• Publisher: Funcom
  • Release Date: Jan 13, 2011
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 85
    Instantly accessible, free for the base game, an active community that's happy to accommodate new players and a combat system that's got plenty of room to grow, Funcom have whacked this one out of the park.
  2. Jan 20, 2011
    85
    A great game let down only by some missing lobby features.
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    82
    Bloodline Champions hits the sweet spot: no unnecessary stuff, but unique and well balanced heros in a great player-vs-player environment. And it's free, too.
  4. May 5, 2011
    80
    Bloodline Champions is a deep and addictive online game. It's competitive PvP at its best and, if you're part of that group of players who constantly complains about balancing in games, you should definitely download it.
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    It's fast, frenzied and brutal, and despite its simple concept never manages to get old. [Apr 2011, p.66]
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Through its action-oriented gameplay, Bloodline Champions is very demanding in terms of time and experience since every character plays differently and you have to learn exactly how in order to win a match.
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    Bloodline Champions offers fast paced and incredibly entertaining action. Play for free online and battle on many kinds of maps against players from around the world. The game mixes tactics with pure skill and the result is superb.
  8. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Stunlock's game largely succeeds, and though it's not the prettiest piece of software on the planet, it's definitely one of the most entertaining.
  9. Feb 10, 2011
    80
    It's intelligently designed, skilful and quick to play, and intentionally egalitarian.
  10. Jan 26, 2011
    80
    Punching healers in the face is fun, pulling people across the map is fun, cutting people up from behind is fun… Stunlock Studios basically took everything good about arena and hero combat and put it all together into one game. They removed the grind, the items, the buildup… and everyone is on the same level playing field.
  11. Mar 31, 2012
    75
    While this isn't my personal choice for a MOBA, I think it is a great take on the arena-styled MMO. You may find like me that the matches should be longer, but it will give you hours of enjoyment and if this is your game you could find a niche in a clan too. If you enjoy leveling up and progressing your character this is the wrong game for you. However, if you like to immediately jump into the thick of the action and climb a mountain of corpses to reach your victory, then Bloodline Champions has plenty to love.
  12. Feb 10, 2011
    75
    Bloodline Champions is a good alternative that attacks some of the shortcomings and common complaints among users of DotA-based games. However it seems that we have not a perfectly polished product at the technical level and this can lead to users discontent because everything will depend on the number of users wich receive the offer from Funcom.
  13. Feb 15, 2011
    74
    A steep learning curve and lack of starting characters will turn many away from Bloodline's fun and frenzied arena battles.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    I picked this game up on recommendation from some friends who play DoTA and WoW Arena, and I was very impressed! The games are fast and action filled, and the game looks very good! I upgraded my account after the first week, The Seeker is by far my favorite bloodline! The game is very easy to just pick up and play, and you very quickly see improvement in your game as you learn to combine your abilities. It seems very balanced, and you can even turn a 1v3 into a victory if you're good. This game is all about skill.

    I will recommend this game to anyone who enjoys PVP and action games, it plays almost like a mix between an fps title and an Arena game. It's free, so go and download it today and get practicing!
    Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2011
    3
    TL;DR Avoid this game if you aren't from US/Europe. To be competitive in a game that compels you to be so, yet at the same being crippled, as if in each game you are Russell Crowe at the end of Gladiator in his battle with Joaquin Phoenix, so that each loss feels cheap - and the losses are basically guaranteed. The premise of this game is simple, yet groundbreaking at the same time: PvP arena without the gear-grind, and completely balanced and skill-based. The game itself is instantly accessible. It's a free, small download and upon entering the game, you are met with an excellent tutorial, as well as bot adversaries to hone your skills and become familiar with the bloodlines. Each bloodline, the character you select before each battle, has a unique array of abilities that fit into the WoW player versus player mold of crowd control, avoidance gap closing skills, burst damage or healing spells, amongst others, each offering unique utility to the bloodline. The first impression against these bots is a twitch-based game with a lot of character. It comes as a revelation after the mindless grinds of WoW, or even Call of Duty. It made me want to keep playing, to get better, so that I'd be ready and competitive against some human opponents.


    Yet, from my perspective, as soon as I forayed into the human versus human matches, Bloodline Champions' meat-and-potatoes, the game fell apart. I have played this game on and off, giving it second and third chances, but the fact remains: there will be very few games that provide fair challenge. Some matches will be against beginners who have just picked up the game (and are an easy win against), or more than likely you will be playing against people with a much lower latency that results in them stomping you no matter what. This is a real shame, because there doesn't really exist any way to to win against someone other than a beginner if you lag. The game, being twitch based, where all spells are aimed manually, and killing someone is based on cumulative damage, rather than 1-shot bursts, can not accommodate anyone with a >100ms latency. The player base won't either - my experience had me, more often than not, banned as soon as I entered, with my 300ms ping, or verbally assaulted in game because of my systemically slow reaction times. Why do I lag? Because I'm not from US or Europe where the servers are held. I'm from Oceania, and my complaint is just as true for those in Asia. To be competitive in a game that compels you to be so, yet at the same being crippled, as if in each game you are Russell Crowe at the end of Gladiator in his battle with Joaquin Phoenix, so that each loss feels cheap - and the losses are basically guaranteed.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    I played the beta and it; to say the least was amazing, so amazing i paid for the "Titan" edition which cost me a whole £75 and i don't regret it ;) Full Review »