC
    Jul 8, 2009
    8
    Have you heard of the board game version of this video game? Well, this is still very much a board game, make no bones about it. If you wanted more of an action-type game, don't bother--the real-time adaptation of the game leaves much to be desired. The meat and potatoes is the turn-based version. If you like board games, chances are you'll really dig this game. The mechanics Have you heard of the board game version of this video game? Well, this is still very much a board game, make no bones about it. If you wanted more of an action-type game, don't bother--the real-time adaptation of the game leaves much to be desired. The meat and potatoes is the turn-based version. If you like board games, chances are you'll really dig this game. The mechanics are clever and keep the action tense. There's tons of dice rolling, but there's also a ton of luck-mitigating factors to make a serious strategy game out of it. Skill plays a dominant role both on the pitch, and off it. Expect to grow an RPG-like attachment to your team as you watch it grow in size and ability through the seasons, and be ready to cry some large nerdy-man-tears when your star players get killed, never to play again. Nevertheless, tons of strategy and hours of fun--IF you're into strategy/board games, comfortable with a fantasy setting, and care enough about sports to laugh at it. Likely a seven or more if this applies. If this does not apply, you'll likely rate this no higher than four. Sounds and visuals will get repetitive. And since you won't fall in love with the mechanics, you probably won't come back. Expand
  21. RobinS
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    Blood Bowl is an amazingly successful conversion of a table-top game to the PC scene. It's still what I'd call a well-developed beta ('Real' retail launch in September), and players are getting a patch a two a week right now, but things are looking very promising indeed. Once the last annoying issues have been ironed out, I'd say we have a winner, even for people Blood Bowl is an amazingly successful conversion of a table-top game to the PC scene. It's still what I'd call a well-developed beta ('Real' retail launch in September), and players are getting a patch a two a week right now, but things are looking very promising indeed. Once the last annoying issues have been ironed out, I'd say we have a winner, even for people who haven't played the table-top version. Expand
  22. Bor
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    The Best Game!!!
  23. CriticalFailure
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    For fans of the board game this is spot on. The only real drawbacks are the lack of races in the initial release. We've been promised additional races as the game development continues post release but its still a drawback that all races wasn't released at first.
    A must have for blood bowl fans.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Blood Bowl features some interesting ideas, like introducing a real-time component to the universe of the board game. Furthermore, it really achieves the look and feel of the miniature game, providing a experience that resembles the original product without any doubt. Despite the fact that this is a product that fit good the fans liking, it can be interesting for every kind of gamer. Only the real time mode, that quickly become a nonsense melee is a visible drawback for a good planned and constructed game.
  2. The game can be quite challenging, especially in the round-bases game mode, but after one week you've seen all the game has to offer. Nonetheless it's the perfect game for small tournaments from time to time and to give elves a good thrashing.
  3. In conclusion, the version of Blood Bowl we played was rather impressive, however if you despise American Football but love the universe, we do suggest you take a look at the game due to the Warhammer references and items.