BloodRayne 2 PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 120
  2. Negative: 15 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Bloodrayne 2 was like the best looking game I have ever played in 2005 and the fact that rayne was actually opening her mouth when talking was impressive....I first saw bloodrayne 2 in a pc games magazine where it was rated on the second place before gta san andreas..I felt that controls where good and that graphics were amazing ,well, back in 2005 .The gameplay is great and in concordanceBloodrayne 2 was like the best looking game I have ever played in 2005 and the fact that rayne was actually opening her mouth when talking was impressive....I first saw bloodrayne 2 in a pc games magazine where it was rated on the second place before gta san andreas..I felt that controls where good and that graphics were amazing ,well, back in 2005 .The gameplay is great and in concordance with the music which makes you wanna blow up thinks and slash enemies.If you have controls problems try lowering the mouse sensibility or configure buttons.I had no problems with the controls at all.Honestly I don't know why reviewers where so harsh on this game it makes me feel disappointed with them.yes it may be a little linear but this makes it special and helps guiding you trough the cool revengeful story step by step. BLOODRAYNE 2 is definitely a must have game and you should not care what others think. Expand
  2. RhiramasE.
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    This isn't a game of those who are looking for a good story, rather those who are looking to relieve some aggression and in that it's perfect!
  3. Tyler
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Screw anyone who says this game is bad. I do agree on the part that its bad for PC play, but thats because it was frickin MEANT for ps2. The grapics are fine enough to really get good gameplay and the stroy is very touching. Maybe to you video game freaks think its sh*t but i think its very well done. Most of you idiots are either perverts (especially if you have a ps2 and buy for it forScrew anyone who says this game is bad. I do agree on the part that its bad for PC play, but thats because it was frickin MEANT for ps2. The grapics are fine enough to really get good gameplay and the stroy is very touching. Maybe to you video game freaks think its sh*t but i think its very well done. Most of you idiots are either perverts (especially if you have a ps2 and buy for it for PC so you can modd her naked) or you are gore loving psychos. This game is great, instead of worrying about blood, graphics and a topless rayne worry about what the game is about and how well it follows the storyline. Also, if the game if fun, thats what makes it good. Besides it has fine graphics. I have seen horrible graphics for some games made in that timeline. Expand
  4. ChrisD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Loved this game. I had no problems with it at all.. not sure why the critics gave it such a bad review...
  5. MarkC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    I know a lot of people hate the PC version of this game because of the controller issues, but I'm using a PS2 Dualshock controller on a USB adaptor and the game works just fine. I think it's unreasonable to expect this game to work well on a mouse and keyboard because there are so many elaborate moves available. It's just the wrong tool for the job -- like using a keyboard I know a lot of people hate the PC version of this game because of the controller issues, but I'm using a PS2 Dualshock controller on a USB adaptor and the game works just fine. I think it's unreasonable to expect this game to work well on a mouse and keyboard because there are so many elaborate moves available. It's just the wrong tool for the job -- like using a keyboard for a flight sim. You need a gamepad for this game, so stop whining! Anyways it's a marked improvement over the first game, and I'm glad to see that they implemented SOME amount of acrobatic skill elements. Sheesh, Rayne is SUPPOSED to be part vampire so this game wouldn't do well without the jumping/swinging/rail sliding puzzles. Considering all the movements possible, the controls are worked out fairly well. It takes some time, learning one skill at a time, but it pays off. Not something for every player, but I suppose I just fall into the niche. Camera is worked out as good as I can think of. Yes, there are some claustrophobic situations that make working the camera just a little tricky. Working the camera is a skill in itself, but I'm glad that Rayne's facing direction is independent of the camera direction because in the last one I was often being attacked from behind, so this is handy. Graphics are very nice. I can't help ogling Rayne now and then and the outfits are a cute touch. Effects are decent, but not groundbreaking, but that's OK considering that the system requirements are low. It runs rather well on my 5 year old system. Animations are pretty good, too although there are a few times where some of the fighting moves have a follow through that looks very nice when she holds a pose theatrically, but it really leaves her open to counterattack. I really would have liked to have had the ability to hit additional buttons to link other combo attacks while she's in the theatric poses. Saving is checkpoint based and I'm only past the first chapter and I've died a few times but I'm making steady progress, so the difficulty level is about right. The checkpoints seem close enough together, but it would be nice if you could save the game at a particular checkpoint rather than having to finish the chapter, but the chapters seem to be divided into small enough bites so as not to be too inconvenient. All in all, very enjoyable game, a bit challenging to get started, and not for impatient brats who can't handle a half-vampire woman. Expand
  6. johnkain
    May 1, 2005
    10
    I can say that this game is one of the most beautiful games ever made. probably you think that i'm insane but i'm not. I'm tired of war games or fps or other non-playng games. i want this game verry much but at tis moment i don't have any money to but it.
  7. PerryH.
    Sep 28, 2006
    9
    This was a game which grew on me. The controls and conventions annoyed me initially but once I got the hang of it, it is really a great little game, sort of like Tomb Raider on crack. Once you master the special moves, it is amazing how creative you can get dismembering people. I think people who hate the storyline are somewhat missing the point... this is not trying to be Shakespeare. It This was a game which grew on me. The controls and conventions annoyed me initially but once I got the hang of it, it is really a great little game, sort of like Tomb Raider on crack. Once you master the special moves, it is amazing how creative you can get dismembering people. I think people who hate the storyline are somewhat missing the point... this is not trying to be Shakespeare. It is over-the-top intentionally. Recommended. Expand
  8. AnthonyR.
    Feb 4, 2007
    9
    I thought this game was very original as compared to other hack and slash games. Slashing speed was awesome. Graphics; way cool!
  9. JimmusMaximus
    Aug 11, 2005
    8
    After 2-3 release delays, the PC version is here. The graphics engine got a substantial upgrade, with the addition of better textures, ragdoll physics, and improved effects. The gameplay is tougher than the original, making use of the Objective View and the other viewing modes more often. There are many more types of attacks, but there is a fair bit of repetition in some of the killing After 2-3 release delays, the PC version is here. The graphics engine got a substantial upgrade, with the addition of better textures, ragdoll physics, and improved effects. The gameplay is tougher than the original, making use of the Objective View and the other viewing modes more often. There are many more types of attacks, but there is a fair bit of repetition in some of the killing moves. The attack moves are key combinations, and can be quite awkward to pull off when you have 4 enemies hitting you. Gone is Rayne's ability to jump upward 15-20 feet. Her new jumping animation is both silly looking, and very limiting - it's more of a hop, than anything. Much of the fluid feel of combat with the blades is gone, replaced by "canned" animations. The new Chain Spear is pretty awful. Sure, you can yank enemies toward you, but they usually just go sailing over your head, and it feels unrealistic to yank someone off their feet AND hard to the right to "perfectly" land on a spear or sharp object. It hardly matters what angle you do it from. Objections aside, it is a good game. It just feels more like a console port this time around than the first one. I miss killing Nazis, but I love Rayne's new model. I do hope that this game is more moddable, and that maybe someone will make a Bloodrayne 1 with Bloodrayne 2 abilities. And for heaven's sake - fix her jump! Expand
  10. VanjaJ.
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    This game is the best becaus blood is beter than blood from 1st blood rayne and it deserves better rate.
  11. TerenceM.
    Nov 25, 2006
    8
    The gameplay OWNS, the gore, the combat, the acrobatics , totally makes up for the crappy storyline and cinematics, could have been better.
  12. Donbazzil
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fabulous game, its nothing other than addictive. Great gameplay, awesome storyline, excellent voiceovers. I can't wait for another installment.
  13. ChristopherS.
    Feb 25, 2007
    9
    When it comes to 3rd person action I can forgive a game's inadequacies if the lead character is well animated, responsive and attractive to look at: a case in point is the unfairly maligned Catwoman. Bloodrayne is certainly all of the above. And unlike Catwoman the panning 360 degree camera is operational so admiring her body from all angles is possible, an essential feature in my When it comes to 3rd person action I can forgive a game's inadequacies if the lead character is well animated, responsive and attractive to look at: a case in point is the unfairly maligned Catwoman. Bloodrayne is certainly all of the above. And unlike Catwoman the panning 360 degree camera is operational so admiring her body from all angles is possible, an essential feature in my opinion. The action is fairly straightforward and enjoyable and the many special abilities and powers are well implemented: the best being Dilated Perception which gives the player a chance to watch Bloodrayne perform her beautifully animated moves in slow motion. Unfortunately for PC gamers who crave this sort of content the pickings are extremely slim. In addition to this title and Catwoman I would also recommend Tomb Raider Legend. Expand
  14. TomG.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Awesome. can't wait for the PC version to be released.
  15. Diablo-II
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    BloodRayne is the best game series ever!
  16. Static_Rage
    Nov 26, 2006
    8
    Took me an hour or 2 to get to grips with the controls, but when did, this game is great fun, killing people in so many ways, the graphics ain't bad either.
  17. PaulZ.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    I dunno about everyone else but I loved this game. Its graphics was fine on my computer along with the awesome weapons a sexy body. The fighting interactions was awsome.
  18. B-DogT.
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    All i have to say about this game is.... F....ing awsome. The graphics were great along with the game play.
  19. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    I found it really fun the game play was fun. The story line was good the only flaw type thing with it is the camera which after awhile i got used to it.
  20. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Totally loved this game.
    Unique gameplay, interesting story and a funny combat system.
    I really loved the voice actors, for me nearly the best of my "old" games

    10/10
  21. Jul 9, 2015
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played.Awesome storyline ,full of suspense,action and smart dialogues.Characters are also very interesting.Finally the Rayne itself awesome !!!
  22. May 7, 2016
    8
    a good game by time:) Many features of the game comes to you that you feel is very tasteful and vampires have been very nice effects, according to the period in which the game
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. A hugely enjoyable, polished action-adventure with buckets and buckets of OTT gore. If you thought "Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines" too cerebral, its slasher B-movie blood relative could HAVE MORE BITE.
  2. PC Gamer
    70
    It doesn't have much depth, but BloodRayne 2 delivers on its simple promise of offering non-stop carnage. If that sets your blood a-boil, give it a shot. [Oct 2005, p.65]
  3. It's easy on your hardware (mid-range rigs will run it without a hitch) and it offers a sufficient number of gameplay hours. Providing, however, you play it with the right frame of mind.